Finally got my 4x4

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
trinibajan34

Finally got my 4x4

Postby trinibajan34 » March 20th, 2012, 4:27 pm

Yes today is a great day . got my first 4x4 pickup and it feels good. now i can actually go on a sibe b run :P . Alyuh know de van already , so i aint bothering to post pictures. In case alyuh guessing who's own ,its a blue ranger ,with armour done by TL.

Re: Finally got my 4x4

Postby Team Loco » March 20th, 2012, 4:35 pm

Lovely! You made a good choice. We all know wago cared for her, no matter "it will wash when it rains" motto. Enjoy the armour. Lil warning, you may be tempted to move small cars in your path. I accept no responsibilty for this

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 20th, 2012, 4:35 pm

congrats dude - wonder what wagonR gonna buy?...humm

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 20th, 2012, 5:30 pm

thanks guys ,loving the mileage ,diesel ftw. wago told me what he gonna buy but thats for him to say.

venum

Postby venum » March 20th, 2012, 7:19 pm

Gongrats Dude,

We know you've been waiting a long time and now u have one to call your own

U made a good choice, albeit a dirty one

That TL armour will also make it invinsible

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 20th, 2012, 9:43 pm

Man i was tempted to use that armour today but resisted

Postby Team Loco » March 20th, 2012, 9:51 pm

You know you gotta reinstall some kc daylighters

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 20th, 2012, 10:52 pm

^^^ yeah that plan in the making

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 21st, 2012, 12:39 am

congrats and take good care of that truck, it deserves a good home!

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 21st, 2012, 8:10 am

Glad to know that another tuner got the truck :!:

.... waiting patiently to see what Gerry upgrades to

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 21st, 2012, 12:40 pm

well its not a hilux i can tell you that

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 21st, 2012, 10:57 pm

Mahindra???

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 22nd, 2012, 5:03 am

lighthammer wrote:Mahindra???

:shock: :lol: ROFL

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 22nd, 2012, 9:47 am

venum

Postby venum » March 22nd, 2012, 7:33 pm

Fleck KC, PIAA FTW

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » March 22nd, 2012, 11:54 pm

Mahindra looks good. Any one knows some who bought one? any reviews?

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » March 23rd, 2012, 12:27 am

So i did not want to start a thread but would like to know if any one ever bought or had dealings with the person who sells vans in marabella his number in always in the express ads, 658-4712.
Any info. or heads up is appreciated via pm if necessary.

venum

Postby venum » March 24th, 2012, 8:00 pm

Heads UP - STAY AWAY

I went by him years ago when I was looking for my first L200

he has a few vehicles at any time, but is the epitome of the TV a used car salesman

several of his vehicles were repaired crash vehicles - bad crashes

they seemed well repaired, but not to be trusted as the chassis condition would be questionable

he usually buys fleet sell-offs

prices are too high as well

the man's wife even made a sales pitch, swearing by how good a particular L200 was

Avoid, I say

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » March 24th, 2012, 8:15 pm

Many thanks bro!

sweeks

Postby sweeks » March 24th, 2012, 10:10 pm

Trinibajan congrats ... About time eh .... look out for overheating

Sniper you got good advice there. I went once and never went back.

Postby 3stagevtec » March 24th, 2012, 10:30 pm

Imagine that.. Congrats on the purchase!

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 25th, 2012, 2:05 am

sweeks wrote:Trinibajan congrats ... About time eh .... look out for overheating

thanks sweeks you of all ppl should know how long i trying to earn a pickup , so far no issues (knock on wood) i look forward to driving that pickup everyday since i got it. i feel like a kid with new toy. keeping a very close eye on that temp gauge. so far it good.

Postby 3stagevtec » March 25th, 2012, 7:25 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:
sweeks wrote:Trinibajan congrats ... About time eh .... look out for overheating

thanks sweeks you of all ppl should know how long i trying to earn a pickup , so far no issues (knock on wood) i look forward to driving that pickup everyday since i got it. i feel like a kid with new toy. keeping a very close eye on that temp gauge. so far it good.

Flush the cooling system and change the thermostat as you get the chance.. Use a 30% coolant - 70% water mix and a good coolant, from Shell or Castrol etc..

Add a water surfactant too, but NOT the redline product. Don't take any chances with that engine, do the right maintenance early. We have the same engine and it's running strong still

Postby wagonrunner » March 25th, 2012, 7:30 pm

so coolant out the bottle isn't recommended?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 26th, 2012, 8:05 am

???? that confuse me as well - thought you just add the coolant straight from the bottle - no mixture.

droppa

Postby droppa » March 26th, 2012, 10:37 am

good buy trinibajan, u will enjoy that jeep!!!!!

as for coolant use as per vehicle required specific coolant

or else check your manual...

seeing as is a used jeep u bought form a man who was known to take good care of it, u should go on his advice, if the man say he using water and that was working good, use water, you know what i mean...

one thing i would advise any used diesel owner, esp used wlt's, is to install a good external temperature gauge, sometime wiring and dash readings can take a while to respond, and that lil 2mins can cost a new head or engine...

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 26th, 2012, 12:18 pm

droppa noted

Postby wagon r » March 26th, 2012, 12:38 pm

^ i have 2 bottles of that home if yuh want. 1 never opened, the other prob. used 1/3 to top up bottle.

Postby 3stagevtec » March 26th, 2012, 3:16 pm

wagonrunner wrote:so coolant out the bottle isn't recommended?

That is pre mixed, I was really referring to the concentrate + water.. Coolant (or anti freeze) has a lower specific heat capacity than water, so it does not cool as well.

Coolant increases the boiling point of water + adds lubrication to the water pump and adds rust inhibitors. Using too much coolant (like above a 50/50 mix) can decrease the efficiency of your cooling system.

We don't need the 50/50 mix for our climate because there is zero possibility of freezing. That is why I recommended the 30/70 (coolant/water) ratio.. Some even recommend a 20/80 mix, but I choose the 30/70 for the extra rust protection..

Personally I'd strongly recommend you mix your own coolant / water as you can get the ratio to better suit our hot climate.

(Note, do NOT use distilled water if you are going to use a water surfactant, like the amsoil dominator coolant boost. All manufacturers of water surfactants recommend to use regular (bottled) drinking water.)

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 26th, 2012, 4:10 pm

i am hearing some adds about a mahindra scorpion pickup 4x4 that Lifestyle is bringing down, maybe i should pop in and check it out.

saw some pictures online and damn for an Indian pickup - this thing is ugly;
http://www.wheels24.co.za/NewModels/Wor ... p-20060418

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”