Re: So when is the Curepe Interchange?

Postby pete » March 26th, 2014, 10:10 pm

Can't wait. Should cut a few km out of my commute

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » March 26th, 2014, 10:35 pm

Kudos to those engineers yes..
I woulda never thought it possible, but that vid makes it seem so within reach!

Postby M_2NR » March 26th, 2014, 11:35 pm

Someone sent me this :lol:

Seriously though, can't wait to see this implemented but not looking forward to the traffic.
1395891300560.jpg

Postby javishm » March 27th, 2014, 8:37 am

long overdue

cornfused

Postby cornfused » March 27th, 2014, 10:16 am

Indeed ,

Postby desifemlove » March 27th, 2014, 9:33 pm

Some serious compulsory purchase money UNC have to pay for that. KFC may have to move, and Pizza Hut too, car park remaining won't be big enough.

Postby The_Honourable » November 12th, 2014, 8:10 pm

Impending corruption? The bacchanal start :lol:

I heard this talk about Vinci being squeezed out 1 month ago on Breaking Barriers.

Inshan is talking about it now.
INTCurepe.jpg
SVS

Postby Team Loco » November 13th, 2014, 5:57 am

Inshan is a kant

Postby Habit7 » November 13th, 2014, 9:15 am

I appreciate Stacy's stance for transparency and accountability, but did she object when her husband was given an NP gas station?

Bareback

Postby Bareback » November 13th, 2014, 1:30 pm

Another interchange, great, another bottleneck relocation program! Why don't just stop selling so many old @$$ cars!!

Postby Slartibartfast » November 13th, 2014, 1:43 pm

Bareback wrote:Another interchange, great, another bottleneck relocation program! Why don't just stop selling so many old @$$ cars!!
you should become minister of works. How do you smart so good.

Postby Habit7 » November 13th, 2014, 2:27 pm

Sure, allyuh give your cars first.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » November 13th, 2014, 2:40 pm

This is Lutchmeesingh's profile information on the Trinidad Contractors Website :
Specialty:

Suppliers of Hot Asphalt Mix and Hot Asphaltic Paving, Roads, Bridges, Transportation of Materials, Hire of Dump Truck and Heavy Equipment Rental

Where does it say they do overpasses and elevated ramps ? Bridges and culverts .

Personally the works done on the Interchange are of a standard that was not here before . Local contractors need to come better

Postby RBphoto » November 13th, 2014, 3:39 pm

Sharpening up on my fasting skills from now.

dyna9275

Postby dyna9275 » November 13th, 2014, 3:49 pm

Overdue

Postby RBphoto » November 13th, 2014, 4:14 pm

Kaydonna is a national Heritage site. No telling how many of you were conceived there. I going to start fasting to reroute the interchange to UWI and remove speed bumps from Rapsey and Lyndon Street to allow parallel traffic to flow with the highway in order to not splinter the close knit community of Spring Village.

Postby sliderz1 » November 14th, 2014, 8:40 am

god bless you my good man

Postby Slartibartfast » November 14th, 2014, 9:18 am

Yeah RB I hunger striking with you between the hours of 10PM and 6AM and sometimes even up to 10AM if I don't get chance to eat breakfast. I sure we makin a 40 days easy easy.

Postby RBphoto » November 14th, 2014, 9:47 am

Booking a hotel in caura so I could rehydrate through my skin and growing my nose hairs long so I can filter feed off of food particles in the air.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » November 25th, 2014, 2:28 pm

To those that are remotely interested in construction quality . Drive over the over pass at Grand Bazaar the smoothest road in Trinidad . You will be crossing a few expansion joints by you nor your car tyres and skeletal suspension would take notice. Drive westbound on the CRH , at the Trincity Bridge . You your tires , both vehicle and skeletal suspension would notice and work with the rough expansion joints.

