What oil u using in ur diesel van?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
CD4Accord

Re: What oil u using in ur diesel van?

Postby CD4Accord » June 13th, 2013, 4:49 pm

330 ttd for 2.5 gal? That isn't bad at all... Where are you getting it for that price?

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » June 22nd, 2013, 7:16 pm

Is anyone using 20w 50 ah wanna no how dey find It an prob the brand thinking of going to that cuz considering the heat of the engine together with the sun road ..yuh get dis place hot n da oil will b getting thin in dat engine n sum how I think that will give better protection in these high temperatures looking fo valvo but it only in 15w40

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » June 23rd, 2013, 8:10 am

OH GORM BAI, DE SUN ROAD DID HOT.

Back to English: How many times are we going to have to say that Trinidad is NOT an extreme environment in any way besides in arseness. 20w-50 is completely uncalled for unless you have an ageing engine that is burning oil. Just use whatever your vehicle manual states you should use.

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » July 4th, 2013, 10:36 pm

Arite no seen wanted to hear from someone else thanks

seech7195

Postby seech7195 » July 20th, 2013, 9:17 pm

i bought a d22 frontier with a td27 non turbo engine from someone who was using castrol 25w60.do you guys tink this oil is too heavy because if yes,i was thinking of switching to 15w40 since a lot of guys are using this body of oil. would switching to the the 15w40 be a good idea? the van is 108k

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 17th, 2013, 12:04 pm

Currently using TOTAL Quartz 9000 5w40

seech7195 wrote:i bought a d22 frontier with a td27 non turbo engine from someone who was using castrol 25w60.do you guys tink this oil is too heavy because if yes,i was thinking of switching to 15w40 since a lot of guys are using this body of oil. would switching to the the 15w40 be a good idea? the van is 108k

yes I do think the 25W60 is a bit too heavy...give the 15w40 a try

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » November 18th, 2013, 2:27 am

Whoa whoa kamakazi... You using Total Quartz 9000 5w-40 in a diesel engine or am I missing something here... Don't get me wrong, I swear by the 9000 5w-40 in my gas engines (use it in 4 of them) but never considered trying it in a diesel na

Unless you not running diesel... The "synthetic" total diesel we usually get in trinidad is the 4 x 4 I think...
Last edited by CD4Accord on November 18th, 2013, 11:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 18th, 2013, 7:34 pm

You read it correctly Quartz 9000 5w40 in the crankcase of the diesel engine. The manual asks for API CF and most gas engine oils are rated CF for diesel.

Now you mention the Total Quartz SUV 4x4 and that is also rated API CF but its a bit heavier being 15w50 and rated a bit lower with an ACEA A3/B3 vs the A3/B4 for the 9000

The synthetic for diesel from TOTAL is the RUBIA TIR8600

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » November 18th, 2013, 11:25 pm

I think I got some of the Total 4 x 4 in 5w-40 before... Will have to double check that for you next time I am in the country...

Concerning the Rubia line.. Do we get anything above the TIR 7400 in Trinidad?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 18th, 2013, 11:28 pm

I've seen the TIR8600 by Repuauto in Marabella. It exists in Trinidad :) .....a bit pricey but its there.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » November 18th, 2013, 11:34 pm

http://www4.total.fr/pdf/lubricants/Lub ... e-2011.pdf

It is a humongous PDF but check out page 47.. Has all of the rubia line.. Looks like we missing a whole lot of options

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 20th, 2013, 9:15 am

yep...thanks for the link man

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » November 20th, 2013, 12:12 pm

anyone using the chevron delo400 LE 15 W-40 oil, and what are it's reviews ?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » November 20th, 2013, 1:01 pm

Delo is usually considered to be an excellent value option. If you stick to your oil change interval, the Delo will do you quite well. Pricesmart I presume?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » December 3rd, 2013, 1:55 pm

using valvoline premium blue for the past year.. and been loving it!

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 17th, 2013, 8:03 am

Changed Oil recently. Now using Shell Rimula R4 15W40.

stigma

Postby stigma » December 21st, 2013, 11:43 am

Got some AMSOIL for my 2007 Hilux. Just one thing... anybody could clarify where exactly the oil drain plug is? :/

gas brainz

Re: The *Official* Trinidad Spotters Thread!

Postby gas brainz » December 21st, 2013, 3:02 pm

I got 5w40 valvoline extreme diesel was wondering if I should use it in the frontier yd25

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 21st, 2013, 8:03 pm

@stigma
if its the 4wd Hilux and it isn't jacked up and you are sliding your body face up from the front of the vehicle...as you look through the hole in the lowest area of the van, slightly to your left you should see the sump and the drain plug. As you are draining the oil, when it is almost finished some oil will fall on that bar and can make a mess(i'm calling it a bar..it might be the sub-frame)

Its just off centre on the passenger side (assuming Right hand drive) if you are going under the vehicle from just behind the Passenger side front wheel

Hope you find it easily...
Last edited by kamakazi on April 24th, 2014, 3:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

stigma

Postby stigma » December 21st, 2013, 8:48 pm

Thanks kamakazi, I'll be changing the oil tomorrow so I'll let u know how it goes.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 23rd, 2013, 7:08 am

Switched to shell R6 10w 40. Any reviews, what mileage you all change at?

seech7195

Postby seech7195 » January 2nd, 2014, 9:56 pm

kamakazi wrote:Currently using TOTAL Quartz 9000 5w40

seech7195 wrote:i bought a d22 frontier with a td27 non turbo engine from someone who was using castrol 25w60.do you guys tink this oil is too heavy because if yes,i was thinking of switching to 15w40 since a lot of guys are using this body of oil. would switching to the the 15w40 be a good idea? the van is 108k

yes I do think the 25W60 is a bit too heavy...give the 15w40 a try

currently using delo 15w 40.always heard that its an excellent oil. using it a while now, no problems since.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 27th, 2014, 8:22 pm

Giving the Delo 400LE 15w40 a try

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 28th, 2014, 10:13 pm

kamakazi wrote:Giving the Delo 400LE 15w40 a try

Guys doin an oil change on a hilux....first time.....how much oil ...litres would it use?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 28th, 2014, 10:21 pm

6 litres should put you very close to or at the full mark

Havoc

Postby Havoc » October 24th, 2014, 7:58 pm

Ran delo in a turbo diesel for over 3yrs wit no probs
Does a great job of cleaning both diesel and gasoline engines

NR8

Postby NR8 » October 24th, 2014, 8:09 pm

Havoc wrote:Ran delo in a turbo diesel for over 3yrs wit no probs
Does a great job of cleaning both diesel and gasoline engines
Co-signed. Used the Delo 400 LE in a newly installed f.u. QG15 for a few OCIs to get rid of any potential sludge build up. Inside engine was like shiny new silver after :)

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » October 24th, 2014, 8:34 pm

6.5 litres in a 2.5 hilux

NR8

Postby NR8 » October 24th, 2014, 9:53 pm

CD4Accord where do you buy your Total lubricants locally?

Postby Team Loco » October 24th, 2014, 10:21 pm

Only valvoline in new hilux. 500, 000kms after and still going. Just gotta change every 5000kms

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”