Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
*Phoenix*

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby *Phoenix* » October 2nd, 2011, 8:03 am

OK OK OK beyotches.... :evil: :oops: :evil:

Postby Team Loco » October 2nd, 2011, 11:52 am

aye, i didnt mean to offend!!

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 2nd, 2011, 1:29 pm

To each his own!

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » October 2nd, 2011, 2:50 pm

Team Loco wrote:aye, i didnt mean to offend!!

:twisted: :wink: :twisted:

You know me well enough to know that i am not easily offended...

BTW -

Did a anti-chip rubberized coating on the floor of my Hilux this weekend...

Supposed to have some sound proofing effects too... There were some early indication of oxidation so i wanted to exercise some preventative measures.

Also did a Road Warrior Tray Liner. Roll on Type!!!

Rust-Oleum Road Warrior to provide a durable, protective truck bed coating.
Rubberized epoxy coating
Tough, rust-preventive surface
Abrasion-, chemical- and impact-resistant

Postby Team Loco » October 3rd, 2011, 1:30 pm

pics man pics!! i dont like those rubberized coating on the floor. they tend to "sweat" and moisture builds up below the matting. key is to keep your truck dry inside, make sure all your rubber grommets are in place. the hilux is known for the leaky grommet just behind the cab next to the rear wheels. you have to keep removing it and cleaning the area or else dirt gets between the rubber and causes water to enter onto the flooring

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 3rd, 2011, 2:19 pm

Phoenix ... sounds like your having fun but as TL said ... pics man pics.

Good info TL. Need to keep that in mind.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 3rd, 2011, 2:33 pm

2012 hilux is here...maska brought in 20 units on thursday and all sold out already...i must say toyota came real good this rounds....

Postby Team Loco » October 3rd, 2011, 2:55 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:2012 hilux is here...maska brought in 20 units on thursday and all sold out already...i must say toyota came real good this rounds....

man like you should have posted some detailed pics!!

they look alrightish......nothing spectacular. i think the headlamps that look like the last rounds of nze rollas kinda cheapen it.

it may grow on me. hell if i get one i would still take it

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 3rd, 2011, 3:49 pm

It alright .... seeing real ppl buying the 2011 lux ... (like nobody tell them bout the 2012 yet).

Still prefer an old skool SR5 *grin*

Postby Team Loco » October 4th, 2011, 8:16 am

eheh, you prefer the sr5 sweeks.........from someone who owned one and sold it! lol. saw her a couple days ago, thoroughly shinny and clean.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 4th, 2011, 10:44 am

TL clean as in 'sweeky' clean?

Will have to settle for a SR4 for now :)

rudeboye_r
STAG 2NR Weekly Winner

Postby rudeboye_r » October 4th, 2011, 3:27 pm

trying to get some info

2007 3.0 4x4 hilux
when parked on an incline facing down and switched off for a couple minutes,when restarted there is a large puff of white smoke . if the vehicle is facing up hill and shut off and restrated no smoke if left idling facing up or down no smoke if driving no smoke only when facing down and shut off for a couple minutes. It also gives a rough idle for a couple seconds when in this position. You guys have any idea what this might be.

Postby Team Loco » October 4th, 2011, 3:48 pm

yeah, you may have a leaky turbo. depending on the position, you may have oil building up on the intake side. when you start, the oil enters the combustion chamber. but try to eliminate the cheaper possibilities, filters.........have them checked

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 5th, 2011, 4:13 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:2012 hilux is here...maska brought in 20 units on thursday and all sold out already...i must say toyota came real good this rounds....

Like a man going to try out a Yota! Saw a civic for sale.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » October 5th, 2011, 7:52 am

Here are a few pics.. sorry about the quality.. taken with my phone..