Postby sliderz1 » November 25th, 2014, 6:51 pm

where the Ministry quality control unit on that? government workers again

Postby S_2NR » November 25th, 2014, 7:10 pm

cornfused wrote:To those that are remotely interested in construction quality . Drive over the over pass at Grand Bazaar the smoothest road in Trinidad . You will be crossing a few expansion joints by you nor your car tyres and skeletal suspension would take notice. Drive westbound on the CRH , at the Trincity Bridge . You your tires , both vehicle and skeletal suspension would notice and work with the rough expansion joints.

yesss. i dropped in that last week. who the hell did that sheit job

cornfused

Postby cornfused » November 25th, 2014, 7:34 pm

For those who ramp exit of the Beetham Westward before Sealots to Independence Sq South . These may be a prime example of the worst maintained and designed expansion joints in Trinidad or Tobago . I have written to the city engineer about this several times and since then, they have changed them a few years ago .

What exists today leaves quite a lot still to be desired .

Postby M_2NR » November 25th, 2014, 8:00 pm

cornfused wrote:For those who ramp exit of the Beetham Westward before Sealots to Independence Sq South . These may be a prime example of the worst maintained and designed expansion joints in Trinidad or Tobago . I have written to the city engineer about this several times and since then, they have changed them a few years ago .

What exists today leaves quite a lot still to be desired .

that doesn't fall under the purview of works? but yea you have to aim for the closer/smoother spots and pray you eh get a random hired car cutting you off.

Postby Slartibartfast » November 26th, 2014, 8:11 am

The saddest part is that in most cases these things can be easily avoided by paying a little extra attention during the construction of certain points (expansion joints, foundation and proper backfilling and compaction). And we have the ability locally (foreign contractors use mostly underpaid local worker, except the chinese) and we have the technical no how as the failures are normally due to extremely basic civil engineering principles that a year 1 university student could recognise.

The problem I have seen most of the time is too much political involvement. Dis man pardner get a wuk and he wanta finish is quick cuz he have aodder wuk tuh puddong. Or politicians setting unrealistic deadlines no knowing what goes into the process.

Anyone else remember the first year of construction of the Grand Bazaar interchange foundation? It was literally a pile of gravel about 10m high just sitting there doing nothing for an entire year. That is why you not likely to get as much settlement there to give you that "bump" at the beginning and end of the bridge. But every minister want their project done in 3-9 months.

Postby sliderz1 » November 26th, 2014, 8:24 am

so thats what they were really doing for the Omeara to Santa Rosa highway expansion?

...nice

Postby pete » November 26th, 2014, 9:00 am

That overpass was built how long ago?

Postby 88sins » November 26th, 2014, 2:42 pm

sliderz1 wrote:
when thats over hopefully they do one at macoya, remove all lights from orange grove all the way west

all that would accomplish is yuh go reach the pileup caused by the bottleneck to get into POS a lil faster.

Want no more gridlock to get into POS?

develop a zoned school district system & a zoned state entity district system outside of POS & other major commercial hubs & get all schools & gov't entities ,save a select few, out of POS & leave POS strictly for businesses & a few key state agencies.

buh whaeva,
it does take me 15 minutes to reach from home to wrk or wrk to home.
i much like d price of bodi, remain unaffected

Postby pete » November 26th, 2014, 2:58 pm

I personally don't really care about the time to get into POS in the morning. To avoid the traffic you just need to leave home a little bit earlier.

I do care about the time it takes to get home and with all the lights from Curepe to Arima that drive takes a long time.

Personally I think they should start further downstream first before starting with the Curepe interchange. Maybe Golden Grove/Piarco first then start to do others further West. I also don't think we need such complicated clover type overpasses heading up there. Simply elevating the highway over the main roads and using traditional traffic lights below should be more than adequate.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » November 26th, 2014, 3:07 pm

yea faster bottle neck into POS will mean more pileup along beetham..

i hate to even drive past there much less the thought of sitting in traffic there for 15 mins regularly.