Discussion: LCD/LED/OLED 4k 8K UHD HDR TV Tech

Re: Discussion: LCD/LED/4k Ultra TV Tech

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 10th, 2015, 10:34 pm

Yes LG OLED displays are spectacular for image quality, but I can do without the curved screen

BRZ

Postby BRZ » November 12th, 2015, 2:15 pm

Does anyone know WHY or WHAT is the reason that our STANDARD Cable tv signal cannot be HD quality for All channels?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 12th, 2015, 2:24 pm

BRZ wrote:Does anyone know WHY or WHAT is the reason that our STANDARD Cable tv signal cannot be HD quality for All channels?
because STANDARD cable is STANDARD definition and HD is high definition.

Flow's new AVS has many HD channels at no additional cost or additional equipment (HD PVR) required.
http://www.flowavs.com/tt/channels/#/

since it is an ALL digital service with HDMI input, even the SD channels upscale very well on HD TV's and can pass for HD channels.

that service also uses Cloud storage so you dont need a DVR/PVR

Advent

Postby Advent » November 12th, 2015, 2:54 pm

no 4k projector guys in here ? :(

CBharath

Postby CBharath » November 25th, 2015, 9:23 am

What you guys think of the vizio m-series?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 25th, 2015, 9:43 am

CBharath wrote:What you guys think of the vizio m-series?

Vizio is making some fantastic screens and at a good price.

The M Series currently is the number one TV on CNETs list of Best TVs for 2015
http://www.cnet.com/topics/tvs/best-tvs/

CBharath

Postby CBharath » November 25th, 2015, 11:11 am

CBharath wrote:What you guys think of the vizio m-series?

Vizio is making some fantastic screens and at a good price.

The M Series currently is the number one TV on CNETs list of Best TVs for 2015
http://www.cnet.com/topics/tvs/best-tvs/

I realise that too but still wanted a third opinion . gonna buy a 43in m-series

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » November 25th, 2015, 11:52 am

43inch 4K doh really make sense unless u sitting 2 feet from the tv tho..

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Postby *KRONIK* » November 25th, 2015, 12:05 pm

I new to this whole LED/flatscreen thing...

1448467512007.jpg

This is a good buy?

CBharath

Postby CBharath » November 25th, 2015, 12:17 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:43inch 4K doh really make sense unless u sitting 2 feet from the tv tho..

For real? I just wanted to have a 4k screen . 50" better?

Actually the reason I was going the 43" was because of the price and no one services vizio locally so if anything happened to it not too much stress

CBharath

Postby CBharath » November 25th, 2015, 12:22 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:I new to this whole LED/flatscreen thing...

1448467512007.jpg

This is a good buy?

Curved?

Postby *KRONIK* » November 25th, 2015, 12:23 pm

Yea

CBharath

Postby CBharath » November 25th, 2015, 12:26 pm

I hadda check out a curved screen . just to see the hype.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 25th, 2015, 12:57 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:43inch 4K doh really make sense unless u sitting 2 feet from the tv tho..

correct

CBharath

Postby CBharath » November 25th, 2015, 1:14 pm

correct

So the 50inch is the better choice?

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » November 25th, 2015, 1:37 pm

CBharath wrote:

correct

Could swear we spoke about this multiple times :lol:

For the average viewing distance or 6-7 feet. For a 4K tv, anything less than 65 inches won't make sense. Just google 4K tv viewing distance calculator and you'll get more specifics.

CBharath

Postby CBharath » November 25th, 2015, 1:54 pm

Well is just plain luck I end up here. Open ole talk and see 4k so I checking for advice one time

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » October 31st, 2016, 1:28 am

Sorry to bump a topic from 2015

Where do you all buy TV's in Trinidad?
Or is it better to import yourself

Premchand1976

Re: RE: Re: Discussion: LCD/LED/4k Ultra TV Tech

Postby Premchand1976 » October 31st, 2016, 4:28 am

novastar1 wrote:Sorry to bump a topic from 2015

Your choice really, I actually imported my Samsung 75 inch and it costs me 17000 landed at my door. The cost of it back then was 30k at both Courts and standards ( 2015 ). Price is now around 22 - 24k locally. Make sure and buy insurance if you importing......talk done

metalgear2095

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Discussion: LCD/LED/4k Ultra TV Tech

Postby metalgear2095 » October 31st, 2016, 5:03 am

Premchand1976 wrote:
novastar1 wrote:Sorry to bump a topic from 2015

Your choice really, I actually imported my Samsung 75 inch and it costs me 17000 landed at my door. The cost of it back then was 30k at both Courts and standards ( 2015 ). Price is now around 22 - 24k locally. Make sure and buy insurance if you importing......talk done

Skybox?

