Diesel Boyz Itinerary 2011

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
bleedingfreak

Diesel Boyz Itinerary 2011

Postby bleedingfreak » January 8th, 2011, 1:38 pm

Listed below are the planned Diesel Boyz runs for 2011.

February 13th or 20th
West Coast and Mid Cross Country

Starting Point: 1) Grand Bazaar or 2) Price Plaza

Route:
Southern Main Road/ Munroe Road, etc through western Chaguanas to Orange Valley and then onto the Temple on the Sea.

We will have a rest stop at the Temple on the Sea.

From Temple on the Sea, to Pt. Lisas (via Orange Valley) then swing back to Gran Couva, then Tabaquite, Rio Claro and ending at Mayaro.

April 3rd or 24th
Brasso Seco Redux!

Starting Point: Trincity Mall

Route:
All out, no detours run to Brasso Seco for another attempt at the trail. Trincity - Arima - Brasso Seco Junction.

This trail may be 4x4 only. This is not a deterrent for 2wd persons, but please be prepared to jump in with someone else.
There are no rest stops until we out of the forest.

This run should end when we come out of the trail and back at Brasso Seco Junction. If time permits, the run may continue to Blanchisseuse or Las Cuevas.

June 5th
Icacos

Staring Point: Pizza Hut, Gulf View

Route:
South and West and South Trunk Road and Southern Main Road to Icacos.

There is usually no detour or offroute on this run. There is a rest stop in Pt. Fortin.
The beach section of this run has been accomplished with 2wd vehicles.

This run officially ends at the beach in Icacos.

July 31st
Chaguanas - Toco (via back roads)

Start Point: Price Plaza.

Route:
South and East along SMR to Todd's Road. East along Todd's Road to Talparo. North and East from Talparo to Guaico. North and East to Toco Lighthouse along the Toco Main Road.

Rest Stops along this run are Sangre Grande and Toco Lighthouse.
This run is mostly on paved road. Detours may be considered, time permitting.

This run end at Salybea Beach in Toco.

September: Tobago
Details are being discussed in a separate thread at this time...

November 20th
Moruga - Quinam.

Starting Point: Pizza Hut / KFC Car Park, Gulf View

Route:
Gulf View to Oropouche, then to Fyzabad and Siparia. Siparia to Quinam Beach. Quinam Beach to Penal. Penal Rock Road to Moruga then to Grand Chemin / La Rufin

There will be a rest stop at Quinam Beach and another at Penal. There is no anticipated need for 4WD unless we end up on the beach in Moruga, as per norm...

This run ends at Matilda Road junction by a certain fireman.

December
End of Year Event

1) Mayaro Beach Run and BBQ or
2) Harry's Water Park / Debe Water Park or
3) Whatever social event you all want.

Assembly times are usually 7:30AM unless otherwise stated, and are WHOLE day events. But you are always welcomed to journey with us at least part of the way, as your time permits.
There will be a NEW Thread for each run that is listed above, which will provide further details of the route, terrain, required gear check, etc.
The thread will be set up usually 3 weeks before an event.
We all live by the laws of the land. Please keep that in mind.
Most of us attend runs with our families, hence we try to promote a family atmosphere within our little group. Thanks for respecting this.

As you were...
Last edited by bleedingfreak on January 9th, 2011, 9:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

venum

Re: Diesel Boyz Itinerary 2011

Postby venum » January 8th, 2011, 5:42 pm

bleedingfreak wrote:
February 13th or 20th

I should make this one

bleedingfreak wrote:April 4th or 20th
Brasso Seco Redux!

I most likely not gonna make this one for multiple reasons, so someone else gonna have to get stuck and be the center of entertainment

my prediction = Lighthammer or Rutless Tiida

having made this run already, I would advise that only the prepared (those equipped with A/T or M/T) attempt the entire trail. street tyres will not fare well at all

bleedingfreak wrote:June 5th
Icacos

I may not make this one either, if I do, I will meet you all on the beach when you get back

bleedingfreak wrote:[b]July 31st
Chaguanas - Toco (via back roads)

we should be there

bleedingfreak wrote:[b]September: Tobago
Details are being discussed in a separate thread at this time...

we should be there

bleedingfreak wrote:[b]November 20th
Moruga - Quinam.

we should be there

bleedingfreak wrote:December
End of Year Event

1) Mayaro Beach Run and BBQ or
2) Harry's Water Park / Debe Water Park or
3) Whatever social event you all want.

