TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
venum

TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Postby venum » July 30th, 2009, 10:50 pm

I am creating this thread as a MITSUBISHI L200 one-stop information arena.

Please keep it Technical only. NO OLE TALK Please.

Information for all model L200's that are\were available in TRINIDAD. There would be other models, but this is Trinidad specicfic

Chassis Codes:

K14 (single & double cab) - 1991 - 2000 2.5L 4x2
4D56 N/A Engine with R5MT1 gearbox

K34 (double cab) - 1991 - 2000 2.5L Turbo and N/A 4x4
4D56 N/A or 4D56 Direct Turbo Engine

K64 - 2000 - 2006 2.5L N/A 4x2 (single & double cab)

K74 - 2000 - 2006 2.5L Turbo and N/A 4x4 (double cab)
4D56 N/A or 4D56 Intercooler Turbo Engine with V5MT1 gearbox

KA4 - 2006 - present 2.5L N/A 4x4. (double cab)
4D56 N/A Engine with V5MB1 gearbox

2.5L N/A 4x2 single and double cab
4D56 N/A Engine with R5M21 gearbox

KB4 - 2006 - present 2.5L Turbo 4x4. Sportero (double cab)
4D56 DiD Intercooler Turbo Engine with V5MB1 gearbox
4D56 DiD Intercooler Turbo Engine with V4A4A transmission

KB8 - 2006 - present 3.2L Turbo 4x4. Sportero\Triton (double cab)
4M41 DiD Intercooler Turbo Engine with V4A4A transmission

http://www.sonirodban.com/triton.html

KL3 - 2015 - present 2.5L Turbo 4x4. Sportero\Triton (double cab)
4D56 DiD Intercooler Turbo Engine with V5AWF transmission (local)

KL2- 2015 - present 2.5L Turbo 4x4. Sportero\Triton (double cab)
4N14 DiD Intercooler MIVEC Turbo Engine with start stop

DiD = Mitsubishi Common Rail Diesel Engine

not sure of the chassis codes of all the 4x2 as yet.

will post when I have them

How Do I Understand my Chassis Number

eg : MMBJNK7404D05****

MMB = European origin
JMA = European origin
MMT = Import to Europe ?? Tailand origin ??

0N = 2 door
JN = 4 door

K22 = 2.0 petrol (2dr)
K24 = 2.5 D/T (2dr)
K34 = 2.5 D/T (4dr)
K74 = 2.5 DTi (2 or 4dr)
K76 = 3.0 petrol (4dr)
K77 = 2.8 D (4dr)

04 = year
05 = month

http://www.l200.org.uk/community/index.php?topic=6641.0

If you can't see the link it is because you are not a paid lifetime member of the L200 Owners Club . . . I am :D . . . which is how I was able to get this info.
Last edited by venum on February 11th, 2020, 4:35 pm, edited 16 times in total.

venum

Postby venum » July 30th, 2009, 10:57 pm

1991-2000 K34T PARTS

1991-2000 K34T Engine parts list:

Fan Blade
MD050475

Temperature sensor
MD005051 & MD050214

1991-2000 K34T Brake parts list:

BRAKE MASTER CYLINDER

MB534481

2003 - 2005 K74T PARTS

2003 - 2005 K74T 100,000km service parts list:

MITSUBISHI 4D56T TIMING BELT

GATES POWERGRIP HTD
5435XS-163 X 25,4mm
163 TEETH

377NV

TIMING BELT TENSIONER

NTN
ON BOX: JPU60-129+JF337
ON TENSIONER: 335 6203LU

BALANCE SHAFT BELT

GATES POWERGRIP HTD 5436XS-99 X 3/4"
99 TEETH
2 39 7DS

BALANCE SHAFT BELT TENSIONER

NTN
ON BOX: JPU58-010A-1
on tensioner: nothing

2003 - 2005 K74T Drivetrain parts list:

V5MT2 Gearbox CLUTCH RELEASE BEARING

NTN

55-17-9

the K34T one works: 55-17-11/2E

1998 - 2005 K74T L200 REVERSE LIGHT SWITCH
ME581047

2003 - 2005 K74T L200 TRANSFER CASE DRIVESHAFT SEAL

FRONT
MD712012

REAR
MD731708

2003 - 2005 K74T L200 TRANSFER CASE MOUNT

MR353470

2003 - 2005 K74T Suspension parts list:

