Thursday, May 23rd, 2013

- It is currently Thu May 23, 2013 5:37 pm

All times are UTC - 4 hours

Forum rules

This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Jump to:  

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1239 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42  Next
Big Z
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 6:34 am 

Location: http://www.luberfiner.com 734-7669 Running on 96RON
http://www.amsoil.com/storefront/ame.aspx

Don't worry about the name of the product. What you need to consider is the specifications on the oil, listed below.

Quote:
SAE 15W-40
API CI-4+, CF, CF-2, SL
ACEA A3/B3, E2, E3, E5, E7
Global DHD-1
JASO DH-1
Mack EO-M+ EO-N
DDC Power Guard 93K214
Caterpillar ECF-1A, ECF-2
Cummins CES 20071, 20072, 20076, 20077, 20078
Volvo VDS-2, VDS-3
MB 228.1, 228.3, 229.1
MAN 271/3275
MTU Type 2
Allison C-4

For our applications, it meets CI4+ so its fine for diesel applications.
It also meets the SL rating, so its fine for gasoline applications as well.
Large marine engines are usually diesel engine.

734-7669

trinibajan34
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 3:09 pm 

how is it that other rangers and bt50 and the like zoom pass me on the highway, i crusie @ 110kph since i got the van but others vans just blow past. i kinda wonder if their mileage is affected by the speed they are clocking?

Cooper
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 6:38 am 

^^^ YES :!: ^^^

trinibajan34
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 8:20 am 

ok just wondering

Cooper
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 5:29 pm 

Just keep it under 110Kmph, you'll notice some savings in your monthly fuel bill.

trinibajan34
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 9:23 pm 

i already have,a full tanks last me till the weekend diesel ftw

Cooper
PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 6:42 pm 

Posted some info in the removal & inspection of the Glow Plugs for the WL engine here

trinibajan34
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 1:23 pm 

How about some info on what to do if the glow plug tip is stuck in the head.

Sent from my BlackBerry 9100 using Tapatalk

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 5:34 pm 

hear nah fellers...ah kinda shame to ask this but...where the hell is the engine number found on the WL-T?

lighthammer
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 9:48 am 

i forgotted.... check the Ranger manuals that someone re-posted on the trucks/pickups forum... it in one of the diagrams.

Side B: Keep On Truckin' !

Cooper
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 2:06 pm 

trinibajan34 wrote:
How about some info on what to do if the glow plug tip is stuck in the head.

I heard about your problem last week... from the information I have, I'd suggest trying to tap it with a small screw from the top and try pulling it out. Or try turning over the engine hoping that the compression will force it out. Failing those two options, you may have to pull the head out completely.

SmokeyGTi wrote:
hear nah fellers...ah kinda shame to ask this but...where the hell is the engine number found on the WL-T?

LOL!! Don't be embarrassed, when I got my truck I was wondering the same thing. The owners manual shows the location on page '10-3' but the picture they have is kind of confusing. It's actually under the intake manifold close to the front of the engine. It's actually a very weird spot....look at the picture below for a guide. (Went off-road in the rain last week, that's why the engine dirty)

trinibajan34
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 2:17 pm 

Cooper all that you mentioned I want to try but coward to try it if yuh understand what I mean

Cooper
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 2:23 pm 

I know what you're talking about....there is the obvious risk that the tip will fall into the cylinder. Can you get a picture of the problem? Maybe the other guys may have some suggestions.

trinibajan34
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 2:42 pm 

Will try this weekend

ruffrider27
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 8:32 pm 

can anyone help with the oil filter part number for the wl 2.5L and the 3.0L engines in the 2007 ranger ?

trinibajan34
PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 10:45 pm 

found this website with the part numbers for bushings ,engine mounts etc
http://www.timco-automotive.com/automot ... parts.html
used it to verify the part numbers for my upper cradle arm bushing

trinibajan34
PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 11:43 pm 

question does the bt50 come with the variable vane turbo on the wlt engine ? cause i was told by the sales rep when i was checking them out he said that it come with a that.

lighthammer
PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 6:16 am 

^ no the WLT engine comes with a regular turbo.

Only the common rail 2.5 TDCi WLC and 3.0 TDCi WEC engines come with the variable vane turbo's.

The WLT is a direct-injection, fixed-vane turbo.

