Science does it again:Big Bang going out the window?

rocknrolla

Science does it again:Big Bang going out the window?

Postby rocknrolla » August 4th, 2013, 3:36 am

Science is learning new things always. always changing as it discovers things which were always there, but did not have the eyes to see. there is alot that science is currently unable to observe. more reason why we should not put our faith of existence in the hands of science. we obviously do not understand one iota of our universe yet.

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2013/07 ... lp00000009

First evidence that the universe is not as we know it has emerged from the Large Hadron Collider (LHC), the giant atom-smashing machine built to recreate conditions at the dawn of time.

Confirmation of the results, showing minute deviations in the behaviour of a sub-atomic particle, would indicate the existence of a 'new physics' model of the universe.

Evidence For 'New Physics' Means Universe Is Not As We Know It

PA | Posted: 31/07/2013 21:12 BST | Updated: 02/08/2013 10:03 BST PA
Share on Google+
Get UK Tech Newsletters:
Subscribe
Follow:
CMS Detector, European Physics Society, Atom-Smashing Machine, B Quark And a d Antiquark, Large Hadron Collider, New Physics, Standard Model, Universe, UK Tech News

First evidence that the universe is not as we know it has emerged from the Large Hadron Collider (LHC), the giant atom-smashing machine built to recreate conditions at the dawn of time.

Confirmation of the results, showing minute deviations in the behaviour of a sub-atomic particle, would indicate the existence of a 'new physics' model of the universe.

milky way
Our view and place in the universe may have to be revised

Until now scientists have relied on the 'Standard Model', a description of the nuts and bolts mechanics of the universe - its particles and forces - that has worked well but contains serious gaps.

For instance, the Standard Model cannot explain phenomena such as dark matter, invisible material that shrouds galaxies and holds them together, or gravity.

The term 'new physics' was coined to describe more fundamental theories that go beyond the Standard Model, some of which involve strange concepts such as tiny vibrating "strings" and extra dimensions.

A Spanish and French team has now announced results that could be the first indication of a New Physics reality.

They involve data from the LHCb, one of the giant detectors that form part of the LHC on the French-Swiss border.

Scientists were measuring the decay of a fundamental particle called the B meson. They revealed deviations from what was predicted by the Standard Model that show a coherent pattern, and are consistent with New Physics.

The findings amount to a significant 'proof' level of 4.5 sigmas - just under the level of five sigmas which is regarded as a bona fide discovery.

If confirmed by other teams, it amounts to a 'major event' pointing to a realm beyond the Standard Model, say the physicists.

as i have said time and time again. science and religion will unite. since they are both 2 sides of the same coin. dark matter is the blackboard of thought, and light is its chalk with which it draws out existence. this is why thought affects experiments giving rise to the 'quantum enigma'. science can analyse only the logical aspects of existence with machines and sensors. but the other aspects of existence must be analysed by conscious living beings.

science will approach a dead-end in every field and in every direction, as it learns more, it will learn more of the higher intelligence which holds us.

when we come to understand the mystic forces which work together with the logical apparitions of physical reality, man will become accelerated in technological development.

science must come to realize that just as there MUST BE a Science to spirituality.. that there is also a spirituality.. to science.

"every one who is seriously involved in the pursuit of science becomes convinced that a spirit is manifest in the laws of the Universe—a spirit vastly superior to that of man and one in the face of which we with our modest powers must feel humble."
— Albert Einstein. Letter (24 Jan 1936). Quoted in Helen Dukas and Banesh Hoffman Albert Einstein: The Human Side (1981) 33. Science quotes

Re: Science does it again:Big Bang going out the window?

Postby sMASH » August 4th, 2013, 4:06 am

Nearly every time there is a new discovery, things point away from the standard model. Get used to science , this is how it werks

Postby j.o.e » August 4th, 2013, 9:01 am

So Penny still on the show right?

