The 2012 Ford Ranger & Mazda BT-50 - THEY'RE HERE!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: The 2012 Ford Ranger & Mazda BT-50 - **LEAKED IMAGES!!!

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 23rd, 2012, 8:15 am

^ the v6 navara would cost very close to the price of the ranger....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 23rd, 2012, 10:13 am

isnt the V6 Navara called theTitan?

No.
The Navara/Frontier is the mid-sized pickup in Nissan's range of trucks.
The Titan is the full-sized pickup, i.e. the next category above the frontier/navara.
The suv equivalent of the Titan pickup is the Armada.

This is a pic of the Titan and Frontier/Navara side-by-side.

Image Image

These are the Pathfinder (first pic) and Armada (Second pic).

the v6 navara would cost very close to the price of the ranger....

Nah, I don't believe it would cost so much, not even in full-spec auto/leather/4x4/etc.

3.0L engine would cost about $15K more in licensing, but could never raise the price of the navara to more than $300K....

Besides the engine, the ranger is so expensive because of the electronic locking differential in the rear, the fully electronic and ECU-controlled transmission as well as the upgraded electricals in the cabin.

Plus the stealership is a bunch of thieves who over-price every damned thing.

[/endrant]

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 23rd, 2012, 10:14 am

^^ call n&m and ask yourself....

civic minded

The 2012 Ford Ranger & Mazda BT-50 - **LEAKED IMAGES!!! ****

Postby civic minded » April 23rd, 2012, 12:50 pm

The v6 navara might be a viable alternative to the 3.2l ranger.

Investiquire I will.

badart

Postby badart » April 23rd, 2012, 8:45 pm

Got a chance to check out the new ranger, it looks like the old ranger on steroids, its colossal compared to the old ranger but was expecting it to be a bit bigger though. The 4x2 2.2(150 hp) auto is around 265,000 has alot of features new to the truck market in T&T like rain sensitive wipers, auto highlights etc which is cool. Didn't like how small the instrument cluster looked, personal preference would be bigger guages. The all new ranger has everything tht the old ranger was missing so it's definitely a truck worth checking out and finally a ranger worth buying.

spydafrog

Postby spydafrog » April 24th, 2012, 11:41 am

apologies..plate guard below 2012 ranger is boron steel!

swordsman

Postby swordsman » April 24th, 2012, 2:08 pm

anyone knows of anyone who bought a new mod ranger as yet? i havent seen any on the road :(

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » April 24th, 2012, 2:38 pm

swordsman wrote:anyone knows of anyone who bought a new mod ranger as yet? i havent seen any on the road :(

Saw 3 getting licensed this morning in POS License office. They looking sweet

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 25th, 2012, 2:09 pm

My friend is getting his this week, if you saw a grey getting licensed it was probably his.

swordsman

Postby swordsman » April 26th, 2012, 11:51 am

Bezman wrote:My friend is getting his this week, if you saw a grey getting licensed it was probably his.

is that the 3.2 model? keep us posted with his satisfaction/dissatisfaction plzzz.... also, how long did he take to get his Heavy T permit?

spydafrog

Postby spydafrog » April 26th, 2012, 12:04 pm

Heavy T costs about 8-900TT and the test is literally a walk in the park! takes no time at all.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 26th, 2012, 12:45 pm

3 licensed? That makes MEM about $900K richer!!

Fight the power!
Buy a hilix/navara/bt50/ole datsun!!

[/endtroll]

Might make a turn to the showroom later next week and review it. Hopefully the salesrep won't be an @sshole to me like he was last time I was there when I was buying my truck.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 26th, 2012, 1:12 pm

^^ ask for Blaine Moze at the POS branch - he is a real cool fella and would help you out. He knows most of the Ranger guys on the forums

Val

Postby Val » April 27th, 2012, 10:03 am

The new ranger is nice, but the tray and interior leg room still doesnt compare to a hilux or new sportero.

Pricing is good though.

badart

Postby badart » April 27th, 2012, 2:40 pm

^ I noticed tht too, was expecting the tray to be longer and the leg room didnt look tht great but i am sure its alot bigger than the old ranger

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 27th, 2012, 2:54 pm

spotted one on richmond street on tuesday evening... :D had D plates on it....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 28th, 2012, 8:43 am

^^ vitara lookin nice!!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 28th, 2012, 8:51 am

I'm gettting my heavy T license next week.. so that I could drive this:

See it done license already!

civic minded

The 2012 Ford Ranger & Mazda BT-50 - **LEAKED IMAGES!!! ****

Postby civic minded » April 28th, 2012, 4:43 pm

So my bro will be in the car show at macoya and ford have loan them the 2012 ranger 2.2L , damn that thing really big , I line it up next to my van to compare
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1335645825.667096.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1335645794.154830.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1335645769.522058.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1335645737.640614.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1335645710.436326.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1335645683.341082.jpg

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 28th, 2012, 4:54 pm

i was surprise the stock suspension fit the Maxxis Mudzilla 35/13.50/16 LT. the turning radius is hampered abit but if the mud guard was removed it would turn properly.
He will have the tuff rims with the maxxis on for the show....

