Ububtu/Mint testers/Enthusiast

Tilluck

Ububtu/Mint testers/Enthusiast

Postby Tilluck » November 23rd, 2014, 3:26 pm

Have you tried ant of these on an old system?
Edubuntu 14 64/32 bit
Ubuntu 14 64/32 bit
Lubuntu 14 32 bit
Linux Lite 2 32 bit
Linux Mint Cinnamon 17 64/32 bit
Linux Mint MATE 17 64/32 bit
Linux Mint 17 Xfce 32 bit

How did if run before adding programs and Games?
And after? Did you hit a point where it became unstable or to bloated and slow?
What are the specs of the system you tried it on?
What worked and what was buggy and what crashed?

Re: Ububtu/Mint testers/Enthusiast

Postby cinco » November 23rd, 2014, 3:34 pm

Who plays games on Linux? I have an old 1. Sumtin processor machine running mint 10 or 11 about 4 years now doing scanning and filtering works fine

Postby stev » November 24th, 2014, 12:43 am

I have ubuntu 14 sitting on a drive...supposed to try it out one of these days... :/

also have DSL (Dam Small Linux) running on an OLD machine....talking intel celeron processor with 768MB RAM.....mainly used as an 'always on' machine for downloading / seeding stuff......looking to change it though, any advice?

also looking to rebuild my storage at home....any ideas?

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » November 24th, 2014, 1:43 am

Currently using lubuntu 14 my system
Very stable and fast (using 1gb of ram and a 1.2ghz processor) for me so far had a few freezes that stop right after a restart but since then very smooth
Best version of Linux I used so far

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 24th, 2014, 1:02 pm

Posting from my daily driven (lol) Fedora lappy, 5 years old.
Running steam for the occasional games, if I really wanted to run Winsloze games, woulda run a QEMU/KVM vm.
It's pretty good.

Tilluck

Postby Tilluck » November 29th, 2014, 2:33 pm

I installed Edbuntu 32 bit on a customers net-book. Had 1GB ram and an Atom processor. Edbuntu used up about 400MB, which is good. But the start up of any applications maxed out the CPU, creating a little lag. Then went on running smoothly. one little bug - it started up with the volume muted somehow.

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 29th, 2014, 2:40 pm

Had ubuntu 10 on an old netbook, intel atom cpu and 1gb ram with water damage for about a year,,, only crashed once

whereas with windows 7 32 bit it was slower than a Sharp calculator running Skyrim with all the mods

Tilluck

Postby Tilluck » November 29th, 2014, 2:47 pm

I was trying out ZenCafe 3.2 rc1 on a old dual core with 1gb of ram it originally had XP. And accidentally deleted the bottom panel ( start menu everything, had windows minimizing into nothingness). But then discovered that one could recreate it from scratch from the desktop. One could choose which panel to minimize windows to. from the desktop.

Postby janfar » November 29th, 2014, 9:36 pm

Now looking at getting a laptop for Ubuntu. Gonna get a cheapo one off Amazon for 300USD. That should last years.

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 30th, 2014, 3:42 pm

$300US cheap for you?

I poor yes

Postby cinco » December 1st, 2014, 1:35 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:$300US cheap for you?

I poor yes

Ent. $300 is a hefty machine to use just for Linux. A 150-200 Acer is even better