L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
l200

Re: L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Postby l200 » January 13th, 2011, 7:46 pm

^^^ not sure if repairs can be done, I don't kno much abt the load sensor ..... check DM, that might be your best bet........might be easier to get a used one off a crashed van......I'll keep my eyes open..

cutthroatInt, if you come across any k74 parts let me kno, ah looking for de front an back diffs to do a conversion on my van........(lsd)

If you want, I kno a guy wit a crashed k74 basic (non lsd), you could probably check him to get the guts...and speedaholic could prob get the load sensor!!!!.......Ah going to get the number post it up tomorrow........

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 13th, 2011, 9:24 pm

okay koolz! thanks bro!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 13th, 2011, 9:43 pm

oh yea cutthroat that speedo cable really was a beyatch to change eh!

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 14th, 2011, 12:52 pm

hey check sherons in chaguanas he has a crashed k74T for sale .

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 14th, 2011, 1:21 pm

yea like he goh sell me a load sensor alone! he goh be like nah boy ah sellin d van jes soo! sherron is a smart man!

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 14th, 2011, 1:27 pm

true cause i approached him about the engine and he said that he aint parting out de van.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 14th, 2011, 1:50 pm

yeaa i kno sherron long timee..! he nuh easy at all! L200 i waitin fro that number bhai... gone check around bamboo now tho!

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » January 14th, 2011, 4:42 pm

what bout the fella from penal that someone here said had foreign used k14 for scrap.???
anybody checked him yet?

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » January 14th, 2011, 4:43 pm

L200/// text me the number when u get it plz. 761-2627

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 14th, 2011, 5:39 pm

i called the fella in penall.. everyting in d van done scrap an gone he just have body parts now... diff gonee too! sigh... yes i want that number too! will be goin in bambo tmr in search!

l200

Postby l200 » January 14th, 2011, 10:20 pm

Sorry for taking so long, was tied up whole day, now come in......so here it is ........
Rickey - 684-4113
I didn't get a chance to confirm, if he has the van still and I wouldn't be available to do it till monday evening, so hope you guys get through.........

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 15th, 2011, 10:24 am

okay just called the guy... the load sensor is gone! :( but he still has the diff! cutthroat! call d man!

venum

Postby venum » January 15th, 2011, 3:19 pm

i like what i seeing here

best way to determine if the banjo will work up from teh K74 is to get a K74 and compare them and take some measurements

sorry I can offer a K74 and an inspection vehicle

stay away from Belray ppl - that sheite is not worthy of being called oil

gel maybe

i changed that out from Elle after seeing how it strands out like a gel

it only stayed bout 3 months

crappy stuff

redline, mobil 1 or amsoil

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 15th, 2011, 6:28 pm

hmmm no wonder it so cheeep! was gettin it for $30 a quart... SAE 90...well i think i'll go synthetic and buy the amsoill! i managed to slow down the leak on my brakes but it still leaking.. very slowly.. i needed to use the van today... so i try a ting.. i shove some silicone in d ruber cap.. it holdin for the while... i still hada get that cap tho!

ryanm

Postby ryanm » January 16th, 2011, 8:19 am

speedaholic - it's not the dust cap that leaking. It's the seal inside. It resembles the one in the master cylinder but it really small like a 1cent.

BTW- i use the belray red gear oil. never had any problems. used it in the k34 (diffs ,gearbox and TC)and i put > 150000km on it. I just changed it according to the manual. i think it's 80k.
Only problem is if water mixes with it then it turns to 'mud'. I saw this happen with some jimneys.

venum

Postby venum » January 16th, 2011, 9:44 am

^ ^ ^ interesting

I call it gel because once when I was changing it from the front diff (after driving thru some deep water) when the drain plug was removed some dripped out and headed for the floor. It made a long strand from the drain hole towards the floor and slowly the strand stretched out until it was ~ 1 ft long

I even poked my finger inside the drain hole and removed it - a long red strand was attached to my finger as well

BelRay makes good grease - their silicon valve grease is excellent for caliper sliding pins,

but I personally would not use their oils after my experience

Everyone's experience is different I guess

ryanm

Postby ryanm » January 16th, 2011, 10:47 am

agreed .
But the strand effect suggests that it has excellent adhesive properties that will cause it to stick to the teeth and other moving parts.
I too had the same experience but the oil was new and i was now filling up the diff.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 16th, 2011, 12:39 pm

so any suggestions???

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 1st, 2011, 7:31 pm

okay fellas PS box start back leaking... thinking about changin the box now! who kno who have 1?? the k34 and k64 and k74 all use the same box... so anybody... :) thanks..

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » February 11th, 2011, 10:33 pm

any body know where i can get the main spring leaf bushings, the one to the front of the bundle that bolts to the chassis???? DM dont sell the bushings alone... and i checked a few places already and non have... mines are shot on both sides..

