Mazda BT50 Iron Bumper Installed - Pics

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
V2NR 3.0

Mazda BT50 Iron Bumper Installed - Pics

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 3rd, 2010, 4:47 pm

Diesel Buddies,

Got this fabricated and installed. Workmanship is excellent and yes its hand painted with industrial black (gonna get banged, scratched, hit etc). Took about 1.5 days to do and made from carbon steel. 3 inches diameter is the big bar, and the little ones are 2.5. Shackles, tow hitch etc etc...It actually stabilized the vehicle alot and improved handling.

Pulling, towing, monkeying around, hits from behind - ooooch

New feature added also according to the installer - "hit while reversing stop" :D

And for those of you wondering - its bolted straight unto the chassis, number plate lights are back on like normal etc etc. This is where its bolted:

Bwah ha ha ha ha

Black Scorpion

Re: Mazda BT50 Iron Bumper Installed - Pics

Postby Black Scorpion » October 3rd, 2010, 5:00 pm

nicee

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 3rd, 2010, 5:56 pm

The Iron Monger.
Bad@ass shyet meng!

Postby Team Loco » October 3rd, 2010, 9:05 pm

i still find it look too small for your ride......the shackles add character though

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » October 3rd, 2010, 10:45 pm

bro who did that for you??...and how much did it cost???

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 4th, 2010, 8:52 am

Team Loco wrote:i still find it look too small for your ride......the shackles add character though

You sure man ? I can always call back the man who did the job and go a little bigger. The shackles looks good especially in the now painted red.

Do you know where I can get the front done team loco ? I wanted to check you but your signature about some hoe owing monies has me a bit concerned.

Bluespeed: you sure u wanna know ? Pm me.

Postby wagon r » October 4th, 2010, 11:59 am

looks familar....like i've seen one of those before...... :roll:

...and you may not realise this but you mounted too close to the body....you should have left at least 3"-6". When you want to step up into the tray, you'd see what i mean...plus, bar or not, should someone hit you...less chance of the back getting dented.

jus my .02c

Postby Team Loco » October 4th, 2010, 12:23 pm

wagon r wrote:looks familar....like i've seen one of those before...... :roll:

...and you may not realise this but you mounted too close to the body....you should have left at least 3"-6". When you want to step up into the tray, you'd see what i mean...plus, bar or not, should someone hit you...less chance of the back getting dented.

jus my .02c

you talking sense. it can be made to adjust if he wants.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 4th, 2010, 7:15 pm

wagon r wrote:looks familar....like i've seen one of those before...... :roll: ...and you may not realise this but you mounted too close to the body....you should have left at least 3"-6". When you want to step up into the tray, you'd see what i mean...plus, bar or not, should someone hit you...less chance of the back getting dented.

jus my .02c

Noted.

Went stepping on and off the bumper to see how the access point is...The "little" bars are indeed to close to the tray, but the big bar is a good distance off and climbing is comfortable. So id keep it that way.

Postby 3stagevtec » October 4th, 2010, 11:15 pm

Black Scorpion wrote:nicee

X2! Like the DIY look to it.. Easy access to the shackles would be quite an asset as well.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 6th, 2010, 4:44 pm

Looks good dude - pm me the contact info for the guy that did it for u

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 6th, 2010, 5:19 pm

Pm'ed. I feel I should get commission since so many people becoming interested !

Postby 3stagevtec » October 6th, 2010, 7:17 pm

PM me too! You wouldn't believe how hard it is to find someone to do such work for you..

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 6th, 2010, 8:28 pm

All PM's - $10.

When all yuh see the front men go faint ?

Postby 3stagevtec » October 6th, 2010, 11:32 pm

How thick are your frame rails? Do you think it will be possible for those bolts to tear through the frame if heavy pulling is required?

The frame in the front of my Grand Vitara seems kinda thin and i'm abit afraid to bolt my winch bumper to it. I am looking for a new way to reattach my winch bumper to my van since I did the body lift..

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 7th, 2010, 4:45 am

^ if u are referring to the front, its still being worked out.

