Which is better: Drop in or Spray on bed liner

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
rottedv

Which is better: Drop in or Spray on bed liner

Postby rottedv » February 24th, 2011, 9:04 pm

Guys I'm trying to assess which one is better....Phoenix knows why I'm asking but give me your opinions with supporting points if you can.....

Re: Which is better: Drop in or Spray on bed liner

Postby sliderz1 » February 24th, 2011, 11:21 pm

if ur cargo box doz take lixx do d drop in as it will dampen a impact force....... BUT road rash n other crap doz get under it an cause ur tray 2 rust so u hadda haul it out ever so often an clean out
d spray on is gr8.......but dents stil occur......low maintainence.
JUS MAKE SURE U HAVE NO RUST SPOTS before u decide 2 put n e sort of bedliner

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 25th, 2011, 12:18 am

i prefer spray-on.

Drop-in liners tend to allow water in between the liner and the tray bed after a while - this will lead to rusting later on down the line even if you spray a rust-proof coating on beforehand. Heat and humidity will cause the plastic to warp over time, so the edges on top of the tray will raise up and allow water/moisture in.

Once the spray-on is thick enough, you wouldn't have to worry about wear and tear so much. And even so, if bald-patches start to appear in high-contact areas, simply spray on another coating of the liner - problem solved!

Another advantage of the spray-on liner, you get to keep the factory hooks in the tray. The plastic hooks that come with the Falcon and Carryboy liners are inferior and weak, they'll break under moderate-heavy load.

Also, the drop-in liners don't have any drainage holes to let the water out, so it just collects like a big pool in the tray.

I got my spray-on installed by an authorized accessories dealer from N&M.
Very neat job.
Kazim Ali - 6807104

civic minded

Postby civic minded » February 25th, 2011, 6:52 am

spray on is always better - you do lose some bed space when u do a drop in ...BTW my drop in is for sale...

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » February 25th, 2011, 8:07 am

Yeah i know why..

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=358750

Drop-In all the way for me... Thats why i always have one installed.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » February 26th, 2011, 6:18 am

Thats why I said Phoenix knows why....I want to buy this liner but I want to do the right thing the first time. I called Mr. Ali and he said that the cost to do the spray on was 2600 and that it would take one day to do it... He said 4 coats on the bed and 3 coats on the sides...He ssaid basically the same thing with the rusting and warping but I was thinking that it would boil down to the person who is doing it and the way he preps the tray and yuh know in trinidad we have a way of cutting corners.....The advantage I see with the drop in is that you can put it in and you can take it out whenevre you like so maybe some periodic maintenancce like taking out and cleaning and them putting back in make make more sense than trusting a trini....What you guys think?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 26th, 2011, 7:49 am

Well, as far as my experience goes - Kazim always did a very professional job.
The guys on this forum who saw my liner on the last couple runs had examined it all said that it looked very clean and neat, and they marveled at how original it looked.

Haven't had any problems at all with rusting or warping or bubbles.

Plus the man is authorized and recognized officially by Neal & Massy - they even cover his work with their own Neal & Massy warranty - meaning all the sensors and bedliners that I bought my Navara with are all covered in the Warranty as well.

So I think that says something about the quality of his work and the level of professionalism his shop gives.
Of course he'll do trucks from other companies too, but even so he'll still give you a good level of service.

I've heard a couple of bad stories from other sellers on this forum and their poor installation jobs - the guys weren't satisfied at all. In fact a fellow truck owner who had been dissatisfied with that other person's bad installation job went to Kazim Ali after I referred him, and Ali went and redid the guy's install job using back the same old accessories and only charged labour.

He has an office in the N&M showroom in Morvant - check him out and have a look at some of his work nah.

*I don't work for the fella - but I do believe in giving good references for folks who do what they supposed to do, do it right and give you an honest pricing.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » February 26th, 2011, 9:27 am

rottedv wrote:Thats why I said Phoenix knows why....I want to buy this liner but I want to do the right thing the first time. I called Mr. Ali and he said that the cost to do the spray on was 2600 and that it would take one day to do it... He said 4 coats on the bed and 3 coats on the sides...He ssaid basically the same thing with the rusting and warping but I was thinking that it would boil down to the person who is doing it and the way he preps the tray and yuh know in trinidad we have a way of cutting corners.....The advantage I see with the drop in is that you can put it in and you can take it out whenevre you like so maybe some periodic maintenancce like taking out and cleaning and them putting back in make make more sense than trusting a trini....What you guys think?

