Page 19 of 64

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Posted: July 15th, 2012, 11:36 pm
by cutthroatInt
^ also, wud you guys recommend putting an electrical fan on the AC condensor on the LN145R?
It didnt come wit a fan from the factory.

Looking for sum1 to install power locks on this pickup.. came basic/manual package.
any advice?

Posted: July 23rd, 2012, 8:12 pm
by MISHI
So I saw one of these up close last week from a Tobago customer and must say I really like it: hearing the turbo through the exhaust almost makes it sound like a straight pipe config... but comfortable IMHO and looks good.

If God smiles on me financially this year, I'd get one... Though it seems getting one is difficult at best.

Posted: July 24th, 2012, 10:15 am
by Paullct
question: the LN model hilux with the 3.0 n/a engine and the manually locking hubs;

is it okay to use the low range without locking in the hubs? eg for climbing a steep hill, pulling a load, etc etc???

im asking because i currently have a bad front axle on my b2500 so the front wheels don't engage in 4wd, but i still use the low range to climb steep hills, under load, when needed. (i carry a full 200 gallon water tank up a very steep hill)

Posted: July 24th, 2012, 10:19 pm
by MISHI
Have a couple questions...

Now I know it isn't our market but from reading a couple hilux sites; especially newhilux.net... it seems that many have had serious issues with the injectors, seals and washers in the D4D 2006 up models... also the clockspring for the SRS seems to also be a common failure. Most common thing stated on the injector issue was a nasty knocking noise when cold and in time the fuel consumption rose... and later on contamination of fuel in the engine leading finally to it being destroyed.

Has anyone here heard of or had issues like that?

Posted: July 25th, 2012, 6:33 pm
by cutthroatInt

I've heard the ABSOLUTELY NASTY knocking sound when the engine is cold.
This is 2L non turbo engine in the van I recently acquired. LN145

I thought it was me doing an engine wash while the engine was still too warm and something went haywire in there.

I havnt pulled tapit pan or nething to investigate.
but the noise goes once heated up.

are you sure its injectors thats causing this noise?
I did a flush with liquid moly last week. Some smoking stopped.
Noise still there when cold

Posted: July 25th, 2012, 9:01 pm
by MISHI
That is what I read: it seems as if the injector seals let exhaust gasses through which enters the oil and eventually the oil strainer gets blocked leading to oil starvation.

There was a comment stating when draining oil you may be able to see the strainer with a flashlight: if it's gummed up then that is trouble. Some say it is region specific but IMHE if an issue is engine wise it can affect any model regardless of region

can't link the newhilux.net threads as it is member only (register first)
but here's a link to an article:

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/ipad/ute-to ... 6351998636

and a vid of a guy that had the issue with a knackerd engine

not trying to cause any panic if any: just curious

Posted: July 25th, 2012, 9:06 pm
by Paullct
Paullct wrote:question: the LN model hilux with the 3.0 n/a engine and the manually locking hubs;

is it okay to use the low range without locking in the hubs? eg for climbing a steep hill, pulling a load, etc etc???

im asking because i currently have a bad front axle on my b2500 so the front wheels don't engage in 4wd, but i still use the low range to climb steep hills, under load, when needed. (i carry a full 200 gallon water tank up a very steep hill)

Posted: August 13th, 2012, 1:02 pm
by sweeks
Fellas I'm putting my final order for 2012 this week. If anyone needs anything special order please pm me. Thanks.

Parts are genuine OEM and are supplied from Toyota North American Parts Center.

Posted: August 16th, 2012, 11:19 am
by Team Loco
sweeks, well i ent get to tell you in person but last time i did my suspension, i used non oem parts. today i cancelled my appointment with tttl and decided to replace the axle boot rubbers myself. turns out non of the 555 parts lasted well at all. my front left oem upper cradle bushings are totally busted out. she is gonna be down for about a week.

Posted: August 16th, 2012, 3:08 pm
by sweeks
Dude too much inferior parts coming after market. Some even come in OEM packaging and are not OEM. Email what you need and I'll see what I can do for you.

Posted: August 21st, 2012, 5:52 pm
by robbieg
For the Manual Transmission owners, how the hell do you get rid of that annoying squeak when you depress the clutch pedal?

Someone told me i have to drop the entire engine to get to this? Is this true??

Posted: August 21st, 2012, 6:03 pm
by lighthammer
WD40... spray EVERYTHING....

Posted: August 21st, 2012, 6:25 pm
by robbieg
What do you mean everything?

Please be more specific.....

Posted: August 22nd, 2012, 4:11 pm
by sweeks
Robbie ... what model lux do you have.