I called ricky.. home boy want 6k for the k74 diff... 4k for guts alone..

btw, wats the goin price on a 4d56 (k14) 2wd gearbox? and anyone kno someone wit one in good condition ut down?

venum

Postby venum » February 11th, 2011, 11:16 pm

union auto in marabella has the bushings

I bought there when I was changing on Elle

u talking about teh one in front the diff right, not the hanger\shackle bushings behind the diff

was ~TT$60.00 each

and u only need 2

you have to remove the entire lift spring to change that bushing

cuz if you think u just gonna drop the chassis side end of teh lift spring and pop in the new one, u have another thought coming at you hard

good opportuinty in inspect the lifts and clean them out and place some teflon between the lifts if they noisy

ecruz

Postby ecruz » February 26th, 2011, 12:07 am

hello to all of you, im a new member and a pround owner of a 1996 model L200 (manila philippines). i dont know if somebody already experience same problem as mine.

i noticed that my dip stick is spilling out oil on idle (air cleaner installed). so i decide to have it overhaul. i replace the piston ring, sleeve of the piston and the piston it self. after replacing all of it when i checked it again i notice that it still spill out oil from the deep stick (no air cleaner installed). but when we install the air cleaner the pressure has been minimized. oil from the dip stick is now much lesser.

can anybody advice me how to solve the oil spilling out of my dip stick?

if anybody can pm me a advice via yahoo messenger pls do. im desperate to fix this issue.

yahoo messenger : ei8htwo

many tnx in advance

if u can pls do contact me via my yahoo messegner

ecruz

Postby ecruz » February 26th, 2011, 12:14 am

hello to all of you, im a new member and a pround owner of a 1996 model L200 (manila philippines). i dont know if somebody already experience same problem as mine.

i noticed that my dip stick is spilling out oil on idle (air cleaner installed). so i decide to have it overhaul. i replace the piston ring, sleeve of the piston and the piston it self. after replacing all of it when i checked it again i notice that it still spill out oil from the deep stick (no air cleaner installed). but when we install the air cleaner the pressure has been minimized. oil from the dip stick is now much lesser.

can anybody advice me how to solve the oil spilling out of my dip stick?

if anybody can pm me a advice via yahoo messenger pls do. im desperate to fix this issue.

yahoo messenger : ei8htwo

many tnx in advance

if u can pls do contact me via my yahoo messenger (ei8htwo@yahoo.com)

here are some pics of my ride

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 26th, 2011, 5:13 am

^ hey is that cebu city?

Nice ride :)

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 26th, 2011, 7:06 am

eyyy dais one a mee own.... :D :D! lol never got that prob what you are getting tho... hope u get it sorted out...

venum

Postby venum » February 26th, 2011, 9:44 am

ecruz wrote:
here are some pics of my ride

^ ^ ^ speedy must have gotten a hard one watching that

If oil is coming out of the dip stick, then it seems that oil pressure is too high or oil level is too high in sump

Did u or previous owner ever change the oil pump at any time

How much oil do u add when changing oil

I am also thinking that there may have been air in the oil lines, but u changed piston sleeves, so this should have sorted it out

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 26th, 2011, 1:09 pm

i wudnt mind mounting my license plate like how he did.. it looks kool... IMO.. the van too low... but i guess thats the look he was going for..... but i look gud tho... dsi... just now i will be doin some body work and a flash over... maybe rims and tyres... hopefully by years end. :)

ecruz... how about some pics of the interior as well?

ecruz

Postby ecruz » February 26th, 2011, 7:26 pm

@lighthammer im not from cebu, this place where i took the picture is in makati city but i reside in quezon city. :D
@speedaholic i hope to solve it. :( so sad sing my baby getting some issue like that.
@venum i have no idea if the prev. owner change the oil pump. oil level is in between the two marks. i was wondering also why does the oil spil lessen when we install the air cleaner. or maybe i got a bad mechanic?
@speedaholic here are some interior pics

anyone from manila?

update

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 26th, 2011, 8:04 pm

^^ oh myy! i like what you did to the intsrument panel... its nice... how did u do that??? interior looks gud... are there parts readily available for this pick up in your country?? mine doesnt have the center console... i want one really bad tho..
most of our users here are from in trinidad...

ecruz

Postby ecruz » February 26th, 2011, 9:43 pm

@speedaholic i don't know that place (sorry). here in manila we can get some parts but you'll have to dig dipper. my pick up is 1996 model so few autoshop sell parts but accessory is very hard to find. like in my case i need the ashtray and need to replace few air dock.

in regards to my instrument panel it is a DIY (do it ur self). actually most of my modification is a DIY. what i did was scan the panel then cut a sticker (red black) using computer cutting machine. put a white base on the orig panel then put the cut black and red stickers on it.

BTY if u want i can look over for some parts you need. but ull have to shoulder the shipping:D

its my hobby to modify cars :D i love to modify cars. you can view some of my previous ride on my facebook. :D

here is another DIY of mine:

any other opinion regarding my problem?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”