The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

lionofzion

Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby lionofzion » March 5th, 2015, 9:22 am

This is the confusing dilemma for me. I'm hearing of ppl paying $200 to clear their iPhone ordered online and others paying close to $2000. This varies from skybox company to company. Why?

Postby Chimera » March 5th, 2015, 9:27 am

lionofzion wrote:This is the confusing dilemma for me. I'm hearing of ppl paying $200 to clear their iPhone ordered online and others paying close to $2000. This varies from skybox company to company. Why?

simply because it depends on what the invoice says and if customs decides to open the package or not

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » March 5th, 2015, 9:30 am

I bought an iPhone online and paid 800 to clear it. Christmas I bought 2 samsung and packaged it in the same box and I paid 300 to clear.
I guess dey didn't open mine. I usually ship without the invoice

Postby pete » March 5th, 2015, 12:13 pm

When doing the entry the broker is supposed to correctly identify each item and put in the correct commodity code and value on their entry. There are serious penalties for false declarations and it seems like a lot of goods are coming in without the correct duty being applied. It won't go on forever so if you get through by accident now then don't count on it in the future.

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » March 5th, 2015, 12:44 pm

Pete, like uza custom occifer orrr?

intelMAX

Postby intelMAX » March 6th, 2015, 9:58 am

Anybody brought in security camera systems with Aeropost recently?
Did you pay any vat or duty?

killercow

Postby killercow » March 6th, 2015, 11:36 am

INHUMAN wrote:
killercow wrote:Usually, before my package arrives in Miami I would use the
customs website (http://www.customs.gov.tt/importing) to calculate
my overall clearance. However, to my surprise, it always came up higher than
calculated on the courier bill :|. (hence the switch). Just thought I'd share the info.

So u switch cus u paid less than u had bargained for ... Seems legit

That's an error. Thanks for pointing it out. I meant to say higher on the
courrier bill than the customs site. (And I mean 100+ difference eh).

Nightshield

Postby Nightshield » March 13th, 2015, 11:04 pm

S_2NR wrote:IBC right now trying to milk money out of ppl by making insurance mandatory so now the min cost is 57$ without taxes added yet for 1st lb.

That was my only issue with IBC, they found a way to have a minimum fee, no matter what. 3 years ago, it was $45, regardless of what change on that bill, it'll always add up to $45 or $47+ whatever duties/vat, etc. However, your packages always arriving quickly without drama.

Couple questions:

1. Is it an issue to bring in benzoyl peroxide products? Someone wants to order a pack of 3 from Amazon, a face wash I think. Additionally, what sort of clearance fees I looking at if it's around 30USD

2. If ordering from Amazon, various items, is it possible to request everything be shipped in one box? Advantages, disadvantages?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 13th, 2015, 11:17 pm

No love for Trincargo/transexpress?

Dennis61

Postby Dennis61 » March 13th, 2015, 11:22 pm

Jade Inc what site u ordered from and what courier did you use?

Postby Morpheus » March 13th, 2015, 11:32 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:No love for Trincargo/transexpress?

I definitely have love for them. They're more expensive but they're quick.

starscream00

Postby starscream00 » March 14th, 2015, 2:17 am

Anyone ever skyboxed a telescope before?
Its usually pretty heavy, around 34.2lbs (the one i want)
Anyone have any experience?

Postby S_2NR » March 14th, 2015, 4:09 am

Nightshield wrote:
S_2NR wrote:IBC right now trying to milk money out of ppl by making insurance mandatory so now the min cost is 57$ without taxes added yet for 1st lb.

That was my only issue with IBC, they found a way to have a minimum fee, no matter what. 3 years ago, it was $45, regardless of what change on that bill, it'll always add up to $45 or $47+ whatever duties/vat, etc. However, your packages always arriving quickly without drama.

Couple questions:

1. Is it an issue to bring in benzoyl peroxide products? Someone wants to order a pack of 3 from Amazon, a face wash I think. Additionally, what sort of clearance fees I looking at if it's around 30USD

2. If ordering from Amazon, various items, is it possible to request everything be shipped in one box? Advantages, disadvantages?

1. face wash may be hazmat. may not be worth it. better off going pennywise

2. amazon does whatever they think is more economical for them that gets the package to you on time. there is no way to guarantee you get everything shipped in one box all the time.

Nightshield

Postby Nightshield » March 15th, 2015, 11:54 am

^Thanks man.

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » March 15th, 2015, 1:50 pm

i paid 130 to clear my nokia lumia 635

Postby M_2NR » March 16th, 2015, 1:41 pm

ah hear customs coming out hard this rounds. new things on d horizon.

e go giwwe pressure for a while.

daas

Postby daas » March 16th, 2015, 3:03 pm

What about Jet Box?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 16th, 2015, 5:22 pm

M_2NR wrote:ah hear customs coming out hard this rounds. new things on d horizon.

