The 2012 Ford Ranger & Mazda BT-50 - THEY'RE HERE!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
lighthammer

Re: The 2012 Ford Ranger & Mazda BT-50 - **LEAKED IMAGES!!!

Postby lighthammer » April 4th, 2012, 11:38 pm

civicminded wrote:Took my ranger to check something in south and saw the new rangers in the showroom, the limited edt. - 3.2l and the 2.2l highrider

Yuh lie, yuh went tuh maco in de damn ford ppl showroom and gape too!

*throws mud on civic_minded ranger*

nyah!

civic minded

The 2012 Ford Ranger & Mazda BT-50 - **LEAKED IMAGES!!! ****

Postby civic minded » April 5th, 2012, 5:56 am

^^no dude - I was getting a vibration on the rear axle - had it checked out . I called James before and he told me it's the diff , which got me frightened. The firm told me it was under warranty still and I shouldn't worry. But what was making the noise was the cross went bad, so had that changed.

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 5th, 2012, 8:57 am

Waiting list to September
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333630645.126562.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333630630.314305.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333630615.168868.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333630598.650614.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333630566.984584.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1333630550.478392.jpg

spydafrog

Postby spydafrog » April 5th, 2012, 11:38 am

Cooper

Postby Cooper » April 8th, 2012, 10:10 am

I forgot to check something.... did anyone take a look under the new truck? I want to know if they still have the metal shielding protecting the critical components on the underside or if they followed toyota and just put plastic underneath.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 8th, 2012, 10:36 pm

^^ was now gonna ask the same question.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » April 11th, 2012, 1:10 am

This is what TopGear.com had to say about one of the models:

Ford Ranger 2.2 TDCi 150 XLT driven
£23,234 Driven April 2012

If you're a bloke who spends his working day lugging stuff around and generally getting his hands dirty, choosing a pickup is easy - it's all about raw practicality. If the payload is bigger or the towing capacity higher, then that's the truck to go for.

So in bare numbers, the new class champ is this - the Ford Ranger. With a payload of up to 1,152kg (the biggest in the class) and a towing capacity of 3.35 tonnes (also best in class), the on-paper stats are already attractive to those in need of a multi-purpose working vehicle.

There's a triplet of four-cylinder diesel variants to choose from - a 2.2-litre with 123bhp or 148bhp, and a 3.2-litre with 197bhp. The 2.2 will be the big seller, and in the more powerful (148bhp and 277lb ft) tune, there's more than enough power. The acceleration is acceptable, but what's more surprising is how responsive it is at speed - drop it into sixth and simply use the torque. For a pickup, the Ranger is relaxing to drive.

It would be even more so if the refinement were better. The Ranger is fine as a workhorse, but a lot of pickups are now bought by people looking for a cheaper alternative to an SUV. Hence why Ford offers the fancy Wildtrak spec pictured here. But the Ranger's rattling 2.2 diesel can't cut it against more trad SUV engines - if you want refinement, you'll need the 3.2. It's still not quiet, but it is - marginally - better. A pity, because elsewhere the Ranger has a good breadth of ability.

A good example is the steering. It's a revelation. Light and precise, it makes the car feel small and less intimidating. And the ride is getting there as well. It seemed like Zebedee had set the old car up, but this one rides with a lot more sophistication. It's not perfect. But then the flatbed - and therefore the suspension - has to cope with a huge variety of loads. Not an easy task.

Which is pretty much an allegory for the car as a whole - trying to please both a carpenter and a cyclist. New Ranger is much better than old, but the lower-grade specs and engines are still the best choices. Which means it's still more labourer than lifestyle.

The numbers
2198cc, 4cyl, 4WD, 148bhp, 277lb ft, 33.2mpg, 224g/km CO2, 0-62 in 12.3secs, 109mph, 2048kg

The verdict
An enormous improvement on the previous Ranger in every way - it even drives like a normal car now. Still not what you'd call refined, though.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 11th, 2012, 2:50 am

What is it with ppl buying a pickup and expecting it to ride like a car or even an SUV??

It is a working-class vehicle with a body-on-frame layout and leafsprings on the rear. Leafsprings are more bouncy than coils, cuz they're meant to take heavy loads, not to coddle your soft, fat ass (unless the passengers themselves are the loads - then 3 obese adults in the backseat would definitely help the handling).

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 11th, 2012, 4:49 pm

spydafrog

Postby spydafrog » April 11th, 2012, 6:27 pm

Xplode

Postby Xplode » April 12th, 2012, 7:04 am

notice the new ranger engine is fitted more in the back, close to the fire wall any reason for that ?

spydafrog

Postby spydafrog » April 13th, 2012, 11:28 am

guys, i was in the showroom in south yesterday. Checked out all variants of the new truck. Seeing this vehicle in person was a pleasure. It meets all visual expectations. I understand the ride is very smooth...... Feels huge inside and the 3.2L engine is considerably quiet, even with the hood open.

anyway getting to the point!

1. There is protective plating under the vehicle however SOME of which is plastic/poly-carbonate!
2. Regarding the 2.3L Limited: The "spec" we get locally does NOT come with the integrated rear view camera system INSTEAD we get reverse sensors!!

3. Included bed liner is fitted a little weird in my opinion. I've noticed that on the interior of the load bed, the liner does NOT go all the way up under the ridge of the truck's body panel! That to me is shitty as its only a matter of time before dust and water/moisture collect under there and results in corrosion. I'm in no way able to afford one of these beauty;s, but if i could i would definitely go with a spray liner!