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » October 31st, 2016, 5:46 am

Nope. Had my brother in law get it from hhgregg, they dropped it off at psfreight in Orlando, seapack/ econo brought it in to Medway warehouse in Freeport, I went in and in 1.5 hours tv home and enjoying.....lol

Postby Slartibartfast » November 1st, 2016, 11:06 am

scotty_buttons wrote:
CBharath wrote:

correct

Could swear we spoke about this multiple times :lol:

For the average viewing distance or 6-7 feet. For a 4K tv, anything less than 65 inches won't make sense. Just google 4K tv viewing distance calculator and you'll get more specifics.

I always wondered what these calculators were based on. Are they on whether or not someone with 20/20 vision would be able to individual pixels on the screen at a certain distance? If so, those calculators may be flawed since 20/20 vision isn't perfect vision and that there are benefits to increasing pixel density beyond what the human eye can perceive

Why Retina Isn’t Enough [Feature] wrote:Back in 2010, Japan’s NHK Science & Technology Research Laboratories discovered that across the board, the smaller the pixels, the more real an on-screen object seemed to the person viewing it, even if they didn’t have perfect vision. In fact, this effect is so profound on individuals that it eventually reaches a point where you have pixels small enough that on screen objects are completely indistinguishable from real objects.

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » November 1st, 2016, 1:12 pm

Anyone here ever order online through pricemart?
I'm seeing some good 4k models there

Will have to check if they are in the actual store

Premchand1976

Re: RE: Re: Discussion: LCD/LED/4k Ultra TV Tech

Postby Premchand1976 » November 1st, 2016, 4:35 pm

novastar1 wrote:Anyone here ever order online through pricemart?
I'm seeing some good 4k models there

Will have to check if they are in the actual store

Think I read somewhere on their site online stuff aren't in stores and takes about 2 weeks to be received at the trinidad location. Check Costco and Sam's club, they carry same stuff, not sure but I think Costco is the parent company of pricesmart?

scotty_buttons

Discussion: LCD/LED/4k Ultra TV Tech

Postby scotty_buttons » December 19th, 2016, 4:40 pm

Any new tv reviews since Black Friday sale ?

Postby Ben_spanna » September 14th, 2020, 1:25 pm

So does it make any sense now to change to a 4k UHD television with local cable? will there be any significant quality difference between HD and 4k if youre just using flow or any other local cable provider??? dont know if it justifies the expense of upgrading .

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » September 14th, 2020, 2:25 pm

Short answer no.

You can change to 4K TV for everything else, Netflix, Amazon Veedio, Hulu, Youtube, Redtube etc, but no not just for local cable. As far as I know local cable struggling to even have 1080p. They even use 1080i for the very few channels that say HD (flow at least). Somebody could correct me if I wrong. I stop checking them business pages because the only "upgrades" they advertise about is when is upgrade in price.

Postby redmanjp » September 14th, 2020, 3:10 pm

no benefit - no local cable provider offers 4K content

i wish we could get even 1080p or i with terrestrial TV (antenna) but we so far behind with the rest of the world it eh funny.

what will happen when tvs no longer have analog tuners for local stations?

we would benefit from this with sporting events like CPL, olympics, and world cup

Postby maj. tom » September 14th, 2020, 3:56 pm

And let us not forget that they're stealing the foreign people cable without licensing fees and selling it back to you suckers in very lossy low definition for big money.

hahahahahahaha, Flow teef cable must look great on a 4K screen.

pipser

Postby pipser » September 14th, 2020, 4:05 pm

Does anyone locally sell LG OLED TVs?

I could get one online but my biggest concern is not having warranty on such a hefty purchase.