L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
cutthroatInt

Re: L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Postby cutthroatInt » November 17th, 2012, 3:54 pm

l200 wrote:Hey Ray Laks, congrats on your purchase...... Special auto 638 1079..... They are not my first choice as i'm in central/south most of the time, but they have most parts from mechanical to body..... I think its in the San Juan area, other than that, pm speedaholic.... he can direct you further.

cutthroatInt, any news on ur gear box problem??? I hope you got through.

Dexter,

When I pulled down the gearbox to me pp looked good, clutch disc was like new, fork, release bearing was all in good condition.

Carried the box and clutch to different mechs for their opinion, they all said the clutch looks good and i need to open box.

carried the box to a mech close by with the inspection cover open. he said #1 syncros bad.

got a recommendation to carry the box by Joe Nanan of debe as he is specialized in gbox repairs.

He opened the box to bits and pieces. he called me to tell me the very good news... absolutely nothing is wrong wit the gearbox. only "back nut was a little slack but not loose".
he mounted same with everything original and adjusted shifter.

now we were baffled by wot caused the shifting problem.

i brought the old clutch and pp for him he showed me a slight burn mark on pp.

it could have been caused from a manufacture's defect or pulling too much load.

so this was the beginning of my headaches.

$2000 to re"mount" the gearbox.

btw i recommend joe to do any gbox repairs anytime.

i bought new NKK pp and turbo clutch disc together with rear engine seal and 3 qrts castrol hypoy 75w 80 gear oil = $1300 [Maruds - Marabella]

the other parts were like new. As i mentioned before, everything was changed a few months ago with no 'roughing' up since being installed.

When I got ready to install the box i noticed some cracks on flywheel.

Cost $460 to reface at Central Precision.
This was not really necessary but I decided to do it since I still wasnt sure wot was causing my gbox probs and the box was already down.

In addition to this cost tally:

New clutch slave cyl complete : $260 Maruds
Flushed new clutch fluid : Valvoline full synthetic brake fluid dot 4 $80

Mounted up gbox and said lots of prayers.. and now its been 2 weeks problem free shifting.
Shifts even better than wen I first got the van.

Synopsis:

Pressure plate was bad
Oil was not the prob
Clutch cyl was not prob
Clutch fluid being affected by turbo heat was not the prob
Clutch disc was not the prob

I have a clutch disc for 4d56 in good condition for sale now.

4d56 non turbo OEM K14 engine being rebuild presently for sale. PM for details.

venum

Postby venum » November 18th, 2012, 11:26 am

Glad you got through with your issues

send the gearbox mech number so i cud add it in the L200 thread

cutthroatInt wrote:i bought new NKK pp and turbo clutch disc together

I went through several of these when I had the K74

I find they burn too easily

albeit that I used to do some clutch poping at times but even when i treated them gingerly i find they used to last not very long

but if they work for you, go strong

the K74 has a heat sheild to prevent turbo heat from affecting the brake and clutch fluids

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » November 19th, 2012, 6:16 am

I had excedy pp and nkk disc before. Seems like d pp was inferior. Cos its known to be really good.
nkk is supposedly a trusted brand for janums.

I made a heat shield for the k14 using a b12 exhaust shield lol.

Joe nanan 7865494

l200

Postby l200 » November 20th, 2012, 3:00 pm

glad you got through cutthroatInt......

drunk24-7

Postby drunk24-7 » November 22nd, 2012, 9:49 pm

cutthroat, so far all sounds good. Just need to let us know the prayers used... :D .

From my experience, NKK works great. I've had years of service from my setup, and thats under a lot of abuse. (pulling vehicles, feed, etc ). But that aside, i don't think that the turbo can affect the brake and clutch cylinders much, (remember this is a diesel van guys, no excessive revving etc.) Turbo is just to build the revs a bit faster, rather than driving at just under redline for a while...imho.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » November 25th, 2012, 9:01 am

Freed up my sticking X cable last nite.... van drives like a charm now.

next up to skim rotors.... got some grooves to get rid off, consider changing caliper flex hoses, and install wagner brake pads.

who can u guys recommend to go a good job of skimming the rotors without digging out my eye?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » November 25th, 2012, 9:50 am

U can check kawal singh's machine shop on gaston st.. In chaguanas... Last time the guy quoted me about $150 per rotor I believe.... Glad u got tru with the van tho... U spend a nice piece of change on it dred... I hope I don't have 2 do the same... *sigh....

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » December 5th, 2012, 1:32 pm

any body has a k34 crashed?

wanna get front suspension parts....

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » December 5th, 2012, 6:28 pm

like u wanna convert to 4WD or wat??

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » December 5th, 2012, 6:37 pm

^ correct is right!.

Spent too much money to sell the k14 now.
Tryin to determine if to go all out.
if it has to go 4x4.. will be jimny style 4x4. separate t case. 3 shafts.
Will have to get offset rear diff depending on t-case i decide to use.

it is do-able. i just reach in a position where i cant sell. wud hurt me too much.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » December 5th, 2012, 6:40 pm

i understand what u saying,.... wud love too see the progress... keep us posted.... the 2wd k14 and the 4wd k34 use a diff type of suspension... k14 use coil spring and the k34 uses torsion bar suspension... i dont know if its swapable on the same chasis...