For the KZN65 (SR5) you have to get some lithium grease and spray the clutch release fork by pulling back the boot rubber there. It's below the van (probably directly under the glove box or thereabouts). I don't have a pickup at the moment so that's the best I can do in terms of description.

Where Team Loco?

Posted: August 28th, 2012, 12:19 pm
by robbieg
sweeks wrote:Robbie ... what model lux do you have.

For the KZN65 (SR5) you have to get some lithium grease and spray the clutch release fork by pulling back the boot rubber there. It's below the van (probably directly under the glove box or thereabouts). I don't have a pickup at the moment so that's the best I can do in terms of description.

Where Team Loco?

I have the KUN26R (2007) 3.0 D4D!

Any clue where the clutch release fork is in this model? I have not gone under the van to check as yet... I was just told by a reputable mechanic that it would require dropping the engine to access it!

Posted: August 28th, 2012, 12:49 pm
by sweeks
Call TurboHead 495-2320 and ask him. He's a good Toyota mechanic.

Posted: August 30th, 2012, 3:57 pm
by Jeremy Mohd
sweeks, by FORCE changed the busted boot rubber on the right side.

I say by force, because I needed to change the outer CV axle as well..

CV was dry as a biscuit, covered in mud, and the balls were TOTALLY seized.

Took the chance obviously to change the inner one as well on the side we dismounted. Inner joint in great condition.

Posted: September 1st, 2012, 1:36 pm
by sweeks
Maintenance is key for the utes ESP when u off road ... U good to go for another 5 years +.

Posted: September 5th, 2012, 11:06 pm
by Team Loco
Jeremy Mohd wrote:sweeks, by FORCE changed the busted boot rubber on the right side.

you are not alone my friend. i left my busted boot on for two mths and then my axle started making noise. had to do a total scrap down and replace all boots and also replaced steering ends one time. also front left upper cradle bushings.

fyi, i bought everything at TTTL (being a co. van). i was told i bought the last of the parts they had. they may not order more in a hurry

Took the chance obviously to change the inner one as well on the side we dismounted. Inner joint in great condition.

Posted: September 5th, 2012, 11:17 pm
by Team Loco
Jeremy Mohd wrote:sweeks, by FORCE changed the busted boot rubber on the right side.

you are not alone my friend. i left my busted boot on for two mths and then my axle started making noise. had to do a total scrap down and replace all boots and also replaced steering ends one time. also front left upper cradle bushings.

fyi, i bought everything at TTTL (being a co. van). i was told i bought the last of the parts they had. they may not order more in a hurry

Posted: September 6th, 2012, 6:59 am
by sweeks
Glad to know u all using oem parts .... Ur good to go for another 5 years +.

Posted: September 10th, 2012, 12:11 am
by sliderz1
to the 1KZ guys....any probs with block cracking nearing the 200k mark? Happened to 2 Prado's one last week and another the mnth before

any help/advice i'd appreciate!

Posted: September 11th, 2012, 4:45 am
by sweeks
Change thermostat, flush out cooling system, change clutch oil in the fan.

All of these should help alleviate the overheating issues.

And if you were using syntec oil that's a plus too since it runs cooler than mineral oil.

Posted: September 12th, 2012, 12:35 am
by lighthammer
^^ yup, agreed with what this guy said.

head cracking is a common thing for ALL diesel engines (not just ford WLT's) - that's IF you don't take care of the coolign system or you allow it to overheat too often.

Remember diesel run hotter than gasoline engines..... heat can warp the block and pressure does buss pipe!

Coolign system should be completely overhauled (including hoses and fuses/switches for the fans) every 100,000-120,000km.

Posted: September 12th, 2012, 9:34 am
by badart
guys my 80,000 service is coming up anyone knw wht TTTL does for the 80k service? Never changed diff oil, transmission oil etc. Manual states it should be changed at 80k

Also allyuh saw the sweet hilux van dam was driving in expendables 2 :D

Posted: September 13th, 2012, 7:27 am
by badart
Does transmission oil get black? Mines looking red/brown?

Posted: September 18th, 2012, 10:06 pm
by sweeks
Bad art that's ok. Remember this can go for more than 80 000km. Most Toyota service schedule doesn't even include this particular service unless you drive under severe conditions.

Posted: September 21st, 2012, 10:16 pm
by badart
^ok cool, good to knw, but would still get it changed when i do the 80k service

Posted: September 22nd, 2012, 5:33 am
by sweeks
Have them do it the old fashion way then .... Drain and refill, drain and refill.

Posted: September 23rd, 2012, 5:38 pm
by DVSTT
Guys, where has side mirrors for a 1998 hilux 4x4 3L. Truck hit and cracked the entire housing and mirror a few years ago. The mirror mount is in a similar position to this one in the pic below but it's larger.