The new 2012 Toyota Hilux

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
lighthammer

Re: The new 2012 Toyota Hilux

Postby lighthammer » October 18th, 2011, 8:29 am

my truck will come park up next to ur and pee on it.

Lol just kidding - congrats on the buy dude... i just hope you made the right choice for your own personal tastes. I know that most of the other guys here did that (incl myself).

Enjoy the 'yota man, keep on truckin' !

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 18th, 2011, 8:18 pm

decided i'll be going with the original Roll N Lock cover and spray on liner from West Bourne Trading...

Zed Sqd

Postby Zed Sqd » October 18th, 2011, 8:54 pm

Mitch, tell us or you can PM me the details on how much it'll cost you for the spray on and the roll-n-lock. Also, can they install with a bedliner?
Last edited by Zed Sqd on October 21st, 2011, 6:23 am, edited 4 times in total.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 18th, 2011, 9:04 pm

will be calling back Jason from West Bourne tom. to confirm final price so will let u know then

Postby Team Loco » October 19th, 2011, 12:28 am

sweeks wrote:If anyone buying a 2012 and trading up the stock rims for bling, please pm me.

you be the rim whore now?? :lol: :lol:

jpec

Postby jpec » October 19th, 2011, 5:40 pm

lighthammer wrote:waste of money, IMO... but that's my own opinion, others are privy to their own as they like and I respect theirs.

Body cladding and chrome trim as well as other accessories won't have any effect on how your truck will perform, nor its reliability. A blinged-out hilux that's poorly maintained will always be outperformed by one that's well maintained. And unfortunately, trini's have that mentality, that it have to "look good" - looks and ostentatiousness have priority over perfomance.

yeah it's a "hilux", but any well-maintained truck will last years and years. People get caught up in the hype that's artificially created by shows like top gear etc. and adopt opinions as their own personal belief. Remember, once a statement, whether factual or opinion, is repeated enough time by an individual or crowd... it soon becomes believed as truth.

IMO - "Toyota is de most reliable outta dem" - that's because the company is so anal about their aftersales service, typical Japanese thinking (remember that TTTL has a Japanese CEO, not local trini... big difference in mindset there).

One person does something different (eg. buy an expensive, $300K Vigo with all the pretentious and attention-grabbing accessories on it, totes it and shows off) and all the rest will follow like weak-minded sheep and jump on the bandwagon, using all the fake hype and artificially generated social status in a misguided effort to justify their own ego. I don't care who's feathers get ruffled by that statement, that is fact - go take a drive on a friday evening in POS or Sando and see who driving what. (and this isn't because I'm a toyota hater - i'm not - nor because I drive a datsun :P )

Remember, almost all of our local trucks are now made in Thailand, with Thailand-based materials.
Open the bonnet and open the instruction manual - that funny squiggly writing there - it's not japanese, it's Thai.

mr lighthammer....it is my dream that everyone can think and see things like you!
i tell everyone the same thing..any van now well last long once well maintained!-any car for that matter (except maybe the chinese) -- i do have a hilux tho and i LOVE IT TO DEATH...dont mean i hate on any other truck cuz frankly i like them all for something different

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 19th, 2011, 8:13 pm

the 2012 hilux...maska version...

Postby Team Loco » October 19th, 2011, 11:22 pm

the roof rack seems to be poorly fitted. you know, the topic of selling my 04 hilux came up today in a meeting. then it was asked, should it be replaced with the new hilux?

gladly, i get to keep my old hilux.

homeboy

Postby homeboy » October 20th, 2011, 4:26 am

2012 Hilux looks good! BUT i waiting to see the 2012 Ranger in person to confirm the winner...

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » October 20th, 2011, 4:26 am

roof rack looks like the one from the navara.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 20th, 2011, 7:09 am

i think it looked decent...simple and not all the led lights etc

Postby Team Loco » October 20th, 2011, 9:51 am

thats because all the bling lights are illegal and man getting charged like that!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 20th, 2011, 10:22 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:the 2012 hilux...maska version...

Oh no-no-no-no-noooo!
What have they done??
The monsters!!!

I hate when uneducated or ignorant people have too much money and not enough sense.
Yes that is a roof-rack from a Navara.
Of course it won't fit on the damn thing... cuz it's custom made for the Navara.