2003 K74T STABILIZER BAR BUSHINGS

LINK (horizontal) - MR151327
LINK (vertical) - MR296507

END - MR150767

2003-2005 K74T L200 TIE ROD END

MB527169 - outer

2003 - 2005 K74T L200 FRONT SHOCKS

MR151227 (oil)

030211 (other number on the shock)

2003 - 2005 K74T L200 REAR SHOCKS

MR491840 (oil)

2003 - 2005 K74T L200 UPPER BALL JOINT

LEFT MB860829

RIGHT MB860830

2003 - 2005 K74T L200 LOWER BALL JOINT

LEFT MR296269

RIGHT MR296270

2003 - 2005 K74T L200 SPRING LIFT SHACKLE BUSHINGS

MB584531
MB584530

The K74T 4x4 has a 5 lift spring bundle

The K34T 4x4 has a 6 lift spring bundle

the lift spring bundles are interchangeable between the 4x4 K34T and 4x4 K74T (I had one side K34T lift springs on my K74T)

2003 - 2005 K74T Brake parts list:

BRAKE MASTER CYLINDER

MB534481

2003 - 2005 K74T Other Engine parts list:

OIL SUMP DRAIN PLUG - same for 4D56T on K34T model

MD050316

GLOW PLUGS TEMPERATURE SENSOR

MD050214

2006 - 2012 KB4T\KB8T MODEL[/color]

2.5L Auto
Engine = 4D56 DiD Transmission = V4A5A
3.2L Auto
Engine = 4M41 DiD Transmission = V4A5A

2012 - 2015 KB4T MODEL[/color]

2.5L Auto
Engine = 4D56 DiD HI-Spec Transmission = V5A5A

2006 - 2012 KB4T\KB8T PARTS

2006 - 2012 KB4T\KB8T Engine Parts

OIL FILTER
4M41 DiD
OEM 1230A045 - Superceeded by 1230A046
Sakura C-1012
Denkerman A21 0108

4D56 DiD
OEM 1230A114

FUEL FILTER
OEM 1170A053
Sakura FC-1104

AIR FILTER
OEM 1500A098

Sakura A-1517

4M41 DiD ALTERNATOR BELT
V-Belt 1340A032 MITSUBOSHI

4M41 DiD A/C BELT
MR148322
now superseded by MB813344 MITSUBOSHI\DENSO

ENGINE SUMP BOLT
OEM MD050316

4M41 DiD TIMING CHAIN
ME192230

4M41 DiD TIMING CHAIN TOP GUIDE
1140A026

4M41 DiD TIMING CHAIN LOWER GUIDE
1140A041

4M41 DiD TIMING CHAIN SIDE GUIDE
ME191029

4M41 DiD TIMING CHAIN SIDE GUIDE LINER
ME203833

4M41 DiD TIMING CHAIN HYDRAULIC TENSIONER
ME203100

4M41 DiD EGR VALVE
1582A037

4M41 CRANKSHAFT PULLEY
1104A024

COOLANT TEMPERATURE SENSOR
OEM 1308A012

2007 - 2011 KB4T\KB8T Transmission Parts

TRANSMISSION FLUID FILTER
OEM MR528836 (internal to transmission)

TRANSMISSION NEUTRALIZER INHIBITOR SWITCH
8604A053

2006 - 2012 KB4T\KB8T Brake Parts

FRONT BRAKE PADS
OEM 4605A284

REAR BRAKE SHOES
OEM 4600A106 T

2006 - 2012 KB4T\KB8T Suspension Parts

FRONT SHOCK ABSORBERS
OEM MR992320

REAR SHOCK ABSORBERS
OEM MR992632

KYB KB4T SHOCK ABSORBER

2007/9 L200

http://www.kyb-europe.com/catalogue.asp

Parts for the front axle
Part No Part
340033 Excel-G

Parts for the rear axle
Part No Part
343251 Excel-G
443258 Premium
553189 Gas A Just

TOKICO KB4T SHOCK ABSORBER

Front - Oil Replacement for MR992320
Q3784

Rear - Oil Replacement for MR992632

LIFT SPRING SHACKLE BUSHINGS
MT362394
MB584531

2006 - 2012 KB4T\KB8T Other Parts

FUEL GAUGE INTANK LEVEL SENDER
1718A078

WIPER BLADE RUBBER
OEM 8250A054

2007 HEADLAMP LIGHT BULB
H4

2007 FOG LIGHT BULB
H11

2007 STEERING WHEEL AIRBAG CLOCK SPRING
8619A016
replaced by 8619A018

2007 POWERED DRIVER SEAT CONTROLLER
6922A008 T

2007 Drivetrain Fluids

with reference to the owners manual (Pages 9-26 to 9-32), the following are the lubes needed:

