Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Smeed

Re: Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Postby Smeed » September 16th, 2011, 11:16 pm

hey guys, after much hunting and deliberation, i finally got new shoes for the lux.

went from these:

28-02-11 048.JPG

to a set of these:

DSC07748.JPG

DSC07749.JPG

got them at quickservice in pt. lisas in 275/65/17

oh and by the way they also had a set of bf MT in 255/65/16 it was used for 1 month on a promotional vehicle....dey calling $3000 for the set. real good deal i think...tires like new!!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 17th, 2011, 12:07 am

Smeed - great choice on those bfg's.. Those are really the ideal "all-terrain" tyre. Mine are justabout 3 months old on the navara and they havent let me down yet - except when i tried climbing up indian trail in heavy wet clay.

I'vebeen through blanchisseuse trail, las cuevas trail twice, caroni canefields, and drove twice on the mostly uphill section of the preysal special stage on our recent side b offroad rally - never broke a sweat with the BFG's. Even on wet roads and driving through wate on a higway at 60km/hr - dont even feel the truck slowing down. And whats more.... The navara has open differentials on front and back!

Congrats on your new shoes man - now try to make a side -b run and we'll show u how to drive that truck! (hint: we looking at morne diablo and santa flora in the near future!!)

Smeed

Postby Smeed » September 17th, 2011, 12:33 am

yea hammer i love dem too bad......didn't run thru real heavy mud as yet but they handling the wet roads real nice. i actually was up early on sunday with the intention to meet u guys at piarco before the run.....i was strapping in my son into his car seat when i got a call from a padnah who just ran off the road in gran couva...ended up heading out to give him a pull, by which time u guys woulda left already........i hadda make a side b wid allyuh boys....i out right now but will be home from 14th sept to 8th nov.....allyuh make a run (even a scouting run) during that time nah!!!!!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 17th, 2011, 6:38 am

Well there is the trailblazers thing - fall ennnn!!!

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » September 17th, 2011, 8:18 am

Looking good...

Smeed

Postby Smeed » September 17th, 2011, 8:36 am

Smeed wrote:yea hammer i love dem too bad......didn't run thru real heavy mud as yet but they handling the wet roads real nice. i actually was up early on sunday with the intention to meet u guys at piarco before the run.....i was strapping in my son into his car seat when i got a call from a padnah who just ran off the road in gran couva...ended up heading out to give him a pull, by which time u guys woulda left already........i hadda make a side b wid allyuh boys....i out right now but will be home from 14th sept to 8th nov.....allyuh make a run (even a scouting run) during that time nah!!!!!

my bad 14th october to 8th november.......won't be in trini for trailblazers :( :(

Val

Postby Val » September 17th, 2011, 8:52 am

How much are the BFG AT?

badart

Postby badart » September 17th, 2011, 2:04 pm

those bf's looking good, hopefully i would get my tyres soon

Smeed

Postby Smeed » September 17th, 2011, 10:09 pm

Val wrote:How much are the BFG AT?

cost me $8400 for tyres, valve stems, spin balance and alignment.......i know it damn expensive!!

i grabbed them cause i couldn't find anything good in 17inch since i got my van in january.....dey had 4 tyres in pt. lisas and 4 in Marabella.

venum

Postby venum » September 17th, 2011, 10:42 pm

Smeed wrote:cost me $8400 for tyres, valve stems, spin balance and alignment.......i know it damn expensive!!

i grabbed them cause i couldn't find anything good in 17inch since i got my van in january.....dey had 4 tyres in pt. lisas and 4 in Marabella.

holy fack :shock:

i was quoted $6200.00 for the same tyres in 16" less than 2 months ago

Smeed

Postby Smeed » September 17th, 2011, 10:50 pm

venum...sure they included vat in that quote? the price they told me was $17-- per tyre but that was without vat

Havoc

Postby Havoc » September 18th, 2011, 7:27 am

his tyres wud be mor expensive jus becaus they are 17's an not the more popular 16's

an btw smeed, the MTs dey hv is d KM or KM2??

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 18th, 2011, 9:34 am

mileage mack has both the KM 1 and KM 2 - but the KM2 is a superior tyre... and it's not that much more expensive than the AT's yunnow!!

And yes... the 17" tyres would be a bit more expensive than the 16's - that's common in the tyre world, esp when you factor in tax and so on (not just vat but shipping from abroad).

