L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
cutthroatInt

Re: L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Postby cutthroatInt » July 8th, 2012, 9:15 am

the one on my van is one i had gotten from diamond motors during one of their sales.

direct bolt up, just the speedo parts is changed. the fuel gauge and engine temp gauge remains.

my speedo is now in MPH tho. but works.

So try diamond motors first to see if they still got.... i had payed bout $50 for this at the time during the sale.

Check nick in warnervillage to see if he has any also.

BTW, my AC compressor making some "bearing failing noise" aint gone to an AC tech yet, but do you guys know if these AC compressors are repairable?

If not, any one know who has a good foreign used AC compressor for sale?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » July 8th, 2012, 7:56 pm

nick want $400 for one! i'll call diamond tmr and see! thanks

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » July 27th, 2012, 8:14 pm

Help with gear 1 and 2 not going in easily when driving for some time.

On cold start, all gears will work fine.

Once temps start going up. gear 1 and 2 will be therapy to put in.

Anyone experienced this in k14 or other L200 with same gearbox?

venum

Postby venum » July 28th, 2012, 9:41 am

I had the opposite experience when the gearbox was cold

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » July 28th, 2012, 10:14 am

what u did to rectify the problem??

l200

Postby l200 » July 29th, 2012, 11:42 pm

Hey peeps, wats up? hope all is well....

cutthroatInt, jus like venum i had the opposite problem, and it was jus the wrong type of oil......with the amsoil, 1st an 2nd hard to go in when cold, but as the temperature got hotter it got easier, went back to castrol hypoid and no more probs..... so check ur oil levels make sure it tops.....

As for de noise in de AC compressor.... mines was making a sound like if a bearing was failing and it turned out to be that it jus needed oiling...... so had it gassed up and oiled since then no probs

Was looking for various parts online and the dodge mighty max or the max 50 is a good match to our vans and has a wide range of parts available..... so if you are having probs finding new parts check it out.......

l200

Postby l200 » July 29th, 2012, 11:46 pm

As for me, I have ah still trying to locate some polyurethane bushings....... ah need to change out all of mines,

also my gear box making sum noise, so its going to scrap down and change out all de bearings and seals soon....smh...... de ole van needs some TLc, ah will let you guys know how that goes....
Last edited by l200 on July 29th, 2012, 11:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » July 29th, 2012, 11:51 pm

^what oil to use then?

I had NP at first.
A man recommend Castrol some mixed grade. cant rem rite now... But it seemed too thin IMO
now it have bellray 90

wot oil to use then? van does get real miles on it.. so can be considered "heavy worker"

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » July 30th, 2012, 12:00 am

The AC compressor noise stops when the AC clutch is activated (Ac trips on)..

when it cuts off, the "bearing noise" will come back.

SMDH!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » July 30th, 2012, 12:08 am

i have mobile 1 75w 90 in my gear box.... and i gettin d same prob that sayyid gettin...

and that sounds like it cud be your compressor Pulley hoss... get that checked..

l200

Postby l200 » July 30th, 2012, 12:15 am

The castrol hypoid worked for me, i think it was 80w 90......not too sure i'll confirm in de morning....

its between $51-$67 a qt in most places, saw it for $36 somewhere but that was a while back, so look around ...... but get a second opinion b4 u change out ur oil.....

One more thing is de box making any noises......,

you could also check your clutch pedal height, is it grating when putting it in 1st or reverse???

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » July 30th, 2012, 12:17 am

my reverse gear grates in alot... not always.. but alot... 1st and 2nd just hard to put it mostly 1st....

l200

Postby l200 » July 30th, 2012, 9:11 pm

Speedy, the reversing gear in our vans will grate wit the slightest roll.... once de van moving even if it crawling it will still grate....

If both 1st and reverse was grating de pedal will have to be raised

also for the 1st and 2nd gear being hard, that is most likely de oil,...I had that same prob, but once I went back to the manufacturer's spec oil, I had no prob>>> (DM uses castrol hypoid)

same thing was happening to a friends toyota an when they switched to the castrol hypoid, they had no probs again....

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » August 1st, 2012, 8:46 pm

welll when i get a chance ill change out the oil and see if that stops... i goin to raise the clutch a little tmr also... will report soon..

