Is your rubber any good..?? A tyre guide for your 4x4...

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 23rd, 2010, 12:40 pm

changed the stock tires on my truck today...

slapped on some toyo's all terrain 265/70/16
its like chalk and cheese compared to the dunlops i had on.....

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 23rd, 2010, 1:51 pm

I assume you had Duelers before.... give us a little more details nah Aaron, like a little review or comparison...Duelers vs Toyo :?:

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 23rd, 2010, 2:14 pm

got Continental ContiTrac tires when i purchased my nav

ride seem ok thus far...worth it to change to TOYO??

Postby equipped2ripp » March 23rd, 2010, 2:31 pm

Looking to put on some Dunlop PT1's next week...

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 23rd, 2010, 3:38 pm

well didn't do much driving since, just from mileage mack back to the office @ Petrotrin, but the ride is a lot more smoother, quieter.....traction also seems a lot better......as i do some more driving i'd let you guys know

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 24th, 2010, 7:29 am

got the chance to test them out in the rain this morning.....holding great!!! a lot better compared to the dunlops.......

i mean its still a truck and u can't expect to accelerate hard around corners in the wet without feeling the back gettin a bit loose...but im satisfied with my purchase

venum

Postby venum » March 24th, 2010, 8:40 am

i running teh Toyo Open Country A/T bout 6 months now

great tyre

very little wear

great traction on and off road

get used to having small pebbles and stones stuck in teh tread

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 24th, 2010, 9:22 am

Thanks for the feedback Aaron :!:

venum, that pebble thing is an annoyance, but a little hard acceleration now and then could force them out. Just don't do it when some one is following close behind you....you wouldn't want to damage a windscreen. But at general highway speed they usually come out.

I remember when I got my van, every time I go through a dirt road I would hear a couple 'pings' on the sidebars on my van. Usually those would be the pebbles that don't get blocked by the mud flaps when they fly out of the thread.

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 24th, 2010, 9:51 am

pebbles is small thing man..lol...

im accustomed to that in the civic.....

Postby wagon r » March 24th, 2010, 10:30 am

how yuh pay for the toyos A...?

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 24th, 2010, 10:58 am

i believe their usual price is $1150 plus vat....

Postby wagon r » March 24th, 2010, 12:14 pm

damn...

venum

Postby venum » March 24th, 2010, 12:33 pm

usuall price is $1200 (VAT incl) when i checked

still a good price comapred to the Michelin and BFG's (even on sale)

I paid less for mine :lol:

Cooper

Postby Cooper » April 7th, 2010, 10:15 am

I think, I'll start looking around for some better tires. The Dueler 693's I got from the factory with my van are starting to display some dangerous behavior.

Couple months back the I passed through the hairpin turns (going uphill) after Hilton on the Lady Young. A water truck had passed a few minutes before me and spilled a little water on the road. I saw the water and slowed down and felt the back stepping out on the first turn but it still held on to the road. One the second turn it got serious, I skidded into oncoming traffic and almost got broadsided. Had similar behavior with the little rain in central over the weekend. Back was stepping out while I was driving through corners in Lange Park...and this is at a really slow speed.

I don't think I can take a risk with these tires when the rains start. Mc Enerney (and most all other Truck Dealers) really doing sheit by bringing vans with these tires.

You guys know if any of the dealers will take a trade-in? ... not looking to get plenty money back for these crappy tires, but enough to work as a little discount on a new set.

this review says a lot:
http://www.tyretest.com/4x4_reifen/brid ... index.html

BTW, you can check for reviews on the brands you're interested in here:
http://www.tyretest.com/4x4_reifen/index.html

(It's good to get opinions from other sources)

madcoolieboy
Location: arkham asylum for the criminally insane..Under the alias: 'SYKO'

Postby madcoolieboy » April 16th, 2010, 7:54 pm

i agree bridgestone duelers a/t and the h/t are the worst tyres ever....traction is crap and so is treadwear.. i had the h/t on my l200 and they were pure rubbish.. wore them out and slapped on some hercules terra trac a/t and the tyres grip a whole lot better on and off road and even cost less.... still waiting to kill these stupid a/t's on the ranger same crap different tread pattern...lol

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » April 16th, 2010, 9:59 pm

Checked Quickserve today... getting the same Cross Latittudes that sweeky got for $6200.00 for the set... Dunno if this is a good investment or not

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 17th, 2010, 7:02 am

so finally some rain to test out the toyo's

wow im impressed...usually my dunlop feels real slippery in the wet, the toyo's are just holding the road nicely..........

very happy with my investment

lighthammer

Re: Is your rubber any good..?? A tyre guide for your 4x4...

Postby lighthammer » May 12th, 2010, 4:05 pm

Who sells the Pirelli Scorpion ATR's?

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » May 12th, 2010, 6:37 pm

Been using the Kumho Roadventure for the past 7 month's, hard driving, lots of highway and stop and go. Decent quality ride, very little wear and is good in the rain. Off road on the other hand I cannot say they are that good, mud they suck. Bush they run decent, and on the beach they are decent.

Paid 910.00 per tyre with a discount.

The tyre's are much better than the michelin's that came stock, also switched from the 15" steel rim's (stock bt-50 setup) to 16" alloy's, raised the pickup height about 1.5 inches.

madcoolieboy
Location: arkham asylum for the criminally insane..Under the alias: 'SYKO'

Postby madcoolieboy » May 30th, 2010, 10:32 am

wanna know where can i get all terrain tyres in 17 or 18 inch sizes...... i see some nice 17 and 18 inch rims but i wanna make sure i could get the tyres i want b4 i buy anything.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 31st, 2010, 11:26 pm

if alyah serious i can organise a discount by my bro place - where i got all my rims and tyres - let me know what you want - usually he stocks Michellins, Federals, and Terra trac A/T's and he got some new 4x4 rims similar to the ones i have on.

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » June 8th, 2010, 5:38 pm

as we talking tyres can the 275-45-22 can be use on the nissan frontier 2.5 high end with no mods will it touch while turning

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » June 15th, 2010, 8:38 pm

Fellas
I am looking for a set of BFG All terrains - 31 x 10.5 x 15

Where has good prices ? deals ? anyone with links?

Oh also , i see a couple ppl rocking soem bighorn maxis ..serious off roading looking tyres, havent see those at the tyreshops , anyone know where to get them?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 16th, 2010, 6:10 am

i find tires too damn expensive locally - how viable is it to bring down your own? cost wise?

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » June 17th, 2010, 9:51 am

Civic ... ent your bro brings in tyres? ask him..

Does he stock the BFGs? or other off roading tyres?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 18th, 2010, 6:39 pm

^^yeah he bring down tires - i have to buy all my tires by he otherwise i will not hear the end of it - he doesn't bring BFG etc I will find out viability of this

Postby wagon r » June 27th, 2010, 1:48 am

stuck.....quickservice are the only folks i know that have the bfgs in that size but i not sure if they have anymore and if they do it may only be a handful, i want to buy a set as i have little to nothing left on my tyres now....

...but i hope to get them next week or atleast week after.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » June 27th, 2010, 5:39 am

What are the options right now for A/Ts in 17's guyz?
Brand, model and prices?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 28th, 2010, 2:36 am

I saw some Nitto A/T's in M. Rampersad for 18's, but dunno the price.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”