L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
speedaholic

Re: L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Postby speedaholic » March 22nd, 2011, 1:45 pm

and was the engines performance noticable after doing so??

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 22nd, 2011, 2:19 pm

well dunno yet, the job only finish yesterday and the L200 still need to replace the clutch plate and release bearing.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 22nd, 2011, 7:39 pm

kool kool..

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » March 22nd, 2011, 8:06 pm

i hadda service injectors on my fu engine....

getting rough idle on mornings.. and some smoke...
the rough idle evens off after bout 10 mins and once the engine builds temp.

wots ur diagnosis on that?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 22nd, 2011, 10:23 pm

i get the rough idle on morning too.. but only for about 3-5 mins... if so much...

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » March 22nd, 2011, 11:33 pm

^^^someone was tellin me the rough idle is caused by dirty/bad tips that spitting fuel causing and uneven burn.. and i guess since the engine cold, will enhance the problem.

been tryin all kinda fuel injector cleaners to save me a trip to sookhais and dem ppl...

last time i serviced pump on my old engine it came up to $2300. A shaft was worn and had to be rebuilt.

my last set of injectors service cost me $400...needed tips. by TC. Recommended by Ru$$el on the forums.

are the turbo and non turbo injectors different? or its the same and the difference is just in the fuel pump pressure/pulsing ?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 23rd, 2011, 11:01 am

same injectors for turbo and nun turbo!!! i used the amsoil diesel concentrate and it worked for me... noticed better response in the engine... but was still gettin that slight rough idle on mornings.. i not takin it out so much nah

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » April 4th, 2011, 7:30 pm

ok..

hey.. you guys know about any problems of headstuds breaking on 4d56 engines when tryin to remove the head?

I was told it is a common problem.. I want to change the headgasket and inspect the head and block, but want to kno about any problems i may encounter.

Thanks

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 4th, 2011, 10:24 pm

hmmm never heard anything like that.. jus take ur time when removing! and get the correct torque specs for the head when tightening back... i supposed to have a service manual for the 4d56 somwhere i'll let u kno if it has the correct torque specifications

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 13th, 2011, 2:33 pm

i have the workshop manual for the k64 L200 and the service manuals for the 4d56 engine.. if anyone is interested....

drunk24-7

Postby drunk24-7 » April 13th, 2011, 10:09 pm

After the first engine change due to overheating (Cracked head), I installed an aftermarket water temp gauge( complete with separate sensor) on my 4D56, just as a backup in case the original sensor decided to fail again. Recently, under VERY HEAVY LOAD, the temperature gauge starting rising to temperatures never seen in this past year!!!. Upon inspection, it was revealed that the clutch fan was leaking....(just a trickle...). Fast forward to this week, fan is changed out to a foreign used unit, but the temperature is still moving erratic, so this now prompts the question... WHAT IS THE AVERAGE WORKING TEMPERATURE OF A 4D56???

Secondly, did i damage something that the temperature keeps so high??

NOTE=> all experiences with leaking clutch fans (seal behind the shaft) seem to point to overfilling the unit. So far, filling both the half with the shaft and the cover have led to leaking rear seals, whilst compared to filling only the half with the shaft has led to a softer, BUT NOT LEAKING clutch fan unit!!!

Any input would be greatly appreciated....

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 13th, 2011, 11:32 pm

sorry to hear about your problem bro... well 1st of alll! tell us which model L200 you have... i have the k14 double cab model and my temp guage needle is ussually at the lowest mark and when driving hard it goes up to about quarter or soo! you say you installed a aftermarket temp guage... is it a gas or diesel spec'd one.. remember the operating temp of diesel engines are my higher than gas engines.. so if your aftermarket temp guage is a for gas engines the readings may be off.. and easy way to test your clutch fan is to spin the fan blade while the engine is off.. shud be a little stiff.. did you check for and damages in your radiator? a damaged radiator can restrict airflow and thus decrease cooling... there are many things... hope this help...

ryanm

Postby ryanm » April 14th, 2011, 8:57 am

i have a k74 4d56 turbo. The temp is usually 1/4 and when i run it hard it goes up to half and stays there. But once i slow down the temp drops to 1/4.
Same thing used to happen with the k34T i had previously.

drunk24-7

Postby drunk24-7 » April 15th, 2011, 12:17 pm

As for my van, i have a K14 single cab, aka " THE FARMALL". The temperature gauge i bought came with its own sensor and "calibrated" gauge, so regardless of diesel or gas engine, it gives the temperature the sensor is picking up.

Comparing my 4d56 temp under normal operating conditions... the cailbrated gauge shows a temp of just under 150 deg F, and comparing to L200 4d56, his engine seemed to be operating at about 145 deg F, (we actually used a thermometer!!!) under AC and no load. SO FAR SO GOOD....

Again, the clutch fan is good, mildly stiff with no leaks, but i have been told that my radiator needs the shroud around the fan. 280C radiator shrouds have a fan opening some-what close to the 4D56 fan size, so with a bit of creative doctoring and with a few tie straps, i'm hoping to install the shroud on my radiator...

Whats more interesting, with a stiff fan, in traffic, temperature starts to rise, but with this softer fan, the engine temperature remained constant whilst on standstill traffic on the highway!!!

