Customs and Excise Officer Entrance Exam

biskrem

Re: Customs and Excise Officer Entrance Exam

Postby biskrem » May 16th, 2014, 5:09 am

kandigirl11 wrote:just learn your acronyms, international/world trade terms, excise definitions, customs definitions and laws, caricom, community organs and bodies, calculations (although on past papers they gave the formula) so that's a breeze. and current affairs for your essay. duty allowances. excisible goods (the 4 categories). vision and mission statement so that can tie in with your essay depending on which you choose.

^^^ at least that's what I'm focussing on...
btw what does C&EPI mean?? I cant find the answer anywhere...

this sounds pretty good to me....cuz at first reading it was too much and i couldn't really get to focus on certain topics.....having knowledge is one thing but its better to have the general ideas yuh know

essay?....didnt know there was going to be an essay.....

it says multiple choice (which should be ok), structured questionnaire (the killer), comprehension (read and answer accordingly) and mathematical calculations (which as u said they would provide the formulas.....'hopefully') .....

the essay might probably be a part of the structured questionnaire....and ofc be worth the most marks -_-

desibai

Postby desibai » May 16th, 2014, 9:32 am

so ive been studying for the past 2 weeks on and off took today off so that i can get in some last min cramming for the exam tomorrow...can someone please help me with some past papers. and btw is alot to study :/

spirited721

Postby spirited721 » May 16th, 2014, 11:11 am

Weeeey. Allyuh taking this thing real serious. I swear you moving like you doing a tertiary level exam for some sort of qualification.
The salary for customs real small you know. With that kind of dedication you can make way more in the private sector or by yourself.
Just now we gonna hear someone killed themselves due to the pressure of this exam. :-|

GOAT

Postby GOAT » May 16th, 2014, 11:49 am

Exam is tomorrow still haven't been able to get hold of any past papers, well so be it will hae to work with what I got.

Thanks to the few peeps in here who posted some helpful info in the thread.

LovinDiva

Postby LovinDiva » May 16th, 2014, 12:03 pm

Exam is tomorrow only get my letter yesterday afternoon. Lord help me.

Postby pioneer » May 16th, 2014, 12:04 pm

Free KFC, walk with your exam slip.

Casper23

Postby Casper23 » May 16th, 2014, 12:20 pm

spirited721 wrote:Weeeey. Allyuh taking this thing real serious. I swear you moving like you doing a tertiary level exam for some sort of qualification.
The salary for customs real small you know. With that kind of dedication you can make way more in the private sector or by yourself.
Just now we gonna hear someone killed themselves due to the pressure of this exam. :-|

I think some people just caught up in the hype of wearing the uniform or the bobol that is available to them if they should be successful. ....but to be honest. ..I was selected to write the exam and I havent even read the act :lol: .....7000+ applicants...they only need 70...you do the math :-|
Last edited by Casper23 on May 16th, 2014, 2:18 pm, edited 2 times in total.

GOAT

Postby GOAT » May 16th, 2014, 3:35 pm

Anytime me open the PDF to try and learn me does get one big headache with all them pages.
Last day till the exam, I only focusing on the definitions.
Past paper would've come so handy just to get a feel for what its gonna be like and what in particular to learn but just couldn't get my hands on one.

Will just go tomorrow, give the exam a try after all got nothing to lose.

Postby toyolink » May 16th, 2014, 3:52 pm

spirited721 wrote:Weeeey. Allyuh taking this thing real serious. I swear you moving like you doing a tertiary level exam for some sort of qualification.

Please be assured that overtime income is really serious numbers.
Rookies just have to 'hold some strain' until flood gates open after seniors become comfortable with new individuals.
When you achieve the 'groove',income supports decent living std.
Nothing here is meant to be a negative observation.
Actually have a young family member who is hopefully giving this a good effort.
Best of luck to all serious aspirants and more particularly my kin-folk.

biskrem

Postby biskrem » May 16th, 2014, 4:18 pm

even tho the odds are ridiculous i still intend to try my best....

bell01

Postby bell01 » May 16th, 2014, 8:07 pm

I got one of these letters......first off only 70 people to be selected out of 7000 hmmmmm sounds sketchy already.....i highly doubt they expect people to learn the entire act.......i mean come on....do the current officers knw it....i think not...... i am only trying to figure out whether or not i should bother to show up for this. Cuz it sounds to me like the ones that will get selected already know who they are.

bell01

Postby bell01 » May 16th, 2014, 8:07 pm

I got one of these letters......first off only 70 people to be selected out of 7000 hmmmmm sounds sketchy already.....i highly doubt they expect people to learn the entire act.......i mean come on....do the current officers knw it....i think not...... i am only trying to figure out whether or not i should bother to show up for this. Cuz it sounds to me like the ones that will get selected already know who they are. :?: :|

Postby toyolink » May 16th, 2014, 8:47 pm

bell01 wrote:I got one of these letters......first off only 70 people to be selected out of 7000 hmmmmm sounds sketchy already.....i highly doubt they expect people to learn the entire act.......i mean come on....do the current officers knw it....i think not...... i am only trying to figure out whether or not i should bother to show up for this. Cuz it sounds to me like the ones that will get selected already know who they are. :?: :|

Too many individuals harbor doubts like this and allow themselves to avoid positive possibilities and unwittingly make their doubt a reality.
Of 7000 a high number will fail to appear for a variety of dream-busting negatives.
I have lived to experience things many my peers felt were prohibited to the common individual.
Don't let your ambitions be victims of perception.