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » December 5th, 2012, 6:51 pm

yeh i am aware of this.

some research will have to be done as to which route i want to take.
but for the time being just enquiring bout k34 front.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » December 5th, 2012, 7:44 pm

gudluck!

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » December 5th, 2012, 8:42 pm

BUT.. this is a back burner project in the making.

need the van at this present time as my daily...

working on sumting a lil bit faster on the side.....

shocker

Postby shocker » December 11th, 2012, 9:03 pm

hey guys i need a 4d56 head and block asap its the same low luxmodel to cutthroatint....call 736-2864

Ray Laks

Postby Ray Laks » December 11th, 2012, 10:24 pm

Folks, I'm here again for advice. Wondering whether I made a mistake in buying this TBW K74. In addition to servicing the vehicle changed all belts, oil cooler hoses, all ball joints, booth rubbers, idler and pitman arms. Bought 555 brand. Also drained radiator and put in pure Zerex coolant. However, noticed that it is being lost. Changed radiator cap. It appears that coolant is being lost when the vehicle is in heavy slow traffic as I made many long distance runs and none was lost. I have not seen any leaks. Any advice about what could be causing the loss of coolant? Many thanks!

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » December 11th, 2012, 11:18 pm

shocker wrote:hey guys i need a 4d56 head and block asap its the same low luxmodel to cutthroatint....call 736-2864

I tore down my engine to rebuild. Its in a zillion pieces. Interested?

shocker

Postby shocker » December 12th, 2012, 1:20 pm

pm me the price

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » December 12th, 2012, 10:38 pm

Ray Laks wrote:Folks, I'm here again for advice. Wondering whether I made a mistake in buying this TBW K74. In addition to servicing the vehicle changed all belts, oil cooler hoses, all ball joints, booth rubbers, idler and pitman arms. Bought 555 brand. Also drained radiator and put in pure Zerex coolant. However, noticed that it is being lost. Changed radiator cap. It appears that coolant is being lost when the vehicle is in heavy slow traffic as I made many long distance runs and none was lost. I have not seen any leaks. Any advice about what could be causing the loss of coolant? Many thanks!

sounding like head gasket on the engine man... have it checked out... it will only loose coolant while the engine is running....

Ray Laks

Postby Ray Laks » December 14th, 2012, 9:18 pm

OK Speedaholic, thanks. Will check it out next week

beers

Postby beers » December 15th, 2012, 8:01 pm

can any one reccommend a good machine shop in south? need to put in sleeves also where can I buy good sleeves and rings ,heard that there are some inferior types on the market

modifierz

Postby modifierz » December 17th, 2012, 2:42 pm

Hey! Looking for a steering box for '00 (TBH series) L200. Changed some parts in it which helped, but didn't get the 'worm' so still having issues with the box.

Any advice would be appreciated.

l200

Postby l200 » December 21st, 2012, 10:17 am

^^^ hey modifierz, A L200 steering box iz like gold if you find one..... i spent 2 yrs looking for one, and the only options that i found was

1) rebuild the box...... around 3k
or
2) upgrade to the pajero.....

I upgraded to the pajero and it works fine.....paid 1k for the box.... plus $500 to install and $200 to customized a pitman arm at the machine shop

The van has more lock and no prob with the box so far..... and its been on a couple of yrs now......

But ask around on this forum.... ah think someone had changed one out,

and one of the guys here should have the info abt the steering box guy in south who can rebuild it...

modifierz

Postby modifierz » December 21st, 2012, 10:24 am

I will try it, because I was considering converting to a steering rack.

l200

Postby l200 » December 21st, 2012, 10:28 am

Speedy where did you get this and how much it cost ah want to do this early in the new year......

speedaholic wrote:radiator shroud i made!

l200

Postby l200 » December 21st, 2012, 10:32 am

modifierz wrote:I will try it, because I was considering converting to a steering rack.

What model L200 u have ..... k14, k34 or k74..... I will keep my eye out for a box.... ah have to do some looking around for parts for mine van early in january...

modifierz

Postby modifierz » December 21st, 2012, 10:34 am

k14. If I don't get a replacement, I'm definitely converting to rack.

l200

Postby l200 » December 21st, 2012, 10:36 am

cool........ i let you know if i see any..

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » December 21st, 2012, 7:40 pm

dexter.. u got the pajero box at good price man.. monika charged me 2200 for one.. and it was "4x4". all i had to do was change the pitman arm to 4x2 and do over some hydraulic lines...
it works fine thus far.
the original box was only blowing seals... but fraid to sell it next ting i need to get another one.

i had the number for the guy who rebuilds the steering box.. but cant seem to find it..
not sure if venom will have it.

u can check SMI in chase village to take some measurements to press out a neat little shroud...thats what we did..

modifyers.... look around for a good FU box of similiar line up and bolt up.. redrill ur chassis if needed or use an adaptor plate and u orn. steeering rack conversion of not very hard tho... actually it mite be easier than another make steering box conversion.

but do let me kno what rack and ends u used if u end up going that route.

this mite come in handy for meh 4x2-4 projek.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » December 22nd, 2012, 12:04 am

dex... that shroud is one i made myself with some left over aluzinc sheeting i had @ home... it mash up now tho.... the shroud in order for it to be full functional need to be made up into two parts top and bottom half split horizontally @ the center.... i have to make over a new one.. but i think i wud just go SMI like sayyid said and let them make it... cuz that was rell headache to make...

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”