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 28th, 2012, 5:14 pm

so a small crowd gathered around the ranger and one of the guy start to find flaws and started mouthing off on the ranger, i was listening to him with a puzzle look. He was saying how much better the Hilux is and how toyota is the best...
Why do guys that own Hilux need to believe so much that their van is better than everyone else own? Is it an emotional ,childhood issues that they need approval and validation? I dont understand.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » April 28th, 2012, 8:50 pm

Yuh can't fight down a fanboy.... I just leave them be.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 28th, 2012, 9:25 pm

I told the guy, its just a f*cking van, why you so wound up? He pointing towards his brand new Hilux on the lift putting on Chromes. - "thats the best ever and he did all the test etc and it is the best etc..

Risking starting an argument with an idiot, i told him ,Yes the hilux is the best and he should make a recording of him saying it to play it everyday to remind himself.

With that he just walk off... I feel he will do just that...lmao..

swordsman

Postby swordsman » April 30th, 2012, 7:04 am

civic minded wrote:I told the guy, its just a f*cking van, why you so wound up? He pointing towards his brand new Hilux on the lift putting on Chromes. - "thats the best ever and he did all the test etc and it is the best etc..

Risking starting an argument with an idiot, i told him ,Yes the hilux is the best and he should make a recording of him saying it to play it everyday to remind himself.

With that he just walk off... I feel he will do just that...lmao..

Hilux is the best lookin "rice down" pick up there is..i agree :)...haters are gonna hate.. just leave them b...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 30th, 2012, 7:15 am

He's one of those fools who could only talk.... But can't drive for sheit.
Put him on a trail and you'll see exactly how full of sh1t he really is.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 1st, 2012, 12:24 pm

I had a ranger, and now have a hilux, and i can attest that the HIlux drives better, its more comfortable, takes bumpy roads better and off-roading in the hilux is MUCH easier than the ranger. muddy hills that the ranger would be in 4 low and struggling, the hilux does in 4 high without ANY effort.. i LOVED my ranger, really LOVED it. and i love the Hilux, but i can see the difference in build quality between the two.. the hilux feels more rugged and tough, where the ranger was smaller and didnt feel very confident in some circumstances.. just my 2ç

lexx

Postby lexx » May 1st, 2012, 6:18 pm

Hi everyone, i was out of these forums for a while since i sold meh sportero a few years ago... Soo i got a new ranger this weekend. I have driven the old ranger and the newest and old hilux and my old sportero and i have to say that features wise.... comfort wise... safty wise (6 air bags)... size wise and power wise... nun of the others want nothing with this new truck... well atleast not untill they come out with a new one themselves. This truck drives like a car, 6 speed tranny sweet and the tiptronic is cool also (others only have a 4speed and well the old ranger has a 5)... handles amazing on the road... stearing is sensitive just the way i like it... i still dont get how a lil 2.2L engine making more torque than a 3.0L hilux...

Fuel tank is big 80L... so i gettin about 900km on a tank... seat are really comfee... and the music system sound amazing for a pick up... the others music sound like pooop i my opinion...The tires it comes with are real bess too... no road noise and the van itself is super quiet inside(amazing)!!! Those bridgestone tires the sportero and hilux come with are real sheit!

Anyway... i'm really happy with it so far, we'll see how she behaves as she gets older... i really want to see what mitsu and toyota gonna come out with because cleary they have been out classed with this one.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 1st, 2012, 10:15 pm

i still dont get how a lil 2.2L engine making more torque than a 3.0L hilux...

I have a 2.5L engine that makes MUCH more torque than a 3.0L hilux and a 3.2L sportero...

*trollface*

johnn hommes

Postby johnn hommes » May 2nd, 2012, 9:26 am

Great to see everyone agreeing to the initial topic of of this conversations,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Seems though the NON Ford or BT50 owners are the ones back pedalling,,,,,,,,,,,,,,History will show,,,Ford/Mazda has always lead the way and others follow.............so in 2013-14 Nissan/Toyota will produce a pick up far better than this curentt 2012 FORD/Mazda version and it will be the best thing since slice bread...................Compare apples with apples--- Toyota/Nissan 2011/12 pickups to FORD/Mazda 2011/2012 pickups,.,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,not 2011/12 Toyota/Nissan to the 2006 Ford ranger/Mazda bt50................geeezzz..........ppl.................Have anyone notice the differences in the New 2012 Toyota/Navarra......i still trying to see a difference,,,,,lol.,............ ??????
Have anyone notice the difference between the 2012 Ford/BT50 ....................we all have,,,,,,,,,,,,,,PPL stop living in the pass,,,,,,,,,,VIGO's and Navarra,,,,are luxury made vans,,,,full of decorative plastic attachments,,,,,,,,,,,,,,pppl who live in deep country side,,paramin,,,san-souci,,,biche etc,,,,,,has criticise these vecihles,for its offroad defieciencies....they prefer a ford/mazda anyday,,,....(Note i didn't mention the SR5-this was toyota best pickup for offroad).........
So i expect the truth to offend and look foward to the comments,,,,,,,,,,,,

Have to share a joke with you thou,,,,my partner brought a new vigo from toyota,,,,a dog pass under the van and ate out the abs wire,,,,,,,,,,lol,,,,,,,,thats best design and durability,,,,,,,,,,lol.......take a look for your self,,,,and see how poor that is

Another one,,,,tells me his Navarra van tray,,,is bolted with TEX/self thread screw,,onto the chasis,,,,,,,,,he said just looked by the back tire and see for your self,,,,,,,,,,,,,,telll if this is right or wrong.....i havent look yet...........

gundelero

Postby gundelero » May 2nd, 2012, 10:05 am

civicminded, do u have a full pic of the ranger with the Mudzilla tyres on them? i want to see how they look with those rime and tyres fitted with the stock suspension....

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”