Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
sweeks

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby sweeks » September 23rd, 2012, 6:11 pm

Team Loco might have a set. Call him 3377325.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 24th, 2012, 8:25 am

Sweeks . My ABS light staying on and the horn blowing intermittent
Believe in an earlier post you said it is the Spiral Cable.

What is the number for the Cyrus guy you referred too

Postby DVSTT » September 24th, 2012, 2:45 pm

This is the mirror on the van currently, it was a custom housing made. So if you know anyone who can rebuild a pair like it that would be helpful as well.

Paullct

Postby Paullct » September 24th, 2012, 4:43 pm

DVSTT that van available for sale by chance?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 24th, 2012, 5:01 pm

PariaMan wrote:Sweeks . My ABS light staying on and the horn blowing intermittent

Dude will have to check on that for you but I'm sure it's somewhere in this thread.

What year is your Hilux?

Paullct

Postby Paullct » September 24th, 2012, 5:05 pm

sweeks wrote:It should be around $2500 (not in stock).

However I think Cyrus repairs them (671-6205)

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 24th, 2012, 5:25 pm

There ya go.

Thanks Paul.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 25th, 2012, 9:03 am

Thanks I had that but you had put 2 numbers but after I sent the message did a search where you said that the first number was wrong and this is the number will give him a call.

2008 model Hilux!

Postby DVSTT » September 25th, 2012, 3:32 pm

Paullct wrote:DVSTT that van available for sale by chance?

LOL, alot of people ask, but no, sorry.

Any info about the side mirrors?

Postby Team Loco » September 25th, 2012, 3:42 pm

pm sent DVSTT

venum

Postby venum » September 26th, 2012, 10:56 pm

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 27th, 2012, 10:40 am

Look the real thing here : viewtopic.php?f=6&t=458224

Postby DVSTT » September 27th, 2012, 6:09 pm

Sweeks have a besss engine there!

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 28th, 2012, 10:04 am

Got some fog lights in Gasparillo for 500.00 for the Hilux exact bolt on!

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 21st, 2012, 5:40 am

sweeks wrote:
PariaMan wrote:Sweeks . My ABS light staying on and the horn blowing intermittent

Dude will have to check on that for you but I'm sure it's somewhere in this thread.

What year is your Hilux?

Sorted out yet PariaMan?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » October 21st, 2012, 6:20 pm

besides tttl where can that cable be had?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 21st, 2012, 8:50 pm

Call the number below and ask

Paullct wrote:
sweeks wrote:It should be around $2500 (not in stock).

However I think Cyrus repairs them (671-6205)

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 22nd, 2012, 9:05 am

Not as yet waiting for when I have a couple of days off!

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 22nd, 2012, 9:11 am

Found this site useful for getting Part Numbers!

http://www.toyodiy.com/parts

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 22nd, 2012, 9:44 am

PariaMan wrote:Found this site useful for getting Part Numbers!

http://www.toyodiy.com/parts

Yup great site.

I have oil, fuel, air filters and disc pads for your model. All oem.

Also have these, timing belts, boot rubbers and suspension parts for the older models.

Will post an updated list soon.

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » October 25th, 2012, 10:05 pm

I went to an adjuster yesterday after doing his checks he came to the manufacturer's date and saw Dec 2012 written on the seat belt but the certified copy has 2009. Well u know this was made in 2008 said the adjuster.

Is it that the adjusters feel they bright.

So my question is my van 2009 or 2008. Also the bumper is different from the previous one.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 26th, 2012, 5:49 am

Topshotta pm me ur chassis number and I'll check on it for you...

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » October 26th, 2012, 5:52 am

Nice sweeks will do

Bezman

Postby Bezman » November 2nd, 2012, 2:26 pm

MISHI wrote:That is what I read: it seems as if the injector seals let exhaust gasses through which enters the oil and eventually the oil strainer gets blocked leading to oil starvation.

There was a comment stating when draining oil you may be able to see the strainer with a flashlight: if it's gummed up then that is trouble. Some say it is region specific but IMHE if an issue is engine wise it can affect any model regardless of region

can't link the newhilux.net threads as it is member only (register first)
but here's a link to an article:

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/ipad/ute-to ... 6351998636

and a vid of a guy that had the issue with a knackerd engine

not trying to cause any panic if any: just curious

I had done allot of reading on this issue and it was specific to the 2005-2007 D4D engines, the injector o-rings were poor quality and deteriorated over time and as you explained the oil strainer gets clogged and engine failure has occurred. I believe Toyota actually had a recall for this issue and suggests changing them every 45,000kms...

http://www.news.com.au/news/ute-tough-b ... 6351998636

sweeks

Postby sweeks » November 5th, 2012, 10:04 am

What kind of mileage r u guys getting out of your oem disc pads?

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » November 5th, 2012, 6:54 pm

^^^ Ln145 about 8 yrs :D hopefully another 8 wit the set I changed recently

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » November 5th, 2012, 7:33 pm

I have ah LN145 myself and disc pads lasted almost 11 years, brake shoes are 14 years and still like new

sweeks

Postby sweeks » November 5th, 2012, 7:52 pm

Yup did over 100000km with my ln145 and didn't change. I got 60000km+ with the SR5.

Postby Team Loco » November 5th, 2012, 10:24 pm

wait, its disc pads allyuh talking about here?

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » November 6th, 2012, 12:49 am

Lol yeh boy

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”