L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
ecruz

Re: L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Postby ecruz » February 27th, 2011, 8:06 pm

hello again :D can anybody pls try removing ur air cleaner then start the engine then remove the dip stick and check it the is a oil spilling out of the tube? can anybody pls try this... :'(

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 27th, 2011, 9:54 pm

^^ will try in the morning and get back to you ASAP...... your van has the STOCK air filter housing or do you have an after market filter installed??

ecruz

Postby ecruz » February 28th, 2011, 6:54 am

guyz.. i think i solve my issue. :D prayer + valve adjustment + tighten the head a little more. now there is no smoke plus the dip stick cylinder is all good

ecruz

Postby ecruz » February 28th, 2011, 7:00 am

do this forum have a gallery for L200 user like us? i want to see and get more idea regarding out L200

ecruz

Postby ecruz » February 28th, 2011, 8:34 am

speedaholic wrote:^^ will try in the morning and get back to you ASAP...... your van has the STOCK air filter housing or do you have an after market filter installed??

i will be more happy if you post ur feedbac on this.

i have not yet replace my aircleaner. :D

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » March 11th, 2011, 7:26 pm

Guys,

if im getting oil coming up by the intake manifold where it bolts to the head...
what could be the cause of that? i took it off and resealed it and withing 2 days, it was oily again.
in addition im loosing some water in the radiator if i make hard long runs on the highway.
i'll burn a tinge bit oil between oil changes (3000 miles)

do u suspect head gasket?
im not getting any white smoke in exhaust.

its 4d56 turbo engine.. is it possible that too much boost can cause this?

any body has a boost gauge i can borrow to see wot boost the turbos are pushing?
i tink its supposed to be 18-22lbs ????

was wondering if the wastegate is adjusted from stock and overboost is causing this oil???

psht..

van had a totol overhaul last weekend

jus need to change a pitman arm and full suspension was done over.
4 new shocks,
bushings
link rubbers
stabilizer clamps
all mounts. engine and gearbox
clutch pressureplate release bearing pilot bearing.

seems my gearbox needs some bearings changed.. new release bearing and still getting the whirring sound when the clutch is released in neutral.

4 new tires..
jus need to align and camber now.

engine had to come out to do check some oil leaks and this intake manifold is leaking again.
need some advice on this.

I'm broken! :-(

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » March 11th, 2011, 7:48 pm

can you guys recommend a good mechanic to check out my engine?
i was advised to pull the head and change headgasket and go back down..
i suspect i may have to do just that.. wanna check back everyting in the engine one time since its being opened up..

got any one in mind? everyone says come dey could do it. but they end up fuggin up ur engine.

TOPGEAR couva costed me a whole engine 9.5k and i went to change timing belts.

A mechanic in california, cant rem his name. but the street after greens muffler and radiator works,
cost me two upper ball joints cause he install it wrong.. (just so you kno, there is a dot that lines up the ball joint to the cradle where its supposed to be)

simple tings like that. but cost the owner alot of money in the long run.

this thread is becoming "L200 woes" for me yes.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 12th, 2011, 2:17 am

^^^ boy me eh kno what to tell u there nah... i naver changed any of them parts u call dey since i have my van an it runnin smooth still.. :).. okay i change front shocks once.. and pitman arm.. and two lower ball joints.. all of which i did myself.. never did any work on my engine cept reg oil changes and wotnot.. that noise you hearing when u release the clutch in neutral.. thats normall.. i dont think it can be fixed.. i can tell u for sure its not the release bearing... cuz i asked venum about this already and he told me its a norm with most of the mitsubishis gearboxes... even in the canter truck and stuff.. its nothin to worry about... u shuda hear the noise Veum gearbox in his L200 used to make it was wayy louder than mine... so dont study that..

