suspension noise

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
ranger

suspension noise

Postby ranger » April 13th, 2012, 10:23 pm

help needed, i'm hearing a knocking sound coming from my front suspension(2010 ranger) had it checked by quite a few reputable persons including the firm.....nobody found anything wrong but the knock continues. bushings, ends, ball joints, torsion bars....everything checked, lubricated and tightened.....anyone encounter this before....any advice/suggestions????

lighthammer

Re: suspension noise

Postby lighthammer » April 14th, 2012, 12:21 am

describe how the knock comes about - i.e. when and how does the knock occur? Where does it come from? How often?

Postby 3stagevtec » April 14th, 2012, 1:41 am

Is your alignment staying in tact or is the vehicle skidding easily on corners?

ranger

Postby ranger » April 14th, 2012, 10:13 am

it happens when i cross a hump, sometimes not all the time when i corner at full lock(not the turn stop noise), during up and down movement of the suspension....however driving fast through rough roads you hear nothing....suspension is solid apart from this noise, no steering issues, no alignment issues, no tyre issues, no handling issues

ranger

Postby ranger » April 14th, 2012, 10:14 am

oh and it comes from the front on both sides left and right

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 14th, 2012, 12:00 pm

are your pitman arms and sway bars good? What about the velocity joint bushings?

Postby 3stagevtec » April 14th, 2012, 2:45 pm

lighthammer wrote:are your pitman arms and sway bars good? What about the velocity joint bushings?

huh!? Those don't have bushings yo!

Check the sway bar links and bushings.

Is it a metal impacting metal sound? or metal rubbing against metal sound?

Cooper

Postby Cooper » April 14th, 2012, 6:58 pm

ranger wrote:it happens when i cross a hump, sometimes not all the time when i corner at full lock(not the turn stop noise), during up and down movement of the suspension....however driving fast through rough roads you hear nothing....suspension is solid apart from this noise, no steering issues, no alignment issues, no tyre issues, no handling issues

Had a similar problem when my ranger was new. I was told that it's the torsion bars that are making the noise. Take it back to the firm and have them do a full lube job on the front suspension. Please note that it WILL take some time for the grease to settle into the joints, so you may have the problem for a couple more weeks... or it depends on how much you drive your truck and where.

When I was informed that the grease had to settle into the joints, I used to take a 'quick' detour through a rough road every evening on my way home from work to "exercise the suspension." 8-)

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 14th, 2012, 10:48 pm

Sounds like torsion bars to me.

venum

Postby venum » April 15th, 2012, 1:01 am

are you sure that it is the front that is making the noise :?:

wheelnuts tightened :?:

ranger

Postby ranger » April 15th, 2012, 6:49 pm

pitman arm and sway bars good, links and rubbers good, i did take it back to the firm they did apply grease but i've always kept my unit well lubricated so i don't think its a lubrication issue and my suspension get regular exercise, wheel nuts checked also and yes i'm sure it coming from d front.
its a metal sound, somewhat like a slack bolt that moves when the suspension moves making "tocks" sound. nothing slack was found though.....and like i say had some reputable persons check it out.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » April 16th, 2012, 8:58 am

It is usually the front part of the torsion bars (where they connect to the front cradle arms) that makes the noise. There should be some grease packed around that joint where the bar itself connects to the mount. If that is already packed with grease, you should be good to go until the grease can work its way into the joint.

BTW, did you do an underwash sometime before the noise started?.... sometimes the guys at the wash bay will take out this grease and they might hold the nozzle of the pressure washer on the joint too long, which will force water into the joint resulting in suspension noise.

ranger

Postby ranger » April 16th, 2012, 10:11 am

no underwash done, but i'll recheck to see if that area is properly greased...thanks

ranger

Postby ranger » April 17th, 2012, 9:04 am

yup..torsion bars properly greased

ranger

Postby ranger » April 26th, 2012, 10:35 pm

any more advice on this peeps....noise still there

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 27th, 2012, 8:25 am

are your bump stops good?

ranger

Postby ranger » April 27th, 2012, 10:16 am

yup...bump stops good

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 27th, 2012, 1:14 pm

have you checked your indicator fluid levels?
Also make sure that the conflagulator is fully topped up.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » April 27th, 2012, 4:10 pm

i was sure Cooper's recommendation would have solved the problem :?
and lol @ lighthammer, that's the spirit, when it doubt, make sheit up :lol:
OP you sure you or someone ent beatout a baddis in your truck? :lol:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 28th, 2012, 8:43 am

were you and a lady friend recently testing the suspension of the ranger?
Cuz u know in those kinds of moments, all kinds of sounds can suddenly get REAL loud, esp when you want things to be quiet....

jus' sayin bro...

ranger

Postby ranger » April 30th, 2012, 11:12 am

allyuh fellas iz kicks yes...

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”