The back however, man, i pulling anything

Postby 3stagevtec » October 7th, 2010, 6:11 am

Was that back I was interested in.. Can't wait to see how the front end turns out!

Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 11th, 2010, 11:10 am

V2NR 3.0 does that bumper affect your warranty with Southern Sales :?:

Postby Team Loco » October 11th, 2010, 12:31 pm

3stagevtec wrote:How thick are your frame rails? Do you think it will be possible for those bolts to tear through the frame if heavy pulling is required?

The frame in the front of my Grand Vitara seems kinda thin and i'm abit afraid to bolt my winch bumper to it. I am looking for a new way to reattach my winch bumper to my van since I did the body lift..

the grand vitara cannot accomodate a bumper like this. you can probably get away with some smaller pipe, but then it may not serve the purpose

Postby 3stagevtec » October 11th, 2010, 12:38 pm

Team Loco wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:How thick are your frame rails? Do you think it will be possible for those bolts to tear through the frame if heavy pulling is required?

the grand vitara cannot accomodate a bumper like this. you can probably get away with some smaller pipe, but then it may not serve the purpose

in my case, correct.. I have very soft rear aftermarket springs that will not be able to handle significant extra load without sagging..

my front springs on the other hand as stiff as a rock! (designed to carry the extra weight of a winch / steel bumper / larger V6 engine..)

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 11th, 2010, 6:38 pm

Cooper wrote:V2NR 3.0 does that bumper affect your warranty with Southern Sales :?:

Done know, dont care. Their "warranty" stinks

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » October 12th, 2010, 11:58 am

Team Loco wrote:i still find it look too small for your ride......the shackles add character though

Agreed...wouldnt have painted the shackles RED either.....

Postby Team Loco » October 12th, 2010, 12:22 pm

V2NR 3.0 wrote:
Cooper wrote:V2NR 3.0 does that bumper affect your warranty with Southern Sales :?:

they are known for prolonging an issue till the warranty expires.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » October 12th, 2010, 3:10 pm

Embarrass them into action that's all.We know youre good at that.

/sig :lol:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 13th, 2010, 6:42 am

V2NR 3.0 wrote:

I called Blaine from Mc Enerney and he said it wont affect the warranty, only issue is if i install the one for the front, in the event of a crash, the airbags may not be deployed.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 13th, 2010, 8:01 am

This is a long winded debate which can go for a very long time. The sensors which deploy air bags are manly located in the chassis frontal areas. It is believed that when a crash bar is installed, it may hinder deployment, which may not be the case. You may just have to "hit harder" frontwards because of the additional protection in the front.

Postby Team Loco » October 13th, 2010, 10:36 am

V2NR 3.0 wrote:This is a long winded debate which can go for a very long time. The sensors which deploy air bags are manly located in the chassis frontal areas. It is believed that when a crash bar is installed, it may hinder deployment, which may not be the case. You may just have to "hit harder" frontwards because of the additional protection in the front.

well said. The bar does not affect the deploying of the airbag system. of course, the problem kicks in where the dealership may use it as an excuse to void your warranty. typical local stealership attitude

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 13th, 2010, 11:42 am

Lol @ stealership.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 14th, 2010, 9:36 am

the problem kicks in where the dealership may use it as an excuse to void your warranty. typical local stealership attitude

Same thing the salesperson in Ford told me.
He said it's preferable not to put on a bull-bar or even an A-Bar, because it prevents the airbag sensors from working properly and deploying.

I think it's BS, cuz airbags typically will deploy at frontal collisions over 35mph, and from my experience the stainless steel tubing on a bull-bar is actually quite fragile, look at how easily it dents. It may be 2 1/2 - 3" in diameter, but the steel itself is quite thin.

V2Ner, your bar however is much thicker than the aftermarket stainless steel bullbars, hence your airbag deployment would be affected to a greater extent than say, the stainless steel tubing on my frontier's bull bar. In that case, the argument for warranty/airbags/bull-bar has more validity for you.

youthman

Postby youthman » November 25th, 2011, 5:37 pm

pathner u hav d original bumper 4 dis van?back.....contact 7393251

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”