What oil u using in ur diesel van?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
NR8

Re: What oil u using in ur diesel van?

Postby NR8 » October 24th, 2014, 10:29 pm

Not surprised. I'm a firm believer of all Valvoline's products. Great quality.
What model year is your Hilux btw?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 24th, 2014, 10:43 pm

Valvoline Premium Blue?....or syn power

Postby Team Loco » November 4th, 2014, 8:41 pm

Premium blue

Postby Rainman » November 10th, 2014, 7:05 am

http://www.turbodieselregister.com/TDR57_Oil.pdf

Good info here, seems the premium blue is an excellent choice.

TRD33

Postby TRD33 » November 16th, 2014, 10:13 pm

MOBIL1 DELVAC 5W 40 ALL THE WAY................

Havoc

Postby Havoc » November 21st, 2014, 12:24 am

TRD33 wrote:MOBIL1 DELVAC 5W 40 ALL THE WAY................

Jus so u knw, the greater the difference btwn those 2 numbers the quicker the oil breaks down because of the amount of friction modifiers needed

Using numbers tht are closer means the oil won't shear down as quickly

Havoc

Postby Havoc » November 21st, 2014, 12:24 am

Jus so u knw, the greater the difference btwn those 2 numbers the quicker the oil breaks down because of the amount of friction modifiers needed

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » November 21st, 2014, 6:49 am

Does the amsoil premium 15w40 still run good?

aviboy

Postby aviboy » November 21st, 2014, 8:07 am

Castrol CRB Turbo

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 21st, 2014, 8:19 pm

Havoc wrote:

I think you meant viscosity index improvers (VII).... not friction modifiers

While what you said holds true of Dino oils it is not as bad with synthetics because they use less VII.

Havoc

Postby Havoc » November 22nd, 2014, 8:47 am

kamakazi wrote:
Havoc wrote:

I think you meant viscosity index improvers (VII).... not friction modifiers

While what you said holds true of Dino oils it is not as bad with synthetics because they use less VII.

Gotcha! My mistake

But using a 5w40 oil is mainly for cold weather and racing applications
Don't tink it makes sense in a daily driven vehicle, especially since 10w40 and 15w40 are available

Care to share som insight...

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 22nd, 2014, 10:47 am

Now the lower the number before the W generally means it is better suited to pump in winter climates....I believe that it is easier to pump in general. Now while being easier to pump I also believe that if an oil is to thin film strength will suffer. The lighter oil also tends to burn off more.
If I'm looking at getting Dino oil I like to keep the difference between the numbers minimal. For synthetics I don't mind if the difference between the numbers is larger but I wouldn't go as far as 5w50 or 10w60.

Mention was made of racing application. Now most things in racing don't really translate well to road going vehicles
While viscosity is usually measured at 100° C what happens when you go past that and you are at let's say 140°C. That oil is now properly thin due to heat Hence the need to have a larger second number. They also rebuild engines more often and change oil more often than road going vehicles. They just need an oil that protects sufficiently and allows them to make the power they want. Longevity also doesn't have to be that great. ... so less detergents, less acid neutralizing compounds etc.

That's my perspective on it :smile:

angelus

Postby angelus » November 22nd, 2014, 11:05 am

Thanks for the info

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 16th, 2014, 7:00 am

Heard people using the royal purple and changing it at 25000km...for diesel.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » December 16th, 2014, 7:34 am

That seems high but with the oil and engine technologies these days I'd have to see that oil condition after 25000km before I know it. And what filter were they using?

Remember some of the high end oils can be used for up to 20,000 MILES which works out to be a lot of KMs

Postby SR » December 16th, 2014, 7:40 am

Euro vehicles have a longer oil change period

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 16th, 2014, 9:42 am

They are using it on a BT50 royal purple and the Royal purple filter, said they bought it is Sando.
Also said the oil did not look black....not sure about that but if that's the case I would not mine trying that oil and changing it around 12000km.

Any one knows where I can get the fuel filter for the sportage. Tried filterpro on the forum but no luck yet.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » December 16th, 2014, 12:27 pm

Try either Sherrif on Cipero St or Streetwise performance on Cipero Rd opposite Jennys or BigZ

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 19th, 2014, 10:46 am

SNIPER 3000 wrote:They are using it on a BT50 royal purple and the Royal purple filter, said they bought it is Sando.
Also said the oil did not look black....not sure about that but if that's the case I would not mine trying that oil and changing it around 12000km.

