Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
rmrunner

Re: Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Postby rmrunner » January 6th, 2014, 6:43 pm

Do I need to buy a toyota to get this tyre or they sell tyres loose?

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » January 8th, 2014, 1:00 pm

Mr_ABaptiste wrote:
mitch1980 wrote:
Doctor X wrote:
mitch1980 wrote:
Doctor X wrote:^^ avg price they might be going for ?

Going Tyre hunting tomorrow....leaning towards the Firestone destination AT ....any idea where i could get them and price ?

M. Ramrattans on the Pointe-e-Pierre have Firestone in stock

Went there today , they don't have 17" tyres in the Firestone .
They had the bridgstone and dunlop but wasn't interested in them ....they were priced at $1400 per tyre.

Hmm i am using the Kumho road Venture APT KL51
excellent wet and dry tires
20,000 km since last May to present.
Mileage Mack - 1300ttd I think

Great thread guys. lots of useful info.
Any offroad with the Kumho? I'm thinking about getting the same.

Yes try the KL 61
check reviews on the tirerack site

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » January 9th, 2014, 5:30 pm

ok not getting the bf and decided to lean towards the Firestone Destination AT. Ramrattan doesnt have the size I want. anywhere else stocks these and price?

Drax

Postby Drax » January 17th, 2014, 1:27 pm

An additional question here from a recent ranger owner.

Where can i get all terrains 265/65R17???
I called a lot of tyre shops and there are not much options for 17"s. In fact, most shops only have highway threads.
Isn't this a popular size carried by the newer pickups and SUVs....why isn't the size carried by the dealerships??

Also encountered one shop that had the AT 265/70 R17. But they wanted to $1700...is this a reasonable price?

I want to stay with the stock rims and keep with the stock specifications on the tyre, hence why 265/65 R17. But from my initial search, it doesn't look my people care about the stock sizes.

Any comments/recommendations would be appreciated.

Drax

droppa

Postby droppa » January 17th, 2014, 2:19 pm

padna, it have no cheap tyre, so donet expect to get anything for small money...

i paid 1500 for Nexen 285/60/18s bout two years back

did u check mileage mack or quickserv??

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 17th, 2014, 2:38 pm

I have the dunlop AT3 in 275/65 R17 and it works pretty decent thus far (~6m)
Got it at Tyre clinic @1350 ea.

Doctor X

Postby Doctor X » January 19th, 2014, 11:48 am

Ended up purchasing the dunlop PT2 , been using it for the past 3 days and i am quite impressed....the ride is alot softer compared to the stock michelin tyres and handles both in the dry and wet really good....

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 22nd, 2014, 6:13 am

Just bought a 2000 Toyota Hilux Surf (TDI) here in Jamaica and it has Goodyear Wrangler Duratrac tyres in 265/75/16.

All I can say is that these are the most aggressive all terrains I have ever seen without being full mudders. Road manners are quite impressive for something with this sort of competency offroad. Never seen them for sale in trinidad though...

https://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.js ... r+DuraTrac

Postby 3stagevtec » March 22nd, 2014, 9:56 am

Quick service has a buy 3 get one free sale on now.. nice time to get some BFG ATs or MTs..

rbissoon

Postby rbissoon » June 30th, 2014, 9:18 pm

WTB New 265/65/17 tyres to replace Michelin's that came with 2012 3.0 Diesel Auto Hilux

droppa

Postby droppa » July 1st, 2014, 10:49 am

QS has the michelins in stock and MM has the Kumho both in same size

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » July 1st, 2014, 11:48 am

costs?

I 99% sure i going with the firestone destinations

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » July 1st, 2014, 12:27 pm

MadCrix wrote:costs?

I 99% sure i going with the firestone destinations

but getting size 265/65/17 firestone was diffficult
i tried 4 times last year by MRamrattan they never got stock

i ended up using Kumho 275/60/17 from Milage Mack @1200.00 each

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » July 1st, 2014, 12:50 pm

the khumo broader that the firestones?

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » July 1st, 2014, 1:24 pm

the three figures u see in tyres eg. "275" and "265" measures width
65/75 measures tyre height

the 275 is broader/wider

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » July 1st, 2014, 1:33 pm

what size is de firestones?

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » July 1st, 2014, 1:35 pm

you have to ask
last year Mramrattan were only getting 16" tyres

my hilux have 17"

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » July 1st, 2014, 1:48 pm

ramrattan 31 10.5 15 firestone 1100

qs 31 10.5 15 gt radial 1437
or bf ko 2200

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » July 1st, 2014, 1:53 pm

MadCrix wrote:ramrattan 31 10.5 15 firestone 1100

qs 31 10.5 15 gt radial 1437
or bf ko 2200

that's a damn good price ....go for the Firestone AT

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/surveyres ... e&filter=y

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » July 1st, 2014, 2:44 pm

yea getting those tom

the van have 325 60 15 so is slightly smaller but I go live with it

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » July 1st, 2014, 2:49 pm

MadCrix wrote:yea getting those tom

the van have 325 60 15 so is slightly smaller but I go live with it

which of the firestone destination are u getting ?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » July 1st, 2014, 9:09 pm

will take a pic of it in de morning and post it here whilst I in the tyre shop. getting alignment one time

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » July 2nd, 2014, 8:35 am

What I have now 325 60 15
1404304495474.jpg

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » July 2nd, 2014, 8:38 am

Firestone destination
1404304672951.jpg

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » July 2nd, 2014, 10:04 am

MadCrix wrote:Firestone destination

nice

btw what mileage u got with the Kumho?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » July 2nd, 2014, 10:35 am

No idea came with van

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » July 2nd, 2014, 11:23 am

Kumho nnot bad
with 3/4 tread life ....for 35,000km thus far not bad

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 2nd, 2014, 9:44 pm

mad crix where you getting the destinations from>?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » July 2nd, 2014, 10:06 pm

M ram rattans 4400 installed. They did a crap job on balancing thou had to get it done over when I reach back north. Van Shake plenty up de highway

Postby De Dragon » July 2nd, 2014, 10:53 pm

Destination A/T's are holding up really good so far. I got the 265/70/16 for $1200.00 installed at M Ramrattan's. Sorry to hear that you had issues Crix, you should have taken them back to be properly balanced.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”