2.5L With turbo-charger
Manual transmission oil
Gear oil API classification GL-3 SAE 75W-85 | 3.4 litres

Automatic transmission fluid
DIA QUEEN ATF SP III | 9.7litres

Transfer oil
Gear oil API classification GL-3/GL-4, SAE 75W-85/75W-90 | 2.5 litres

Differential oil Front
Hypoid gear oil API classification GL-5 or higher | 1.2 litres
Above 10 °C SAE 90
Below 10 °C SAE 80W

Differential oil Rear
With multi plate type limited slip differential | 2.6 litres
DIA QUEEN LSD gear oil or CASTROL HYPOY LS
Without multi plate type limited slip differential
Hypoid gear oil API classification GL-5 or higher
Above 10 °C SAE 90
Below 10 °C SAE 80W

3.2L
Manual transmission oil
Gear oil API classification GL-3 SAE 75W-85 | 3.4 litres

Automatic transmission fluid
DIA QUEEN ATF SP III | 9.7litres

Transfer oil
Gear oil API classification GL-3/GL-4,SAE 75W-85/75W-90 | 2.5 litres

Differential oil Front
Hypoid gear oil API classification GL-5 or higher | 1.2 litres
Above 10 °C SAE 90
Below 10 °C SAE 80W

Differential oil Rear
With multi plate type limited slip differential | 3.2 litres
Without multi plate type limited slip differential:
Hypoid gear oil API classification GL-5 or higher
Rear Above 10 °C SAE 90, Below 10 °C SAE 80W
With multi plate type limited slip differential:
DIA QUEEN LSD gear oil or CASTROL HYPOY LS
(Hypoid gear oil API classification GL-5 SAE 90)

observe the difference between the 2.5L and 3.2L rear diff fluid quantities
Last edited by venum on February 11th, 2020, 4:48 pm, edited 38 times in total.

Monkus

Getting a Triton!

Postby Monkus » October 31st, 2009, 9:16 am

Taking the plunge to 4x4. Decided on the Triton, made the downpayment at Maska yesterday. Had a Suzuki samurai ages ago and was a lot of fun. Sold it when I had to work out of country. Been scouring the 2nr forums and found plenty or great information, thanks guys!

Would really like to see this thread take off wrt break in tips, fluids, maintenance and aftermarket parts. I get the feeling from other people that the new HiLux is for older gents, Triton is for flams and Navarra somewhere in the middle.

I chose the Triton because I always liked them, diesel is the way to go, esp as the new plant at Petrotrin will start production of world class diesel next year, the cab is very comfortable, maintenance seems straightforward, parts seems easily available and the price suits my pocket. Thanks again for all the info.

venum

Postby venum » October 31st, 2009, 2:31 pm

ahh yes a KB8T joins us

welcome

Postby equipped2ripp » October 31st, 2009, 5:45 pm

Monkus, the new diesel plant is for export only

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 31st, 2009, 7:50 pm

E2R ... the GTL plant went into receivership (see Express Sept 30). We can consider a further delay in clean diesel.

The local Sportero is a nice van ... nice features (including automatic & sunroof). Good layout and lots of space. I don't know the specs but it's one of those that tops my list. It's a too big too big then again, they all are.

Monkus ... word of advice, go local and get the support of the local dealership. I don't feel that Maska et al can honestly support those vehicles especially since they're not specializing in any brand. Whatever the market wants, they'll bring, whether or not they can provide after sales support is another question.

Monkus

Postby Monkus » November 1st, 2009, 10:59 am

Was dealing with Judy at DM in South, when I was ready to buy last week, no Sporteros in stock till dec 12 (I think). Got a deal on the last one Maska had. Can service at DM. Also got the reassurance that Maska will service, will even paint over the wheel fenders in the body colour white at no cost. saw the computers and service area. With regards to the GTL plant, work is ongoing. Apparently they get bailout from the Energy Ministry. GTL on schedule for 2010. Thanks for the info!

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » November 1st, 2009, 8:06 pm

Monkus, congratualations on a great investment. I agree with sweeks, go local and talk to bobby ali from DM in south. I assure you he can help you in getting your vehicle.
DM aftersales service and knowledge on the vehicle is excellent.
Purchased a sportero exactly one year ago from DM and no issues what so ever.