18-20lbs of boost is not normal for diesels... that is wayy to high! normally a diesel turbo wud give about 6-10lbs of boost! so i dont think an over boost is your problem... u cud check out the EGR valve tho.. not sure.. but worth a try.. the Turbo'd guys well help u out an that one.. also it cud be your engine back pressuring.. one way to check this is after a long run... with the engine still hot.. switch off and listen for a hissing sound comin from the engine imediately after... this indicates backpressure... or so i've heard...

another thing.. did you notice a big differance in the ride of the van after the entire suspension change??? if so... tell me exactly what parts u bought and maybe some pics of what they look like.. cuz i may want to do this as well... those bushings and stabalizer rubbers and watnot.

idk nah. but that FU engine i have... i never fails me.. and i love it soo much... somtime i does like i cud run down turbo men! :P hahaha! but thats just my big ego!! i am yet to live the boosted life. at the same time do not want all the head aches that come with it... so i gud just as i am for as long as i plan to own my van...

gud luck with your problem hope this helps....
Peace

Slimklim

Postby Slimklim » March 15th, 2011, 7:41 am

speedoholic ,were did u get d engine & gear box mounts also gas shocks.i need to change them on my l200 k34

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 15th, 2011, 6:20 pm

go bobby's in d bamboo.. dey have everything!

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » March 15th, 2011, 6:41 pm

the EGR valve was condemned. (took off the vacuum hose to it)
that ting tends to stick. if it sticks in the closed position, it keeps sending exhaust back into ur intake.. that cant be good!...

i dont smoke down the place anyhow (well not much).. so im not really destroying the enviroment :-)

you all have faith in dem 3 in 1 gauges that ppl sell? lol..
wanna get an amp meter, oil pressure gauge and boost gauge. I tink i'll invest in those next.
im fed up of running outside wit my multimeter to check battery and stuff lol.

anyting other that how my van was riding for the last 2 mths will be considered much better ! lol

the kinda roads we have and places i does have to go does take a toll on my van..
u was hearing noise and clanging at every end of the van lol...

but most worn parts are lower cradle bushing, lower ball joints, stabilizer link rubbers,
shock rubbers, spring lift shackle bushings.
In addition i had to change stabilizer bar u clamp rubbers, the 4 shocks and the hanger bushings for the spring lift (opposite end of the shackles at the rear)

slimklim, the gearbox mount, engine mount, center bearing can be bought at Faiz marabella. but the 4x4 is a bit diff from the 4x2.

when u switch off engine, if u get some heavy vibrations as it cuts off, thats gearbox mount and/or center bearing.

havent driven the van much since all the stuff been changed. but the little drive i had wit it, its drives great. again, compared to how it was.

all my suspension problems came about cause i went and put dem big ass tires in the back of the van... tryin to make a 4x4 outta 4x2 lol....

that height at the back throwed off the weight distribution.. put more strain on front.. as a result, u can imagine all the parts that will be damaged in so doing.

i have two (2) 30x9.5R15 Roadstone Roadian AT tyres in very good condition for sale...
bout 95% life left.
Accepting any reasonable offer. This is for use on 4x4 vehicles.

I'll have to machine my rotors and hubs tho. they are all worn a bit..
on the left side rear, the shoe actually cut into the hub .. seems like something was broken and it ran like that for a wile. i never had a change in brake so didnt have need to pull it down.
the new brake shoes (OHK brand) were so thick, i had to use back one half of the old shoes on one side for it to fit.

I cant rem getting this hissin sound wen the engine cuts off.. well not much. but i run a turbo timer so i'll have to pay more attention to it.

next problem also is the back lash.. need to get someone to adjust this. or determine if the guts needs changing out..

these are my L200 woes lol....

but aside from all that.. jus a fresh paint and im good to go!

oh, allyuh pull off ur tray liner and check to see everyting is ok regularly eh..
mines didnt come off in bout 2 yrs.. wen i did so bout three weeks ago, and after i did a little buffing of the rust, i got the scare of my life... my tray, just behind the cab, is a strainer. drain holes gets clogged from time to time and water stays under the liner and eventually rusts it...
steupes.... allyuh, pay attention to ur van!

i just cant afford to sell and get something else rite now.. so i have to rally out and just do maintenance for the time being!.
but for the most part its negligence and thinkin that nothing goes wrong..

another important ting is underwash and shock oil.. like i say i go all over the place and jus give it a boom down wit a pressure washer wen im back.... i getting some rust spots on under the van now. it havnt been underwashed nor shock oiled in years!

:-(

Speedaholic, wot size tires u hav on ur van rite now?