Postby Team Loco » October 6th, 2011, 11:57 am

looks good. similar to my upholstery

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 6th, 2011, 12:59 pm

sweeks wrote:

Like a man going to try out a Yota! Saw a civic for sale.

rofl....nah not yet...have another vehicle

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » October 6th, 2011, 4:58 pm

Team Loco wrote:looks good. similar to my upholstery

Glad you like it... :wink:

rudeboye_r
STAG 2NR Weekly Winner

Postby rudeboye_r » October 10th, 2011, 5:40 pm

i took the vehicle to toyota they said it may be the injector seat washer or an oring . When i get it back will let u know if it solved the problem.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » October 11th, 2011, 3:01 pm

OK here is the project i wanna get done.

Better Brakes for a 2004 LN166 Hilux.

I am thinking that Prado Disc rotors and calliper should be able to be used to the front.
I am not sure... Was just Brain Storming..
Just front brake upgrade should be sufficiant for now...

Has anyone ever attempted this before...
Any ideas?

8-)

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 11th, 2011, 3:12 pm

Phoenix ... have you seen the size of the rotors on a kzj90 Prado.

That may entail a lot of other upgrades besides larger rims.

Here's a much cheaper solution.... flush brake fluid, skim rotors and use a set of oem disc pads and shoes.

Postby Team Loco » October 11th, 2011, 3:38 pm

pheonix, you have problems with the brakes? if not, leave it alone. i've changed two sets of rotors, just use oem brakes. made the mistake of using mintex last rounds. waste of time. had to replace rotors after

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » October 11th, 2011, 3:46 pm

OK Guyz..

Sweeks i havent seen it.. and i dont want to go with bigger wheels.. 15s are what i will be running.

Already flushed all fluids...
Looking out for an e-mail on the pads and shoes Sweeky.

I am just being proactive as i am wondering if the extra load i will be adding on shortly will require more stopping power...

Yall know how i am.... LOL

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 11th, 2011, 4:05 pm

*Phoenix* wrote:I am just being proactive as i am wondering if the extra load i will be adding on shortly will require more stopping power...

Yall know how i am.... LOL

It will but you wouldn't want 'the candle to cost more than the funeral'.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » October 11th, 2011, 10:34 pm

rudeboye_r wrote:trying to get some info

2007 3.0 4x4 hilux
when parked on an incline facing down and switched off for a couple minutes,when restarted there is a large puff of white smoke . if the vehicle is facing up hill and shut off and restrated no smoke if left idling facing up or down no smoke if driving no smoke only when facing down and shut off for a couple minutes. It also gives a rough idle for a couple seconds when in this position. You guys have any idea what this might be.

you may need to have to get the injector feedback values looked at and possibly it may be as simple as bad diesel in the tank...

Zed Sqd

Postby Zed Sqd » October 14th, 2011, 3:32 pm

Guys, I have a 2003 LN145 (low model 4x2) with the 2L engine. When I'm at 70kmph or when I'm on 5th gear, the engine sounds like it's revving really high. Is this normal?
Last edited by Zed Sqd on October 14th, 2011, 10:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 14th, 2011, 4:18 pm

Zed is this your first diesel vehicle? What did Browne say?

I need a test drive to diagnose.

Zed Sqd

Postby Zed Sqd » October 14th, 2011, 10:07 pm

Yeah first diesel vehicle / pickup. I know that high revs are not good for diesel engines so highway runs kinda have me on the edge. I'll ask him and you can even check it out as well.

Ketchin real hell to find that hood rubber too. TTL has it for $1,000 a side!

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » October 15th, 2011, 9:08 am

Zed adapt and inprovize where you need too man... Doh rely on TTTL for everything...

That being said..

Can the 2004 Tacoma headlight fit on a LN166 Hilux?

Or maybe the 2000 Tacoma Headlights...

Zed Sqd

Postby Zed Sqd » October 19th, 2011, 4:45 pm

badart wrote:VSC is da bomb..helped me from fishin tailin a time wit the hilux..took a corner too hard..all i knw is tht i heard a some beeping n the vsc light came on..tht was cool lol

VSC came with both the auto and manual models?
From what year did Toyota introduce VSC?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”