Page 1 of 28

What oil u using in ur diesel van?

Posted: November 29th, 2008, 2:08 pm
by Dion76
yeah wa kinda van u have and wa kinda oil u using?

i asking about the oild because i personally have a 2008 ford ranger and for my first service i carried the MOBIL DELVAC 1 and d firm told me to come back next 10,000 km for d next service but this morning this happened d guy that was tinting my van ows a ford ranger also same 2008 so

ME-so wa kinda oil u running
D MAN-d cheap castrol
ME-so how come u n running synthetic oil?
D MAN-boy doh leh nobody fool u dem synthetic oil is for when u driving long distances
ME-ohh buh i hear d synthetic oil better for d engine?
D MAN- who tell u that
ME-plenty ppl and i hear/see it on 3ne 2nr also
D MAN-who is 3ne 2nr? ( :lol: :lol: )
ME-A car web site
D MAN- ok well dem expensive oil is sheit bess u buy d cheap one if u n listen to me later on u will sit down n say,"wait is bess i did buy d cheap one n save some money dred"
ME- ok i guh see wa happens

so fellas wa oil u running?

Posted: November 29th, 2008, 2:15 pm
by equipped2ripp
what kinda oil he using? lemme guess, some cheap arse SAE 50 oil, which is designed for old oil burning diesel engines, because of its thick body. i'm sure his van is smoking, or will start to smoke eventually like an old truck.

i'm using Shell Rimula X in one vehicle, and Castrol Syntec Blend in another.

Posted: November 29th, 2008, 2:20 pm
by Dion76
ohh yeah

2008 ford ranger-MOBIL DELVAC 1

Posted: November 29th, 2008, 2:25 pm
by venum
he sounding liek a mango tree man

tell him use two stroke engine oil and let hear his comment

Posted: November 29th, 2008, 2:27 pm
by Dion76
:rofl: is true

wa u using?

Posted: November 29th, 2008, 4:28 pm
by venum
i using Shell Rimula Super 15W-40 grey can

gonna try mobil 1 soon

Posted: November 29th, 2008, 7:47 pm
by BreadHead
05 Ford Ranger XL

Castrol Syntec Blend Truck & SUV, 15W-40

Posted: November 29th, 2008, 8:01 pm
by bleedingfreak
And you still let the man put on your tint... ?

:roll: :roll: :roll:

Posted: November 29th, 2008, 8:53 pm
by Dion76
boy^^ d man is d best best tint man in tobago real quality work was shock when he talk da stupidness about d oil

Posted: November 29th, 2008, 10:23 pm
by bladett
Castrol Syntec Blend 15w-40

Posted: November 30th, 2008, 1:20 am
by biggy82
bleedingfreak wrote:And you still let the man put on your tint... ?
:roll: :roll: :roll:

yunno i now reading the first post and realize is a TINT MAN giving you advice on oil?

boi, once the API / ACEA ratings compatible with the manufacturer specs for the engine, run yuh Delvac and run it to 10,000 kms

i using Castrol CRB and change interval is 5,000 kms

Posted: November 30th, 2008, 7:23 am
by Greypatch
D22 castrol CBR Turbo 15w - 40

Posted: November 30th, 2008, 10:33 am
by 323_wagon_dude
I'm also using the delvac 1 in my hilux. I run it for 10000 km... working rel good.

Posted: November 30th, 2008, 11:05 am
by Mr. Ralliart
Amsoil super synthetic 5w - 40 (diesel formula)

Posted: November 30th, 2008, 4:59 pm
by bleedingfreak
Mobil1 Delvac running to 10K km as well...

Posted: November 30th, 2008, 9:22 pm
by 4X4 Trinidad
Castrol Hypuron, we service diesel vehicles and we;ve been using this as it;s one of the recommend oil for most Diesel PICK UP's and SUV's

Posted: November 30th, 2008, 9:23 pm
by Dion76
so is that better than MOBIL DELVAC 1?

Posted: November 30th, 2008, 9:24 pm
by equipped2ripp
it's a new oil on the local market.

Posted: November 30th, 2008, 9:30 pm
by Dion76
is it better than the MOBIL DELVAC 1?

Posted: November 30th, 2008, 9:58 pm
by Toyopet
I used d red bottle Shell in my L200,van run good.

Posted: December 1st, 2008, 8:57 am
by 4X4 Trinidad
well our tech's did the local bench mark .

BWM, Benz, Nissan and Toyota recommends it as well .

Posted: December 1st, 2008, 9:22 am
by Greypatch
yep a new oil on the market....how much better is it than the CBR

Posted: December 1st, 2008, 9:49 am
by equipped2ripp
it's a semi-synthetic....

should compare to the syntec blend which is a part synthetic oil.

don't know if tracmac replacing the syntec blend with the hypuron though...

Posted: December 1st, 2008, 1:34 pm
by bleedingfreak
4X4 Trinidad wrote:well our tech's did the local bench mark .

BWM, Benz, Nissan and Toyota recommends it as well .

Forgive I... but... what exactly your techs do to *benchmark* the oil?

Posted: December 1st, 2008, 2:01 pm
by venum
Toyopet wrote:I used d red bottle Shell in my L200,van run good.

which model L200 :?:

AFAIK

that Rimula is for older, pre-1993 diesels

Posted: December 1st, 2008, 4:06 pm
by bladett
i used to run shell rimula in the black bottle. I used it for 2 years & then switched to Castrol Syntec Blend because i dislike how thin the shell oils are.

Posted: December 1st, 2008, 6:18 pm
by Mr. Ralliart
Chevron has a synthetic that is really good as well. in a silver gallon bottle.

Posted: December 2nd, 2008, 3:27 pm
by G-DUB
I use Castrol RX Viscus in my Toyota 2L diesel and it works great.

Posted: December 2nd, 2008, 8:39 pm
by Toyopet
which model L200

The 1997. We bought it by the barrell to use with the other machinery so I used it to.It kept its viscousity long enough.

Posted: December 3rd, 2008, 11:37 am
by venum
ok

teh 4D56 in that hasn't changed much to the early versions

so u cool still