I get jam for some stuff I ordered, usually dont get charged for phone accessories

gurmuk

Postby gurmuk » March 16th, 2015, 11:18 pm

M_2NR wrote:ah hear customs coming out hard this rounds. new things on d horizon.

within recent times been seeing this happening

Triniiphone

Postby Triniiphone » March 17th, 2015, 12:54 am

Dey valuing things wrong too. I pay USD15 for a shoes and get charge $365tt in vat and duty!! Madness!!!

Triniiphone

Postby Triniiphone » March 17th, 2015, 12:54 am

Anyways, who with ship tropical here?

searchingone

Postby searchingone » March 17th, 2015, 7:43 am

Triniiphone wrote:Dey valuing things wrong too. I pay USD15 for a shoes and get charge $365tt in vat and duty!! Madness!!!

That is rel madness, you should query it. A shoe that price would cost about $75 to clear...

Triniiphone

Postby Triniiphone » March 17th, 2015, 9:01 am

searchingone wrote:
Triniiphone wrote:Dey valuing things wrong too. I pay USD15 for a shoes and get charge $365tt in vat and duty!! Madness!!!

That is rel madness, you should query it. A shoe that price would cost about $75 to clear...

Yea. I tried calling yesterday but of course no answer. So I emailed for info on how to launch a query. Still no response. Anyone here ever had to query something with customs?

searchingone

Postby searchingone » March 17th, 2015, 9:29 am

Triniiphone wrote:
searchingone wrote:

Yea. I tried calling yesterday but of course no answer. So I emailed for info on how to launch a query. Still no response. Anyone here ever had to query something with customs?

Not directly. I had to query an item which was way overpriced. My sky box company sorted out everything (CSF). The reason for the mix up was that the seller did not send an invoice. So all I had to do was email them a copy of the invoice and it was resolved.

Triniiphone

Postby Triniiphone » March 17th, 2015, 9:30 am

I ask my skybox and they tell me I have to go to customs myself. That's the same problem I had, the seller didn't include an invoice in the package.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » March 17th, 2015, 9:34 am

Damn...well good luck in that adventure

Postby Chimera » March 17th, 2015, 10:12 am

ive had a lot of issues with customs and their hoggish customs officers over the years

where did you buy the item from? ebay? amazon? another site?

if you Actually paid $15 for it, screenshot the website/invoice and print it

take that with you for customs

ask yourself if its worth your time though

you have to try to reach up by the old airport for 6am so you could be one the first people to get through

otherwise you gonna spend all day there

doh use your phone in the presence of the customs officers, they guh rough you up and tell you it illegal

doh take on their BS threats when they say "false declaration punishable up to 250,000 or jail time"

if you legitly paid $15..and you can provide a invoice showing that..you have no worries except the wasted time

also, tell your skybox company to hull dey muddac**t, all other companies email you now and say if a invoice was provided or not

Postby S_2NR » March 17th, 2015, 10:14 am

skybox company have to be mad to tell me to deal with customs myself.
i am paying them to clear things on my behalf and if i am being overcharged (once invoice is provided) they are not doing their job properly. i let them know exactly what time of day it is.

havent been overcharged in years. *knock on wood*

Archvile

Postby Archvile » March 18th, 2015, 4:08 pm

Well I decided to give CSF a try, and brought in 2 items - one Air and one Ocean.

Air was delivered to Pompano Facility on 9th March, CSF received the item in Trinidad on Friday 13th, and it was delivered today.
They took longer than other couriers I use, usually if a package is delivered to Miami on Monday, i'd have it in hand by Wednesday-Thursday.

However, the price was reallly damn cheap, $17 for a car charger (electronic device) and some usb cables. So in the future if I need to bring in small packages, i'll prob use them and see if it remains consistently cheap. I'm aware there is a special rate of $15 a lb for this month, but its still very cheap.

The Ocean shipment..was Delivered on the 9th of February and i still have not received the item, or any indication of cost etc. After lots of enquiries, I was told the item should have arrived here last Thursday, however up till yesterday they have no record of it on their system. This Friday makes it the 5th week since they received the item (they claim 3-5 weeks for delivery, inclusive of clearing customs etc and delivery to the customer), so I guess they have until them to make true their claim.

Nightshield

Postby Nightshield » March 24th, 2015, 12:24 pm

Anyone ever ordered anything from Best Buy/Amazon/Walmart and ship it to a HOTEL address? It's a short stay of 4 days (Easter weekend) and I'm wondering how smart that is or possible?