We should be there

bleedingfreak wrote:Assembly times are usually 7:30AM unless otherwise stated, and are WHOLE day events. But you are always welcomed to journey with us at least part of the way, as your time permits.
There will be a NEW Thread for each run that is listed above, which will provide further details of the route, terrain, required gear check, etc.
Most of us attend runs with our families, hence we try to promote a family atmosphere within our little group. Thanks for respecting this.

DieselBoyz standing rule = Drivers are NOT allowed to consume alcholol during any part of the run

A few more rules\courtesies

1. There is always a leader in charge of every run - The CEO or Biggy. Compliance to the decisions made by the leader and senior DieselBoyz would be appreciated. There is always a pre-run briefing at the start of the run, all drivers are expected to be in attendance.

2. There is always a navigator\pointman

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » January 8th, 2011, 7:05 pm

venum wrote:
bleedingfreak wrote:Assembly times are usually 7:30AM unless otherwise stated, and are WHOLE day events. But you are always welcomed to journey with us at least part of the way, as your time permits.

DieselBoyz standing rule = Drivers are NOT allowed to consume alcholol during any part of the run

A few more rules\courtesies

1. There is always a leader in charge of every run - The CEO or Biggy. Compliance to the decisions made by the leader and senior DieselBoyz would be appreciated. There is always a pre-run briefing at the start of the run, all drivers are expected to be in attendance.

2. There is always a navigator\pointman

for all those who feel that having a leader in charge of the run is some kinda power trip or pen1s stiffener, think about this. everybody is an expert on what their individual vehicle can do. therefore, everybody will have different opinions on where / how far / when / with who they wanna go when on the run. the leader is there to assess the merit of all opinions and make a judgement call on how to proceed. people will have their families on these runs. . thus, the priority first and foremost is SAFETY . the navigator is the opinion that the leader takes first as he is usually the expert at the route we take.

for those who cannot / will not listen to anyone else, please do not bother to attend

Haunted

Postby Haunted » January 8th, 2011, 7:45 pm

Brasso Seco Redux!

Route:
All out, no detours run to Brasso Seco for another attempt at the trail. Trincity - Arima - Brasso Seco Junction.

This trail may be 4x4 only. This is not a deterrent for 2wd persons, but please be prepared to jump in with someone else.

This run should end when we come out of the trail and back at Brasso Seco Junction. If time permits, the run may continue to Blanchisseuse or Las Cuevas.

i have to wait quite till april for a nice run.....OH GORREEE
doh do me tht =[

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » January 8th, 2011, 8:22 pm

Haunted wrote:
Brasso Seco Redux!

Route:

i have to wait quite till april for a nice run.....OH GORREEE
doh do me tht =[

Rightie... two questions:

1) What you mean a nice run? and
2) Why do you have to wait?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 8th, 2011, 8:33 pm

Finally an itinerary, hooray!

Should be able to make most of those runs, will have to see how the schedule works out for most of the year.

Looking most forward to the Icacos run :).

Good points on the run-leader/navigator - safety first. It's not a power-trip, it's about safety. We all have jobs and lives to go back to the next day, so why not make sure you do make it back and not end up with your van stuck in a ditch somewhere?

Cheers fellas.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 8th, 2011, 8:40 pm

^^^ i thinking the same thing... dat mayaro run soundin like a plan.. never made that drive b4.. Haunted... check out d mini diesel run thread if u wanna go on a run sooner..

Haunted

Postby Haunted » January 8th, 2011, 10:23 pm

well bleedingfreak i said that because its the first run that has this trail maybe 4x4 only....im more into some nice mudding than runs on road and few 4x4

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 8th, 2011, 10:50 pm

well i gues ur just gonna have to wait then... we dont ussually attempt runs which contain any kinda extreame off roading.... and we always make sure we are well prepared to attempt a run if the use is 4x4 is goin to be required... if you look thru my pics on fb u will see pics of the brasso run last year.. which was my 1st run with these guys.. and it was worth the wait.. soo hold out a bit dude... it'll be worth it..

