So I got the keys to the new truck today....

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
lighthammer

So I got the keys to the new truck today....

Postby lighthammer » November 13th, 2010, 10:00 pm

.. and I gotta say that I'm gonna enjoy leaving behind all those puny little cars and other trucks on the highway, heh heh heh heh.

Mwa-ha-ha-ha-ha!!!!.

:evilbat: :evilbat: :evilbat:

badart

Re: So I got the keys to the new truck today....

Postby badart » November 13th, 2010, 10:08 pm

silver navara? congrats man

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 13th, 2010, 10:13 pm

^^ nah not silver, black :)

badart

Postby badart » November 13th, 2010, 10:19 pm

cool...black is look the best :twisted:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 13th, 2010, 10:28 pm

Heh heh, gonna be a beeyotch to keep clean though.

- Black paint
- grey interior (fabric)
- 255/70R16 dunlop A/T
- Spray-on bedliner
- Reverse sensors with distance monitor
- Manual 4x4 with EBD and ABS

Gotta love that new-truck smell :D

homeboy

Postby homeboy » November 13th, 2010, 10:30 pm

Good luck with the new machine.....how you got a good grape from the bunch......lol.....

:D :D :D

homeboy

Postby homeboy » November 13th, 2010, 10:35 pm

Yep, keeping the paint job looking good will be ah task by itself. One of my vehicle is black and i don't even drive it and the paint looks like sheit....but then again i don't put to much care into it like the Ranger.

Postby Rooki3 » November 13th, 2010, 10:37 pm

i'll be experiencing this nirvana in a few weeks, ford 4x2 though :lol:

Postby 3stagevtec » November 13th, 2010, 11:01 pm

It came with 255/70 tyres stock?? That's surprising, I figured they would have been slightly taller. Well, add that massive power with those shorter tyres and I could imagine the acceleration! Nice truck!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 14th, 2010, 12:23 am

3stage...

I'll double check tomorrow. Didn't have much chance to examine the truck in detail today.
Will post some pics of the new truck tomorrow ;).. after work.

Hehe, it's so big in the driveway, takes up more space than the Frontier.
Doesn't feel like a behemoth on the road though, handles rather nicely. Just have to be careful when navigating through the parking lot today, since it's all brand new and stuff.

Would've gotten it a little earlier, but I sent it to get a spray-on bedliner (rough surface, hard-plastic type) and some reverse sensors so that I won't be ramming into people's front fenders everytime I go to reverse-park. I didn't like the aeroklas drop-in liner that Nissan was offering, plus my salesman said it's better to use the spray-on, esp. if you wanna fit on the Roll N' Lock. With the drop-in liner, you have to trim the top edges to get the rails for the shutter to fit, which introduces a space for water to seep in & cause rust.

The guy who did it is recommended officially by Neal & Massy, so if anyone interested just PM me and I'll give you his number. He's actually quite cheaper than the other places that do spray-on's, plus he's VERY neat - not one drop of spray liner out of place nor any nook/cranny left out.

Next mod - some tint, and a Turbo Timer. Gonna keep the stock wheels cuz I'm not a fan of the bling. Trying to keep it neat & stock, except maybe for some 265/70R16's next time - prob some Pirelli Scorpions or BFG's, or maybe some Goodyear Wrangers. And don't forget the K&N filter too :D

.... Oh yeah, in case I didn't mention it before ( I dont' think I did officially) - I bought a 2010 Nissan Navara LE, 4x4 Manual 6-speed, Grey Interior, Fabric, cd-player, fully powered. Got a fantastic price from my salesman, plus an awesome rate from Sagicor. 8-) 8-) 8-)

PM me if anyone's interested in getting a good hookup with lending rates (really good right now, until Dec 31st), good insurance rates (better than most on the market), and a very friendly, patient and quite accomodating salesman.

Postby 3stagevtec » November 14th, 2010, 12:40 am

wait wait wait, a 6 speed!!! as in 6 forward gears?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 14th, 2010, 1:10 am

daz rigght dude :). the manual has 6 fwd and then reverse.
Speed like whoa, acceleration & power like a space shuttle booster rocket :) :)

Postby 3stagevtec » November 14th, 2010, 1:21 am

right, now we just gotta break in that truck.. time to get a lil mud on it! :P

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 14th, 2010, 2:00 am

LOL!!

But, but... it's so nice and clean... and NEW!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 14th, 2010, 2:34 am

Here we go...

