WTK: turbo Timers

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

WTK: turbo Timers

Postby *KRONIK* » June 30th, 2010, 5:51 pm

we recently purchased a ford ranger (wildtrak) 3.0TD
came with a factory installed turbo timer

what is the recommended setting for such a vehicle in comparison to run time??

madman2961

Re: WTK: turbo Timers

Postby madman2961 » June 30th, 2010, 10:22 pm

if you do alot of long highway run then i suggest you get an auto timer. I am not too sure if the factory turbo timer has this feature.

I would have my turbo timer on auto and if i make a run from tunapuna to the cross with my van. the timer does run for like 8 mins and thing. that is staying at 3200 rpm or so.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 1st, 2010, 4:20 am

The frontier's turbo-timer is set to auto, but the default run-down time is 1:00. After running from Kaydonna-Arima, it usually runs down from 3:30 or so. That's cruising at 3,000 RPM, 120km/h, no traffic light stops.

Good job on the Wildtrak *KRONIK*, I want one of those too :).

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 1st, 2010, 5:40 am

It isn't necessary to have a turbo timer on the rangers - but if you have one already normally set it for 1 minute or so- that should be enough

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 1st, 2010, 6:11 am

Whey, ppl up real early this morning, eh civic_minded?

I spoke with the McEarney Robinson Ford sales rep about the Turbo-Timers for Rangers. He said that the factory doesn't really offer turbo timers as stock because the turbochargers on the Ranger are smaller, is both oil & water-cooled and thus doesn't need the extended cool-down time as other trucks.

We have a D22 frontier with the ZD30T turbo diesel engine, and at the time of purchase the sales rep recommended we get the GReddy Turbotimer installed. I found out that the Nissan's turbo is a larger capacity and is only oil-cooled, hence it needs that extended time like any traditional turbo.

So, I guess through some sort of magical sorcery, Ford's smaller, variable-geometry turbocharger is still capable of putting out so much power without the hassle of leaving the truck running. It's still a good idea to let the engine idle for at least 30-secs or so before switching off, especially after running at high-rpm on the highways.

As for the Wildtrak, I'm not sure why Ford would include it as stock in that model alone and not the other Rangers. Perhaps it was just meant as a marketing gimmick to score more sales - but at the very least it won't hurt the engine to have the timer anyway.

If it has an Auto setting, perhaps it's best to leave it on Auto.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 1st, 2010, 8:36 am

ok cool....

so i guess 2 mins +/- is good for daily driving then??

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 1st, 2010, 5:40 pm

Meh, well, I use 1:00 on my Greddy turbotimer on the Frontier. Depending on how fast I drive and for how long, the Auto-setting will determine how much longer the engine will stay on.

Usually i get anywhere between 1:30 and 3:45.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 1st, 2010, 7:43 pm

Whats the price of those Turbo Timers... Greddy and the Stock Styles.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 1st, 2010, 9:52 pm

*Phoenix* - Not really sure. We got the frontier 2nd-hand, and it had already been installed. I think the price was about $1500 or so for the turbotimer.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 1st, 2010, 10:29 pm

I like this type. for OEM fit.

Where to find one and how much I donno....

This is what I like for after market..

APEXi Turbo Timer

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 2nd, 2010, 6:46 am

4x4 trinidad has the oem one - i cant remember the price - i think it was 900 or something like that - i am still wondering if i really need that or not, maybe i will buy it during the summer - i have been doing alot of highway and more overall driving now - just to be on the safe side i guess

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 2nd, 2010, 11:56 am

^^^ at least it won't hurt the engine. Plus it just looks cool when you walk away from the van and it shuts off for itself.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » July 14th, 2010, 8:18 am

i have the oem style istalled in the nav, set on auto most times i get 3 mins for highway driving but since i dont rev her out or drive hard it usually settle to 1-2 mins by the time im ready to cut off

monk_t

Postby monk_t » July 15th, 2010, 9:02 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:i have the oem style istalled in the nav, set on auto most times i get 3 mins for highway driving but since i dont rev her out or drive hard it usually settle to 1-2 mins by the time im ready to cut off

How does it work with the OEM keyless entry ? Does it stay locked after the engine eventually switches off?

4X4 Trinidad

Postby 4X4 Trinidad » July 27th, 2010, 4:50 pm

improve your pick up value , performance and look ...these timers are specially built for the thailand pick up's

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=219103

hindian

Postby hindian » August 20th, 2010, 10:18 pm

hi does anybody know if a 24v turbo timer exists? The company i work for just brought an Isuzu truck that has a turbo diesel and also does it make sense installing this type of equipment on this type of vehicle?

4X4 Trinidad

Postby 4X4 Trinidad » August 21st, 2010, 7:38 am

the same 12 v can be used , just need to be put it by a good tech to wire and configure properly .

4X4 Trinidad

Postby 4X4 Trinidad » August 21st, 2010, 7:42 am

*Phoenix* wrote:I like this type. for OEM fit.

Where to find one and how much I donno....

This is what I like for after market..

APEXi Turbo Timer

$800 (oem volution, exisiting customers will get a 5 % discount on this) :-)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 21st, 2010, 8:05 am

The newer pickups with the newer-design turbochargers (Variable Geometry/Variable Nozzle Turbocharger etc.) are both oil-cooled & water-cooled. I think they take water from the radiator as well as engine oil to keep the turbo running at spec-temps.

Hence these newer turbo's (like in the TDCi Rangers, Navara, Hilux & L200 Sportero) don't run as much heat as the older ones with the simpler design (WL/WLT Rangers, 2.5/3.0 Frontiers, L200, etc).
The cool-down period is much less with the VGT/VNT turbo's than regular turbo's, hence less need for a turbo-timer.

It might still be advisable to install a turbo timer - esp. for extended highway runs. Despite the new-technology, the turbo will definitely run some heat and as long as your radiator & oil-pump are keepin the turbo cool that extra couple of mins, your turbo will last longer.

AFAIK, 4x4trinidad has some really good prices, as good as what I've seen online, so it works out cheaper in the long run.

rampy

Postby rampy » August 24th, 2010, 5:48 pm

can the volution or apexi be connected to work on auto on a manual 4x4 BT-50

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 25th, 2010, 7:06 am

rampy wrote:can the volution or apexi be connected to work on auto on a manual 4x4 BT-50

AFAIK any turbo timer will work on both auto and manual tran's. As long as it's hooked up to the alarm properly, it should turn the vehicle off within a specified time or for however long the Auto-setting will allow the engine to idle for.

All you have to do is make sure to leave the vehicle in neutral (happened to me a couple times the first week I had the van, would leave it in gear and then switch off, you know what would happen next).

Leave it in neutral and make sure your handbrakes are tightened - cuz the gear wouldn't be holding the truck in place anymore.

rampy

Postby rampy » August 25th, 2010, 2:55 pm

The one I have installed operates as you said but it has an auto position that monitors your driving pattern through the ECU and sets the idle time. Installer said this function cannot work on my
BT-50 as it have no ECU. My pick up is the powered 4x4 manual version (TCJ).

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”