L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
l200

Postby l200 » February 9th, 2010, 10:06 pm

Hi guys, glad to see the thread still going on. hope all is well...... cutthroatInt, sorry abt your van,,,,,, I heard that the engine has sleeves for the cylinder, so if you are doing a rebuild see if you get a complete kit, depending on the age of the engine the cylinder wall can be very worn and new rings will not work very efficient,

Well for me, the van still going strong, but having the same probs wit the steering box, it not leaking jus have alot of play, the engine has lost some power, so a diesel pump service is scheduled, it coming up to $2100 full service, injectors, timing belt, tensioner and seals,

Do any of you ever had prob with ur brakes, well mine is working, its jus not as potent, so i changed all the fluids, bleed the lines, and still having the problem, I have also noticed that when e brake is released and i pump the pedal abt 5 times, the brake light comes on on the instrument panel. Any ideas???

venum

Postby venum » February 9th, 2010, 10:23 pm

low brake fluid :?:

ryanm

Postby ryanm » February 10th, 2010, 6:37 am

i've always thought i had that brake problem with my k34. I have on 33x12.5 x15 and i find like sometimes the van feel that it don't want to stop but later realized that the larger diameter tires is the cause. :lol:

Have no problem with the ps and no play too. Since i got the van i change the fluid approx every 18 mths to 2 yrs when i notice it not as red as it is when new. This removes the worn particles that recirculate ( no filter) and cause excessive wear. Every time i do it the fluid comes out really dark and i live and work in curepe so it takes me 4-6 mths to make 3000km.

I tried putin an inline gas filter on the return line but it got dirty in :shock: < 2 weeks.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » February 12th, 2010, 12:51 am

yes there are sleeves in the engine. DM price is 2000 for one lol.. but dey dont stock...
rings from DM is 600
head gasket 4 sumting
connecting rod bearings 6 something for the set.

union auto marabella has rings for 400 a set (RIK brand) not sure of spelling.
head gasket bout 200
bearings ,,,cant rem if i asked if they have.

only ting left is a pricing for machine shop work to change the sleeves.

need a mechanic to do the job for me.. any one u will recommend me to check?

venum

Postby venum » February 12th, 2010, 9:01 am

speedaholic wrote:ryanm, wat does cause d filter to get dirty so! :S

sounding like fragmented ps seals an hose

ryanm

Postby ryanm » February 12th, 2010, 7:44 pm

it was jus that the wear particles had settled and are agetated when you lock the steering under load.

when i flushed the next time i had someone lock the steering from all left to all right and the fluid came out dark. since then it was clean. that was 5 years ago. since then i changed it once and it still red. also i use castrol synthetic fluid

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » February 12th, 2010, 11:57 pm

just want to kno, can double clutching and heel toe braking and down shifting lead to my diesel engine's demise?

l200

Postby l200 » February 13th, 2010, 8:18 am

speedaholic wrote:
l200 wrote:I have also noticed that when e brake is released and i pump the pedal abt 5 times, the brake light comes on on the instrument panel. Any ideas???

i does get this to.. i dunno how come tho.. i think does lock up all d brakes in d van or somthing! never did it while drivin..

I was told that there is something wrong, but when i asked what,..... the mechanic said he doesn't know. I checked the service manual an it didn't have any info on the matter. But I had checked out dm some time ago and they pull out the service log on my vehicle, an i was told that i have to change my seals.

ryanm wrote:i've always thought i had that brake problem with my k34. I have on 33x12.5 x15 and i find like sometimes the van feel that it don't want to stop but later realized that the larger diameter tires is the cause. :lol:

This is not always the case, I currently have 245\75\16 and my brakes would have locked up in emergencies, but not now. I was told to stomp the pedal an see if it is firm (an it is) but when pressed abt 5 x an the light comes on, then the pedal goes down a little until the light goes off, so i guess after the seal change I'll let you kno what happens,

speedaholic wrote:yea i kno the 2wd and 4wd k34's and k74's hav different P.S. boxes.. what i wanted to kno.. is if the 2wd k34 and 2wd k74 have the same box..

If you guys looking for parts there is a crashed l200 4x4 in orange field. Its the basic model to venum's van I'll check it out next week to see what parts are available, i what to try the steering box, to see if it would line up.

venum

Postby venum » February 13th, 2010, 9:20 am

Double clutching would put more wear on the gearbox and clutch

Down shifting would put more stress on the engine ans it uses engine compression to brake

Moderately I don't see too much of a prob

But shifting from 5 to 2 at high speeds would

Check out the crash and let's know what parts available

If it has 15" rims I'm interested in those

U know where exactly it is ?