Just picked it up today, at lunchtime.

It's certainly bigger than the Ford Ranger :)

homeboy

Postby homeboy » November 14th, 2010, 3:44 am

Did the Ranger just happen to be parked there?............lol........
Anyweys i see some sleepless nights for you until the tyres get some dog poo poo on it.... :lol: :lol: enjoy....

civic minded

Postby civic minded » November 14th, 2010, 6:14 am

At least upgrade the tires to some 17's or 18's - the stock tires look so small in the wheel well

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 14th, 2010, 7:06 am

Did the Ranger just happen to be parked there?............lol........
Anyweys i see some sleepless nights for you until the tyres get some dog poo poo on it.... :lol: :lol: enjoy....

LOL - I just went into a store for a quick 5 mins, and it appeared out of nowhere!
Gonna christen that thing with a run to Maracas for Bake & shark :D

At least upgrade the tires to some 17's or 18's - the stock tires look so small in the wheel well

True, but they do look pretty good with some meatier tyres, esp. some Maxxis M/T's.

But it real hard to find A/T's for 17-inch, all I getting locally is the same Dunlop H/T and Continental H/T that the locla prado's and fortuners use :( :(

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » November 14th, 2010, 9:01 am

congrats!!!
looks just like mine lol :)
welcome to the neverending cycle of keeping her clean :(

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 14th, 2010, 10:32 am

^^ thanks jhonnie!

Always knew I'd come back to Nissan, heh heh.

We need some more in here man :).

Yeah no scene about keeping her clean, I enjoy washing my truck on a weekend.
I already used to the routine being that the ol' frontier was black too.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » November 14th, 2010, 10:35 am

lighthammer wrote:We need some more in here man :)

it have plenty in here. dey jes doh come out for any runs :roll:

acmilan11

Postby acmilan11 » November 14th, 2010, 11:47 am

lookin good man...all the best with it...

originalbling

Postby originalbling » November 14th, 2010, 12:03 pm

Congrats Lighthammer.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 14th, 2010, 1:20 pm

@ acmilan and original bling :

Thanks dudes. Very happy and a proud owner.

Still had to rub my eyes a little bit this morning before heading out to work, was expecting to see the frontier instead a big shiny Nav'.

Frontier was the family car though - that went back to the parents who were only too glad to have it back :). They approve of the nav' though, my dad esp likes the spray on trayliner.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » November 14th, 2010, 4:41 pm

you could of save some money and weight if you go with the 4x2 instead of the 4x4.
Because it is well known , without modification, the navara is useless in 4x4 conditions.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 14th, 2010, 5:08 pm

civic minded wrote:you could of save some money and weight if you go with the 4x2 instead of the 4x4.
Because it is well known , without modification, the navara is useless in 4x4 conditions.

Without modification... useless you say?
Here you go...

Look a navara flexing for you... in stock condition:

And.... BIIIIGGGGG FIINNIIISSSHHHH!!

Hope you enjoyed it :D 8-) 8-)

8-) 8-) Navara ftw. 8-) 8-)
Last edited by lighthammer on November 14th, 2010, 5:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rooki3 » November 14th, 2010, 5:09 pm

haters gonna hate

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 14th, 2010, 5:29 pm

^^^^ ent??

Aye Jhonnieblue... as a fellow nav-owner...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 14th, 2010, 5:33 pm

Rooki3 wrote:i'll be experiencing this nirvana in a few weeks, ford 4x2 though :lol:

Congrats man, bet yuh can't wait to get the truck, eh? Heheh, I know the feeling :D.
Took me a long time to research everything, do detailed comparisons, compared lending rates, insurance rates, read reviews on all the different trucks, and in the end I think I chose what was right for me.
I'm glad for you and can't wait to see your ford ranger as well ;) ;). You getting a ranger for christmas boy!!!!

What I like about N&M is that they bring stock every month, no having to wait 3-5 months to get a navara in. When I sat with my salesperson, he basically asked "what colour you want?" and I said silver first, which was out of stock, then chose black. By the next day a black Nav' was booked for me in the warehouse, and the waiting period from loan-approval to driving it off the Morvant compound was a matter of days, not weeks or months.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » November 14th, 2010, 6:19 pm

same thing for me, i went in told them i want a black van call the bank and roll out follwoign week with my van
only keep back was gettin the bedliner and rear sensors installed

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”