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » March 15th, 2011, 6:46 pm

wanna get the rubber around the glass at the back of the cab.. allyuh kno where i cud check?
its starting to dry rot.. my van dont sleep under a garage. it gets the brunt of the weather... tis bout 4 yrs now it goin tru this torture. so tings gonna disintergrate.

front bumper and front grill i wanna change also

venum

Postby venum » March 15th, 2011, 8:00 pm

Hear speedy the N/A king talking bout turbo nah . . . And making sense too

Well said grasshopper

As for the rattling/whirring noise when the engine is idling in neutral I had that problem with my K74.

After I changed out complete clutch components (clutch disc and pp needed changing, but I changed release bearing and pilot bearing as I was in there) the noise just eased up (got quieter) but not by much, noticeable though

I was concerned, but after hearing it on several canter 3 tonne trucks and mechs telling me that it was common for mitsu gearboxes with considerable mileage, I was relieved

He said that it was a gear shaft bearing inside the gb, which makes sense and explains the noise when the clutch is engaged in N

As for the oil, check the tappet cover gasket

The water consumption does point to head troubles though

Them cheapo gauges ain't worth crap

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » March 16th, 2011, 9:21 am

^^tappit cover gasket checked.. brand new... so last option is headgasket then?
i hoping a lil torque on the bolts would do it...

if it doesnt ease up, i;ll pull the head and check/change gasket..
where can i get and what is a good brand of headgasket for this engine? 4d56 turbo

Slimklim

Postby Slimklim » March 16th, 2011, 2:03 pm

Thanks speedoholic.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 16th, 2011, 7:25 pm

why thank you Venum! i plan to own a turbo powered vehicle in the future.. so i will learn as much as i can about it.. Cutthroat>>> i have 215/65/15 in the back and 205/65/15 up front.... same tired just wider... all forgien used tho.. cant afford new tyres... sigh...

venum

Postby venum » March 17th, 2011, 4:02 pm

cutthroatInt Ramai's in Marabella had teh Ishikawa rebuild kit for the 4D56T

I bought that when I did the servicing years ago

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 17th, 2011, 6:26 pm

Anyone know where I can get an injector for the 4D56 L200 engine?
Now get a call from sookhais there that my dad's L200 needs an injector.

Already called special auto supplies and diamond motors - neither have any in stock.

venum

Postby venum » March 17th, 2011, 9:31 pm

u try other auto shops that sell parts :?:

down south like faiz, union, Ramai, Checks, Sherriff, Budget, Federal :?:

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 18th, 2011, 3:37 am

check Repu auto in marabella also..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 18th, 2011, 5:37 am

Will have to call them and find out.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » March 20th, 2011, 10:48 pm

venum wrote:cutthroatInt Ramai's in Marabella had teh Ishikawa rebuild kit for the 4D56T

I bought that when I did the servicing years ago

wot does the rebuild kit contain?
also wot was the price of it back then?

Thanks

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » March 20th, 2011, 11:21 pm

lighthammer wrote:Anyone know where I can get an injector for the 4D56 L200 engine?
Now get a call from sookhais there that my dad's L200 needs an injector.

Already called special auto supplies and diamond motors - neither have any in stock.

maybe u can try callin diesel specialist and see if dey got any forsale.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 21st, 2011, 2:40 pm

I was able to get injectors by Prabhu's in Bamboo.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 21st, 2011, 4:16 pm

nice... i went to school wit he son...

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » March 21st, 2011, 6:24 pm

lighthammer wrote:I was able to get injectors by Prabhu's in Bamboo.

was it a set of 4 u bought? how much did dey sell it for?

venum

Postby venum » March 21st, 2011, 8:56 pm

there is teh full rebuild kit with parts for head, an te half kit with just for block

had a lot of seals and head gasket, manifold gaskets etc etc

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 22nd, 2011, 12:06 am

cutthroat - they have plenty. I just bought one injector - the guy in Sookhai's said the threading on the old injector had stripped, but the other 3 were fine and just needed new tips.

Cost me $150 for the F/U injector, and they have plenty more at Prabhu's.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 22nd, 2011, 9:40 am

wayss dais a bess price dey for a injector! what was ur total billl @ sookhais tho???

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 22nd, 2011, 12:40 pm

well for 4 injectors to service plus to recalibrate and clean out the fuel pump = $3000 total.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”