Postby zoom rader » May 16th, 2014, 9:43 pm

bell01 wrote:I got one of these letters......first off only 70 people to be selected out of 7000 hmmmmm sounds sketchy already.....i highly doubt they expect people to learn the entire act.......i mean come on....do the current officers knw it....i think not...... i am only trying to figure out whether or not i should bother to show up for this. Cuz it sounds to me like the ones that will get selected already know who they are. :?: :|

This is the case and norm in trini, nearly every job interview is rigged by ppl already selected. I am sure those that were selected was areadly given heads up on what coming for the exams. This is just to show that X ppl applied.

Sasenarine

Postby Sasenarine » May 16th, 2014, 9:45 pm

Anybody get the syllabus from customs?
I asked a guy while waiting to pay the $50 and he said he got it from somebody he knew in the service.
Typical, you have to know ppl to get tru with anything in this country.
Even when yuh go by a doubles man for the 1st time, he does handle he regulars b4 new customers. (kidding)

Doh fret peeps, just do your best and if they don't select you immediately (officers always getting drafted as 'Acting c/o's or promoted or retiring), you will be on their waiting list for a period of 3yrs.

So who writing exams in South East Secondary 2moro?

vi1012

Postby vi1012 » May 16th, 2014, 10:46 pm

I have been asking about the syllabus, I saw on the site one is supposed to be made available, but no one seems to know anything. We get a letter saying come for an exam and that is all. Dont know what to study..nun... the site is of no help, no one knows anything.
Like you said.. you have to know somebody...
Corruption in this country.... if they already have their family and friends in mind.. hire them and done, doh be stressing out ppl....

Good luck tomorrow folks...

shottaz

Postby shottaz » May 16th, 2014, 11:49 pm

honestly,the truth of the situation is that you DO have to have some sort of connections.wether it be in service comissions or in customs.in this case it would most likely have to be in service comissions,since they are in charge of hiring,interviewing,exams etc.so if u famalee who wukkin customs promise u wuk..bettr tink again..lol..but who knows..some peeps mite get lucky..even fellow tuners..

shottaz

Postby shottaz » May 16th, 2014, 11:52 pm

pioneer wrote:Free KFC, walk with your exam slip.

kids pack,snack pack 2 piece or dinner special?? :lol: :drinking:

kaiza

Postby kaiza » May 17th, 2014, 12:03 am

Good luck all....

GOAT

Postby GOAT » May 17th, 2014, 3:44 am

I know most of you asleep but if anyone wake can you help me understand this?
I got all the math lock lick but for this question.
What is the Motor Vehicle Tax Payable? (Motor Vehicle Tax on a used 2000cc motor vehicle = $21 TT per cc less 25%)

Can someone please simplify that for me?

biskrem

Postby biskrem » May 17th, 2014, 3:51 am

GOAT wrote:I know most of you asleep but if anyone wake can you help me understand this?
What is the Motor Vehicle Tax Payable? (Motor Vehicle Tax on a used 2000cc motor vehicle = $21 TT per cc less 25%)

what formulas have you gathered so far?

GOAT

Postby GOAT » May 17th, 2014, 4:00 am

biskrem wrote:
GOAT wrote:I know most of you asleep but if anyone wake can you help me understand this?

what formulas have you gathered so far?

I've gotten the CIF value, Customs duty payable and VAT payable.
CIF = Customs + Freight + Insurance
Customs Duty Payable = 35%
VAT - 15% of CIF+Duty.

Sasenarine

Postby Sasenarine » May 17th, 2014, 5:38 am

MVT = (2000cc x $21.00) - 25%
$42,000-25%
MVT = $31,500

Hope this doesn't affect me being selected but I would want someone to help me if in the same situation

Best of luck to you guys today

chrissy100

Postby chrissy100 » May 17th, 2014, 5:39 am

It is 2000 * 21 *25%

chrissy100

Postby chrissy100 » May 17th, 2014, 5:40 am

It is 2000 * 21 *25%

GOAT

Postby GOAT » May 17th, 2014, 5:49 am

Sasenarine wrote:What is the Motor Vehicle Tax Payable? (Motor Vehicle Tax on a used 2000cc motor vehicle = $21 TT per cc less 25%)

MVT = (2000cc x $21.00) - 25%
$42,000-25%
MVT = $31,500

Hope this doesn't affect me being selected but I would want someone to help me if in the same situation

Best of luck to you guys today

Thanks bro and good luck to you.

Edit: Thanks also too Chrissy100.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 17th, 2014, 10:14 am

Wasn't too bad

shottaz

Postby shottaz » May 17th, 2014, 10:40 am

wasnt bad forreal.... structured questionnaire was d hardest... and low and behold GATT of all the acronyms ...smh...i dint learn that one...lol.. and well im shame to say i get d one with the duty free alcohol age limit wrong..i put OVER the age of 17...it suppoze to be 17 and over... but say what i still pass..calculations was suckeye...too easy....now we wait..

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » May 17th, 2014, 10:40 am

css011 how was your life changing exam?

still think this is "the best thing since slice bread"
Last edited by mitch1980 on May 18th, 2014, 6:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pioneer » May 17th, 2014, 10:58 am

Calculators weren't allowed yet people were using them normel normel

Man come in shirt and tie for ah.....exam?