If you are going to use your truck bed for light use, casual use, or you will be carrying boxed cargo, then go with a spray on liner. Depending on the finish of the coating, boxed cargo will not slid around as much.

If you are going to have lots of loose cargo - chains, ole iron, tools, construction materials, etc. I suggest you get a drop in liner. However, you should look into coating the bed with anti corrosive paint as well as open up the drain holes in the tray a bit.

With regards to your concern about the installation process, I know Shaw's in Las Lomas usually keeps the vehicle overnight. Our 11 year old Mazda pickup tray is testament to his work. He sands then cleans the tray and every area to be sprayed thoroughly.
Now, Shaw's liners are a ROUGH finish, which suits me fine. Clean up of fine particles is harder though and need to be brushed off and washed off.
Shaw uses a polyurethane coating, others may use a PVA or PVC coating.
If you're looking for a smooth, rubberised finish then I think some of the other suppliers would be for you.
Other guys who can back up his work are Black Scorpion and 323_wagon. As well as about 3-4 other pickups we had which we sent by him to get the spray on liner.

Hope this helps...

rottedv

Postby rottedv » February 26th, 2011, 5:31 pm

Bleedingfreak, you have a contact Shaws? Anything I would be putting into the tray would be secured properly.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » February 26th, 2011, 6:00 pm

I will call black scorpian and ask him about the work....Just wanted to know which one really does not harm the van in anyway...over time that is..

Postby sliderz1 » February 26th, 2011, 10:27 pm

lighthammer wrote:Well, as far as my experience goes - Kazim always did a very professional job.
The guys on this forum who saw my liner on the last couple runs had examined it all said that it looked very clean and neat, and they marveled at how original it looked.

Haven't had any problems at all with rusting or warping or bubbles.

Plus the man is authorized and recognized officially by Neal & Massy - they even cover his work with their own Neal & Massy warranty - meaning all the sensors and bedliners that I bought my Navara with are all covered in the Warranty as well.

So I think that says something about the quality of his work and the level of professionalism his shop gives.
Of course he'll do trucks from other companies too, but even so he'll still give you a good level of service.

I've heard a couple of bad stories from other sellers on this forum and their poor installation jobs - the guys weren't satisfied at all. In fact a fellow truck owner who had been dissatisfied with that other person's bad installation job went to Kazim Ali after I referred him, and Ali went and redid the guy's install job using back the same old accessories and only charged labour.

He has an office in the N&M showroom in Morvant - check him out and have a look at some of his work nah.

*I don't work for the fella - but I do believe in giving good references for folks who do what they supposed to do, do it right and give you an honest pricing.

^^agreed
he installed by front bar and side steps on my Frontier ......and other jobs 4 ppl i know
......... recommendable********

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » February 27th, 2011, 7:35 am

rottedv wrote:Bleedingfreak, you have a contact Shaws? Anything I would be putting into the tray would be secured properly.

Shaw's is 669-1118.

If you want to see what his work looks like, you can link up with me anytime... I have the same spray on liner on the Hilux.

Shaw also does the bars at the back of the cab, and the tie bars at the side of the tray if you really need to...

Eh the man even spray the lip between the tray and the cab! Why? I cyar say :lol: :lol:

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » February 28th, 2011, 2:22 pm

Why not the spray on guys just askin...

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » February 28th, 2011, 7:30 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:Why not the spray on guys just askin...

:?: :?:
:roll: :roll:

rottedv

Postby rottedv » February 28th, 2011, 8:58 pm

I called Shaws today and he said 3600. The bars behind the cab is 200. By appointment only and on Saturday only and he does the work himself to ensure quality.

So...so far I've gotten 3 quotes for the spray on....Shaws above, Jason (recommended by TTTL) @ 3000 plus vat and Kazim Ali @ 2600....So seeing as all these have been highly recommended it now boils down to priorities and cost.....I hope this thread is helpful to some other ppl.