4. Puddle lamps included on the 3.2L Limited

5. Courtesy lighting again included in the 3.2L Limited (eg: at door handle release latches) The color of this lighting can also be customized (not sure of preset range but included blue).

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 13th, 2012, 11:47 am

^ they have a lot of features like the American Ford Explorer now.

Nice truck.
Crap price.

Cheapo-Datsun ftw.\

*trollface*

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 13th, 2012, 12:07 pm

If it was 100k cheaper , every Tom, Dick and Lighthammer will buy it...lol

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 13th, 2012, 12:50 pm

^ nah bai! my ole datsun still cost less than that, even if the new ranger was $100K less!

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 13th, 2012, 12:59 pm

100k cheaper i wont mind, but trinis place real value on rides, esp the younger folk, know lots of engineers that would run these things down
me personally, that 100k would go great to building a best house
at the end of the day its just a depreciating asset

adri2nr

Postby adri2nr » April 13th, 2012, 2:02 pm

checked this out..the 3.2L is a beauty...wouldn't mind upgrading to this.

ANSA
waiting list is 6 months (can be short listed)
5 year warranty

Maska
Has the wild track that will be in the country next month.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 13th, 2012, 2:55 pm

@jhonnieblue - yuh speak truth there bro.

How many vigo's you see for sale on www.trinicarsforsale.com ???

I wonder how many of them though a couple years ago: "yeah man, the vigo bess, $295K? No problem".

Same thing with the new Ranger.
I guess we can wait 3 years to see how many will be for sale then.

spydafrog

Postby spydafrog » April 13th, 2012, 3:41 pm

5 year warranty from Maska! nice! isn't the warranty from the firm just 3years?

strange!!!!!!!!!!!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 13th, 2012, 3:43 pm

^^nope - my ranger is 5 years too or 100,000km - which ever comes first

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 14th, 2012, 12:28 am

maska and M rampersad used to offer only a 1-year.
Then a 3 year.

Now a 5 year.
But I wonder if it covering everything on the truck:
1. Engine & Electrical
2. Body & Suspension
3. Drivetrain.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 14th, 2012, 6:23 am

^^well so they say. The warranty state that once I follow their guidelines all mechanical, electrical etc is covered. What isn't covered is from wear and tear like the cross, wheel bearings, etc

venum

Postby venum » April 14th, 2012, 6:26 pm

I saw them today when I went to DM South to get some parts

I am a MITSU man only, but I can appreciate other vehicles and I find that they look nice

I expect that they will have great performance too

they price, I did not inquire, but I expect that it is gonna be waaaay overpriced, but ppl will still buy

I noticed the rims looked bigger than the standard 16" on most other pickups. they looked like 17" or 18"

they had some pretty nice looking tyres too, looked like A/T's

if they are in fact 17\18", this will pose a problem when time comes to change tyres as most tyre shops will not have good options in that size, but mostly crappy nexxen\roadstone

which I am hoping that I am wrong, but the avg consumer usually doesn't spend the $$$ on the good options in that size like Michelin, Falken and BGF since they usually are expensive and would instead slap on what they can afford like the crappy Nexxen

downside is that they would have gotten accustomed to the handling of the good factory fit tyres (which could handle the power of those new engines) and then drive the truck the same way with the crap tyres and may end up wrecking a few

i hope I am wrong

nice trucks though

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 14th, 2012, 8:35 pm

^^they come in standard 17's

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 14th, 2012, 9:48 pm

expect 90% of the new owners swap these for 22"s

venum

Postby venum » April 14th, 2012, 11:58 pm

civic minded wrote:expect 90% of the new owners swap these for 22"s

more truth is yet to be found

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 18th, 2012, 1:26 am

Nice truck but it sucks that you now have to get a heavy T license to drive one.

Topgear need to update their review .... new Ranger already outgunned by the V6 Navara

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 18th, 2012, 11:54 am

ek4ever wrote:new Ranger already outgunned by the V6 Navara

Dat happen since 2011 man...

pew-pew-pew!

220HP, 550Nm/406lb/ft of torque @1150RPM in a silky-smooth 3.0 V6, with a s-s-s-seven speed transmission!!

But de new ranger, eet nice too bad.
Price does make man chest burn though....

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 18th, 2012, 5:50 pm

lighthammer wrote:

pew-pew-pew!

220HP, 550Nm/406lb/ft of torque @1150RPM in a silky-smooth 3.0 V6, with a s-s-s-seven speed transmission!!

The man reviewing it in Australia say it have too much torque :shock: :D

If the size didn't increase then it would be a better buy since lower engine tax and no need for heavy T .... or will you still need heavy T since it can tow 3.5 tons???

BTW Massey bringing the V6? I see the new 2.5 L is even more powerful than the last 2.5

swordsman

Postby swordsman » April 23rd, 2012, 8:10 am

ek4ever wrote:
lighthammer wrote:

pew-pew-pew!

The man reviewing it in Australia say it have too much torque :shock: :D

If the size didn't increase then it would be a better buy since lower engine tax and no need for heavy T .... or will you still need heavy T since it can tow 3.5 tons???

BTW Massey bringing the V6? I see the new 2.5 L is even more powerful than the last 2.5

isnt the V6 Navara called theTitan?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”