Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Paullct

Re: Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Postby Paullct » September 14th, 2012, 8:34 am

^^ yup those are really popular in the states

Cooper

Postby Cooper » September 14th, 2012, 9:09 am

I'm interested, any local dealers for the General Grabber?

Postby sliderz1 » September 14th, 2012, 9:53 pm

droppa wrote:
for the price i highly recommend the Nankang AT, it working real nice, on and off road
265 15s are $850
265 16s are $900
265 17s are $1000

figure this might be my next shot...

wanna change out my ATII's before Total/Trailblazers

Postby tr1ad » September 15th, 2012, 9:43 am

i thought the nankangs had bad reviews?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » September 17th, 2012, 9:30 am

OK, so I bought the 31x10.5-15 Firestone Destination AVTs. Question: What pressure to run these on my frontier (front wheels)?

The tire shop put 30psi but last week when I bought a used Michelin from another shop they put 35psi for the back wheel.

So what pressure? Mostly road but regular grass road.

Postby tr1ad » September 17th, 2012, 10:43 am

firestone was 1100?

Paullct

Postby Paullct » September 17th, 2012, 4:18 pm

AdamB wrote:OK, so I bought the 31x10.5-15 Firestone Destination AVTs. Question: What pressure to run these on my frontier (front wheels)?

The tire shop put 30psi but last week when I bought a used Michelin from another shop they put 35psi for the back wheel.

So what pressure? Mostly road but regular grass road.

30 psi is fine. 35 psi is too much IMO

droppa

Postby droppa » September 17th, 2012, 8:27 pm

30psi is ok, what u need to do is monitor how the tire makes contact with the floor, if the edges not touching then its over inflated, lose some air, but seeing as u in agri, be mindful of what kind of weight u hauling around.......

i run F30/R28 in my surf, but i find its too bouncy and gets too much wheelspin when cornering, so i drop to F26/R24, which is a bit better.........

Paullct

Postby Paullct » September 17th, 2012, 8:32 pm

i run 28psi all-round on my b2500

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 17th, 2012, 9:55 pm

i run 35psi front and 32psi rear in the navara - that's what the frontier guys (d40 model) in the US use on the Clubfrontier & Navara.asia forums.

For your weight class, 30/28 is fine.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » September 18th, 2012, 8:35 am

Thanks guys, I just want to make sure that the tyre pressure don't cause a problem with cutting badly.

I noticed the edge of the (front) tyres touching the mud flap when locking all the way. I raised the front by cranking the torsion bars, it helped but still touching a little. I may have to remove the mud flap??
I thought that size tyre would have been no problem but I guess I was wrong!
DESTINATION RVT2.jpg
DESTINATION RVT1.jpg

Postby tr1ad » September 18th, 2012, 9:35 am

nice... looking good there

AdamB

Postby AdamB » September 18th, 2012, 9:54 am

tr1ad wrote:nice... looking good there

yeah, was 1100 each. Decided to go with that over the EL CHEAPO chinese brands and the $1000 BFGoodrich from a shop past Princes Town (the guy who advertises "Mud Tires"). The dealer said they were made in Costa Rica.

droppa

Postby droppa » September 18th, 2012, 12:54 pm

AdamB wrote:Thanks guys, I just want to make sure that the tyre pressure don't cause a problem with cutting badly.

I noticed the edge of the (front) tyres touching the mud flap when locking all the way. I raised the front by cranking the torsion bars, it helped but still touching a little. I may have to remove the mud flap??

is it me, or does the wheel space here look very small, if the rear is higher than the front and u dont have much more to wind up, u may need to get some better torsions....