Great choice and enjoy your ride.

venum

Postby venum » November 1st, 2009, 9:24 pm

update in the parts list for the K74 and K34 models

owners of the new shape models 2.5L Sportero (KB4T) and 3.2L Sportero\Triton (KB8T) please PM whatever part numbers you have

looking for Part numbers for comsumables - filters, brake pads, belts etc

muddgutts

Postby muddgutts » November 2nd, 2009, 8:39 pm

bump

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » November 4th, 2009, 8:22 pm

2008 Sportero 3.2 (4M41 engine)

Oil filter: 1230A046
Fuel Filter: 1770A053
Air Filter: 1500A098

Actually going to get a 20,000kms service done soon. Never changed the fuelor air filter before but purchased the original ones just incase.

venum

Postby venum » November 5th, 2009, 9:42 am

kriticalkase, are those OEM part numbers :?:

OEM parts have MR/MB/MD/MZ in front the numbers

if not oem, what brand are those :?: still good info

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » November 5th, 2009, 9:31 pm

Venum, those are OEM.
Positively sure about it.

acmilan11

Postby acmilan11 » November 9th, 2009, 11:18 am

yea my sportero doing 34,xxx n they haven't changed the air filter as yet, was wondering wen they gonna do it. But I went last monday to service they changed the fuel filter price for dat was around $500 kinda pricey...buh is original so dat good.

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » November 9th, 2009, 6:59 pm

AC milan, that price not too bad from the firm because the original fuel filter cost about the same thing on the outside.
Guess you do not drive in dusty conditions thus allowing your air filter to still be in good condition.
When I go on saturday for my 20,000kms service I will see what they would change.
acmilan, the van looking good. Gope you get through with a sale soon.
can I ask how much you paid for the front bar?

acmilan11

Postby acmilan11 » November 9th, 2009, 9:52 pm

amm round $4000 by m. rampersad

Mr. Go Slow

Re: TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200\Triton Specific

Postby Mr. Go Slow » November 11th, 2009, 4:25 pm

venum wrote:I am creating this thread as a MITSUBISHI L200 one-stop information arena.

Please keep it Technical only. NO OLE TALK Please.

Information for all model L200's

Chassis Codes:

K34 - 1991 - 2000 2.5L Turbo and N/A 4x4
K74 - 2000 - 2005 2.5L Turbo and N/A 4x4

KB4 - 2006 - present 2.5L Turbo and N/A 4x4. Sportero
KB8 - 2006 - present 3.2L Turbo 4x4. Sportero\Triton

not sure of teh chassis codes of the 4x2 as yet.

will post when I have them

Chassis code for the new Long bed model with the 2.5 175hp motor?

venum

Postby venum » November 11th, 2009, 10:40 pm

you talking bout this Long Bed :?:

http://www.dieselstation.com/cars/mitsu ... a1781.html

or a single cab :?:

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » November 12th, 2009, 7:03 am

venum wrote:you talking bout this Long Bed :?:

http://www.dieselstation.com/cars/mitsu ... a1781.html

or a single cab :?:

Yup that one self, with the 176bhp motor

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » November 18th, 2009, 5:11 pm

ok guys, I had my 20,000kms service done @ diamond on saturday.

Service interval is 10,000kms.
Changed engine oil (amsoil) 9 quarts to be exact,
original mitsu oil filter ($210.00 at rampersad's on the bypass)
air filter was changed for the first time
diesel filter was drained, inspected and placed back in service ( I supplied an original fuel filter but they recommend that it not be changed as yet)
align vehicle

Total cost - $400.00

Total service took about 1.5hrs and they even offered a ride from DM to home after vehicle was dropped off. Overall, I was very satisfied with the service & the van works great.

venum

Postby venum » November 18th, 2009, 5:22 pm

kriticalkase, great info

but what did teh parts come up to :?:

Monkus

2009 3.2 Triton

Postby Monkus » November 20th, 2009, 2:54 pm

Did my first service at Maska last Friday at 1000km on my new 3.2 Triton.

They used TOP 1 SYNTHETIC BLEND DIESEL OIL, info on the link below.

http://www.toponeoil.com/oil/products-d ... -duty.html

Adjusted brakes and put in two bottles of Abro Diesel injector cleaner.

http://www.abro.com/abro_product_view.p ... 2786&grp=0

Changed oil filter. Tightened up anything loose on the undercarriage.

