bmobile 3G performance at Price Plaza

jsm1985

bmobile 3G performance at Price Plaza

Postby jsm1985 » September 30th, 2014, 12:19 am

Hi,

I'm hoping I can get some information to help troubleshoot an issue i'm having on bmobile's 3G data network when in Price Plaza, Chaguanas specifically (I'm working in the area).

I use a locally bought Samsung Galaxy S5 (G900H version) 3 months old.

Whenever I'm there, my data connection/ quality gets almost unusable, switching between HSPDA+ and EDGE or completely dropping off the network completely. The network quality is so poor my battery dies within the workday.

I thought it was a general overloaded network issue that everyone would have as well, however when I used my friend's Note 2 on bmobile, side by side everything worked perfectly, no issues. However the S5 was stuck on edge.

Points to note:

My phone works perfectly fine in all other geographic locations, never had this issue. Within Price Plaza's compound is the only area this occurs, so I don't think there is an issue with the phone.

I've called bmobile about the issue and (surprise) they could not enlighten me as to why this is happens and have not received any reports from anyone else.

It does not matter the time of day (early in the morning when there is no network congestion or peak times)

Does anyone else with an S5 on bmobile notice this when in the area? I believe it has to be a problem with how the S5 handles bmobile's network config in this particular area.

Sorry for such an exhausting post on one small issue but I'm working in the area for the next 3 months and my phone is basically unusable for 8 hours of the day.

Re: bmobile 3G performance at Price Plaza

Postby Trini Hookah » September 30th, 2014, 12:38 am

Well that's the problem mate, dump the Samsung.

Postby Spitfir3 » September 30th, 2014, 12:58 am

^^if i didn't double check i'd have sworn is pioneer who posted that :lol:

Postby j.o.e » September 30th, 2014, 5:22 am

That entire area is a dead spot for bmobile...from Price Plaza stretching West to the Medford Service station area. I have an office in that area and when I'm there my phone is useless. It's not your phone its the network (non Samsung user)

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » September 30th, 2014, 10:25 am

Thanks man!

Postby Slartibartfast » September 30th, 2014, 10:38 am

Trini Hookah wrote:Well that's the problem mate, dump the Samsung.
Or he could just put it in his pocket.... where it won't get damaged...

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 30th, 2014, 10:43 am

Trinidad is a deadspot it seems for 3G on bmobile. Countless areas have signal showing good 3G coverage but no data being sent or signal suddenly drops out totally. Tropical Plaza, various areas in St. Augustine, Road to the airport thru Caroni, Cross Crossing, several spots on the north south highway. Like they stop spending money on capacity.

Postby maj. tom » September 30th, 2014, 10:49 am

You only get E from them in Mt. Hope. After 2 months i stopped buying a plan from them. Wasting money to not get service. complete corporate wankers!

they're pretty good at sending spam about their "promotions" though eh?

Postby S_2NR » September 30th, 2014, 11:11 am

jsm1985 wrote:My phone works perfectly fine in all other geographic locations, never had this issue.

Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat?
Your 3G from BMOBILE works perfect everywhere but priceplaza?!
I think you should count your blessings because bmobile 3g is utter crap and the main reason i dont have a data plan.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » September 30th, 2014, 12:04 pm

Data service in Price Plaza is a nightmare especially if you're in Friday's

Postby Ted_v2 » September 30th, 2014, 12:43 pm

Digicel 2g ftw

originalbling

Postby originalbling » September 30th, 2014, 1:22 pm

is the data service from digi any better in those same areas? Some areas of central and st. augustine has very poor bmobile service.

... i wonder when is the real implementation date of number portability

JaiTech

Postby JaiTech » September 30th, 2014, 4:21 pm

Digicel is the worst was paying $500 a month x 2 for their data and could not even download a 30 sec video and this is San Juan but if I in movtow pos it works find so I disconnected both phones and in process of converting to b mobile

Postby pioneer » September 30th, 2014, 6:20 pm

Cuz it's a bmobile bzone...happens in some parts of trincity mall also.

And well you have a samsung, so this just compounds your nightmares.

Postby S_2NR » September 30th, 2014, 10:24 pm

How does having a bzone (wifi) affect cellular data?

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » September 30th, 2014, 10:29 pm

I'd like to know too. Maybe the data bandwidth is pooled.

pjfred

Postby pjfred » September 30th, 2014, 10:36 pm

You morons, welcome to eat ah food country. The smart people turn on their WiFi and let the broadband work.

Postby pioneer » September 30th, 2014, 10:39 pm

I guess they "want" people to log into bzone?

idk

Team2lo2flo

Postby Team2lo2flo » September 30th, 2014, 10:52 pm

That's true, Data on the whole in Price Plaza Sucks...

Postby pioneer » September 30th, 2014, 10:55 pm

OP go to different bzones nationwide and post your findings.

Postby S_2NR » September 30th, 2014, 11:12 pm

Lmao.
Conspiracy theorists
Bmobile data is sheit on the whole.

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » October 1st, 2014, 8:27 am

Lol as I said It's only cuz I spend a considerable amount of time there I noticed I have an issue. Bzone is a fail, don't get wifi coverage where I am.

Postby cinco » October 1st, 2014, 8:44 am

Errr digicel data does wuk in pplaza normel. Btw allyuh eh tink mayyybe it is because there is a digicel cell tower behind medford gas station?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 1st, 2014, 7:04 pm

bzone is ah fkn myth and fyah bun digicel 10 min wifi....

Nightshield

Postby Nightshield » November 30th, 2019, 7:59 am

Anyone else still having this issue?

Price plaza is a complete dead zone for LTE / 4G. Anything.

Driving past price plaza on the highway same thing, I lose complete service on my phone. Worse if I enter price plaza it won’t return til I drive out and leave the vicinity.

I had an iPhone 6s, 7 and now 8 and I’m noticing the same thing on the 8. Never thought it was the phone but damn how is this not an issue for everyone?

My friend who has digicel is usually with me and her phone normal in and around price plaza.

Using the new LTE SIM card too. And I have 2 phones. Same trouble on both phones.

Postby matr1x » November 30th, 2019, 8:18 am

Both bmobile and digi spaz out

Postby redmanjp » November 30th, 2019, 10:46 am

so after 5 yrs bmobile eh fix this? and all service dropping including calls?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 30th, 2019, 11:32 am

Nightshield wrote:Anyone else still having this issue?

Driving past price plaza on the highway same thing, I lose complete service on my phone. Worse if I enter price plaza it won’t return til I drive out and leave the vicinity.

I had an iPhone 6s, 7 and now 8 and I’m noticing the same thing on the 8. Never thought it was the phone but damn how is this not an issue for everyone?

My friend who has digicel is usually with me and her phone normal in and around price plaza.

Using the new LTE SIM card too. And I have 2 phones. Same trouble on both phones.

My phone works but data is spotty at best, forget about it if you are in a store. It's not just the mall, it starts from around Egypt Village north east of the mall and John Peter Road to the north to Rodney Road to the south. It is ok in Lange Park south east of the mall. Been like that years now. Lange Park and Chaguanas has LTE that works well. Jerningham has LTE that works well also.

I believe there is a Bmobile "Cell on Wheels (COW)" Mobile Base Station right around Price Plaza, so not sure what the issue is.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 1st, 2019, 12:14 am

I get the same problem in the vicinity of Grand Bazaar. My data goes down or goes to EDGE speeds. Been so for years now.

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » December 1st, 2019, 12:21 am

Nightshield wrote:Anyone else still having this issue?

That location has a problem, it's not only you.
Funny how just up the road in Xtra Plaza, LTE is blazing fast.