Cooper

Postby Cooper » September 18th, 2012, 1:07 pm

Ended up getting a set of Maxxis Bravo 771's today. Went for the 255's as opposed to the stock 245's. When I got back into the vehicle after they mounted the wheels I realised that I was sitting a bit higher....measured it when I got home, turns out that my truck has grown almost an inch with the new rubber 8-)

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 18th, 2012, 1:38 pm

Cooper wrote:Ended up getting a set of Maxxis Bravo 771's today. Went for the 255's as opposed to the stock 245's. When I got back into the vehicle after they mounted the wheels I realised that I was sitting a bit higher....measured it when I got home, turns out that my truck has grown almost an inch with the new rubber 8-)

Where and what price?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 18th, 2012, 1:39 pm

AdamB wrote:

yeah, was 1100 each. Decided to go with that over the EL CHEAPO chinese brands and the $1000 BFGoodrich from a shop past Princes Town (the guy who advertises "Mud Tires"). The dealer said they were made in Costa Rica.

Which part you got the Destination from?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 18th, 2012, 1:41 pm

Just called Quick Service Michelin 2000,GT Radial 1679 for one with buy 3 get one free!

Cooper

Postby Cooper » September 18th, 2012, 1:54 pm

PariaMan wrote:
Cooper wrote:Ended up getting a set of Maxxis Bravo 771's today. Went for the 255's as opposed to the stock 245's. When I got back into the vehicle after they mounted the wheels I realised that I was sitting a bit higher....measured it when I got home, turns out that my truck has grown almost an inch with the new rubber 8-)

Where and what price?

To tell you the truth, I can't say where... I just paid $4000 for the set. It was delivered to my door.

A relative of mine bought in some tires for one of his clients. The client crash his truck before he could collect the tires... I just took advantage of his loss.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » September 18th, 2012, 2:07 pm

PariaMan wrote:
AdamB wrote:

Which part you got the Destination from?

M Ramrattan, Southern Main Road, Vistabella.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » September 18th, 2012, 2:25 pm

droppa wrote:
AdamB wrote:Thanks guys, I just want to make sure that the tyre pressure don't cause a problem with cutting badly.

is it me, or does the wheel space here look very small, if the rear is higher than the front and u dont have much more to wind up, u may need to get some better torsions....

Actually, I took the photos before raising the front, it's a lot higher now but still touching. I used rims from an old hilux 15" and left the 16" steelies with the road tyres as a complete spare set.

Postby tr1ad » September 18th, 2012, 3:56 pm

have me thinking now... if i do eventually get the 31 x 10.5 x 15 that i'll have to remove the mud flap, which i dont want to

AdamB

Postby AdamB » September 18th, 2012, 4:55 pm

tr1ad wrote:have me thinking now... if i do eventually get the 31 x 10.5 x 15 that i'll have to remove the mud flap, which i dont want to

or maybe 2" lift!

i think there's a 30 x 9.5 x15 size tyre but suitability for pick up not sure about. the more experienced guys will have to say what best options are.

Postby sliderz1 » September 18th, 2012, 8:43 pm

tr1ad wrote:have me thinking now... if i do eventually get the 31 x 10.5 x 15 that i'll have to remove the mud flap, which i dont want to

given the pic you posted of the van....it should fit
it'll depend on how high your torsion is cranked, how levelled the van is and consider the offset of the rim

or do a simple lift like Adil, easy and it works

Smeed

Postby Smeed » September 18th, 2012, 10:33 pm

dem stones lookin decent man........... kinda like de bfg's. u safe with 26 / 28 psi all round. when it gets sticky we deflate to 14 - 16 psi..... if u offroad u doh need it real hard. if u haulin loads well den u go hadda inflate to the recommended pressure.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » September 19th, 2012, 10:24 pm

Saw a Ranger today with BFG 255/70-16...looked really good. That size most likely won't touch.

venum

Postby venum » September 22nd, 2012, 2:37 pm

i find that the BFG's not standard sized. their 265 actualyy like everyone else's 275 and tbeir 255 like.other's 265

Paullct

Postby Paullct » September 22nd, 2012, 2:39 pm

my BFG 33s are actually bigger than the Kumho 33s i had prior

droppa

Postby droppa » September 22nd, 2012, 3:59 pm

tr1ad, you should not have to crank or remove the flaps with 31s, it may all depend on the width and offset of the rims and if the torsions were dropped before...

Postby wagon r » September 22nd, 2012, 8:55 pm

...or jus trim the inner part of the mud flap....problem solved.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”