Asking any and everything about frontier - HELP / ADVICE

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Havoc

Re: Asking any and everything about frontier - HELP / ADVICE

Postby Havoc » September 30th, 2014, 6:52 pm

x2 on kyb gas-a-jus

Paid $250ea by maruud in marabella bout 2yrs ago and they've held up well so far, jus don't expect miracles frontiers don't ride tht gd to begin with

Postby Ted_v2 » September 30th, 2014, 6:56 pm

Its too bouncy.

Anyone ever solved that problem? Very much a bulletproof van that's my only problem with them.

Black Scorpion

Postby Black Scorpion » September 30th, 2014, 10:22 pm

Put 275-70-16 tyres especially BF Goodrich because its hard. Never got any bounce but i have the 4x2. Those other brands are (way) softer rubber.

The 4x4s are much less comfortable, but the ride from mine is quite fine to be honest.

Also have that same KYB Shock in front, not bad i guess, no complaints.

Details

Postby Details » October 1st, 2014, 6:48 am

Details wrote:Any one ever had to change the head on their frontier due to an overheating problem with the vehicle. .. ?

It's the 4x4 zd30 model btw

Postby sliderz1 » October 1st, 2014, 8:31 am

make sure your cooling system functiioning fine before

Details

Postby Details » October 8th, 2014, 7:45 pm

Fellas I need your help... see the item circle off in the pic the 2 lines ? What is the proper name for said item and where could I get to purchase it?
1412811852220.jpg

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » October 9th, 2014, 10:49 am

Details wrote:Fellas I need your help... see the item circle off in the pic the 2 lines ? What is the proper name for said item and where could I get to purchase it?

Those lines are there to recirculate hot water inside the vehicle to the heater core for you to get hot air inside the van via the a/c controls. If they are leaking you can simply put end caps on them.

ramdeo

Postby ramdeo » October 9th, 2014, 11:35 am

Frontier is one of the better pickups on the road in terms of durability. suspension parts rarely give trouble. price of parts very reasonable and available.

Postby sliderz1 » October 9th, 2014, 11:44 am

cressida_override wrote:
Details wrote:Fellas I need your help... see the item circle off in the pic the 2 lines ? What is the proper name for said item and where could I get to purchase it?

Those lines are there to recirculate hot water inside the vehicle to the heater core for you to get hot air inside the van via the a/c controls. If they are leaking you can simply put end caps on them.

some aluminum welding should do the trick

Details

Postby Details » October 9th, 2014, 2:53 pm

sliderz1 wrote:
cressida_override wrote:

some aluminum welding should do the trick

Thanks Fellas who you guys suggest I go by to get the welding done? You think a/c technician could handle something like that ? I were to change it altogether you think the motorist would have said item ?...

Postby sliderz1 » October 9th, 2014, 2:58 pm

auto ac guys should be able to handle aluminum welding.

if motorist doesnt have it they'll order it

Details

Postby Details » October 10th, 2014, 4:52 pm

Go the part by the motorist for $380.00

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » October 10th, 2014, 5:26 pm

why did you need to repair or replace the lines for though, rust at the ends? or you think its leaking?

Details

Postby Details » October 10th, 2014, 8:48 pm

cressida_override wrote:why did you need to repair or replace the lines for though, rust at the ends? or you think its leaking?

My coolant kept leaking out and there was no sign of a leak any where ... I did a number of changes eg. New oem radiator cap, water pump, oem thermostat, overflow hose, oem radiator hose top and bottom and oem new radiator.. and it still kept leaking I was in fear that I had to change the head gasket or worse the head which cost and excess of $8000 at massy... and on Monday I realize it was leaking from the hose it was really bad ... so I replaced them today I would still get the old set repaired as well and keep it as a back up...

Preludeman1

Postby Preludeman1 » October 18th, 2014, 8:20 pm

Hey guys, does the zd30 4x4 turbo have a gasket by the part of the turbo unit that connects to the intake air box?

Also can anyone recommend someone who is knowledgeable on turbo repairs? In North or central preferably.

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » October 18th, 2014, 8:55 pm

Turbos are cheap online. Recently. installed a new one on my van and it performs great. It came as a complete unit, fit up bolt for bolt. Alternatively Sookhai's in Chaguanas rebuilds them but at considerably higher cost.

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » October 18th, 2014, 9:37 pm

Preludeman1 wrote:Hey guys, does the zd30 4x4 turbo have a gasket by the part of the turbo unit that connects to the intake air box?

Also can anyone recommend someone who is knowledgeable on turbo repairs? In North or central preferably.

If you are referring to the connection between the turbo and the inlet hose that goes to the air filter box, then i don't believe there is any gasket. The oil that comes from there is common i've read on other forums, its a manufacturer problem.

Details

Postby Details » October 19th, 2014, 9:47 am

OK guys I want to get your feedback on this. I want to install an intercooler on my frontier (zd30) model and I may sell the van next year please god and upgrade either navara or pathfinder. .. what you guys think about that intercooler idea any advice, brand, who have done it before along with the pros and cons would be greatly appreciated

Postby sliderz1 » October 20th, 2014, 10:38 am

there was a thread and write up some time ago on the forum. do a search you might find it

Postby tr1ad » October 21st, 2014, 12:40 pm

frontier about to hit 240,000km still going strong

Preludeman1

Postby Preludeman1 » October 23rd, 2014, 12:46 am

cressida_override wrote:
Preludeman1 wrote:Hey guys, does the zd30 4x4 turbo have a gasket by the part of the turbo unit that connects to the intake air box?

If you are referring to the connection between the turbo and the inlet hose that goes to the air filter box, then i don't believe there is any gasket. The oil that comes from there is common i've read on other forums, its a manufacturer problem.

So ya think it's nothing to worry about? It's not a lot of oil at all... just a lil oil marks im seeing

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » October 23rd, 2014, 8:48 am

Hey, if its the oil films you are seeing that is normal. The hose from the tappet cover allows oil to eventually build up there, usuall after a hard and long drive. Also over filling the engine can cause that. Remember the frontier takes 6.7liters with filter change. Hope I rememberd that correct.

One of the things I want to do was install an oil catch can, that will take care of the excess oil and keep the engine bay clean. A simple mod that you can do yourself with either ready made oil catch cans or home build one.

Preludeman1

Postby Preludeman1 » October 24th, 2014, 1:47 pm

Thanks a lot man!

Postby sliderz1 » October 30th, 2014, 1:08 pm

tr1ad wrote:frontier about to hit 240,000km still going strong

yuh bunnin oil yet?

Postby black start » October 30th, 2014, 1:30 pm

sliderz1 wrote:

yuh bunnin oil yet?

The 4x2 td27 unit I use hit 270k And the motor still working perfectly....

Postby sliderz1 » October 30th, 2014, 2:07 pm

black start wrote:
sliderz1 wrote:

yuh bunnin oil yet?

The 4x2 td27 unit I use hit 270k And the motor still working perfectly....

the only thing the old girl not burning right now is straight 50 body oil

Postby black start » October 30th, 2014, 3:01 pm

and whats the mileage on your qd?

Postby sliderz1 » October 30th, 2014, 3:32 pm

abt 205k

not beating up though 50 wt till time for rebuild.

Postby black start » October 30th, 2014, 4:04 pm

205k is still real service, We had cd20's that didnt last over 150K.

Postby tr1ad » October 30th, 2014, 6:58 pm

No oil loss

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”