W.T.K Increase Boost ???

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
SUBARUIST

W.T.K Increase Boost ???

Postby SUBARUIST » July 12th, 2010, 6:46 am

Hey 2nrs, want to know if it makes any sense increasing the boost on a Mazda B2500 p/up???.....and how is this done????

Ah sure i is not d first to ask!.... :roll:

lighthammer

Re: W.T.K Increase Boost ???

Postby lighthammer » July 12th, 2010, 10:23 am

Why would you want to increase the boost? If you increase the boost then you'll have to also compensate with adjusting the fuel-pump timing and MAF sensor to make sure you're getting enough fuel as well as enough oxygen into the engine.

SUBARUIST

Postby SUBARUIST » July 14th, 2010, 6:57 am

..........oh hoooo.....that is too much headache,
all i looking for is alil more speed on takeoff....
if ah raise jus a 4lb ah boost ah still have to do all that?
or yuh might have ah better idea?...........

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 14th, 2010, 8:01 pm

Easiest and least complicated thing to do is drop in a K&N air filter, change your oil to a high performance brand like Amsoil or Mobil one, use a K&N oil filter, get the injectors serviced and cleaned.

The air filter alone should give u a little extra HP, maybe 2-3hp. From member reports, the K&N makes the engine breathe better and you get a noticeable increase in performance. If you can do even better and drop in a cold-air intake tube with the air filter, you get a slight increase again.

Changing the boost is a bit more complicated, have to tune up the oxygen sensor, re-calibrate the fuel pump to deliver the proper ratio of fuel vs. Air to the injectors, attach a boost gauge and controller to control your boost. Also, you'll have to upgrade the drivetrain to handle the increased power.

Of course that's all possible to do, but IMHO it's simpler to change oil/oilfilter/airfilter first and see what gains u get.

SUBARUIST

Postby SUBARUIST » July 15th, 2010, 6:04 am

Thanks for the advice..........will give it a try ............

I'll let you know what the results are!

By the way,any idea where i can get that K&N filter to buy?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 15th, 2010, 6:43 am

check teknet (dunno de contact - just do a forum search for teknet), Carboutique, AutoImage, Maska in south and M. Rampersad. Lots of other places stock it but those are the ones I know offhand. You could check 4x4trinidad as well (do a forum search for them).

Or if you want to bring it down yourself, here's the part no. for the Euro-spec PK Ranger & Mazda Bt-50: Part # E2296

Also, see this thread first before buying: Everything You Need To Know About K&N Air Filters

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 15th, 2010, 7:35 am

SUBARUIST - If you find the van lacking power, you can also consider installing an "Algae-X" fuel-conditioner into the fuel-system of the Mazda.

http://www.algae-x.net/pdf/Algae-X_Fuel_Conditioner__Spec_sheet.pdf

Here is the website: http://www.algae-x.net

biggy82 has some experience in algae-x, perhaps you can PM him about it.
4x4trinidad also has them in stock, saw it in their showroom yesterday.

info@4x4trinidad.com, Phone: 868-473-8631 / 868-672-4691

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 15th, 2010, 8:49 pm

Got some info from a knowledgeable source that you can simply install a manual boost controller. The factory boost for these trucks is usually 8-10psi, with the B2500 u can prob go up to 12psi. The engine's computer should automatically adjust fuel timing to compensate for the increased oxygen concentration. Beyond 12psi, the engine will most likely default into fail-safe mode to prevent improper ignition and damage to the pistons.

Oh and almost forgot, you can also drop in an ECU chip to increase horsepower and engine output. Some chips come pre-mapped to your specific vehicle & engine, and if anything goes wrong you can always replace your original ecu chip or flash back the mod-chip to factory settings at SSL.

www.chipit.au

Someone on trinituner brings them in, dunno who but do a search.

As for the K&N, I know for sure that 484trinidad and teknet have them for the WL engine in the mazda B2500 and the older 2005 ranger.

SUBARUIST

Postby SUBARUIST » July 16th, 2010, 7:38 am

Thanks a million LIGHTHAMMER....
You really know your stuff..........will take your advice and let you know how it turns out !

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 16th, 2010, 8:17 am

No problem's bro - that's what the Diesel Boyz are all about.

Sorry about the website - here's the real URL:

Chip It's website. They're based in Australia, but they have great information about using a modified chip in your engine. Easy to install too, takes about 5 mins, can do it yourself once it's been pre-mapped. If you have access to a Dyno to test your horsepower/torque gains (I think there's one in Picton Street, Santa Rosa Arima) then you can see how your truck comes to life.

