The 2012 Ford Ranger & Mazda BT-50 - THEY'RE HERE!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
civic minded

Re: The 2012 Ford Ranger & Mazda BT-50 - **LEAKED IMAGES!!!

Postby civic minded » May 2nd, 2012, 1:07 pm

gundelero wrote:civicminded, do u have a full pic of the ranger with the Mudzilla tyres on them? i want to see how they look with those rime and tyres fitted with the stock suspension....

ask and you shall receive; 35x13.50x16LT on friggin stock suspension

These are not stock suspension ( i think )

stretch

Postby stretch » May 2nd, 2012, 7:31 pm

damn those 1st pics. I want one.

civic minded

The 2012 Ford Ranger & Mazda BT-50 - **LEAKED IMAGES!!! ****

Postby civic minded » May 2nd, 2012, 8:00 pm

Honestly the wheel will touch the inside of the wheel well when you turn the steering wheel all the way, but if you take off the mud guard ,it will work!

gundelero

Postby gundelero » May 2nd, 2012, 8:24 pm

damn friggin sexyyyyyyyyyyyyy... thanks civic.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 2nd, 2012, 10:20 pm

ppl have been reporting that the black-coated KMC addicts like those pictured in the last two pics are losing their paint, chipping off, etc.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 2nd, 2012, 10:26 pm

To be honest, I'm not really that impressed even if the 35" tyres can fit without a lift.

I'm not trying to fight down, really I'm not.
But even if you put on 35" mud terrain tyres and maybe a suspension upgrade, who in their right mind is going to take that $300K+ pickup truck and go offroading with it?

I'm not trying to be a hypocrite, yes I'm offroading with a new navara too, but I didn't pay what equates to a house mortgage for my truck.

I'm just waiting to see who gonna be the first to do it.
Then I'll go shake his hand.... and then spray down his fancy expensive truck with mud :)

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 2nd, 2012, 10:54 pm

^ dawg seriously give it a break......who want to do it, will do it....

how many performance car owners actually race their car?? evo, subaru owners carry their cars in the gravel etc........

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 2nd, 2012, 11:22 pm

lighthammer wrote:Image

To be honest, I'm not really that impressed even if the 35" tyres can fit without a lift.

I'm not trying to fight down, really I'm not.
But even if you put on 35" mud terrain tyres and maybe a suspension upgrade, who in their right mind is going to take that $300K+ pickup truck and go offroading with it?

I'm not trying to be a hypocrite, yes I'm offroading with a new navara too, but I didn't pay what equates to a house mortgage for my truck.

I'm just waiting to see who gonna be the first to do it.
Then I'll go shake his hand.... and then spray down his fancy expensive truck with mud :)

lol, ppl who can afford 300k+ and 20k in wheels and 10K in suspension will have no problem taking them offroad... cause chances are they already pay off the mortgage and have $$$$$$$ in the bank - #TrueStory

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 2nd, 2012, 11:23 pm

^well said.....

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 3rd, 2012, 6:22 am

dude - the same can be said to guys a few years back at us who throw our 200K trucks in the mud.
Thats the standard now with pickups and suv's 300K is expected now. You won't see these in the mud right now - maybe in a few years they will start showing up. Cause really and truly - the ranger is built for the mud and trail.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 3rd, 2012, 8:09 am

^Hehehe, we shall see!

I'm not the only one who off-roads with an expensive truck...

I have no problem with the ranger at all yunno - remember I was the one who started up this whole thread and was the biggest supporter for the new Ranger. I was a huge ranger fan and still am a big fan of the ranger (both current and next gen)

But to see THAT ridiculous price slapped on the new ranger.... That turn me off big time.

Yeah only rich ppl in t'dad would be able to afford it, they have money in the bank, they could buy benz if they wanted, etc etc. Same was said for all the riced-out Vigo buyers who spending $345 for a van, and look how much on the road now (and how many for sale!!)

But like I've been saying all along - this is no longer a truck for the average Joe. I really think we need a reality check inside here - who in their right mind will buy a $300K pickup, when they have bills to pay, house mortgage to pay for, children to feed/clothe/educate? When these children grow up, who gonna put them through university when it have a pickup to pay for? I'm not talking about the white-collars who bringing in $20K + a month, I'm talking about folks with average salaries - i.e those who can actually afford a current-model Ranger ($190K for the 2.5 WLT 4x4 barebones mode right now) and still have a family.

This, I firmly believe, is what drove up Ford and Mazda's sales over the past 4 years - this middle-social bracket of consumers, not the upper crusts of trinidad society. The average ranger/bt 50 driver today is most likely a middle-class working person with in a double-income home with one or two kids and a mortgage or loan..... Or its a company vehicle.