The massive AC condenser installed in the front of the radiator is going to be replaced by one of an E24 maxi ( about 18 X 12), complete with fan. The new condenser is half the size of the older one and will allow more air to pass through the radiator, hopefully getting rid of all my cooling problems.

Any more input guys??

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 15th, 2011, 3:30 pm

install the shroud it willlll help!!!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 15th, 2011, 3:36 pm

radiator shroud i made!

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » April 26th, 2011, 1:14 pm

hear nah men with dey k74t l200 ,does it have lsd or not .i know venum and somebody else was suppose to check on that. i would like to know if it does please.

venum

Postby venum » April 26th, 2011, 6:54 pm

drunk24-7 wrote:Any more input guys??

Just this:

Jerry yuh is a madman

The K74 turbo has LSD, the n/a doesn't

Shal_trading_co_ltd

Postby Shal_trading_co_ltd » April 26th, 2011, 7:05 pm

this is my dad's l200 he has it five yrs now and he is in to quarry works!!!!!
all i could say about the l200 is just that it is a very very efficient van !!! it gets the job done!!!!!!
ooo and it works like a charm !!!!
IMG-20110403-00189.jpg
IMG-20110403-00189.jpg (104.28 KiB) Viewed 4291 times
IMG-20110409-00208.jpg
IMG-20110409-00208.jpg (80.78 KiB) Viewed 4291 times
IMG-20110409-00210.jpg
IMG-20110409-00210.jpg (86.92 KiB) Viewed 4291 times
IMG-20110403-00207.jpg
front view !
IMG-20110403-00207.jpg (66.55 KiB) Viewed 4291 times
IMG_0472.JPG
side view
IMG_0472.JPG (88.83 KiB) Viewed 4291 times

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 26th, 2011, 8:07 pm

^^ nice k74 meng. Loogs good in "dust-brown" :D.

Time for some new tyres though.

Shal_trading_co_ltd

Postby Shal_trading_co_ltd » April 26th, 2011, 8:40 pm

we just changed !!! to light truck tires

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » April 26th, 2011, 10:53 pm

venum wrote:
drunk24-7 wrote:Any more input guys??

Just this:

Jerry yuh is a madman

The K74 turbo has LSD, the n/a doesn't

thanks venum for that answer. oh ah next question can outside hooks be installed on a van that doesnt have any like de k74t, cause them 4 hooking points doh really make sense in my opinion.

venum

Postby venum » April 27th, 2011, 12:12 am

K74 turbo actually has 6 hooks on teh inside of the tray, the non-turbo has 4

Sportero turbo has only 4 (smaller tray)

yes the hoos can be installed outside, but you have to know where to bolt them to teh tray cuz yuh dont want them on a weak spot and when yuh tension a rope it pull out teh hook

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » April 27th, 2011, 8:19 am

venum wrote:K74 turbo actually has 6 hooks on teh inside of the tray, the non-turbo has 4

Sportero turbo has only 4 (smaller tray)

yes the hoos can be installed outside, but you have to know where to bolt them to teh tray cuz yuh dont want them on a weak spot and when yuh tension a rope it pull out teh hook

sweet

droppa

Postby droppa » April 27th, 2011, 9:01 am

my uncle recently installed some bars and hooks on the outside of hus L2, he got them from an old mazda B16 and shortened them to suit, used some bolt and nuts with washers and it looking like normal, jus he paint it red oxide, with proper paint yuh wont even know the diff, ant it wukking, it takin strain real good too.......

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » April 27th, 2011, 12:29 pm

droppa wrote:my uncle recently installed some bars and hooks on the outside of hus L2, he got them from an old mazda B16 and shortened them to suit, used some bolt and nuts with washers and it looking like normal, jus he paint it red oxide, with proper paint yuh wont even know the diff, ant it wukking, it takin strain real good too.......

i like that idea. hey venum what size is the tank on k74t i read somewhere its 75L

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 28th, 2011, 1:29 am

75L is correct...

venum

Postby venum » April 28th, 2011, 10:18 pm

both the K7X and KBX mods are 75L (16gal)

drunk24-7

Postby drunk24-7 » April 29th, 2011, 12:06 am

We installed the 280C (L28) shroud on the van, and with a new NPW clutch fan, temperature seems to be fairly consistent. As for using the smaller condenser for the AC from the E24 van, i've also decided to scrap that idea and use AC only when it is raining.

Another problem, at about 120-130 the van seems to run out of breath. So far, probable causes i've identified are improper gearing due to gearbox( every K14 I've seen are NA), as well as improper final drive ratios in the rear differential. My concern is that my van experiences approximately 2 tons of load on a good day (we won't even explore the bad!!). Will changing anything in that drive-train negatively impact the vehicle and are their any gains to be made by switching the rear diff to the K74 as well as switching the gear clusters from a k74 box to a K14. I've had some experience doing the "gearbox ratchify" with trucks as well as changing diff internals in cars...IS IT WORTH THE HEADACHE!!!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 29th, 2011, 9:20 am

i have that same problem with my K14... but why do you want to go faster than 130? mine tops out @ 145 or soo.. but i rarely cross 120... i fine its gud enuff for me...

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”