Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » January 21st, 2009, 10:31 pm

^^ warranty replacement there loco?

Postby Team Loco » January 21st, 2009, 11:43 pm

nope. simply kept blowing. no mods to the vehicle whatsoever. but it just cross 200,000kms

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » January 22nd, 2009, 11:06 am

robbieg wrote:Probably meh pops giving her a drive, I am not too far from the North Pole right now actually...

should've take the hilux...lol

alarms_wiz

Original Toyota MotorSports Diesel performance Kit - Hilux

Postby alarms_wiz » January 23rd, 2009, 5:56 am

Anybody install the Performance kit yet? Have to jump through hoops to order it. Toyota motorsports only directing me to Toyota dealers who basically want my first born as payment :x Want to know if the power gains are worth it. Lots of good reviews about the kit in the 2009 model.

robbieg

Postby robbieg » April 12th, 2009, 3:54 pm

Bump, alarms_wiz, do you have any more info on the Performance kit?

alarms_wiz

Postby alarms_wiz » April 13th, 2009, 11:52 pm

robbieg wrote:Bump, alarms_wiz, do you have any more info on the Performance kit?

I was able to get the toyota motorsports kit shipped to me in Australia and I installed it Just before Carnival when I came home. It cost about $12,000TT in all (shipping and insurance included) but it was worth it. Took me about 30mins to install because I wanted to do a neater install than the instructions. The truck is a bit peppier I must say and I can feel the improvement. More power and more responsive, I running anything I catch on the road, especially dem boys wid they hot up cars. After the kit I find it sounds like the diesel noise has been reduced a bit as well and almost no diesel smoke!! Before the kit I would see more smoke especially if I did some hills. After the kit I did Las Cuevas and nobody even knew I was driving a diesel.

e-mail me at alarms_wiz@yahoo.com and I will give details about the kit and another kit I tried before and why I had to ship to Australia.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 22nd, 2009, 10:25 am

Alarms Wiz can you please e-mail me some info on the kit and the site/company you ordered from. Can this kit work on the 2.5 D-4D or if they have a special kit for it.

fire_fighter786@hotmail.com

:twisted: Thanks

robbieg

Postby robbieg » April 22nd, 2009, 3:33 pm

alarms_wiz, CC me on that email as well thanks.

robbie.e.garcia@gmail.com

***TRINISON***

Postby ***TRINISON*** » April 23rd, 2009, 12:02 pm

Does anyone know the amount of HP gained as a result of this conversion? I am thinking about it, and i have seen alot on Ebay Australia, as well as Ebay UK.
It does not cost as much, however the upgrade claims to increase your hp from anything from 12 to 25 hp.

I was able to get the toyota motorsports kit shipped to me in Australia and I installed it Just before Carnival when I came home. It cost about $12,000TT in all (shipping and insurance included) but it was worth it. Took me about 30mins to install because I wanted to do a neater install than the instructions. The truck is a bit peppier I must say and I can feel the improvement. More power and more responsive, I running anything I catch on the road, especially dem boys wid they hot up cars. After the kit I find it sounds like the diesel noise has been reduced a bit as well and almost no diesel smoke!! Before the kit I would see more smoke especially if I did some hills. After the kit I did Las Cuevas and nobody even knew I was driving a diesel.

e-mail me at alarms_wiz@yahoo.com and I will give details about the kit and another kit I tried before and why I had to ship to Australia.

Do you feel a definate upgrade on taking off? Or whilst kicking down on high gear, or even reaching top end faster?
Oh and another thing, I have 22' s on my Vigo, but the top end takes very long to reach 200. Do any of you have that problem with your original rims?

Thanks for the fuel filter info...I cant tell you how long i have driven my van with that light on.
Im glad that this forum exist to troubleshoot our beasts.

Thanks again.

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » April 23rd, 2009, 3:05 pm

Guys take note....

I popped into TTTL barataria this morning and spoke with the sales man who I bought the hilux from. He said that once you do any service outside of TTTL you void the warranty.

venum

Postby venum » April 23rd, 2009, 3:42 pm

they rolling like Diamond Motors now :?:

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 23rd, 2009, 4:04 pm

323_wagon_dude wrote:Guys take note....

I popped into TTTL barataria this morning and spoke with the sales man who I bought the hilux from. He said that once you do any service outside of TTTL you void the warranty.

Not true and I'm talking from experience. Once you service with them occasionally and they know you, they'll honor the warranty. I guess it all depends on who you deal with in the service dep't.

venum

Postby venum » April 23rd, 2009, 8:03 pm

several salesmen have told me teh same at TTTL

but i know ppl who do every other service by them and their warranties are honoured

the salesmen will obviously act in TTTL's intereste and try to scare u into servicing exclusively by them - my TT$0.02

robbieg

Postby robbieg » September 3rd, 2009, 12:23 am

Yes people, back in the island, I missed this place... reaching the 45,000 mark soon, anyone here passed that? What have you done around the 45/50,000 km service?

