What oil u using in ur diesel van?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
sweeks

Re: What oil u using in ur diesel van?

Postby sweeks » January 20th, 2011, 3:58 pm

Venum you'd be surprise what the dealership use...

A couple years ago one of the dealership was using castrol syntec blend on their diesel engines.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 20th, 2011, 4:07 pm

Actually, I know they have a Diesel oil on the market, just not sure which it is.. If it is the Quartz 7000 diesel (i think I remember seeing it) then according to them it is "synthetic technology".. Which in total jargon means a group 3 synthetic (same label on the Quartz 9000 petrol oil) ...
Nex time I in the country I will just call the dealer and find out exactly what they import.. I expect the total pricing to be more than competitive, and if the 7000 is available I can see it being my new oil of choice (replacing either Rimula R4 or Castrol Hypuron which I been using)

Id like it if they bring in the Rubia line of Total diesel oils though, which contains both Group 3 and PAO based synthetics..

badart

Postby badart » January 20th, 2011, 5:48 pm

the total oil diamond motors using is mineral

venum

Postby venum » January 20th, 2011, 6:49 pm

after 721km this is what the Amsoil synth diesel oil looks like

sorry about the quality, but you can see the colour is still close to the original\new colour from the can

the oil is not black at all - like what normally happens to mineral oil 5 min after it is added to the engine

I will post some comparison pics of a sample on tissue of the unused and the one from my engine side by side weekend (with better quality)

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » January 20th, 2011, 8:45 pm

venum wrote:after 721km this is what the Amsoil synth diesel oil looks like

sorry about the quality, but you can see the colour is still close to the original\new colour from the can

the oil is not black at all - like what normally happens to mineral oil 5 min after it is added to the engine

I will post some comparison pics of a sample on tissue of the unused and the one from my engine side by side weekend (with better quality)

That's a good idea...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 21st, 2011, 6:20 am

venum wrote:after 721km this is what the Amsoil synth diesel oil looks like

*clicks like*.
8-) 8-)

U got it from Tony, Venum?

venum

Postby venum » January 21st, 2011, 10:31 pm

no i bought from my usual parts place

Dunman

Postby Dunman » January 30th, 2011, 11:36 pm

Any ever tried the Liqui Moly line of products; oil, oil additive, fule additive?

Heard some reviews that it's even better that the Amsoil.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 31st, 2011, 1:26 am

hmm wats the price of the fuel add?

Dunman

Postby Dunman » January 31st, 2011, 9:04 am

Here's the stuff...

seems to be getting some great reviews. Anyone has any experience with the products?

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » January 31st, 2011, 9:51 am

yea but dat sh!t gonna hit u up som rel $$$

Dunman

Postby Dunman » January 31st, 2011, 12:08 pm

MrCuddles wrote:yea but dat sh!t gonna hit u up som rel $$$

Oil: $400/gall (can be used to 15,000 though but I'd still change at 10,000)
Oil additive: $45
Fuel additive: $54 (last for 2000km)

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 31st, 2011, 2:33 pm

the fuel additive cheaper than the amsoil... which goes for around 65-70 a bottle.. but :shock: shiet!!! the oil pricey tho!! i think the amsoil is about 2 somthing per gal... what it have een dat oil dred!

venum

Postby venum » January 31st, 2011, 4:18 pm

when u buy amsoil in bulk u get it for $45 per bottle

apark50

Postby apark50 » January 31st, 2011, 5:17 pm

Dunman wrote:

Actually the Liqui Moly container is 5 Liters of oil. Not a Gallon which is 3.78 Liters or 4 quarts

Dunman

Postby Dunman » January 31st, 2011, 7:55 pm

apark50 wrote:
Dunman wrote:

Actually the Liqui Moly container is 5 Liters of oil. Not a Gallon which is 3.78 Liters or 4 quarts

Very true!

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » January 31st, 2011, 8:10 pm

but study a five gallon pail of Royal Purple is $1058

with a 3ltr like mine daz 2 oil changes

with a 2.5 like wat alotta u guys hv its gonna go a bit further

Rotated

Postby Rotated » January 31st, 2011, 8:24 pm

Has anyone got any info on the Full synthetic oil from Chevron?

venum

Postby venum » January 31st, 2011, 10:11 pm

MrCuddles wrote:but study a five gallon pail of Royal Purple is $1058

with a 3.2L like mine, similar - 2 change

but when u buy by the pail u come out cheaper than buying by teh gallson

at that price, each oil change will cost you $529, when u buy Amsoil by the gallon it will cost you $600 per change

or in my case - $675.00

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » January 31st, 2011, 10:29 pm

venum wrote:
MrCuddles wrote:but study a five gallon pail of Royal Purple is $1058

with a 3.2L like mine, similar - 2 change

but when u buy by the pail u come out cheaper than buying by teh gallson

at that price, each oil change will cost you $529, when u buy Amsoil by the gallon it will cost you $600 per change

or in my case - $675.00

ware u gettin d Amsoil by d gallon venum?? after my RP dun i tinkin bout switchin.....well, it all depends on da price doh, Frontiers aint relly d most high-maintenance vehicles around :roll:

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » February 1st, 2011, 8:30 pm

i have ah 2.5turbo frontier an ah using shell rimula 15w-40 and right now doing 109000km should i use 25w-60
how long would an oil change would be with royal purple

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 1st, 2011, 10:03 pm

No, stick with your current grade of oil.. If you not leaking massively or burning I see no reason for you to move up to such a heavy viscosity.. All it will do is cost you power and fuel economy for no reason..

15w-40 is the market standard really and shell makes an excellent oil (Super, now known as R4)..
Personally, stick with it and forget the more expensive oils.. I can tell you this as I have 10 years experience with the Rimula in a Mitsu 4D56T

venum

Postby venum » February 1st, 2011, 11:30 pm

^^^ I would stick to teh Shell R4 as well

great oil

used it in my Mitsi 4D56T as well for ~ 3years

great oil

like promised ppl

pics of teh AMSOIL 15W40 Heavy Duty Diesel & Marine oil

now doing 1700km

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » February 2nd, 2011, 12:10 am

Amsoil is the sheit... i swear by it..

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » February 2nd, 2011, 7:54 pm

tanx ppl

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » February 4th, 2011, 4:31 pm

Diesel Fuel Filter
4x4 2.5D hilux
is it safe to change the filter as required by toyota service interval at 20 000km
or is it wise to change it sooner because of the diesel we get

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 4th, 2011, 5:18 pm

You would be safe at 20,000 I believe...
I mean, for peace of mind you can do it earlier but I have gone longer than that on my pajero without problems..

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » February 10th, 2011, 8:29 pm

venum wrote:^^^ I would stick to teh Shell R4 as well

great oil

used it in my Mitsi 4D56T as well for ~ 3years

great oil

like promised ppl

pics of teh AMSOIL 15W40 Heavy Duty Diesel & Marine oil

now doing 1700km

Dam, should have done this as well...
i switched to amsoil last oil change and im getting results similar to this.
currently doing a little over 1000km with amsoil.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 18th, 2011, 12:58 pm

Where is the best place to buy AmSOIL and what is the price there?

pickups only

Postby pickups only » February 18th, 2011, 2:06 pm

hey dudes and dudets german stuff in my nav. liqui moly 4 the past 5 yrs. great at 15k works well , a bit xpensive but works gooooood !

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”