The new 2012 Toyota Hilux

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
sweeks

Re: The new 2012 Toyota Hilux

Postby sweeks » October 8th, 2011, 1:52 am

TL it's public knowledge that you're a Hilux whore.

Seriously though the Hilux isn't what it use to be. Definitely not as durable but a lot more comfortable. Still a good 4*4 nonetheless but it can't compare to the old school lux ESP when off-road.

What hurts is the cost of maintenance at the dealership. Very steep on the average Joe's pocket but must done in order to maintain the warranty. 10 years ago Toyota built vehicles that didn't need warranties.

As the cost of production decreases, the purchase cost increases. Only in a third world developing nation would you find that. Then again, once a third world developing nation, always a third world developing nation.

Postby Team Loco » October 8th, 2011, 7:51 am

i be the hilux whore with one hilux that isnt even mine. you be the person with two hilux..........= whorex2 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;)

Postby sliderz1 » October 8th, 2011, 8:35 am

lighthammer wrote:I could outfit my Navara with Mud tyres, 3-inch lift kit, ARB front bumper & winch, ARB rear bumper, Safari Snorkel, ARB air-locker for BOTH front & back and upgrade my stereo for less than the price of that fully loaded auto hilux.

Plus I'd still have lots of change to spare to buy the wife a nice pair of garden boots so she can come play in the mud too.

well said IMO

but the same can be said abt Ranger/Bt-50/D-Max/Colorado/ vs the Navara---->Hilux

and not forgetting the Wingle :lol: :lol:

they probably dont have near rank or comfort as Nissans or Toyotas but have done pretty well in our local market esp Ford/Mazda combo

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 8th, 2011, 11:58 pm

^^ yup

agreed x2.

Postby Team Loco » October 9th, 2011, 7:22 am

sliderz1 wrote:
lighthammer wrote:I could outfit my Navara with Mud tyres, 3-inch lift kit, ARB front bumper & winch, ARB rear bumper, Safari Snorkel, ARB air-locker for BOTH front & back and upgrade my stereo for less than the price of that fully loaded auto hilux.

Plus I'd still have lots of change to spare to buy the wife a nice pair of garden boots so she can come play in the mud too.

well said IMO

but the same can be said abt Ranger/Bt-50/D-Max/Colorado/ vs the Navara---->Hilux

and not forgetting the Wingle :lol: :lol:

they probably dont have near rank or comfort as Nissans or Toyotas but have done pretty well in our local market esp Ford/Mazda combo

yuh lie, them garden boots is for your to plant garden so you could on the side of the road to pay off for the navara ; )

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 9th, 2011, 8:15 am

but fellas that equation will change come 2012 where basically the Ford will be same price as the Hilux and the Navara might be slightly cheaper....good news for current owners that your existing van appreciated in value.... :)

Postby sliderz1 » October 9th, 2011, 11:15 am

^^tru........ seems the only manufacturer not updating is Nissan
and apparantly there's a 2012 D-Max comin out as well
viewtopic.php?f=25&t=399612&p=5704489#p5704489
Wingle for it!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 9th, 2011, 5:42 pm

sliderz1 wrote:^^tru........ seems the only manufacturer not updating is Nissan
and apparantly there's a 2012 D-Max comin out as well
viewtopic.php?f=25&t=399612&p=5704489#p5704489
Wingle for it!

on the contrary, my esteemed and learned colleague....

There isn't a new model coming to trinidad yet, besides a small facelift.

However, there is a new model 2011 Navara STX in the UK that has 3.0L V6 Turbocharged diesel, with a 7-speed automatic. Power specs: 220HP, 550NM torque (more than the new 3.5L ranger that has only 470Nm torque).

And the ECU and gearboxes have been retuned... so you get the full 550NM torque at only 1150RPM.

Yup.
That's right.

Read all about it here....

I will willingly give 2/3rds of my blood to own one of those beasts.

(ok maybe less than 2/3rds.... that might be important...)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 9th, 2011, 5:53 pm

Team Loco wrote:

yuh lie, them garden boots is for your to plant garden so you could on the side of the road to pay off for the navara ; )

Nah man, i using de same navara to haul dem dasheen and yam to de market by macoya dey!! :MRGREEN:

Havoc

Postby Havoc » October 10th, 2011, 2:00 pm

manufacturers launch a new model for each vehicle on a yearly basis to keep consumers wanting to upgrade, evn if it's jus minor differences......the firms in trini jus don't bring them in as often, usually change models evry couple yrs

that's y ppl in d US refer to vehicles by the yr they were made and not by d engine # as we do in trinidad

Zed Sqd

Postby Zed Sqd » October 15th, 2011, 7:04 pm

Took a look at them today. The new grey interior option is very attractive indeed, but the beige option is also available again. Too bad the prices are just out of my reach. I may have to settle for the 2009-2011 models (i blame my parents for dis..they shudda let me play football in school).
4x4 AT fabric @$274,000, 4x4 AT leather @$291,000. First shipment sold out and due this month. New orders typically take 2 months.

The 4x2 AT look-alike, he called it the Prerunner (salesppl :roll:) is @$234,500. Looks just like the 4x4 high model but with the stereo controls on the steering wheel. All models come with 2 small tool pockets under the rear seats, but the back seat can't fold down. The 4x2 models come with these controls on the steering wheel but it's not an option with the "fully loaded" 4x4s :?.He said that the models they bring do not come with VSC :? - somebody confirm this. I didn't see any rust proofing either.

