Chaguaramas Causeway...

Re: Chaguaramas Causeway...

Postby Redman » April 27th, 2015, 7:43 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/commenta ... 78551.html

The PNM no doubt thought that it was on to something good when it realised that Mrs Persad-Bissessar had “borrowed” from its bag of promises to make a promise of her own. At the UNC’s Monday night forum she promised that if the UNC were returned to office, she would investigate the feasibility of a causeway from Port of Spain to Chaguaramas.
So, quoting chapter, verse and page number, the PNM went on the offensive, accusing the UNC of “tiefing” their promise. The researchers in the media quickly ascertained that the PNM was right. The causeway to Chaguaramas was indeed a PNM promise made at least as far back as 2010.
But the smile on the PNM’s face must have quickly turned sour when Mrs Persad-Bissessar, presented with the evidence of her unsanctioned appropriation of a PNM promise, did not even bother to deny it but used the opportunity to score a telling point against the PNM.
“Whether it is their (idea) or not, is not the point, the point is who could make it happen.” And with that simple statement she not only rendered the issue of the theft of the promise unimportant but reminded the population (and threw back into the face of the PNM) of a long-standing popular perception of that party—to wit—that it takes forever to implement anything. Score one for Kamla!
But there are more serious issues behind the promise of a causeway.
First of all while there is no question that the UNC did “tief” the PNM promise, we do have to ask ourselves why this particular promise. One answer has to do with what the Government is doing to the Chaguaramas peninsula. According to Planning Minister Bhoe Tewarie, the Government’s plan is to “monetise” the peninsula.
We must understand clearly what that means. The Chaguaramas peninsula is a public asset owned by the citizens of the country who visit the area to enjoy its many natural wonders free of charge. What the Planning Minister means when he speaks of “monetising” the peninsula is that he would lease this public asset to private investors who would then charge citizens to access “attractions” built on land owned by the very citizens.
Think about it for a moment and you would understand that the promised causeway, which is going to be built at enormous expense to the taxpayers, is going to be built for no other reason than to facilitate the increased flow of traffic of those same taxpayers to visit the various attractions for which they will have to pay.
It is the height of corruption and crookedness. And do not be surprised if after the causeway is built we see acres of pristine woodland, wetland and agricultural land being bulldozed over to make room for concrete and asphalt parking lots, all at taxpayers’ expense of course.
But there is even more behind the theft of this particular promise than the corruption going on in Chaguaramas. For, in this election season, promises can be worth their weight in gold to the two dominant parties [b]neither of which have any comprehensive plan to put before the electorate for the economic and social development of the country.[/b]
In the absence of such plans, the election campaigns and the so-called manifestos of the two dominant parties, when not focused on bacchanal and mudslinging, rely on casting as many promises as possible before the electorate. These promises are varied. Some of them are directed at particular sections of the population. For example increases in the Old Age grant.
Other promises are aimed at wider portions of the electorate; for example, increasing GATE or cutting taxes or building houses, etc. Now most of these promises are understood by the electorate to be vote-buying proposals. They are naked and unadorned with no pretence at any developmental rationale other than that of garnering a few additional votes.
But occasionally, very rarely, the parties may come up with what can only be described as beautiful promises. These are promises which give the appearance of satisfying some real developmental need, yet they require no discussion or consultation with, or persuasion of, the population. No one is ever discommoded. Once there is the money implementation can take place. And everybody is happy.
The causeway to Chaguaramas is one such beautiful promise. It appears to solve a real problem i.e. traffic to the western peninsula, it discommodes no one except the fishes since it is being built over the sea, and it is going to be frightfully expensive which is going to present opportunities for lucrative kickbacks.
In short, it is a promise well worth stealing by the UNC and well worth the howls of pain coming from the PNM on finding that it was stolen.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 27th, 2015, 9:21 am

But what are the cost and benefits as compared to simply widening the road to Chaguaramas?

This should be done first!

We taxpayers should not just be made to fork out money without knowing the cost of the alternatives!

BRZ

Postby BRZ » April 27th, 2015, 9:23 am

there are TOO many places through chaguramas where the Road CANNOT be widened.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 27th, 2015, 9:29 am

Well why not a mix an match. Where you can widen,widen. Where you can buy properties at low rates buy. Where you have to dig the mountain dig. Where you have to reclaim ,reclaim

If there are some area where you to build a short causeway do so.

But this must be costed as compared to an entire causeway!

Postby Redman » April 27th, 2015, 9:31 am

maybe we need to figure out what we really trying to achieve in terms of the Penninsula...and who owns what and benefits from what-

Postby meccalli » April 27th, 2015, 9:32 am

^Oh yeahh, the findings won't be pretty.