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » August 4th, 2013, 11:28 am

sMASH wrote:Nearly every time there is a new discovery, things point away from the standard model. Get used to science , this is how it werks

all well and good. but dont forget what the standard model is. a ruleset devised on TOTALLY LOGICAL principles. deviations from the standard model is science being forced toward spirituality and away from hardcore logical fundamentalism.

maybe if ur lucky ull be alive when science claims it is now able to peer into another dimension. i do it all the time ,)

Postby Ted_v2 » August 4th, 2013, 11:47 am

Came expecting sheldon and penny :| Ched did not deliver

Postby bluesteel29 » August 4th, 2013, 2:33 pm

rocknrolla wrote:
sMASH wrote:Nearly every time there is a new discovery, things point away from the standard model. Get used to science , this is how it werks

all well and good. but dont forget what the standard model is. a ruleset devised on TOTALLY LOGICAL principles. deviations from the standard model is science being forced toward spirituality and away from hardcore logical fundamentalism.

maybe if ur lucky ull be alive when science claims it is now able to peer into another dimension. i do it all the time ,)

sadis the internet is not another dimension

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » August 4th, 2013, 2:57 pm

what u all dont know. is that ive created this thread not only here on this local forum but on international ones. and the tdirection of discussion and interest will show how backwards and unknowing we are here in trinidad. but purport to know something.

tutt tutt.. the comparison shows how far behind you all are. as civilized first world mentalities discuss, as compared to this failure of mental astuteness.

steups.. u all disappointing yes. i will have to depart from here soon. dont say u all didnt get any special attention. ccuz u all had the opportunity for individual attention during this time.

this may well be my last post on tuner. those who deserve it will find their way. i have said enough.

Postby K74T » August 4th, 2013, 2:58 pm

Kthxbye

Postby SMc » August 4th, 2013, 3:02 pm

before you go ...any links to those other sites?

I am interested as I am a member of Skeptics in the Pub and would like to ask them about your thoughts on... actually doh bother

Postby Chimera » August 4th, 2013, 3:10 pm

SMc wrote:before you go ...any links to those other sites?

I am interested as I am a member of Skeptics in the Pub and would like to ask them about your thoughts on... actually doh bother

here's the ONE other forum he posted it on

http://www.abovetopsecret.com/forum/thread962991/pg1

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » August 4th, 2013, 3:50 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:

ahh look. one is able to follow breadcrumbs left for them to follow before the birds eat up the crumbs on the path.

good luck to all. i have suffered myself to enough torment and ridicule by the hands of my own fellow citizens on this website. i have said all that needs to be said. who still cannot hear will probably not ever hear.

my duty is done. if u want to find the light, do ur own homework

namaste

Postby Chimera » August 4th, 2013, 4:05 pm

Really? Our words torment you and you feel ridiculed? Strange that such a highly enlightened being such as yourself is affected by the words of lesser beings.

Postby janfar » August 4th, 2013, 4:08 pm

That man is an attention whore of a higher order...

Postby K74T » August 4th, 2013, 4:10 pm

He eh depart yet?

Postby stev » August 4th, 2013, 4:18 pm

u guys should be a bit more careful with your information sources. I'm not saying that your sources (huffington post) is wrong, im just saying that the way they relay their information is wrong / deceptive.

highly inaccurate description of the purpose and results of the LHC......in fact its just plain wrong. lol

'new physics' would get the average person to think that whatever they knew before is wrong. 'new physics' in the case is just an addition to what is already known.

science will not merge with religion....that's the most ridiculous thing I've ever heard.....but then again, its just the opinion / belief of the person who originally wrote what rocknrolla posted....so who am i to judge.

As i said before, the original post is not inaccurate.....just deceptive.

10 mins or less - 3 parts explanation to the HLC and the Higgs Boson here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Uh5mTxRQcg

(not embedding)

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » August 4th, 2013, 4:20 pm

lawd...dat man is the epitome of a kant yes...please stay, this forum needs its kants

Postby sharkman121 » August 4th, 2013, 4:22 pm

rocknrolla you have a new thread quota to make or sumn?

Postby X2 » August 4th, 2013, 4:29 pm

rocknrolla wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:

ahh look. one is able to follow breadcrumbs left for them to follow before the birds eat up the crumbs on the path.

good luck to all. i have suffered myself to enough torment and ridicule by the hands of my own fellow citizens on this website. i have said all that needs to be said. who still cannot hear will probably not ever hear.

my duty is done. if u want to find the light, do ur own homework

namaste

since no one else will say it...