Any one knows where I can get the fuel filter for the sportage. Tried filterpro on the forum but no luck yet.

try repo auto in marabella, got plenty parts for kia sportage from them.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 20th, 2015, 12:36 am

Back to using total quartz 9000 5w40

Postby Rainman » January 22nd, 2015, 5:58 am

Has anyone tried the Redline diesel synthetic oil?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 22nd, 2015, 9:57 pm

Still using amsoil in mih ol datsun.... in fact ah hadda go buy some now, time for an oil change just now...

Postby nervewrecker » January 22nd, 2015, 10:35 pm

How do I know what to buy for the diff and gearbox? Vehicle doing just over 150k km

kamakazi

Re: Made a road trip to M. Rampersad yesterday & toyota sout

Postby kamakazi » January 22nd, 2015, 11:23 pm

It's best to start with the manual. If you cannot find it, most differentials and gearboxes use gl-4 or gl-5 in 75w90 weight. Only other thing to note is if you have an lsd and if it requires any special gear oil. ..but most gear oils mention compatability with lsd

I buy into the synthetic hype now and again but for gear oil I usually use castrol hypoid.... cant recall if it's 75w90 or 80w90. I sometimes mix in some castrol transaxle, 90w140 I think it is cause the oil appears a bit thin at times

I have used redline as well as belray before in my sr gearbox with redline shifting good initially but then grating a bit as the synchros take a bit longer due to how light and slippery the redline was. The 140 belray has the consistency of honey but the 90 belray is what I would consider just right. ... not to light. . Not to thick

Old man's hilux is using all Castrol 80w90 in the diffs, gearbox and transfer case. .... my SR gearbox is using a mix of the 90 and 140 belray.

Postby nervewrecker » January 23rd, 2015, 9:30 am

Have the manual home. Havent read much but I wanted to get all this sorted out this weekend instead of booking a next appointment.

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » January 23rd, 2015, 9:36 am

lighthammer wrote:Still using amsoil in mih ol datsun.... in fact ah hadda go buy some now, time for an oil change just now...

Where you buying the amsoil and which one

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » January 26th, 2015, 10:56 am

For more information on Liqui Moly visit http://www.liquimolytt.com to view the products and use the oil guide to find the right Liqui Moly oil for your vehicle.

Re: Made a road trip to M. Rampersad yesterday & toyota sout

Postby nervewrecker » January 29th, 2015, 12:41 pm

kamakazi wrote:It's best to start with the manual. If you cannot find it, most differentials and gearboxes use gl-4 or gl-5 in 75w90 weight. Only other thing to note is if you have an lsd and if it requires any special gear oil. ..but most gear oils mention compatability with lsd

I buy into the synthetic hype now and again but for gear oil I usually use castrol hypoid.... cant recall if it's 75w90 or 80w90. I sometimes mix in some castrol transaxle, 90w140 I think it is cause the oil appears a bit thin at times

I have used redline as well as belray before in my sr gearbox with redline shifting good initially but then grating a bit as the synchros take a bit longer due to how light and slippery the redline was. The 140 belray has the consistency of honey but the 90 belray is what I would consider just right. ... not to light. . Not to thick

Old man's hilux is using all Castrol 80w90 in the diffs, gearbox and transfer case. .... my SR gearbox is using a mix of the 90 and 140 belray.

Well I couldnt find my manual so I called Massy. They were rather helpful and professional.

Spoke to someone in parts department and they said diff uses SAE 75W90 and gearbox uses 80W90 Gear oil.

Details

Postby Details » January 29th, 2015, 12:57 pm

kamakazi wrote:It's best to start with the manual. If you cannot find it, most differentials and gearboxes use gl-4 or gl-5 in 75w90 weight. Only other thing to note is if you have an lsd and if it requires any special gear oil. ..but most gear oils mention compatability with lsd

Well I couldnt find my manual so I called Massy. They were rather helpful and professional.

Spoke to someone in parts department and they said diff uses SAE 75W90 and gearbox uses 80W90 Gear oil.

The only thing you need to know now is how much to buy, in my frontier it took about 5 bottles for the gear and transfer, and 3 for the diff

Postby nervewrecker » January 29th, 2015, 2:03 pm

Which frontier you has?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”