L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
l200

Postby l200 » March 7th, 2010, 10:20 pm

Hi speedaholic, got it done at Hose & Equipment Services LTD in California, close to where I live. Great service, they even tried to repair the original for free, but that didn't work out so they made a new hose. The only difference is the hose is straight, so i made it a little longer to make the bend around the water hose,

Total cost =$100 + vat

Time taken = 20 mins wait

Instillation = 10 mins

l200

Postby l200 » March 8th, 2010, 9:17 pm

Not to sure of the reason, jus glad it not leaking, but strange enough, ah fix de p\s now de a\c compressor start to give trouble,,,,,,it slipping an then gripping, don't kno why, but it will have to wait, going to service de diesel pump first.

venum

Postby venum » March 8th, 2010, 11:38 pm

l200 wrote:de a\c compressor start to give trouble,,,,,,it slipping an then gripping, don't kno why

check the electrical

the clutch is a electric solenoid that engages when you turn on the A/C

if the elctric not constant, it will slip

l200

Postby l200 » March 9th, 2010, 7:15 pm

Thanks venum, will do.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 13th, 2010, 6:36 am

hey venum what about the lsd experiment alyuh was suppose to do ,any results and i came across some info i think its a good read.

Free Wheeling Hubs: Why Have Them?

By Mick Farmer. Filed under 4wd Driving Info in 2004.
Free Wheeling Hubs
What they do and don't do

Free wheeling hubs then; first let me dispel a few myths; one, they do not engage 4wd - this is done in the transfer case; two, they do not lock the front differential. What they do is engage and disengage the half shaft or drive shaft from the hub of the wheel. When the device is in the locked position the shaft is engaged and when in the free position it is disengaged.
Why have them?

Why would you want to do this and why do some vehicle manufacturers fit them as standard?

In theory, when you have the hubs in the free position and the vehicle in 2wd, it takes less force to move the vehicle over the ground. This is because the front wheels are only being pushed around and not the rest of the front half of the drive train. Also, in theory, you are supposed to get less tyre wear because you are decreasing the drag on the front wheels and decreased wear on the moving parts in the front drive train.

In practice then, through my experience, it doesn't really make a lot of difference. In fact, if you read through the manufacturer’s handbook they will tell you to engage it to the lock position and drive the vehicle around. This should be done every month to ensure adequate splash lubrication to the moving parts to ensure that they do not wear out prematurely!
Is it worth it?

There is a difference in fuel consumption but it is negligible especially with a diesel engine. On a trip, say from Kampala to Nairobi (650kms), you might save in the region of about 5-10 litres.

As to the wear and tear aspect, I've seen more damage caused by vehicles run in the free position than to the same model vehicle with the hubs permanently locked!

As a side note, I used to drive a series II Land Rover with a petrol engine called Katie. She had Fairey free wheeling hubs fitted by the previous owner. She was driven through some pretty bad environments and in the end I decided to put the locks on full time; I just got tired of getting out of the vehicle each time I wanted to put the vehicle into 4wd. Even with a gas guzzling petrol engine, if Katie was driven with care and respect, the fuel difference was negligible.
Lots of confusion

Some aid organisations order their vehicles with the hubs permanently locked to reduce the risk of damage by operator misunderstanding or “mechanicâ€

venum

Postby venum » March 13th, 2010, 6:41 pm

^ ^ ^ Good read

I find there is a difference when the free wheelers are locked and driving at high speed

I find ~ 120 km/h the van holds back when they locked

At lower speeds any difference is negligible

I notice a lot of K74 owners drive around with theirs locked all the time

On a side note, I got some new shocks today

KYB Gas all round,

Old shocks were DEAD

Next up stabilizer bar rubbers
Last edited by venum on March 13th, 2010, 6:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ryanm

Postby ryanm » March 13th, 2010, 6:44 pm

that's about right.
The only difference is that on the l200 it's somewhat noticable when you drive on the hiway with the hubs locked. You notice it on hard accelerations and fuel economy in stop and start driving.
I prefer to leave mine off until needed. I even installed them in my k34.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 13th, 2010, 10:21 pm

cool what about the experiment with the lsd on the k74 ,or that experiment scrap

venum

Postby venum » March 14th, 2010, 12:15 am

trinibajan34, experiment hasn't been scrapped

I just waiting for the others

ryanm, lewwe do this thing nah, Crix like he out

Madman, u in :?:

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » March 14th, 2010, 7:17 am

i am a bit lost venum, you mean to drive with the hub locks on?

venum

Postby venum » March 14th, 2010, 1:24 pm

No

To test our LSD operation

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » March 14th, 2010, 5:26 pm

yeah i up for that just tell me when i got some new shoes just like fire man so i ready.

ryanm

Postby ryanm » March 16th, 2010, 8:41 pm

i ready too. just tell me when

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 18th, 2010, 8:34 pm

a little off topic here but does the pajero come with lsd ?

venum

Postby venum » March 18th, 2010, 10:58 pm

i not sure

i know they have a VCD

and with VCD, the drive power is transfered before a wheel slips

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 19th, 2010, 5:52 am

in english please what is VCD ?

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 19th, 2010, 12:26 pm

thanks

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » March 22nd, 2010, 12:05 pm

ryanm,venum, where and when we getting together to test our LSD?

venum

Postby venum » March 22nd, 2010, 3:31 pm

we was supposed to do that yesterday

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » March 23rd, 2010, 8:24 pm

and you told me nothing hmmmm!!! :shock: :shock:
you great boy! lol

venum

Postby venum » March 23rd, 2010, 10:30 pm

i kinda remember when I was in Rio Claro

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » March 24th, 2010, 8:19 am

you great boy!!!

venum

Postby venum » April 3rd, 2010, 12:37 pm

did some recon this morning on teh place to test our LSD

place has a lil bush, but that won't affect our testing

so we on, just to get teh date now

ryanm

Postby ryanm » April 3rd, 2010, 9:16 pm

i ready when you are. just call

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 3rd, 2010, 9:48 pm

V call in in on this one eh! BTW any luck with finding me a 3Diamond?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 6th, 2010, 11:46 am

yea man venum i out as i sellign the van :)

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... 76#4389976

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » April 6th, 2010, 1:01 pm

venum wrote:did some recon this morning on teh place to test our LSD

place has a lil bush, but that won't affect our testing

so we on, just to get teh date now

is this place south or central or north?
i think my Sunday free so far let me know what you all think?

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » April 6th, 2010, 2:50 pm

hey i have a question
do any 4D56T engine owners use Synthetic oils?
because i use Castrol CRB Turbo engine oil in my K74T but before that i once used Castrl Hypuron which is a Semi-Synthetic and my oil light used to be blinking.

has anyone else gotten this issue?
is anyone running semi-synthetic or synthetic? what brand if so?

venum

Postby venum » April 6th, 2010, 5:26 pm

I have a pardna with a Ranger with LSD to join us, maybe

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 7th, 2010, 9:29 am

venum get meh van sell nah :lol: :lol:

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”