I observed on the 2012 models that there was slight corrosion along the welds of the ladder frame from looking at it at the rear wheel arch, and the paint was coming off along the weld filler to metal boundary. A sign that these joints may not be as strong as they should later on. I own an old model Hilux, but maybe you guys who have models after 2005 can comment on this. Is it normal? If you checking them out, look out for this and let us know.
Last edited by Zed Sqd on October 15th, 2011, 9:42 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » October 15th, 2011, 7:49 pm

the Hilux Prerunner is available down here?

Zed Sqd

Postby Zed Sqd » October 15th, 2011, 8:34 pm

When he said that I was thinking "You sure you know what you talkin bout dawg?". They didn't even have brochures. He was looking at it on the net (I think he got confused by what he saw) and telling me about it.
As always, all the models for their respective year have the same body style. 2012s have the same 2.5 and 3.0 engines as the ones before.
Last edited by Zed Sqd on October 15th, 2011, 8:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

capstar

Postby capstar » October 15th, 2011, 8:42 pm

4x4 leather @$291,000. without VSC? they cud keep that :S

Postby equipped2ripp » October 15th, 2011, 9:58 pm

but that was the price before without CC and VSC... with CC and VSC it was $315K.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 16th, 2011, 6:24 am

maska: 4x4 fully loaded,rims etc $330 + vat

Swisha

Re: Re: The new 2012 Toyota Hilux

Postby Swisha » October 16th, 2011, 8:16 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:maska: 4x4 fully loaded,rims etc $330 + vat

do the ones at maska come with the usual accessories like the sportlid+roll bars and the grill guard?

In other words, would the current set of accessories work on the 2012 model since it's basically a facelift?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 16th, 2011, 10:32 pm

dont think all of of them mitch - remember the grill is a little different and the bonnet is different so the chrome inlets might not work neither the bug shield. Chrome mirrors should work
Body cladding should be fine and the luggage carrier for the roof.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 16th, 2011, 10:46 pm

waste of money, IMO... but that's my own opinion, others are privy to their own as they like and I respect theirs.

Body cladding and chrome trim as well as other accessories won't have any effect on how your truck will perform, nor its reliability. A blinged-out hilux that's poorly maintained will always be outperformed by one that's well maintained. And unfortunately, trini's have that mentality, that it have to "look good" - looks and ostentatiousness have priority over perfomance.

yeah it's a "hilux", but any well-maintained truck will last years and years. People get caught up in the hype that's artificially created by shows like top gear etc. and adopt opinions as their own personal belief. Remember, once a statement, whether factual or opinion, is repeated enough time by an individual or crowd... it soon becomes believed as truth.

IMO - "Toyota is de most reliable outta dem" - that's because the company is so anal about their aftersales service, typical Japanese thinking (remember that TTTL has a Japanese CEO, not local trini... big difference in mindset there).

One person does something different (eg. buy an expensive, $300K Vigo with all the pretentious and attention-grabbing accessories on it, totes it and shows off) and all the rest will follow like weak-minded sheep and jump on the bandwagon, using all the fake hype and artificially generated social status in a misguided effort to justify their own ego. I don't care who's feathers get ruffled by that statement, that is fact - go take a drive on a friday evening in POS or Sando and see who driving what. (and this isn't because I'm a toyota hater - i'm not - nor because I drive a datsun :P )

Remember, almost all of our local trucks are now made in Thailand, with Thailand-based materials.
Open the bonnet and open the instruction manual - that funny squiggly writing there - it's not japanese, it's Thai.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 16th, 2011, 11:48 pm

only interested in the tray cover and grill guard. dont care for the chrome accessories and spaceship lights.

so if the current grill guard cant work, at least the sport lid+roll bars shouldnt be a problem right?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 17th, 2011, 5:44 am

If anyone buying a 2012 and trading up the stock rims for bling, please pm me.

Zed Sqd

Postby Zed Sqd » October 17th, 2011, 6:53 am

Mitch like yuh switchin or wha?
I find the new rims resemble the L200's. The previous models were better.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 17th, 2011, 7:08 am

yeah Z, civic done sell. waiting on the 4x4 AT from Toyota...

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 17th, 2011, 10:25 am

^^congrats dude!! i dont think they change the tray so you should be safe with the sport lid - let us know how much your paying in insurance.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 17th, 2011, 4:21 pm

got quotes so far between 11k - 12k

funny thing is i'm getting the most discounts with Colfire and they're still more expensive than Guardian General and Sagicor :|

hot-tie00

Postby hot-tie00 » October 17th, 2011, 9:20 pm

please "civic- minded", there is no logical reason to choose a RANGER over a NAVARA or a HILUX.....none at all, stop fooling urself nah!!!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 17th, 2011, 10:40 pm

i am not fooling myself, Hilux and Navaras are the best on the planet... they are the besty best best best best offff alllll the vans , ohh my god, i will die if i dont buy a new Hilux ,OHH MYY GOD!!!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 17th, 2011, 10:42 pm

i cant wait to go to toyota to get kicked in my arse!!! ohh god i cant wait!!!i want a HILUX nowwwowwowowowowowwo!!!!

Havoc

Postby Havoc » October 18th, 2011, 7:13 am

weyyyyy!! civic bwoy yuh rel excited for dat new hilux oui
don't knw hw som1 cud survive in life witout owning a legendary hilux na, caus evry other pickup on d road is horse-sh!t!!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 18th, 2011, 8:04 am

^^ent??!!!

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”