L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 10th, 2010, 11:00 am

^^how much u sellin yuh van for?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 12th, 2010, 9:02 am

95k neg

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 12th, 2010, 12:11 pm

picS?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 12th, 2010, 1:36 pm

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=305089

flash have the first shot looking real white thou

l200

Postby l200 » April 13th, 2010, 5:38 pm

Hi 2ners, wats up. I kno some of you guys know abt DIY projects, so I was wondering if a DIY garage lime could be organised, preferably l200, old an new. Post up your thoughts, suggestion,........

MadCrix, good luck wit the sale, lovin the k74, looking great..... sorry i don't have the cash to upgrade :( :(

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 13th, 2010, 7:06 pm

l200, DIY garage lime sounds like a plan... what stuff u gotta do to ur van? i hadda put on some mud guards.. gonna buy the rubber sheeting somtime next week....

l200

Postby l200 » April 15th, 2010, 5:24 pm

speedaholic, well for now, I just have to do the oils, diffs, gear box etc, the only thing, I'm very tight on time, ok, ok,,,,I'll confess i'm a workaholic.... or else i would have done that already, but planning on taking some time off soon, so ah want to do some work.

Thinking abt shocks, idle arm an mastercylinder (brake) seals,..... hmmm is plenty things i have to do, jus time is a issue, but i done with going by the mech for simple stuff, jus me an de service manual, an some trusted friends, wit l200, we share all our knowledge and assist each other with repairs etc., jus like on 2ner,

Not online as much, but will be on sunday,

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 15th, 2010, 7:54 pm

wow thats alot of stuff.! hmmmm.. i never change my diff oil since i have my van.. may be i shud do tht.. lol! i dont have the dunds to do any major work right now. so just the small stuff for now.. keep me posted..

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » April 16th, 2010, 10:32 am

hey yeah link with me i doh have anything much to do with my van but i could be an extra pair of hands to help.

unless you guys up for washing the van i would use your help there LOL :D

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 16th, 2010, 6:31 pm

well u hadda get it dirty first!^^ :P

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » April 17th, 2010, 10:51 am

i could do that on my own but i would love company *i have a tow chain for you to follow me when 4wd is needed!! LOL

:twisted:

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 17th, 2010, 8:03 pm

haha! u goh be my extra 2 wheels? :P ahaha

l200

Postby l200 » April 18th, 2010, 8:04 pm

Glad to see you guys on board, well I'm not too sure abt location, seeing that you guys are from up north, I don't know if couva would be too out of de way for you all.

I was looking to do it close to home, and the idea behind it is, that I am doing this for the first time by myself, and a little company wouldn't hurt, and it would be a learning experience for us all. At first I was thinking of doing it and posting the pics, but then I thought it will be better for first hand experience for all interested.

Currently I am buying the tools/parts needed, and was thinking to do it in abt 2 months time, reason being is that if any one has anything special to do on their van, they wold have enough time to get everything together, and be prepared for the day.

Well let me kno what you guys think, and if you guys have any suggestions let me know..... :fadein: :fadein:

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » April 18th, 2010, 8:44 pm

like i said i willing and could organise with you all the best day to hang out. LOL

fahim tell me what you think cause i will meet with you if you going down Couva.

l200

Postby l200 » April 18th, 2010, 9:12 pm

Cool, i keep you guys updated

venum

Postby venum » April 19th, 2010, 12:36 am

I did teh Diff oil change on mine already

piece of cake

I don't mind coming to help

have to change gear and TC oil soon

shocks on my K74 were easy to change - I did it by the garage already, but saw what they did

i woildn't mess with teh steering components like the idler though

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 19th, 2010, 1:32 am

madman2961, yea my gyul from couva.. so yea.. i doh mind makin a couva run.. lol! V... steering components in the 4x2 are pretty simple.. not sure how it is in the 4x4... i hadda change diff an gearbox oill.. any recomendations?

l200

Postby l200 » April 19th, 2010, 9:32 pm

speedaholic, Alot of people telling me that the bel-ray is good, but ah still looking around. most likely it between castrol, shell and bel-ray with me

Hopefully, tomorrow I'll run away from work and try to get some prices, and brands.

venum, how much for your shocks?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 19th, 2010, 9:33 pm

i heard about the redline 75W90... but that shiet expensiveee.......

venum

Postby venum » April 19th, 2010, 9:36 pm

Belray is sheit

I had that and changed it

using Redline

Shell is great stuff

Castrol not too bad

my Shocks were < $1000 for teh 4

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 19th, 2010, 9:39 pm

how much quarts of red line ur diff take?

l200

Postby l200 » April 19th, 2010, 9:52 pm

V where did you get you shocks, i looking around and only getting some for $150 each by Fiaz, $250-$275 in couva, I will like to get some good shocks without going to DM, ah fraid to buy them cheap ones,

any recommendations (brands that are good and what to stay away from)

How much for the redline 75w 90???

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 19th, 2010, 9:56 pm

tokico or kyb are gud shocks to my knowing.. and i think the red line is like 120 a quart or somthing.. V correct me if i'm wrong

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » April 20th, 2010, 6:16 am

i am using KYB all around and i think the original is Tokico. so those look out for either of them cause they are good.

venum

Postby venum » April 20th, 2010, 11:54 am

original is tokico

i got KYB gas at Faiz

redline is $60 per quart in car boutique, st. james

rear diff take bout 3 quart (can't remember exactly) will check when i get home

front is 1 quart

l200

Postby l200 » April 20th, 2010, 2:56 pm

Well did some checking around and the parts are pretty reasonable.

Shocks are KYB- $150 each (front and back)
Idle arm $275-300
Diff oils (castrol) $30-$45 a quart... Need abt 8
Engine oil (castrol) $140
Filters $140 (oil, fuel, air)

So far cost looking like $1640

For the diy lime I'll only be doing the diff oils and shocks. I have two dumb jacks or safety jacks( what ever they are call), two 1 tonne hydraulic jacks, and spanners from 8mm-24mm.

Depending on what you guys want to do, I guess you can walk wit tools just in case.

The only thing I don't have, is the pump to refill the diff oils, so if i can't locate any, I will use a funnel an a long hose

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 20th, 2010, 3:43 pm

a ratchet and socket set wud be gud....

l200

Postby l200 » April 20th, 2010, 4:27 pm

speedaholic wrote:a ratchet and socket set wud be gud....

Sorry,,, got that too 10mm- 19mm

Ah going to get 20mm-26mm weekend

Another thing, I might be able to get some under-coat paint (chassis black), for those of you who would like to get a little rust protection b 4 de rainy season. It comes in both aerosol or to be applied by spray gun.... let me know if you all interested, will post price tomorrow

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 20th, 2010, 4:36 pm

yeaa that sounds like a gud idea...

l200

Postby l200 » April 21st, 2010, 2:42 pm

Well the under body paint is abt $80-$90 (aerosol) and $90-$150 for th one you spray on wit a spray gun.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”