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » January 8th, 2011, 10:56 pm

venum wrote:
bleedingfreak wrote:
February 13th or 20th

I should make this one

Question: With what? :twisted:

I hope to make all those runs...

venum wrote:I most likely not gonna make this one for multiple reasons, so someone else gonna have to get stuck and be the center of entertainment

my prediction = Lighthammer or Rutless Tiida

having made this run already, I would advise that only the prepared (those equipped with A/T or M/T) attempt the entire trail. street tyres will not fare well at all

Why me???
Well unless LH gets his AT tyres in time I think it will be him... :lol: :lol:
Last edited by Rutless Tiida on January 8th, 2011, 11:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Haunted

Postby Haunted » January 8th, 2011, 10:59 pm

i kno i saw the pics thats why i cant wait......i just got my winch and im really excited to use it =]

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » January 8th, 2011, 11:02 pm

^^ I hope you got all the necessary equipment to use the winch properly and safely...

Haunted

Postby Haunted » January 8th, 2011, 11:04 pm

such as?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 8th, 2011, 11:09 pm

lighthammer make sure u get dem tryes b4 the brasso secco run ehh! i goh roll wit u....

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 8th, 2011, 11:11 pm

ohh you got a winch huh! niceee... well i guess u cud be the recovery vehicle then! ford powahh!!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 8th, 2011, 11:19 pm

Rutless Tiida wrote:
venum wrote:
bleedingfreak wrote:
February 13th or 20th

I should make this one

Question: With what? :twisted:

you ent see the 3.2 tri diamond goodness d man get ahwah??

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » January 8th, 2011, 11:22 pm

Minimum safety tips and equipment

tree saver
D-Ring shackles
work gloves
recovery straps
Some thing to place on the winch cable in case it breaks during winching

badart

Postby badart » January 8th, 2011, 11:41 pm

bleedingfreak wrote:Listed below are the planned Diesel Boyz runs for 2011.

April 4th or 20th
Brasso Seco Redux!

Route:

April 4th is a monday
April 20th is a wednesday

i could make it on either day but i dont have A/T or M/T tires

venum

Postby venum » January 9th, 2011, 8:43 am

gentlemen who are new to the brasso seco trail - you need a/t tyres at a minimum

the trail starts 2wd friendly

then gets to 4wd required

ground clearance is required early on

street tyres will get u so far, but not very far

then it get to 4wd, a/t or m/t with ground clearance

there is also 1 turn that is extremely narrow, so fellas with broad vehicles (navara) and tyres extending outside yiur vehicle need to be careful

I am talking about the turn by he waterfall where 323's wheel went off the edge

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » January 9th, 2011, 9:00 am

badart wrote:
bleedingfreak wrote:Listed below are the planned Diesel Boyz runs for 2011.

April 4th or 20th
Brasso Seco Redux!

Route:

April 4th is a monday
April 20th is a wednesday

i could make it on either day but i dont have A/T or M/T tires

I honestly dunno what I was looking at when I typed that... hahah... thanks for the correction

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » January 9th, 2011, 1:27 pm

i have a full recovery kit. will make sure someone has it if i cannot make a run

venum, i feel i gonna stop right where i stop the last time in Brasso....ground clearence really is a b!tch up there

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 9th, 2011, 9:54 pm

i feel i gonna try the trail again.. see if i can reach further... key... momentum... hopefull i will get my front lifted by then... thats what stuck me las time.. the ground clearance..and yes yess i kno the lack of a front diff had alot to do with it also... hmph!

Postby 3stagevtec » January 10th, 2011, 12:25 am

Wouldn't mind playing in Brasso again! I had some issues with ground clearance the last time, hopefully, i'll do better next time through..

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » January 10th, 2011, 12:29 am

what happen to meh picnic !! :);)

Haunted

Postby Haunted » January 10th, 2011, 2:00 am

i rell excited

Cooper

Postby Cooper » January 10th, 2011, 9:23 am

Looks Like I can make a few runs this year. Will try to liaise with my hiking buddies about the Brasso Trail. The heavy rains could have done some damage, so it's understandable that some guys will have a 'ground clearance concern.'

venum

Postby venum » January 10th, 2011, 6:28 pm

^ ^ ^ like how u organized with your spanish speaking lady friends :?:

That will do US no good

Useless

Cooper

Postby Cooper » January 10th, 2011, 8:07 pm

Ahem, it does ME a lot of good... and that's all that matters :twisted:

BTW, I find yuh holding back on the beauty shots of Teri.... you know where to look if yuh want professional pics, just give Wagon a call.

Postby wagon r » January 11th, 2011, 11:46 am

tings look nice for this year.

droppa

Postby droppa » January 11th, 2011, 12:39 pm

alot of real nice runs this year.........

how come last year did not have so much?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”