CLOSED. kerosene in diesel engine.

silverfire

CLOSED. kerosene in diesel engine.

Postby silverfire » March 5th, 2015, 12:25 pm

Just filled up my CRD diesel engine with kerosene until it overflowed. What should I do? it's a new SUV...please help.
Last edited by silverfire on March 8th, 2015, 9:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Advent

Re: URGENT! kerosene in diesel engine

Postby Advent » March 5th, 2015, 12:27 pm

:| empty it and put diesel

Postby MG Man » March 5th, 2015, 12:29 pm

hope you didn't start it
DO NOT start it...tow it to a place where you can drain and flush the tank

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » March 5th, 2015, 12:39 pm

How much diesel was your tank before you fill it up?
Best bet is to drain your tank?
plenty people put kero in their diesel and they dont seem to have problem, but it all depends on the ratio .
diesel has more lubrication than kero
Add a bottle of marvel mystery oil to the diesel when you refill

silverfire

Postby silverfire » March 5th, 2015, 12:42 pm

it was 1/4 tank. southern sales said to wreck it and bring it to them :( I'm sure someone on the outside can drain it but since it's a new engine we wanna be sure

eyeballz

Postby eyeballz » March 5th, 2015, 12:42 pm

MG Man wrote:hope you didn't start it

what he said

silverfire

Postby silverfire » March 5th, 2015, 12:43 pm

The man in the gas station told me to drive and work it out. I drove it about half a mile to my office and it's parked up now.

Postby tr1ad » March 5th, 2015, 12:45 pm

wow eh...wow

Cooloh

Postby Cooloh » March 5th, 2015, 12:55 pm

silverfire wrote:

The man in the gas station told me to drive and work it out. I drove it about half a mile to my office and it's parked up now.

he prolly jus wanted to get u outta his gas station. U somebody else problem now :roll:

Advent

Postby Advent » March 5th, 2015, 12:56 pm

Cooloh wrote:
silverfire wrote:

he prolly jus wanted to get u outta his gas station. U somebody else problem now :roll:

shoot :/

Postby 0001 » March 5th, 2015, 12:56 pm

LOL dude go and drain that tank. Those gas station people do not know what they are speaking of.

You should of never started that vehicle.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » March 5th, 2015, 1:08 pm

silverfire wrote:

Well if you drove it 1/2 mile without problems..... don't waste the kerosene dan.

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » March 5th, 2015, 1:24 pm

If its a Kia then go ahead and start it!

Postby MG Man » March 5th, 2015, 1:27 pm

silverfire wrote:

why do people take advice from pump attendants?
Did you pause to consider what technical experience, knowledge or training this fella has, before accepting his wisdom?

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » March 5th, 2015, 1:29 pm

i made the same mistake when I had the diesel b14, i just stupes, shrugged my shoulders and drove off, my mechanic told me to drain out the tank but was unable to. no damage done to the engine as far as i could tell, but then again that was ah beat out cd20 diesel engine, takes a lickin and keeps on tickin, car sold now with said engine.

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » March 5th, 2015, 1:47 pm

silverfire wrote:

Did you pause to consider what technical experience, knowledge or training this fella has, before accepting his wisdom?

I don't think Op knows better!

Postby MG Man » March 5th, 2015, 1:54 pm

that should be common sense tho....just like taking tyre advice from a roadside tyre shop dude

Postby Mark! » March 5th, 2015, 1:56 pm

yuh feel issa plane yuh ha dey orrr

silverfire

Postby silverfire » March 5th, 2015, 2:01 pm

TurboSingh12 wrote:
silverfire wrote:

I don't think Op knows better!

Well I knew something was wrong, all I wanted to be sure of was that I did not blow up when I started the engine. I didn't believe I could drive it till it worked out itself but I figured it was safe to make that 2 min drive down the highway to my office and then I called my father who blazed out some level boof.

Postby 88sins » March 5th, 2015, 2:07 pm

op, that's an easy fix.

1-Tow vehicle home
2-Remove fuel tank
3-Stuff towel in tank inlet
4-Wait for T&TEC to have an outage, or for a death in the area

voila, greatest flambeau T&T has ever seen

Postby DVSTT » March 5th, 2015, 2:15 pm

88sins wrote:op, that's an easy fix.

1-Tow vehicle home
2-Remove fuel tank

Bwahahaha

Postby nervewrecker » March 5th, 2015, 2:46 pm

lost to all wrote:i made the same mistake when I had the diesel b14, i just stupes, shrugged my shoulders and drove off, my mechanic told me to drain out the tank but was unable to. no damage done to the engine as far as i could tell, but then again that was ah beat out cd20 diesel engine, takes a lickin and keeps on tickin, car sold now with said engine.

Them CD, LD and TD engines Like they will run on anything yes. I know a man used to work taxi with a CD and used to run kero normal.

Will I do it? No
Should you do it? No

I think kero damages seals, rubbers, lines etc. I dont even let that stuff near my vehicle.

Postby DVSTT » March 5th, 2015, 2:51 pm

lost to all wrote:i made the same mistake when I had the diesel b14, i just stupes, shrugged my shoulders and drove off, my mechanic told me to drain out the tank but was unable to. no damage done to the engine as far as i could tell, but then again that was ah beat out cd20 diesel engine, takes a lickin and keeps on tickin, car sold now with said engine.

Them CD, LD and TD engines Like they will run on anything yes. I know a man used to work taxi with a CD and used to run kero normal.

Will I do it? No
Should you do it? No

I think kero damages seals, rubbers, lines etc. I dont even let that stuff near my vehicle.

Yes it does. It's also less lubricating than diesel.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 5th, 2015, 2:51 pm

OP

How u manage to full kerosene in the 1st place?

Postby tr1ad » March 5th, 2015, 2:54 pm

Wondering that, not like some stations that have super, premium and diesel on the same pump.... Haven't seen kero anywhere close

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 5th, 2015, 2:57 pm

You shouldnt have an issue.... drain refill start...but realy rely dumb mistake,,,would undertand if it was gas...the engien shouldnt have an issue

moses_boss12
Location: The Beautiful Hills of.................... Hellshire!!

Postby moses_boss12 » March 5th, 2015, 2:59 pm

88sins wrote:op, that's an easy fix.

1-Tow vehicle home
2-Remove fuel tank

Postby nervewrecker » March 5th, 2015, 3:00 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:OP

How u manage to full kerosene in the 1st place?

I think my sister full gas in her own a time. Donno how these things happen nah

Postby MG Man » March 5th, 2015, 3:04 pm

when I now started driving diesel vehicle, ona couple occasions, I forget, and pull up by de gas pump outta habit..one day I reach as far as swipin mih credit card and grabbin de pump...hardest part was puttin it back and movin de van widout feelin dotish :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

ADONI

Postby ADONI » March 5th, 2015, 3:14 pm

Not all gas stations sell Kerosene and if they do, the pump does be Blue and kind ah out of the way...