Advice for new car, Jetta, New Mazda 3, Cerato or Elantra?

dutch2004

Advice for new car, Jetta, New Mazda 3, Cerato or Elantra?

Postby dutch2004 » April 24th, 2014, 12:16 pm

Yea Fella's,

While I know there are several threads with differing views and especially on the issue of Euro Vs All the rest, I am finally read to take plunge and invest in new vehicle, rather than RORO's I have owned and own now.

My options are,

1. Kia 2014 Cerato;
2. Hyundai mid Spec Elantra;
3. Volkswagen Jetta trend line ;
4. Suzuki Grand Vitara JLX;
5. Mazda 3 2014.

I am leaning toward the Jetta or the Cerato.

Any idea's experiences with the Korean and euro resale and maintenance etc...I have heard all the nightmares with Southern sales, but I do hear they are improving. As for the volks, any ideas? I have read all the worries about the DSG transmission longterm.

I know both are excellent value and the Jetta just has this understated mean look about it, while the Cerato just has a ton of extra's and looks like a ton of value.

Any advice would be helpful and please no bashing thread, I KNOW THERE ARE INDIVIDUAL THREADS FOR A FEW OF THESE...if it gets locked it gets locked...but i thought someone could chime in.

Just thought I could get some genuine opinions from owners and not just fan boys or detractor's?

Dutch

Re: Advice for new car, Jetta, New Mazda 3, Cerato or Elantr

Postby Dizzy28 » April 24th, 2014, 12:24 pm

IB Allergic and Acehingit say VW is the best!!!!

dutch2004

Postby dutch2004 » April 24th, 2014, 12:26 pm

lolllll

Postby Trini Hookah » April 24th, 2014, 12:36 pm

Buy a Tiida fadda.

Postby cinco » April 24th, 2014, 12:36 pm

notthisshitagain

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 24th, 2014, 12:53 pm

Resale value on all those are bollocks, except maybe for the Vitara.

dutch2004

Postby dutch2004 » April 24th, 2014, 12:53 pm

asking for advice on here like pulling a kidney nah lol...but its tuner its too be expected...and thanks for the advice cinco...but I was looking for a little more than...test drive and choose..owners have perspectives...but alas not all get that point...

dutch2004

Postby dutch2004 » April 24th, 2014, 12:54 pm

Trini Hookah...a rather buy a B11 sunny than drive a tiida bro

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » April 24th, 2014, 1:02 pm

I'd go Jetta with the Hyundai second
Mostly because theyre sold my N&M..
I always had an easier time dealing with them for parts than the rest

dutch2004

Postby dutch2004 » April 24th, 2014, 1:09 pm

thanks man I appreciate actual feedback and opinion

Advent

Postby Advent » April 24th, 2014, 1:10 pm

Dont buy a car thinking about aftersale value, buy a car and thinking how you feel in it when it drives.

dutch2004

Postby dutch2004 » April 24th, 2014, 1:20 pm

Guess its a trini mentality, especially those of us who have driven the jap vehicles for years. But i do get your point...

Postby MG Man » April 24th, 2014, 1:27 pm

check out the Ford Focus...depending on financing, as low as 189k
not quite as overloaded with features as the cerato, but dual clutch transmission, iPod integration, backup warning display (not camera), SYNC voice commands, better handling than the korean cars...handling on the Elantra / Kia is pretty good but still not quite up to the Focus, but the tradeoff is a bit of a bumpier ride...also a bit more road noise from the Michelins on the Focus

dutch2004

Postby dutch2004 » April 24th, 2014, 1:40 pm

Thanks MG Man will definitely consider. When I checked prices on the TUNER new car thread I thought I saw it for alot more money, so wasn't really considering it as I thought it was out of my league price wise.

But will consider at that price point also.

Don't personally have any negative views on Ford as some people do, always looked like sturdy cars to me.

Thanks for feedback.

hatch is best

Postby hatch is best » April 24th, 2014, 1:41 pm

Jetta!

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 24th, 2014, 3:30 pm

I'm not saying resale should be the only consideration, but one that should be factored in.

Postby cinco » April 24th, 2014, 3:33 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I'm not saying resale should be the only consideration, but one that should be factored in.

answer me this
would you buy a hyundai pony for 200 000 and drive it for 5 years because you can sell it back for 150000 at the end of 5 years?
or would you buy a bmw 3 series for 200 000 if the resale is 75000 in 5 years?

(not factoring replacement maintenance and all that)

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 24th, 2014, 3:36 pm

cinco wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:I'm not saying resale should be the only consideration, but one that should be factored in.

answer me this
would you buy a hyundai pony for 200 000 and drive it for 5 years because you can sell it back for 150000 at the end of 5 years?

If I were rich, #2, if I were poor,#1.

Since I am neither "drive, sando?"

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 24th, 2014, 3:44 pm

cinco wrote:

answer me this

If all other things were equal
Power, handling, purchase cost, parts availability, running costs, looks, comfort
Then 1.

Notice I said it should not be the only consideration.

Postby cinco » April 24th, 2014, 3:59 pm

i understand what you are implying but what i am trying to say is EFF RESALE
if im spending 200k i will damn well get my 200k worth of enjoyment out of it

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 24th, 2014, 4:07 pm

cinco wrote:i understand what you are implying but what i am trying to say is EFF RESALE

I hear ya. I have sufferer problems.

But it could be worse.
Men who buying local s13 10 years ago for 40K and now calling 140K for it :lol: :lol: :lol:

Average

Postby Average » April 24th, 2014, 4:09 pm

Advent wrote:Dont buy a car thinking about aftersale value, buy a car and thinking how you feel in it when it drives.

Was going and say this and he say it so ah quote it. :)
Buy what YOU like and not what ppl tell you is good, etc.

Since yuh asking -
Mazda 3
Jetta
Elantra
Cerato

PS Stay away from suzuki....service stinks.

Postby cinco » April 24th, 2014, 4:12 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
cinco wrote:i understand what you are implying but what i am trying to say is EFF RESALE

I hear ya. I have sufferer problems.

But it could be worse.
Men who buying local s13 10 years ago for 40K and now calling 140K for it :lol: :lol: :lol:

everyone knows antiques appreciate in value :lol: :lol:

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » April 24th, 2014, 4:40 pm

Personally would like a Brown 2014 Elantra.. :)

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 24th, 2014, 4:47 pm

Corolla ftw

Postby gastly369 » April 24th, 2014, 5:25 pm

free pack of tie straps with rolla so hubcaps dont fly out on le highway :|

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 24th, 2014, 5:50 pm

Yea but the corolla resale higher so when I sell next 2yrs it goh be like I pay $20000 fuh a new car.

who buys a used Jetta or Hyundai?

Postby j.o.e » April 24th, 2014, 6:00 pm

Buy what yuh want. Never understood the need to seek advice from strangers. At least narrow it down to a cpl cars nah. You a woman OP?

Postby S_2NR » April 24th, 2014, 6:06 pm

Whatever u do, avoid southern sales.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 24th, 2014, 6:25 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Corolla ftw

Bonx.

Cyah beat a corolla Dan.