I'll b on that side today I may pass to check it

Check PM for my ph#

l200

Postby l200 » February 13th, 2010, 2:58 pm

Lol speedaholic, yuh have to wait in line, i wah de box too!!! Check yuh pm

venum

Postby venum » February 14th, 2010, 6:55 pm

I went and checked teh crashed N/A K74 in Perseverance today

it really mashed up in front, but pretty much good from teh rear

doubt that any of allyuh cud use teh power steering as ir got hit from the front driver side pretty bad

dash board mash up bad

rear diff seems good, tray, some interior and suspension

l200

Postby l200 » February 15th, 2010, 12:04 pm

I got the number for the guy wit the crashed l200, he calling 4k for the ps box, ah was also thinking abt taking the front & rear diff, so I went to take a look, its the same as mine. I wanted to get de lsd :( :(

Ah now checking out the service manual for de van (1997-2002 models). If any of you guys need a copy, pm your email and i'll send it to you, It has everything, diagrams, instructions...... everything for a DIY person, once you have the tools

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » February 15th, 2010, 3:00 pm

mail me d manual thanx

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 15th, 2010, 7:11 pm

ryan.ramsaran AT gmail.com

pls email

venum

Postby venum » February 15th, 2010, 7:34 pm

I have a manual

But just to be sure that it is the same one

E-mail me as well:
Venum4802@yahoo.com

Thanx

l200

Postby l200 » February 15th, 2010, 10:24 pm

Guy i am having some trouble uploading the file its tooo big so here is the link, the 1997-2002 workshop manual and the 2007 manual ........ http://www.sendspace.com/file/196ubb .... http://www.sendspace.com/file/n2ca39 These links were found on www.mitsubishi-forums.com/t25547-workshop-manual.htm
:arrow: :arrow:

I also posted it in the L200 thread in the sticky section

venum

Postby venum » February 15th, 2010, 10:56 pm

^^^ great

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 15th, 2010, 11:59 pm

came across this in barbados... most of the 4x4 there are either lifted and really built for off road or they just slap on some mean tires!11

venum

Postby venum » February 16th, 2010, 12:09 am

looks like a 3" lift

maybe more

serious modification to get 3" on those K74

much less greater than 3" lift

ryanm

Postby ryanm » February 17th, 2010, 6:38 am

nice. Just got my k74 so i still playin around with the largest size tyre that can fit without any lift. It currently has 275/70/16 on stock rims

Was able to fit 32x11.5x15 front and 33x12.5x15 rear in my k34

l200
ah was also thinking abt taking the front & rear diff, so I went to take a look, its the same as mine. I wanted to get de lsd

check the diff good as i think the n/a l200 came with two open diffs

l200

Postby l200 » February 17th, 2010, 7:58 am

Congrats, the k 74 are great, very comfortable, an still a work horse, like the k34

The n\a k74 has the same drive train as k34. So I'm still looking for a lsd rear end and the matching front, cause they have a lower gear ratio.

venum

Postby venum » February 17th, 2010, 9:53 am

my K74 has open diffs

suppose to be LSD

but it not working

:(

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 17th, 2010, 9:57 am

we know :pokes: :pokes:

venum

Postby venum » February 17th, 2010, 4:21 pm

Them fellas in DM tell me that some came with LSD and others didn't

I not sure

MadCrix, yours have LSD :?:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 17th, 2010, 4:23 pm

me eh know.. i to lazy to jack it up :$
i could pas in by yuh friday and we coudl see lol

biggy could liff it up and we go spin the tires :)

venum

Postby venum » February 17th, 2010, 11:07 pm

Yuh hadda pass sun evening

The good Dr. Stuck did some experimenting with LSD when jacked up and found that it only engages when both wheels on the ground and one starts to slip

But I know a couple places that we cud test it

ryanm

Postby ryanm » February 18th, 2010, 6:15 am

if you don't mind i'll like to join you guys.
my diff says lsd on it and it has a different shape from the k34
when i went on the ramp it worked as it supose to ( turn one wheel and the other turns in the same direction) but would really want to see it in action

Thanks

venum

Postby venum » February 18th, 2010, 8:01 am

Ryanm

U welcome

We down south though

Crix - back of lara stadium have plenty place to test it

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » February 18th, 2010, 8:10 am

i in dat.. if i eh go dex :D lewee make it sat evening nah