I now put a K&N in my D22 frontier, and that 3.0L beast just came alive! Check the K&N thread for my results so far.

parmvt

Postby parmvt » July 21st, 2010, 7:26 pm

Correct me if am wrong.
But the Mazda B2500 dosent carry an ECU.

SUBARUIST

Postby SUBARUIST » July 22nd, 2010, 7:41 am

really?.........i don't know for sure,

but i installed a boost controller and could'nt get anthing over 14 lbs!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 22nd, 2010, 10:29 am

^^^ I think the factory boost for these older vans is around 8-10lbs.

How's the performance and fuel economy now?

SUBARUIST

Postby SUBARUIST » July 22nd, 2010, 8:35 pm

The performance is not what i expected,but there is a slightly better take off and acceleration,then i still need to do a service,maybe then performance would improve.

Took the trip to TEKNET ,got the K&N oil and air filter but when i got back home only then i realised that the air couldn't work!

He recommended that i use the Amsoil 15/40 synthetic..........

gonna give it a try..........Willl do the service over the weekend

still searching for the air filter though,mine is the older one to the part # you provided

Hopefully when i have everything in place overall performance would improve!
by the way ....Fuel consumption hasn't increased by any significant amount!

The truck works great,it's just that i want it's performance to be over average!!!

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » August 6th, 2010, 5:54 pm

BTW, as far as I know, vans don't use MAF sensors bro. To increase boost, use, a boost controller, and then re-calibrate the fuel pump to add more fuel for the extra air you are pumping into the engine.

SUBARUIST

Postby SUBARUIST » August 6th, 2010, 8:25 pm

ur rite bro! never really occured 2 me until now, never saw a MAF sensor on d air intake.........................

how do you go about increasing fuel feed on the pump?

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » August 7th, 2010, 10:28 am

You have to get the pump recalibrated by a diesel technician.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 21st, 2010, 11:39 am

Add a front mount intercooler and you orn like corn

SUBARUIST

Postby SUBARUIST » August 21st, 2010, 9:19 pm

Trying to keep it as original as possible,although there is the original which is front mount but SMALL.....

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 21st, 2010, 9:29 pm

I wanna throw a FMIC on my bt-50.

There is a black mitsu which gave my sr20ve a run for its money the other day...huge FMIC...sweet looking and from the run i get, performance based also

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » August 22nd, 2010, 1:38 pm

is it a manual fuel pump? if so there is a tamper-proof cap on the screw-and-nut that adjusts fuel. if you are going there be sure to mark the position u found it in, tightening the screw enriches the mixture and a little goes a long way so take care.

SUBARUIST

Postby SUBARUIST » August 23rd, 2010, 11:30 am

Thanks for the tips fellas ,but i feel as though a new problem has arisen....

The clutch seems to be getting less responsive so i'm thinking to have this fixed before trying anything else...

Got a suggestion that it might be the pressure plate, so i'm gonna replace that plus the disc and release bearing,

Got all the parts at the firm,just waiting on the time to be right!
Compared another p/up of same and there was an obvious difference in both clutch system,mine is working as though it a non turbo,while the other takes off and accelerates like wow,for a diesel,and the engine is completely stock!!!!

supernedd

Postby supernedd » January 15th, 2015, 11:51 am

I have mazda bt50 same engine as b2500 . I got a bbigger intercooler . K&n cone filter . I use mobil 1 oil . Took out muffler silencer n put in a glasspack 2.5 on muffler for more freeflow . Eventually I will change out n put a full performance exhaust 2.5 inch
So far I am getting a way better performance n acceleration
Last edited by supernedd on February 4th, 2015, 11:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

ranger

Postby ranger » January 16th, 2015, 1:06 pm

Supernedd, what size intercooler did you use?

supernedd

Postby supernedd » February 4th, 2015, 11:45 am

I now seeing this to reply . lol . Intercooler size . I not sure it almost d size in d space between d lower bumper . I keep reading online that putting a bigger size exhaust from turbo to tip . Straight pipe does help . I wanna try that also maybe 2.5 inch or 2.75inch . I have d same wl engine as b2500 . So far far d mods I did . Working good .but I still want more speed

supernedd

Postby supernedd » February 12th, 2015, 10:40 pm

Where is the best place to hook up boost guage Tube
On intake manifold or on d actuator of the wl engine

supernedd

Postby supernedd » October 2nd, 2018, 9:50 pm

don't turn up boost . them van engine is crap n too weak n will crack the head ..i turn up mines ..work good for a few months n bam . head crack

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”