Returned to the dark side...

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Postby AllTrac » October 13th, 2011, 7:49 pm

5th Diesel Vehicle :mrgreen:

some quick phone cam pics, not high quality

Toyota Hilux SR5
3lt Turbo Diesel 5 forward 4x4

Cooper

Re: Returned to the dark side...

Postby Cooper » October 13th, 2011, 8:06 pm

SR5 looking sweet! I think it's the best model out of all the HiLux trucks that were ever built :!:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 13th, 2011, 8:18 pm

Niceeeee, congrats dude!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 13th, 2011, 10:13 pm

now you need to start playing in some mud

Havoc

Postby Havoc » October 14th, 2011, 8:43 am

i was gonna buy that truck, but wen i heard the truck's background and it's mileage i changed my mind.....looks relly gd tho congrats on the purchase dude!

Postby AllTrac » October 14th, 2011, 9:03 am

:lol: :lol: :lol: people always "hearing" stuff :lol: my advise, go drive it for yourself and see and thats what i did, the lux drove like a champ, the mileage didnt bother me one bit because the engine was changed about a year and a half ago and its a hilux, 2nd day on it and it starts up in a heart beat, was in traffic yesterday for 3 hours cause of the accident, check it this morning, no oil loss and water levels steady. Its by no means a brand new vehicle, and i didnt go to purchase it thinking it was brand new, so yea it could do with ah lil shock oil and injector clean out, but im happy with it :mrgreen: im also glad he used the 4x4 range often cause it clicks in without hesitation.

droppa

Postby droppa » October 14th, 2011, 10:45 am

^^hoss i know u is ah man know ah Yota inside out and wont buy crap....

so i wont even bother to say "nice buy...."

i would rather say, "lets get it muddy and see how she performs on the outside....."

these suppose to have rear LSD, not so?

is that a TL rear bumper?
i know i've seen this van before......

Postby AllTrac » October 14th, 2011, 11:02 am

hey droppa, yes i checked it out fully. Yup its lsd, saw the sicker on the diff. Will have it playing in the mud soon.

Pm me your number, i want to go over a couple things with you since u 1kz powered.

droppa

Postby droppa » October 14th, 2011, 2:10 pm

pm sent...

ah rel like the 1KZ boi, it cud take ah beating.....
jus cudda be ah lil more fuel efficient, buh ah go live with dat.....
u mite have better cuz u running box.....

Havoc

Postby Havoc » October 14th, 2011, 6:41 pm

no reason to get all defensive dude! when i say i "heard" i mean i spoke to the owner and "heard" that it was used as a contractor vehicle at job sites.....i'm sry but i personally don't trust vehicles comin frm that kinda background(my last vehicle was a contractor vehicle as well)
worst yet the engine changed, only the Lord above knows that vehicle's tru mileage

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 14th, 2011, 9:29 pm

well i told Alltrac, get a reliable diesel mechanic and do a 100point check on it and cover everything. Even - take it to JamesSureshot and have him do a thorough check. Once it pass - you good to go. These model Hilux can take a serious beating and ready to play again.. Good buy dude!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 14th, 2011, 11:03 pm

honestly, I don't care how old a truck is - once all the moving parts that would be expected to suffer wear and tear are in good condition and there's a supply of parts available, I say it's a good buy.

This applies to all trucks eh, not just the SR5 hilux.

Good example, my dad's K34 L200... 1996 model, a 15 year old truck and 296,000km on the odo, original engine. Still pulling strong, I sure it could give my navara a good pull in low-range 4wd mode if we tried.

Forget what people "say"... one donkey could say something off the top of his head about a truck and it's reputation, then others will simply parrot it off and repeat it enough times till they believe it to be truth (though real-life facts may prove otherwise).

Good buy there alltrac, I just hope everything that needs replacing will be replaced/repaired/maintained.

homeboy

Postby homeboy » October 15th, 2011, 12:22 am

Looks good.....congrats!

rottedv

Postby rottedv » October 15th, 2011, 7:11 am

Mud time again!!!! Trac.....leh we move Diablo!!!!