Smeed

Postby Smeed » February 28th, 2011, 11:17 pm

wha bout westbourne trading?....they are toyota's vendor for de spray on liner and also de authorised dealer for roll n lock......i wanna do mine by them.....2800 for de spray on and 12000 for de roll n lock. they located in el socorro. drop off yuh van in the morning and collect back in the afternoon.

i was able to observe both kazim's guys and the guys at westbourne trading prep and then spray liners on 2 vans.....while kazim's fellas are neat....i was more impressed wid westbourne.......very professional......proper ppe used....neat....very good prep of the tray's surface.....kazim's work was also good....i was just more impressed wid de guys in el socorro.....the finished product of both shops were pretty darn good

rottedv

Postby rottedv » March 1st, 2011, 3:54 am

Thats the Jason guy mentioned above.....He quoted me different as stated....3000 plus vat for the spray on and 10000 for the roll and lock.......hmmmm....6 for a 9?

Smeed

Postby Smeed » March 1st, 2011, 8:12 am

ask for a cash price??........jus sayin

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 1st, 2011, 9:49 am

Real $$$ deh fellaz..

I got the Drop-in for $1700 for anyone ah allyuh eh!
;)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 2nd, 2011, 3:13 am

they are toyota's vendor for de spray on liner and also de authorised dealer for roll n lock......i wanna do mine by them.....2800 for de spray on and 12000 for de roll n lock.

So much???
:shock: :shock: :shock:
Nah bai, that way too much.
I was getting quoted $10,000 for the similarly designed Pace-Edwards (similar to the Roll N Lock but the receptacle for the shutter is flush with the tray-edges, the Roll N Lock sits above the tray and isn't flush) from Kazim Ali for the Navara.
680-7104

Pace Edwards JackRabbit

Roll N Lock cover.

rottedv wrote:Thats the Jason guy mentioned above.....He quoted me different as stated....3000 plus vat for the spray on and 10000 for the roll and lock.......hmmmm....6 for a 9?

Nah, that too much there.
$2600 for the spray-on from Kazim Ali, was done in two days (got it before I collected the van from N&M when first bought it).

Dunman

Postby Dunman » March 2nd, 2011, 5:48 am

I have the Pace Edwards JackRabbit and it works great. I got it for $9500 and N&M installed it when I got my Nav. I'm assuming Kazim did it.

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » February 15th, 2012, 10:56 am

Having a problem with my drop in bedliner. bought the van used and is still fairly new. I have noticed the end of the bedliner where it joins to the tail gate water is setting on the metal and showing rust spots, any idea of how to fix this before it spreads more? will try to post a pic.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 15th, 2012, 11:36 am

two options:

- take out the liner, wash the tray down, dry properly and then re-grease/spray with anti-rust and then put back in the tray liner... (prob could paint the rust spots over too)

- take out the tray liner, throw it away and have a spray-on liner put in instead.

If the spray on chips/cracks, just re-spray and you on like boil-corn.

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » February 15th, 2012, 12:09 pm

Ok. Is removing the liner a DIY job and how hard is it to put back in? It also has the rollbar attached to it.

Also, if i take a tube of silicon and seal the end off..will this help or make the problem worst?

Postby wagon r » February 15th, 2012, 11:36 pm

one thing i have noticed with drop in's vs spray on is the easy of loading stuff.

the drop in's are plastic, which makes loading stuff and off the tray easy, it slides and you need no help, where as with a spray on, you have to lift, draggin may damage the item being transported.More so someone may have to jump in the tray to help lift it.

the cleaning aspect, not sure with the spray on guys, buy a simple broom and soap water and yuh done, I suspect a bit more elbow grease to scrub the spray on is required.....worse is the stain, mud and whatever else was allowed to sit for a few days.

as for the roll and lock, give me a canvas cover any day, it may not be entirely waterproof, but you still get full use of your tray where as with the RnL you lose a some inches to the back of the tray.

homeboy

Postby homeboy » February 16th, 2012, 6:12 am

I had both spray on ( L200 ) and bedliner ( Ranger ). I prefer the bedliner for the same reason Wagon R posted.......if we talking rust build up for bed liner what time frame would you say in term of years, months and so on....

As for Roll n lock, that price even if i can afford it i will not pay....why so much?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » March 2nd, 2012, 9:07 am

Drop in: Heavy duty use
Spray on: Light duty.

I consider one main thing when I doin something withj my Van. REVERSABILITY. If a man eh wa pay the price u sellin the van for, u can take out the bedliner. You cannot take out the spray on. Only with a grinder.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”