OP is a fknfgt...

Namaste...(Hoping OP knows what that means...cuz his uppity arrogant etone says otherwise)
Last edited by X2 on August 5th, 2013, 11:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Sky » August 4th, 2013, 4:50 pm

lol now two forums knows OP is a moron :lol:

Postby Chimera » August 4th, 2013, 5:08 pm

He's a international moron. Not a regular one. Congrats OP

Postby K74T » August 4th, 2013, 5:31 pm

Now rocknrollout :arrow:

Postby maj. tom » August 4th, 2013, 8:40 pm

staying out of this one.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » August 5th, 2013, 12:56 am

Let's see if OP does what "those types" usually do and takes 20 posts to say they are leaving.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » August 5th, 2013, 1:20 am

"every one who is seriously involved in the pursuit of science becomes convinced that a spirit is manifest in the laws of the Universe—a spirit vastly superior to that of man and one in the face of which we with our modest powers must feel humble."
— Albert Einstein. Letter (24 Jan 1936). Quoted in Helen Dukas and Banesh Hoffman Albert Einstein: The Human Side (1981) 33. Science quotes

so 2000+ years scientists still doubting GOD himself with the human race monkey evolution and universe formation hullabuloo.

whats so great & baffling is that 90% or more of the things Einstein said/did made sense, is true, practical and logical...and all that was b4 the modern tech and scientists of the 20th century...hmmm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 5th, 2013, 1:34 am

EXODUS wrote:

so 2000+ years scientists still doubting GOD himself with the human race monkey evolution and universe formation hullabuloo.

whats so great & baffling is that 90% or more of the things Einstein said/did made sense, is true, practical and logical...and all that was b4 the modern tech and scientists of the 20th century...hmmm
Einstein considered himself to be agnostic, not believing or disbeliving in God.

"Einstein expressed his skepticism regarding an anthropomorphic deity, often describing it as "naïve" and "childlike". He stated, "It seems to me that the idea of a personal God is an anthropological concept which I cannot take seriously."

ingalook

Postby ingalook » August 5th, 2013, 2:43 am

I still waiting to hear "We just don't know" from a member of the scientific community... all their theories are discussed as a matter of FACT... even the Big bang theory, which was basically pie in the sky was taken as (pardon the metaphor) "Gospel truth"

They still teaching children that Oil came from dinosaurs even though on Titan, Oil literally falls from the sky... how it get there, they eh really know. Perhaps the same was true of earth billions of years ago, but rather than teach and have to say "we eh know nah" they rather teach a lie as fact.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » August 5th, 2013, 2:59 am

Religion is nothing but human arrogance. To wit:

"Believer",
"The Earth is the center of the Universe."

"Scientist",
"The Earth revolves around the Sun".

"The Sun is the center of the Universe"

"Um... it's part of a galaxy of stars"

"It's at the center of The galaxy"

"No... on the outer edge of one of the arms"

"But there is only one galaxy. Ours"

"There are over 100,000,000,000 observable galaxies
and ours alone has about 100,000,000,000 stars."

"But only our Sun has planets."

"Planets have been detected around stars.....
.... actually, it seems now like most stars have
their own planets."

"Ah, but only ours has life....."

Riiiight. Everything else that was believed as "fact"
was completely wrong but that will be the one
that is right.

Religious ideas about the universe were set down thousands of years ago.
But those that "believe" still try to fit the universe and everything we
discover daily into that narrow simplistic framework ignoring what doesn't fit.

Postby janfar » August 5th, 2013, 3:03 am

The whole problem with religiion is that it is not allowed to evolve. The story is set and written and nothing else can or will change. Sounds like scare tactics to me.

sbocus

Postby sbocus » August 5th, 2013, 4:12 am

j.o.e wrote:So Penny still on the show right?

:D

Postby Sky » August 5th, 2013, 8:31 am

EXODUS wrote:

Einstein considered himself to be agnostic, not believing or disbeliving in God.

"Einstein expressed his skepticism regarding an anthropomorphic deity, often describing it as "naïve" and "childlike". He stated, "It seems to me that the idea of a personal God is an anthropological concept which I cannot take seriously."

Religious people quote scientists conveniently. You know this form the religious thread.