What oil u using in ur diesel van?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
topshotta20

Re: What oil u using in ur diesel van?

Postby topshotta20 » January 12th, 2011, 3:25 pm

Whats d difference with these 2 oils

Synthetic Engine Oil - 15W40
http://www.amsoil.com/StoreFront/images ... 350pxh.jpg

VS

Premium API CJ-4 Synthetic Oil - 15W-40
http://www.amsoil.com/StoreFront/images/dme_qt_350.jpg

sweeks

Postby sweeks » January 12th, 2011, 4:06 pm

Dj_Bee wrote:Getting it from boodram's oil, but wholesale 6 gallons.
they suppised to have retailers aswell.

I was quoted about $260 a gallon.

What's the retail price?

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » January 12th, 2011, 4:19 pm

not sure.

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » January 12th, 2011, 4:23 pm

topshotta20 wrote:Whats d difference with these 2 oils

Synthetic Engine Oil - 15W40
http://www.amsoil.com/StoreFront/images ... 350pxh.jpg

VS

CJ-4 a lil more expensive....other than the price, i was told that the cj-4 oil has a better "api" rating (doh ask meh bout that eh).

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » January 12th, 2011, 4:31 pm

http://www.apicj-4.org/2009_ENGINE_OIL_GUIDE.pdf

The first oil is API CI-4+,CF, CF-2, SL

The second oil is API CJ-4, CI-4+, CF, SM

The CJ-4 oil is a newer spec.

PLEASE NOTE:

When using CJ-4 oil with higher than 15 ppm sulfur fuel, consult the engine manufacturer for service interval.

I think our diesel is above that..

From Petrotrin Web Site:
Diesel / Heating Oil
Petrotrin supplies various grades of gas oils (38 to 45 cetane) to the Local, Regional, and International Markets. Typical sulphur is 0.5 wt%.

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » January 12th, 2011, 4:45 pm

I change my oil at 5000km, all the time.

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » January 12th, 2011, 4:47 pm

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » January 12th, 2011, 7:08 pm

hmm, i saw that castrol hypuron is cj-4 compliant, mobil 1 delvac as well...

http://fleetowner.com/news/bp_lubricants_castrol_hypuron_cj_4_082206/

And this is the recommended oil for the navara's and frontier's from Neal and massy.

I don't think the amsoil would do any harm.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » January 14th, 2011, 9:10 am

Most of the high performance oils do not conform to API, SAE, ASTM standards because these standards call for LOW toxicity chemical makeups.

Whilst less toxic oils are better for you and your environment, they are not better for your engines performance and health wise...

Also, certification, or any kind, is big money... Certification includes your labs, storage, technique, staff, etc etc and can run into millions of dollars. Some companies prefer not to become certified for these reasons as well...

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » January 14th, 2011, 4:36 pm

hmm...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 14th, 2011, 5:22 pm

but but.. i tort dat is de more esspensive de oil, de bettah it does be fuh de enjun?

I'm seeing lots of good reviews for Amsoil, plus I've heard enough anecdotal advice (some from the diesel boys themselves) about the gains in using Amsoil Oil and fuel additives.

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » January 14th, 2011, 6:04 pm

Could this oil run in a 2009 toyota hilux for between 10k to 20k kms

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 14th, 2011, 6:16 pm

yep yep.
Synthetic oils like Amsoil and Mobil 1 are designed to give you longer change intervals, between 10,000 - 20,000.

I wouldn't push it all the way to 20,000km though, esp. if you drive hard or spend a lot of time in traffic.

The only thing that would limit you in this case would be the change-interval on your oil filter.

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » January 14th, 2011, 6:21 pm

10k kms should be good then

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 14th, 2011, 6:27 pm

yip yip.
That's what I gonna do when I switch to Amsoil.

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » January 14th, 2011, 6:41 pm

but what about ur oil filter?u gonna run it till 10 000 kms?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 14th, 2011, 6:54 pm

yup, but I'll definitely change it at the 10,000km mark, not gonna push it beyond that.

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » January 14th, 2011, 7:00 pm

you using oem filters?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » January 14th, 2011, 7:27 pm

Dj_Bee wrote:you using oem filters?

Yeah, you're wasting your time if you are not using OEM filters with high quality synthetic oils and long drain intervals

One of the reasons I am only running the Shell R6 to 7500km is that I am using a crappy cheap filter.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » January 14th, 2011, 8:43 pm

Using synthetic oils, your service intervals should be as follows:

Common rail 10 000 - 12 000km
Non common rail 7 500 - 10 000km

I tend to stay on the lower end of the scale.

