Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
lighthammer

Re: Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Postby lighthammer » July 29th, 2011, 5:25 pm

^^ classic for the win - suits the older model hilux more than the sidebiters.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 29th, 2011, 5:34 pm

^^yah forget itz phoenix you talking to there eh... :)

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 30th, 2011, 9:12 am

*Phoenix* wrote:What yall think about these..

Classic II

VS

Sidebiter

I saw these in person... Classic is so much lighter but its polished Aluminum... Sidebiters are Black powder coated.... I still cant decide....

Also the face of the rim is fixed more to the outer edge of the rim on the classic while it is dead center on the sidebiters... So that means that the classic will make the tire extend out more through the wheel well...

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 30th, 2011, 1:56 pm

stay with the oem

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 30th, 2011, 6:38 pm

So... classic it is then, it sounds like you prefer them more.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 30th, 2011, 11:30 pm

Actually I dont have a preference here.. i just want the one that is gonna perform better.. Honestly..

badart

Postby badart » July 31st, 2011, 11:26 am

i getting michelin ltx at2 265/65/17 for $2400 per tyre, worth the price?

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 31st, 2011, 12:03 pm

^^^ Saw those at Federal badart. Its a fine tire no doubt. BUT .. I think you could get just as good a tire for alot cheaper...

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 31st, 2011, 12:05 pm

WHAT DO DO??? :?

VS

:? 8-) :?

Wrapped in these.

badart

Postby badart » July 31st, 2011, 4:11 pm

The classic would look better since the hilux white, if it was black then I would say go with the sidebiters btw was the price fir them?

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » July 31st, 2011, 6:11 pm

yea, they're worth it, that's $2400 for 2 rite?? lol
hadda be, caus i honestly dont knw any tyre worth $2400 each!! but after seein today wat the BFG ATs can do, i tink dey just mite be worth the $16xx ea.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 31st, 2011, 8:52 pm

badart i will find out the prices this week...

Cuddles i am pretty sure that the price for the Miches is in the over $2000 range..

I was checking the AT2 in Mich and it was was about $2700 a piece.. - SO i looked elsewhere!

venum

Postby venum » August 1st, 2011, 12:31 pm

I got Teri's new tyres Saturday

got the Kumho Road Venture AT's 265\70\16

$1120.00 Each at Laughlin & DeGannes

best quality-for-price on the market that I was getting

the Dunlop GrandTrek AT3's were $1210.00 Ea

I really wanted the BFG AT's, but the best price I was getting them for was $6200.00 for the set of 4, but I really do not want to spend that amount on tyres now.

South (Marabella) Quick Service has in 265\60\16 if anyone is interested

working great so far on the dry

no more squealing around the corners

LDG also did NOT charge a disposal fee for my old tyres

the previous set of Michelin Latitude Cross were 275 and the steering was stiffer than stock.

now that I have gone back to the 265, the steering is back to factory softness

Roadstone and Nexen really do have the market flodded, thank God that I didn't have to settle for those

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » August 1st, 2011, 1:11 pm

Great choice V.. Looking Good too.. ;)
Lets us know how it performs on the wet...

droppa

Postby droppa » August 2nd, 2011, 11:37 am

what is the cost of the Classic vs the Sidebiters....and did u note the width or offset....

those are very important factors u need to take into consideration, either u want the rim and tire flush with the fender or outside, clean van or clean van every two days.........

how much for the KLs down south, its 30x9.5x15 i seeing there right....

i like where u heading with the lux dan......

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » August 2nd, 2011, 9:40 pm

I still haven't gotten a chance to pass yet.. I dont have the info on the offset Guessing 4.5 but width is 10 inches.. I need to pass or make a call tomorrow.. Will keep trying to get there...

What i remember is that Both were the same price.. i cant remember the price off hand tho.. Need to call them back.. The sidebiters will have the tires sticking out a few inches more for sure... the face plate of the rim on the Classic II is more to the outer edge of the rim...

Sidebiters are a heavier rim with a Black powdercoat on them.. while the classic II are polished aluminium...

those KL71s you looking at there in the pics are 31x10.5x15 Bro....

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » August 3rd, 2011, 1:02 am

ey droppa, daz a rel bess pic dey mann......an ah lol'd wen ah see yuh "Location" hahahaaa

droppa

Postby droppa » August 3rd, 2011, 9:19 am

^^^yuh know how we does roll bro.....

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » August 3rd, 2011, 10:02 am

yea man droppa, for real!!

Smeed

Postby Smeed » September 5th, 2011, 11:36 pm

i finally got me some tires....275/65/17 in bfg all terrain....only set at pt lisas quickservice. lil bit expensive but i love dem!! will post pics tomorrow!

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » September 6th, 2011, 12:39 am

Just picked up a set of 235/65/17 Kumho RoadVenture SAT KL61's for my uncle's Grand Vitara...
Got them at L&DG south for $847 each vat inclusive

I haven't driven it yet but he told me that they have MUCH more dry grip than the Bridgestone Dueller H/T he had on before (I can vouch for those tyres being loud, terrible at cornering and useless in wet)...

So... overall seems like a bargain to me considering that it will probably outlast any H/T tyre he can buy..
He never takes the thing even on grass or dirt, let alone offroading but sometimes its just better to know that you have at least some ability if things get rough..
Last edited by CD4Accord on September 6th, 2011, 1:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

droppa

Postby droppa » September 6th, 2011, 11:54 am

Pheonix did u buy wheels as yet and what was the price on the MT rims....

im thinking of selling out and buying a new set of mudders and rims.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » September 7th, 2011, 7:51 am

Not yet Droppa....

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 7th, 2011, 8:37 am

picked up a set of Maxxis Bravo 777 AT, 255/65/17 - thread patter is similar to the hercules terra trac and paid 900 per tire.

droppa

Postby droppa » September 7th, 2011, 10:37 am

CM u readyin up yourself for sunday boi...

going by dean wheels jus not to scope out what dey have....

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 7th, 2011, 3:43 pm

sunday might become an iffy for me right now- have work over the weekend and i will pull some extra hours to finish before time

badart

Postby badart » September 7th, 2011, 8:30 pm

^ hey where you bought the maxxis?

droppa

Postby droppa » September 8th, 2011, 9:15 am

and thats a good price he got them for too

rottedv

Postby rottedv » September 8th, 2011, 7:09 pm

I want rims and tyres for Sunday!!! Droppa what did you see buy deans wheels?

Phoenix...I want those classics....Tell me where and price...I going now for them.......!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 9th, 2011, 12:25 am

RottedV - check mileage mack on Mucurapo Road in POS.
They have a showroom to the side with lots of rims and whatnot.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”