Good buy - you won't regret your tyres.... and I bet you that 2-years from now when it's time to replace those tyres, you'll be telling everyone how great those bfg's performed and they should buy them?!?!?!

Smeed

Postby Smeed » September 18th, 2011, 9:40 pm

Havoc wrote:an btw smeed, the MTs dey hv is d KM or KM2??

dude i dunno....i can give them a call on Monday morning and find out. will let u know.

venum

Postby venum » September 19th, 2011, 12:05 am

Smeed wrote:venum...sure they included vat in that quote? the price they told me was $17-- per tyre but that was without vat

yup

that was the price quoted to buy tyres and take away - no installation

Smeed

Postby Smeed » September 19th, 2011, 12:17 am

no scene man.......good ting no cheap. when i had my a33 cefiro i bought a set of goodyear eagle F1 GSD3 in 235-45-17.....paid someting like $1800 for one back in August 2006.....sold it not too long after. saw the car the other day in south.....same tires still on it. confirmed it was the same set from the new owner........man say it still driving like it new!! off course it will be worn down.....but it definetely held out for along time.

likewise with my van....got it in january this year and she's done 8000 km so far.... so with the right treatment these BF's should hold out for a while!!

badart

Postby badart » September 19th, 2011, 7:59 am

my bridgestone's are 2 yrs 7mths old and going on 60,000 km with still a good bit of tread left and even wear on all tires so the bf's should do alot better than tht, they should get 100,000kms + easily

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 19th, 2011, 11:34 pm

badart wrote:they should get 100,000kms + easily

Yup.... most of the reviews on tirerack and other sites like www.offroaders.com say they getting at least 60,000km out of the BFG AT's... so it's a good tyre for the money.

droppa

Postby droppa » September 20th, 2011, 9:11 am

i real like those BFGs AT, they work great both on and off road, dats an excellent choice smeed, next good decision u hadda make is come on a run with us.......

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 20th, 2011, 11:18 pm

^ word!

Smeed

Postby Smeed » September 20th, 2011, 11:42 pm

droppa wrote:i real like those BFGs AT, they work great both on and off road, dats an excellent choice smeed, next good decision u hadda make is come on a run with us.......

yea man droppa......so far my schedule just ain't allow me to be home for a side b run......every time i does be out de country....i was home for de last one but i flew out on monday..........some time man .....some time soon!!

venum

Postby venum » October 23rd, 2011, 11:15 pm

checked the tyre pressure in the Kumho's today

pressures holding, no need for nitro in these

Rotated

Postby Rotated » October 27th, 2011, 7:27 am

Hey Guys i'm thinking about getting myself a set of BFG m/t to put on the original rims for the Lux,the tyres i'm getting are 255/70/16.Will be using them only when we making runs (Which isn't very often)....What U all think?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 27th, 2011, 8:26 am

They are excellent tyres and will give u great performance in the mud. Lots of guys are running them now and i havent heard a single complaint.

If u want more reviews, go to www.offroaders.com and look on the right sidebar of the page fot the bfg km2

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » October 27th, 2011, 10:47 am

Good choice for performance... and a badd-ass looking tire too.

droppa

Postby droppa » October 27th, 2011, 7:32 pm

we have alot of tire preferences and options, decisions can be made on various factors, some may even opt for the second set for wheelin times...

from my seat i will buy another set of KL71s in a blink, i would even run my current 31s daily if i did not have my 18s as daily beaters......how i wish i cud get some KL or BF for them

however if i do, and when i do build a dedicated 4Wheeler, for jus offroading, fun and competetions, i will get a very aggressive MT, like the MT baja claw, Maxxis Mudzilla, or TSL Super Swamper........

badart

Postby badart » November 3rd, 2011, 9:37 pm

Installed new tyres today, Michelin ltx at2 265/65/R17. Noticed an improvement in the braking so far compared to the bridgestones which lasted 60,000kms with some thread remaining and even wear.

if anyone is interested in the bridgestones let me knw

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 7th, 2012, 5:10 pm

dam i now gone through this thread and more confused than anything lol

Postby 3stagevtec » February 7th, 2012, 11:51 pm

Bezman wrote:dam i now gone through this thread and more confused than anything lol

What you looking for from a tyre? Mainly road use? Occasional off road use? Degree of off-road use? and budget...

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 8th, 2012, 2:50 pm

mainly road, weekend off road use.. have a couple really serious off road hills to climb for a beach I surf at, butdget.. well depends ;)

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”