Sorry guys, I'm not trying to be bitter, yes I have a relatively expensive van too and yeah I abuse it (cuz I know what I'm doing with it).... But its a van I could have afforded at that time. One person or two persons saying that some folks don't need loan to buy such an expensive pickup doesn't represent society at large.

I will never deny that the new Ranger is in fact a fantastic truck, yes it is.
Price - yuck.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 3rd, 2012, 10:04 am

Since the BT-50 will be coming with basically the same stuff as in the ranger - lets see what pricing are for them...

Cooper

Postby Cooper » May 3rd, 2012, 1:59 pm

Judging from the past, I think southern sales will sell their version for up to 5% less in price.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » May 5th, 2012, 10:43 am

had to do something at the dealer this morning and decided to pop in and check out the ranger. They didn't have any of the 3.2L on display, so I just took a couple of pics.

Not meant to be a good pic, just wanted to show the size difference.

Overall it's a pretty decent truck, however the size and price are deal breakers for me.

civic minded

The 2012 Ford Ranger & Mazda BT-50 - **LEAKED IMAGES!!! ****

Postby civic minded » May 5th, 2012, 1:49 pm

Stewie cracks me up

swordsman

Postby swordsman » May 8th, 2012, 9:12 am

Hey peeps....any more reviews on the Ranger?

homeboy

Postby homeboy » May 10th, 2012, 7:14 am

SO is the Ranger a good choice for my wife? Looking for a vehicle for her but have some other plans under cover in my head....hahaha....

Let me know guys.....

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 10th, 2012, 8:48 am

nooo!! buyy her an almera!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 10th, 2012, 9:29 am

homeboy wrote:SO is the Ranger a good choice for my wife? Looking for a vehicle for her but have some other plans under cover in my head....hahaha....

Let me know guys.....

Only if she's willing to deal with driving a big huge barge, doing 4 & 5 point turns instead of 3-point turns, and having to reverse multiple times to get the truck in a straight line when parking in the mall.

Trust me from my own experience - not all women willing to deal with that, they tend to like smaller, easily maneuverable vehicles.

homeboy

Postby homeboy » May 10th, 2012, 9:20 pm

lighthammer wrote:
homeboy wrote:SO is the Ranger a good choice for my wife? Looking for a vehicle for her but have some other plans under cover in my head....hahaha....

Let me know guys.....

Only if she's willing to deal with driving a big huge barge, doing 4 & 5 point turns instead of 3-point turns, and having to reverse multiple times to get the truck in a straight line when parking in the mall.

Trust me from my own experience - not all women willing to deal with that, they tend to like smaller, easily maneuverable vehicles.

I hear yuh........might go for a car instead.....saw one of the rangers on the road today in fyso and it's really a big ride...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 11th, 2012, 9:25 am

^ yeah it just seems big cuz of the change from "compact" class (current model ranger) to "mid-size" class (new model ranger).

It's about the same size as a Hilux.... or a Navara :)

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » May 14th, 2012, 7:21 pm

wait wais de price of dis ranger??

swordsman

Postby swordsman » May 15th, 2012, 7:24 am

MonsterPower wrote:wait wais de price of dis ranger??

275k - 4x4 fabric, 2.2 tdci engine
330k - 4x4 leather 3.2 tdci (fully loaded)

Prices are approximations. 4got the exact exact figures

spydafrog

Postby spydafrog » May 22nd, 2012, 11:21 am

ways, i used to enjoy reading this thread! The vehicle is finally on local soil. Can we switch back to sensible discussion now and hear about some local reviews from the owners...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 22nd, 2012, 5:47 pm

saw a white one in movietowne the other night...

sadly, it had crims on it.

I sighed sadly and drove on, in my cheap old datsun.

hee hee hee.

jpec

Postby jpec » May 22nd, 2012, 6:30 pm

^^ i think i drove behind that same one the other day....looks real good tho even with the crims on it

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 22nd, 2012, 7:18 pm

So ur saying... The new ranger crims-proof?!?!

Postby Team Loco » May 22nd, 2012, 7:34 pm

I had an argument with the person in charge of the ranger at the meguiars show. He insisted the tyres won't touch the inner shield. Dammit, even when the wheels were straight the distance between the out tyre and the lower shield was like quarter inch.

jpec

Postby jpec » May 22nd, 2012, 9:39 pm

lighthammer wrote:So ur saying... The new ranger crims-proof?!?!

lol...if its done right then yeh it can look good...once it gets over done with all the extra chrome sheit then it looks tacky imo, but the one i saw didnt look too bad..i would prefer black wheels and some nice tyres tho!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 23rd, 2012, 8:40 am

I will buy the 3.2L Ranger but not anytime soon...maybe next year, i will wait and see how it goes.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”