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » April 27th, 2015, 9:34 am

PariaMan wrote:But what are the cost and benefits as compared to simply widening the road to Chaguaramas?

This should be done first!

We taxpayers should not just be made to fork out money without knowing the cost of the alternatives!

Have you EVER been to Chaguaramas? Exactly where would you widen?

Our road woes have been the result of years of shortsightedness and a simple lack of planning and common sense. Only in Trinidad do you have houses, business and other establishments close to the road. Now, we're reaping the cause of us jumping up behind party since 1962 without wanting better for the country. We have no order to anything and I'm very happy we're now in this sheit. We reap what we sow. Take traffic in we so and so.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 27th, 2015, 9:38 am

That is why a survey has to be done to determine this. It cannot be simple some one takes a drive on a sunday and say the road cannot be widened .

For me I know quite a few areas where the mountain can be cut cut. Thru the village areas there are a lot of simple buildings which can be purchased!.

Do the survey first. There is no other way!

Postby dougla_boy » April 27th, 2015, 10:09 am

PariaMan wrote:Do the survey first. !

This! :|

Postby toyolink » April 27th, 2015, 11:28 am

Has any of the administrations/govts who came up this this idea done any ideas type conceptual drawing or imaging.
I suppose now that I have asked this question some tuners will go crazy with their own artistic impressions.

Daran

Postby Daran » April 27th, 2015, 12:33 pm

Actually I believe UWI's Civil Engineering department has tons of research designs etc for the causeway as well as tones of other projects

Don't underestimate our local designs etc. I can't say what the present day cost but ten years ago the estimate was 200-300mil. A present real day price
Might be around $1B.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » April 27th, 2015, 12:49 pm

So what happened to the proposed ROADway from TUCKER valley road into Diego martin? Biuld it nah man and every weekend let the people of Diego Enjoy a few thousand passing through their back yards.

Postby Redman » April 27th, 2015, 1:20 pm

BRZ wrote:So what happened to the proposed ROADway from TUCKER valley road into Diego martin? Biuld it nah man and every weekend let the people of Diego Enjoy a few thousand passing through their back yards.

Special Interests aint giving up no prime real estate fuh public road way when they can get the GORTT to build a causeway.

GORTT like causeway cuz that means contract to eat ah food.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 27th, 2015, 2:17 pm

I see your point the bigger the project the more food sharing!

Postby rspann » April 27th, 2015, 8:53 pm

PariaMan has it correct and up to yesterday I was watching that same thing. There is place for widening from deep inside chag to the road to Renaissance towers. The only expensive properties would be the ones from opposite Highland plaza to where the rod widens at Ridgewood towers. Still that would not cost a tenth of the causeway for the total project.

The jam is not caused by the opening of the Boardwalk. The jam was there years now ,it just got a little worse now. All the boatrides ,Maqueripe, fetes and DDI visitors all leave at the same time,and the is no police presence,so everybody do their own thing and drive like asses ,that is what causes the jam . I left Coral Cove yesterday at 5 pm and although the boardwalk had lots of people there was absolutely no traffic all the way up to Glenco.

If the police come out and do their jobs traffic could be eliminated until such time as the road is widened, An important part too is putting the parking lot next to the boardwalk and passing the road on the outside ,which is about to be done.

Postby pugboy » April 28th, 2015, 7:36 am

to spend hundreds of millions of dollars definitely requires some analysis of if there
are other more pressing matters which could benefit better

BRZ

Postby BRZ » September 12th, 2016, 2:42 pm

So if the govt wanted to build a highway they would have to re acquire the lands fromt he current lease owners?
I do wonder at what cost seeing as most of these New LEASE holders got it for almost NOthing and the lease seemed to have been TOO conveniently signed the DAY BEFORE the last General Election.

talk about BULLSH!T !

Image[/quote]

Postby Redman » September 12th, 2016, 3:20 pm

So if the govt wanted to build a highway they would have to re acquire the lands fromt he current lease owners?
I do wonder at what cost seeing as most of these New LEASE holders got it for almost NOthing and the lease seemed to have been TOO conveniently signed the DAY BEFORE the last General Election.

Legal rape of the peoples assets.

It seems to be the goal of every contract undertaken by the PP

TriP

Postby TriP » April 2nd, 2018, 2:55 pm

Broadwalk Toilets - stink stink stink..lol

Postby The_Honourable » June 6th, 2020, 5:12 pm

Well yuh know election season is upon us so ideas which was promised coming back. Hearing talk about the Chaguaramas Causeway. This article was a few months ago (Click photo to enlarge and zoom).
74607741_10162619586510472_7295198309570838528_o.jpg