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » August 1st, 2012, 11:46 pm

the slave cyl doesnt have any adjustment.

only adjustment is on the clutch master cyl rod.

will make some adjustments and see if that works as well.

I hd cut and grinded down a bolt to fashion it into a longer rod for the slave cylinder. but it didnt do make a difference.

is it possible for pressure in the clutch master/slave cylinder to be leaking/recirculating somewhere?

I checked for leaks but non. I have new rubbers in slave and master cyl. so not sure if there is some form of recirculation in the master.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » October 2nd, 2012, 12:37 am

Like this ched dead!

looking for a k14 clutch slave cylinder new.
where can I check?

Thanks

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » October 2nd, 2012, 1:16 am

Wat happen 2 yours??? I does buy the slave cyl rubber with piston and spring by roach in tunapuna.... Works 4 me...

l200

Postby l200 » October 2nd, 2012, 8:02 am

you could also check Fiaz in vistabella and kawal singh in montrose they normally stock those parts.....I got my clutch master cylinder by fiaz about 2 years ago

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » October 4th, 2012, 12:14 am

Still tryin to sort out why gear 1 3 and R giving trouble to go in after a while of driving.
Suspecting that clutch slave cyl not holding pressure.

New rubbers in master and slave and still same prob.
clutch feel is very shitty.. very low

Hoping its nothing with pressure plate.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » October 4th, 2012, 1:21 am

Sayyid.. U switch back your gearbox oil 2 the castrol hypoid??

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » October 4th, 2012, 5:10 pm

No.

Guessing the belray 90 too thick?
It was recommended for a box that had some good years of use.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » October 4th, 2012, 7:14 pm

well before you try all dis contraption with slave cylinder and ting change d oil back to the castrol hypoid nah.. cuz IIRC i 1st started gettin this problem when i 1st changed my gearbox oil also... and i havent switched it back as yet. only becuz i have gotten accustomed to the lil push for 1st and 2nd.... but i will change soon... i have mobile in my gearbox right now and i pay nuff moni for it so it hadda wok for now! till i switch back to the hypoid..

venum

Postby venum » October 5th, 2012, 12:32 am

^^^ u put the wrong oil in the box and forcing it to wuk cuz u spend $$$ on the wrong oil . . . smh

synth aint for that box

i had belray in my diff and when i realize that it is crap i changed it out

the 90W was more like a gel than an oil

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » October 5th, 2012, 1:30 am

:\... well i was planning on changing it inna couple of weeks when i do engine oil...

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » October 5th, 2012, 10:35 pm

i had hypoid in the gbox when the problems started with shifting. I thought it was too thin and not lubing enough.

so wot can be the new diagnosis now? damaged syncros? pressure plate?

will be changing clutch fluid to valvoline full synthetic and hoping for a difference also.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » October 5th, 2012, 10:39 pm

^ im kinda asking for advice on the matter so that i will have a heads up when i start work on the van.

its parked up mostly these days as i got another mode of transport till i get time to work on the k14.

Ray Laks

Postby Ray Laks » November 16th, 2012, 9:37 pm

Folks, just bought a TBW K74. However, have to change the idler arm, pitman arm and inner booth rubbers. Called DM and got some diamond prices. Anyone could direct me where I may be able to source these parts? I live in Tacarigua.

l200

Postby l200 » November 16th, 2012, 10:16 pm

Hey Ray Laks, congrats on your purchase...... Special auto 638 1079..... They are not my first choice as i'm in central/south most of the time, but they have most parts from mechanical to body..... I think its in the San Juan area, other than that, pm speedaholic.... he can direct you further.

cutthroatInt, any news on ur gear box problem??? I hope you got through.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » November 16th, 2012, 11:20 pm

Ray don't go special auto.. I found them 2 sell inferior products.... You can get parts at A1 auto supplies... Roach's.. Make sure your parts are trusted brands.... Do some research about the brands of parts u buying...

Ray Laks

Postby Ray Laks » November 17th, 2012, 10:52 am

OK Fellas, thanks for the quick response and advice. Will certainly do some research before I make the purchase.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”