Stupid customers walk in and say "aye ah wah de roofrack like wha de navara have on top, put it on de hilux for meh.. wha'd de price dey??"
Not trying to look down on anyone - but then they wonder 1 year down the line why the feet not fitting on the roof anymore and the drill-holes starting to get rusty and the paint flaking off.

Sorry if I seem arrogant here but whey boy, ppl not educated or just plain ignant about things like this yes.... throw enough money at something and expect it to work.

Anyway... I'm trying not to discriminate, because in places like the USA, there are actually different categories of trucks - sport/street/bling/offroad/workhorse. Clearly the majority in trinidad are the bling/street type, so it's not fair to discriminate and say which one is better than the other etc.

I just hate when they try to fit different parts from other brands and it don't fit or look flush, and then want to rant and quarrel and bray like donkeys when it doesn't actually work.

*sits down and has a cup of milo to cool off head.*

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 20th, 2011, 10:25 am

ok head cool - the truck actually doesn't look that bad - IMO i personally prefer a more boxy look to a truck (hence i buyed the navararararara).

Once you get over the "omg they put a corolla front on it" part, it doesn't look so bad.
But that twisting feeling in your gut comes back when you see the price though.... eeek!

At least they moving back to the more aggressive and clean look, like the Landcruiser of the early 2000's.

An Ironman or ARB bumper would actually look decent on this model now...

Fender Imports

Postby Fender Imports » October 20th, 2011, 9:30 pm

mitch wrote:will be calling back Jason from West Bourne tom. to confirm final price so will let u know then

Mitch I see u are interested in a retractable Tonneau cover for ur pickup...We are the authorised dealers for Rollbak and Bakflip tray covers,this is a US brand also.So far we have done alot of installs of these covers and we have no problems with them...You can check my post on tuner to pictures and very detailed video links of the Rollbak & Bakflip cover.Both covers could be installed with a bedliner,so if anyone else tells u otherwise they are just trying to hood wink u into believing it can't...We hav the Rollbak cover for $9,500 installed with 2 yrs warranty opposed to Roll n lock cover which is around $13,000 after VAT :? and d Bakflip cover is $8,500 installed with 1 yr warranty,so u hav an option to choose with us...plus I would give u a lil discount on either cover ur interested in...So feel free to call me if ur interested...I would glad to give u all d info u need about our covers.

Thanks,
Fender Imports
Contact#766-5071

badart

Postby badart » October 24th, 2011, 11:04 pm

badart

Postby badart » October 24th, 2011, 11:13 pm

:twisted:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 25th, 2011, 5:05 am

Very cool ads

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » October 31st, 2011, 8:41 am

Toyota has done it again!!! Same body with a face lift and just hike up the price by a 40K im sure

just like the new corolla , same body/engine/interior but a simple facelift and prices went from 180 to 220 :D

Postby equipped2ripp » October 31st, 2011, 11:15 am

actually it's the same price.

the fully loaded 4X4 3.0 automatic with leather (without VSC/CC) is $291K.

Postby Team Loco » October 31st, 2011, 12:18 pm

if TTTL were smart, they would use the second vid for TV promo.

now i still not liking the front too much, but with the headlight shape and aggressive grille, this would look good with a simple additional front bumper lip

badart

Postby badart » October 31st, 2011, 1:39 pm

Pics i took some time ago

Reverse cameras standard with 4x4 auto's

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 31st, 2011, 6:09 pm

my Hilux has landed :mrgreen:

civic minded

The new 2012 Toyota Hilux

Postby civic minded » October 31st, 2011, 6:23 pm

Anyone try out the handsfree system in the new hilux?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 31st, 2011, 10:37 pm

i like the interior - have a executive look to it.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 1st, 2011, 10:34 am

civic minded wrote:i like the interior - have a executive look to it.

Extremely so!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 1st, 2011, 10:40 am

Yes, but will itmudd?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » November 1st, 2011, 9:49 pm

^^dude you dont buy that to go in the mud - you buy that to hit the town, go for a night out

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 2nd, 2011, 1:43 pm

some more pictures..taken from this site

http://www.trinidad-cars.com/Trinidad-C ... /2011.html

hot-tie00

Postby hot-tie00 » November 3rd, 2011, 9:02 pm

AAron like u buying a hilux or wat? i see u well posting pics and ting...niceeeeeeee

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”