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » September 3rd, 2009, 6:34 am

The 40000Km service is a big one. It involved replacing most the fluids in the truck. Have you done this one?

If not I'd recommend that you do it.

If you have, the 45/50000Km are the typical oil & filter change with the grease ups.

dillonrps13

Postby dillonrps13 » September 4th, 2009, 11:10 am

whats the overal cost of the 40k service

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 4th, 2009, 12:03 pm

$4000 + but can be done for less than half of that by any qualified mechanic.

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » September 11th, 2009, 6:16 am

Apparantly TTTL Barataria & TTTL San F'do have each their own "theories". Dunno for what reason you would get the same vehicle about $2-3,000 cheaper from the Barataria branch
You could only void your warranty if you do not use original Toyota parts
I buy all my original filters etc (not from TTTL) and do everything myself. I also keep all my receipts.

When I had my 4x2 2.5, the van was doing about 30K when I started to get a rattle from the gear shifter. Apparantly the bushing was worn. TTTL told me it would cost me $1500 for a new one (excl labour and vat). Did some research and found out that this was a warranty item. They eventually replace it free of charge.

I have an excel spreadsheet with all the checks for the different mileages/Levels of service TTTL uses. if anyone is interested PM me. I use this when i am doing my servicing home.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 11th, 2009, 12:36 pm

sweeks wrote:

Not true and I'm talking from experience. Once you service with them occasionally and they know you, they'll honor the warranty. I guess it all depends on who you deal with in the service dep't.

Update - I heard they hired a service manager who depend on the extent of the repairs and service history at TTTL, determines whether or not your vehicle would qualify.

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » February 9th, 2010, 3:35 pm

bump

robbieg

Postby robbieg » February 9th, 2010, 6:43 pm

Mr. Cheese wrote:I have an excel spreadsheet with all the checks for the different mileages/Levels of service TTTL uses. if anyone is interested PM me. I use this when i am doing my servicing home.

Can you send this to me, since I have not been letting Toyota service my van?

Also, I noticed my drain hose for my oil filter was missing, anyone else here had to replace it?

p 777

Postby p 777 » February 11th, 2010, 11:53 pm

WTK Anyone ever experience noise coming from their side mirrors when the wind is high and you driving over 140km/h with the 3.0l?

mazdaspeed6254

Postby mazdaspeed6254 » March 8th, 2010, 8:35 am

p 777 wrote:WTK Anyone ever experience noise coming from their side mirrors when the wind is high and you driving over 140km/h with the 3.0l?

yip i get the same thing... i have the 2.5L...

Bluemachine34

Postby Bluemachine34 » March 9th, 2010, 10:50 pm

Anybody familiar with the 4x2 Hilux Prerunner? They (TTTL) said its a new on the market. Its Identical in looks to the Hilux 4x4. It available only in manual with fabric interior. Price quoted 210K

aviboy

Postby aviboy » March 21st, 2010, 12:00 pm

i have a set of prado rims for sale if anyone is interested.

Maritza

Postby Maritza » April 28th, 2010, 9:23 pm

hilux tech thread quiet,,like no1 havin problems wit their lux :lol: thaz good..anyways have a K&N air filter for sale if any1 interested. $450

sweeks

Postby sweeks » May 7th, 2010, 2:25 pm

New OEM Stock Available for both old and new model hilux

SR5/Older Model Hilux

FILTER, OIL $150 (good for at least two oil changes)
ELEMENT ASSY, FUEL $330
BOOT KIT, FR DRIVE $750
PAD KIT, DISC BRAKE $750
TIMING BELT (SR-5 1kz-te) $359
BUSH, STABILIZER $90
Clutch kit - master $200
Clutch kit - slave $140
Belt Kit (2.8 3L and 3.0 5L-E) $350
Knuckle stopper steering $ 40
Stablizer Bar Rubbers $100
Idle Arm Bushings $ 25
Shock Bushin $ 25
Cushion, Shock Absorber $ 45
Brake fitting kit - Antirattle $ 45
Brake Antirattle Spring $ 40
Leaf Spring Bushings - Upper $ 50
Leaf Spring Bushings - Lower $ 50

New Model / Vigo
Oil filter $100
4x4 Disc Pads $750
4x2 Disc Pads $750

*Phoenix*

Re: Tech Thread - Hilux 3.0 Turbo Intercooled Diesel

Postby *Phoenix* » May 18th, 2010, 11:47 pm

Where all the 3.0 Boyz...

sweeks

Postby sweeks » May 19th, 2010, 2:24 pm

*Phoenix* wrote:Where all the 3.0 Boyz...

They're out driving their lux.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » May 19th, 2010, 9:48 pm

I guess so... Biatches!!!!

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”