Total Cost= 720.76

Maska now has a updated service bay with all the trimmings. Its on the left of the showroom. Didn't get the # on the filter. Next service is 5000 km. Head technician's name is Michael Ragbir and he says the only fuel treatment he will endorse is the Abro. I recognized him from Southern sales. He was in the deep south servicing Petrotrin's rentals.

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » November 20th, 2009, 4:22 pm

Venum, the oil filter - $210.00 (M.Rampersad-bypass san fdo)
Amsoil Engine oil - $295 per gal (Gearhead)
Fuel filter - $450 (faiz in marabella)
Air filter - $300 (bobbys in the bamboo)

Looking at bringing in the fuel filter & air filter and comparing the prices. Really trying to save an extra dollar.
I know it will cost alot less with the substitute parts as in sakura filters but really prefer to stay with the original.

venum

Postby venum » November 20th, 2009, 4:25 pm

I used the Abro on my 2003 K74T

Didn't find that it was effective at all

That is a 8V SOHC direct injection 4D56T though

Ain't as great as Amsoil

Used Abro, Pennray, Redline, Max44

Best is Amsoil, Redline and Pennray

If they agree to let u use the Amsoil, I can hook u up with wholesale bulk prices - 50% the retail

I use it so religiously that I bought in bulk

Have 2 years supply :lol:

Monkus, open the engine bay and get the numbers on the filters nah

U considered Amsoil oil :?:

I would use that in a 4D56 or 4M41 DiD

DM uses Total on their vehicles, they switched from Chevron
Last edited by venum on August 31st, 2010, 1:28 pm, edited 2 times in total.

venum

Postby venum » November 20th, 2009, 4:29 pm

Kritical

I would endorse OEM on that new DiD engine

Sakura are GREAT filters in my experience of using them on 4 lancers and my L200 (ellle)

Even for 10,000km intervals on one of the lancers, but I won't use them on the DiD's for 10,000km intervals

OEM all the way

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » November 20th, 2009, 6:39 pm

Monkus, seeing you basically have a new vehicle I would agree with venum and try the amsoil.
When I got my van from Diamond I used shell and once the switch was made to Amsoil, you really felt the difference this product made.

Venum, pm what products you have and its price, I will greatly appreciate. The prices I quoted on the filters, what do you think of them? Do you know anywhere else that has them more competetively priced?

venum

Postby venum » November 20th, 2009, 9:27 pm

kriticalkase wrote:Venum, the oil filter - $210.00 (M.Rampersad-bypass san fdo)
Amsoil Engine oil - $295 per gal (Gearhead)
Fuel filter - $450 (faiz in marabella)
Air filter - $300 (bobbys in the bamboo)

I find them prices hott, except Gearhead, his prices good

yes is OEM, but still

kriticalkase wrote:Looking at bringing in the fuel filter & air filter and comparing the prices. Really trying to save an extra dollar.

I would definately consider that, as they shoudl be much cheaper

get teh part numbers though

kriticalkase wrote:I know it will cost alot less with the substitute parts as in sakura filters but really prefer to stay with the original.

I running Sakura and will endorse them, but not for new brand DiD engines

I change them at 5,000km intervals though - they too cheap not to

$50 for an oil filter and $45 for a diesel filter

kriticalkase, I don't sell anything

i know a guy who does sell Amsoil, i cud link yuh up

Check the boss man at Ramai's Auto in Vistabella - Navin

Tell him Shawn with teh Green and Silver L200 send yuh

he cud get teh filters for you, you may have to buy a few at a time, but should still be better than those prices

he is a mitsu man, so jsut tell him yuh ent want to pay DM prices, but want to keep yuh warranty

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » November 20th, 2009, 10:00 pm

thanks alot, it is really appreciated.
Question: would you recommend using a k&n air filter in the van?

venum

Postby venum » November 20th, 2009, 11:50 pm

most definately

but be warned, if you drive in dusty environments that filter would need cleaning more regularly than an OEM

when it gets dirty it robs the engine of power, more than a dirty OEM

due to the oil in teh filter element, it traps dust more than an OEM

my mileage drops by about 50km per tank when it is dirty - thaz like 1 complete run to work and back home - a regular day's worth of diesel for me

and teh ripple effect - when it dirty - more black smoke buildup on truck body around exhsust

sweeks

Postby sweeks » November 21st, 2009, 3:59 am

venum wrote:Check the boss man at Ramai's Auto in Vistabella - Navin
he cud get teh filters for you, you may have to buy a few at a time, but should still be better than those prices

Venum does he deal with OEM?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”