Postby AllTrac » October 15th, 2011, 9:09 am

Havoc wrote:no reason to get all defensive dude! when i say i "heard" i mean i spoke to the owner and "heard" that it was used as a contractor vehicle at job sites.....i'm sry but i personally don't trust vehicles comin frm that kinda background(my last vehicle was a contractor vehicle as well)
worst yet the engine changed, only the Lord above knows that vehicle's tru mileage

haha not getting defensive bro, im good :) my thing is people always have something to say, i make my decisions on actually driving the vehicle.
Im just saying that you really cant base a condition on a vehicle and engine on it being a "contractor vehicle". As i said, this is my 5th diesel, i know my way around them. I tell everyone who is going to get a diesel, always remember, especially when it comes ot pickups, people buy them to do work, not just the regular work commute (well not until the vigo came out lol) anyway, those who bought the older model was for the purpose of hard work. SO with that in mind i did my check and also drove it, engage 4wd etc. My first frontier was a 2.5 diesel turbo, it had 80k km on it, it was my 2nd diesel vehicle and i get take bad, i looked at mileage alone and it being owned by an elderly person, bought it. Couple weeks after it was back pressuring really bad. 2nd frontier was a 4x4, doing 120k km, guy had a pottery business, so it was used to transport, but he loved his van and took care of it. I added 70-80k km on it and sold it, still see it going strong. Buying a used vehicle is really a hit and miss situation but test driving it and doing the checks can increase your odds. I have no doubt this SR5 would give me lots of life, its not new and im a hands on type of guy so i dont mind doing the small repairs I get to know my vehicle better, but so far my judgement was correct.

Postby AllTrac » October 15th, 2011, 9:19 am

btw, thanks all for the comments. Some here might know I normally dont keep a vehicle long, I buy, have some fun, sell and move on to another one. Lets see how long I hold out, but so far im truly in love with this hilux.

lighthammer, thanks for the input, i have already decided to do the timing belt and oil change etc month end, the previous owner told me he did it already, but its really for peace of mind and i do this on all cars regardless.

Postby AllTrac » October 15th, 2011, 9:21 am

rottedv wrote:Mud time again!!!! Trac.....leh we move Diablo!!!!

dont have much hours under meh belt when it comes to mud eh, just a few here and there, most of it was spent me getting pulled out lol :lol: but ill try to make de run, hopefully this time i wont have to flag down a backhoe :lol:

Havoc

Postby Havoc » October 15th, 2011, 4:25 pm

hey, once ur happy wit it u go strong brotha!!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 15th, 2011, 4:37 pm

Alltrac , get some good tires, my bro is bringing in a shipment of Bf goodridge - get a set for your van, very good a/t tire

---
I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=10.534313,-61.406052

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 15th, 2011, 5:27 pm

alltrac - we'd love to have you on a side-b run man, please feel free to come along anytime you want, you're always welcome. We'll save a spot for you on our convoy :)

Ad dont worry if you get stick, we have plenty recovery gear!

droppa

Postby droppa » October 15th, 2011, 7:01 pm

trac what tires are those on rite now???

u doin belts and fluids?

OEM, TTTL, or Substitute, i got a gates TB at automot9ive on charles st, good so far and excellent price, took off a SUN, was getting dat by kawal, A1 and TTTL,

AUSCO have all the belts, what i really want is a 72 deg thermo......

u sound like a guy who know a couple spanners, so u DIY, or goin by mech, me and a padna did mine, 1st 1KZ we ever open, start in one after.....hardest thing is the tensioner

check dis...
http://www.dieseltoyz.com/timing%20belt%20how%20to.html

Postby AllTrac » October 17th, 2011, 3:42 pm

Droppa, they are roadstone A/T 31's

I would change the fluids myself, but the Timing belt I would leave it to my mech as he has the tools and time, Ive had good experiences with Gates, gates makes timing belts for Greddy and then it is rebranded. So if i cant get the OEM belt, ill go with the Gates.
I want the lower temp thermostat also, might order it online.

lighthammer, thanks for the invite, ill try my best to make it, i getting tie down soon so i need to submit papers and thing now lol

droppa

Postby droppa » October 17th, 2011, 10:54 pm

aye link me if you getting the lower temp stat nah, or if u can share a link where sells it

i asked sweeks, but his supplier did not have last time he checked....

Postby AllTrac » October 18th, 2011, 12:30 pm

no prob droppa as soon as i get confirmation ill let you know

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 19th, 2011, 9:41 pm

Enjoy the lux....
Keep her cool always and change the timing belt (oem).

It's a old school Yota ....built to last.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 20th, 2011, 10:17 am

^^ yup, as compared to new-school trucks (not just 'yota) - "Built to Sell"

Postby AllTrac » October 23rd, 2011, 9:51 am

lighthammer wrote:^^ yup, as compared to new-school trucks (not just 'yota) - "Built to Sell"

Val

Postby Val » October 23rd, 2011, 12:37 pm

Can't you get the belts at ESWIL?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 23rd, 2011, 8:21 pm

I have Oem timing belt for the 1kzte remaining. Pm if interested.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » October 23rd, 2011, 9:08 pm

I really like this Hilux.. Glad to see another Old School in the Mix.... Hope to see it in person soon.... I myself dont keep vehicles very long but I am in love with the one i have now... Don't think i will be letting go anytime soon... These are a whole different level of Hilux... Love it badd.... Take some photos when you doing the work on her so we can see how it comes along... Have fun...

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”