Dj_bee no offense but you're wasting money and not saving the environment if you run sythetic oil only to 5 000km. I've run OEM filters up to 16 000km (two oil changes), never had a problem.

ToYota men can check me for OEM filters.

Dunman

Postby Dunman » January 14th, 2011, 9:32 pm

Real good info here!!!

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » January 14th, 2011, 10:56 pm

sweeks wrote:Using synthetic oils, your service intervals should be as follows:

Dj_bee no offense but you're wasting money and not saving the environment if you run sythetic oil only to 5 000km. I've run OEM filters up to 16 000km (two oil changes), never had a problem.

Well Sunday im gonna use the amsoil, probably the first time im gonna use a fully synthetic in my van...so ill see how it goes, as with the filter, whenever im changing my oil at the 5k mark, the filter looks reall nasty, so that's y i change the oil.
Hope the fully synthetic shows changes.

Might take the chance and run it to the 7.5 k mark.

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » January 14th, 2011, 10:59 pm

bleedingfreak wrote:

Yeah, you're wasting your time if you are not using OEM filters with high quality synthetic oils and long drain intervals

One of the reasons I am only running the Shell R6 to 7500km is that I am using a crappy cheap filter.

I always use Nissan oem oil filters, for the fuel i ain't mind using a sub. and i have a k&n air filter as well.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » January 15th, 2011, 2:37 am

Dj_Bee wrote:

Well Sunday im gonna use the amsoil, probably the first time im gonna use a fully synthetic in my van...so ill see how it goes, as with the filter, whenever im changing my oil at the 5k mark, the filter looks reall nasty, so that's y i change the oil.
Hope the fully synthetic shows changes.

Might take the chance and run it to the 7.5 k mark.

it is the nature of oil in diesel vehicles to get black. the oil is designed to absorb the soot caused by the diesel combustion process. it is not a sign that the oil has broken down.

amsoil full synth designed for 10K.....hell, there are diesel engines in the US that run to 25K before oil change

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 15th, 2011, 3:51 am

However, any big rig or trucker in the US would also tell you that they change oil every 3000miles regardless of if its synth or not... The most popular trucker oil I have encountered up here are the various mixes of Shell Rotella and Mobil Delvac ...

In the end, if your oil costs you so much that you fretful about changing it and pushing the limits of oil change intervals, why not just buy something cheaper and change it twice as often and have peace of mind? I guess I just thinking differently, but then again, I don't tend to go with the "most expensive is best" consumer policy

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 15th, 2011, 6:26 am

, I don't tend to go with the "most expensive is best" consumer policy

Nah, trini minds would say - "cheap ting no good and good ting no cheap".

But educated mind would look at the data & evidence then base their decisions on that.
Hence why I'd choose Amsoil.

Too lazy to go look up the reviews that I'd read, but most of the Cummin's and Duramax forums in the US diesel market praise Amsoil for increased power, increased mileage and other things like good detergent properties, which keeps the Diesel Particulate Filter clean (it's the same filter in gasoline engines' catalytic converters, except in diesel engines it filters not just the exhaust but the entire fuel system).
Some of the forums I checked out said that for any Diesel engine with DPF's, they should be using the Amsoil 15W40 DME, which is a CJ-4 API spec'd oil.

I.e. it's perfect for most of our newer trucks down here, 2007 and upwards.
Older diesels without DPF's would need Amsoil 15w40 AME rated oils.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » January 15th, 2011, 12:06 pm

Gentlemen we now have two other factors to add into the mix.

1. Air filter : OEM vs K&N. Dirt particles is one consideration in the breakdown of oils. More air = more dust particles.
2. Fuel : We've all agreed that we get 'piss' quality diesel.

It doesn't make sense using high quality synthetic oil with giving thought to the two factors above.

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » January 15th, 2011, 1:52 pm

I always use a 2oz of qmi fuel treatment when fulling up from empty.
That's a whole other topic imo.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » January 15th, 2011, 2:45 pm

Yes, check this fella for OEm filters at great prices

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » January 15th, 2011, 2:50 pm

Dj_Bee wrote:
bleedingfreak wrote:

I always use Nissan oem oil filters, for the fuel i ain't mind using a sub. and i have a k&n air filter as well.

Biggest mistake you will ever make there pal...

Our diesel quality is very poor. Unless you're changing our fuel filter every oil change like your oil filter then your wasting time and destroying your engine...

But that's another issue... hehe

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”