Help! Need to find a new head for ford ranger!!!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
killersuzuki

Help! Need to find a new head for ford ranger!!!!

Postby killersuzuki » July 19th, 2010, 6:46 pm

My head developed a crack, so I am on the hunt for a new head, or if I have to buy one, a new WLT engine. anybody know where I can get one? OR if I can get a 3.0 out of the new ford ranger, I would take that too.

HELP!!!

Thanks

civic minded

Re: Help! Need to find a new head for ford ranger!!!!

Postby civic minded » July 19th, 2010, 6:51 pm

:shock: :shock: check ROC in the bamboo - they suppose to have all the parts for your model ranger

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » July 19th, 2010, 6:59 pm

Thanks, will do!

bt50

Postby bt50 » July 20th, 2010, 6:47 am

Welcome to the club....Warning Loves Trouble

Check boodram and sons in freeport for a new head.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 20th, 2010, 6:59 am

bt50 wrote:Welcome to the club....Warning Loves Trouble

Check boodram and sons in freeport for a new head.

Good guys... got an alternator from them a couple weeks ago

When I had to change the head on the Mazda year before I got one for $3500.00... but not from Boodram's eh. Expect about $5000.00 or so for a used head.

bt50

Postby bt50 » July 20th, 2010, 7:40 am

Boodram - $5500 for a head new

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » July 20th, 2010, 8:20 am

THANKS! does anyone have a number for Boodram and Sons?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 20th, 2010, 9:24 am

killerhyundai-DET wrote:THANKS! does anyone have a number for Boodram and Sons?

Oh crap I NOW mash up the card... It have directory assistance for that anyhow...

If you want directions to the one in Freeport I can do that

Head towards the Freeport police station and turn left (south) by the triangle there. Follow the road for about 1/2 a kilometre. They are on the left hand side right on the main road there. There is a sign.

If you miss it your blind

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » July 20th, 2010, 9:39 am

Ok thanks!

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 20th, 2010, 10:07 am

killerhyundai-DET wrote:Ok thanks!

Hope yuh get thru!

Cooper

Postby Cooper » July 20th, 2010, 3:04 pm

killerhyundai-DET, while you have the engine down, check out your cooling system. Especially the water pump. It could be the cause of the crack.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 20th, 2010, 6:47 pm

Cooper wrote:killerhyundai-DET, while you have the engine down, check out your cooling system. Especially the water pump. It could be the cause of the crack.

Good heads up there... No pun intended ;-)

Pay attention to the thermostat.

bt50

Postby bt50 » July 21st, 2010, 7:34 am

install 3 core radiator....

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » July 21st, 2010, 7:27 pm

Thanks for all the help people, I am picking up the head tomorrow.....I am also going to do a complete check on the coolant system, bt50, 3 core was installed long time!

I am also going to clean and service the injectors, the fuel pump, and hopefully install a new intercooler.

bt50

Postby bt50 » July 22nd, 2010, 6:49 am

so what happened that resulted in the head developing a crack?

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » August 4th, 2010, 10:20 am

Ok, well, it turns out that the fan was not working properly, that's why the engine overheated. So, we decided to go with electric fans. This freed up a few hp from the engine. I must admit, the van is pulling harder now. It feels good.

Postby Greypatch » August 4th, 2010, 11:35 am

so you did not notice the temp guage dey mamoo

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 4th, 2010, 12:13 pm

Greypatch wrote:so you did not notice the temp guage dey mamoo

It just a lil too far from the speedometer for his liking dey Patchie...

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » August 4th, 2010, 2:34 pm

Lol! To be honest, the temp gauge did not read hot until I saw the smoke coming out the exhaust, and even then it did not jump for a good 2 mins after that ( I was driving to the office).

Cooper

Postby Cooper » August 4th, 2010, 3:25 pm

With the way you drive, smoke always coming out of the exhaust :lol:

Glad to know you back up and running, did you get any pics of the damaged head?

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » August 4th, 2010, 3:38 pm

Cooper wrote:With the way you drive, smoke always coming out of the exhaust :lol:

No, sorry, but I did see the crack, it was ugly!

And what you talking about, "The way I drive"????? :twisted:

The van picking up real nice now (no fan for the engine to turn) :twisted: :twisted:

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 4th, 2010, 4:33 pm

killerhyundai-DET wrote:
Cooper wrote:With the way you drive, smoke always coming out of the exhaust :lol:

No, sorry, but I did see the crack, it was ugly!

And what you talking about, "The way I drive"????? :twisted:

The van picking up real nice now (no fan for the engine to turn) :twisted: :twisted:

When we changed the head in the Mazda last year and did all the engine work, thing worked like brand new again... Turbo was singing! But then my brother got his hands on it and she sounding like crap again..

bt50

Postby bt50 » August 5th, 2010, 6:52 am

glad to hear you back on the road.

give us some info on the fans installed...size, rpm, brand, who installed it.

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » August 5th, 2010, 7:15 am

I will post up some pics later today.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » August 10th, 2010, 9:59 am

killer, can you tell me who did the mechanical work for you?

also, where you ended up getting the head etc.

via pm,

thanks.

nick009

Postby nick009 » August 10th, 2010, 6:37 pm

but but that motor will be driven by the alternator so the power coming from the engine anyway!?

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » August 12th, 2010, 9:49 am

nick009 wrote:but but that motor will be driven by the alternator so the power coming from the engine anyway!?

Yes the alternator is powering the fans, but there is less physical mass for the engine to turn, hence more power.

This is why most RWD SR20 DET owners replace the belt driven fan with electric ones.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”