Also, the BT-50 comes only with the WLT engine, SSL doesn't bring the other engines down normally - the 2.5 TDCi engine is available but by special request only and you'll only get it in automatic.

The Ford Ranger engine codes are WLT, WLC and WEC... The BT 50 engine is the MZ-DE (that's the direct-injection, normal turbo) and MZ-CD (the tdci version, with Variable vabe turbo).

trinibajan34
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 10:59 pm 

how can you prevent diesel from foaming when yuh pumping diesel in yuh tank? cause it annoys the hell out of me when i have to wait for the foam to die down then continue to pump

civic minded
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 5:12 pm 

what i do is cut the nozzel pressure when it gets closer to being full. I cut it more and more till it full.

speedaholic
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2012 3:22 am 

^^^ that!.........

Vani
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 7:54 pm 

hey guys, can anyone tell me what happens if $40 of kerosene is mistakenly filled in your tank? i have a 2004 model ford ranger

lighthammer
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 8:36 am 

If you have the WLT engine, nothing really... just fill the rest up with diesel and run as normal - but don't over-rev the engine too much.

Vani
PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2012 5:44 am 

i do, thanks for the advice

Big Z
PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2012 6:21 am 

Location: http://www.luberfiner.com 734-7669 Running on 96RON
Reposting this in this thread....

Click here for the article source

Read carefully and make an informed decision.

Quote:
Kerosene has a lower BTU content than #2 diesel fuel which results in a decrease in engine power and fuel economy. Kerosene has an average BTU content of approximately 133,500 BTU per gallon and #2 diesel fuel has an average BTU content of approximately 139,500 BTU per gallon.

When using a 50:50 kerosene blend, the BTU content is approximately 136,500 or two percent less than #2 diesel. The resulting power loss is approximately two percent. Fuel economy will also decrease by at least two percent.

Quote:
Kerosene provides only minimal increased winter fuel operability. Kerosene will decrease the Cold Filter Plug Point (CFPP) by 2ºF for every 10% kerosene used. Diesel fuel additives, on the other hand, will reduce the CFPP by as much as 35°F- 45°F.

Quote:
Kerosene contains less lubricity than #2 diesel fuel. Diesel fuel lubricity is a major concern because of Ultra Low Sulfur Diesel (ULSD). ULSD contains significantly less lubricity than Low Sulfur Diesel (LSD). As a result, metal components in the engine fuel system, including fuel pumps and injectors, are susceptible to premature failure. Many diesel fuel additives will actually increase overall fuel system lubricity.

Quote:
Kerosene contains less cetane than #2 diesel fuel. Cetane is the most universally accepted measure of diesel fuel ignition quality. Proper ignition during the combustion cycle is essential for optimum operation, economics, and durability. Insufficient levels of cetane lead to hard starting, longer warm-ups and heavy white smoke.

Quote:
Summary of Disadvantages of Kerosene Blending

1) Increased Cost
2) Decreased Engine Power
3) Decreased Fuel Economy
4) Inadequate Winter Fuel Operability
5) Decreased Lubricity
6) Decreased Cetane

734-7669

medalist
PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2012 12:38 pm 

I having a small problem with my ranger. Its an '08 3L auto, I was traveling at about 60Kmph and all of a sudden the person in front me mash brakes. I mashed down too, van stopped but I got a jerk on the brake pedal when i mashed down full. What can be the cause of this?Anyone ever experienced this problem? BTW the rotors and brake pads are good.

Xplode
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2012 5:34 pm 

medalist wrote:
I having a small problem with my ranger. Its an '08 3L auto, I was traveling at about 60Kmph and all of a sudden the person in front me mash brakes. I mashed down too, van stopped but I got a jerk on the brake pedal when i mashed down full. What can be the cause of this?Anyone ever experienced this problem? BTW the rotors and brake pads are good.

your abs kicked in normal for the sudden brakes.

If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer. Matthew 21:22

medalist
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 2:30 pm 

so are u saying thats normal for it to jerk? Been monitoring trying to see if it happens again but its working normal with no jerk....very strange

civic minded
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 4:30 pm 

probably there was some dust or something on your pads... When last your machine your rotors?

medalist
PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2012 8:03 pm 

Haven't Machined them,bought the vehicle used and don't think the previous owner ever did it.

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1239 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42  Next